South at Boulders Golf Club & Resort

4.5251352941 4.5 stars from 5 (468)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6917 yards
  • Slope: 142
  • Rating: 72.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirt required, no denim
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 6917 yards 72.9 142
Blue 71 6726 yards 71.8 141
Blue/White 71 6421 yards 70.8 137
White 71 6246 yards 69.9 135
White (W) 72 6246 yards 75.3 138
Copper 71 5642 yards 67.6 120
Copper (W) 72 5642 yards 73.1 130
Gold (W) 72 5119 yards 70.1 122
Red (W) 72 4684 yards 67.7 116

The Boulders Golf Club & Resort complex features two outstanding 18-hole courses. Both courses are very well maintained, and the scenery is incredible. Boulder's South Course is exactly the type of desert course people come to the Phoenix-Scottsdale resort corridor to play. A round of golf on the South kicks off on the par-4 first hole, which measures 421 yards from the blue tees, which is quickly followed by a short par 3, measuring 150 yards from the blue tees. Things get long on the fifth hole, a 545-yard par 5, which is just a warm-up for the 11th hole, a par 5 that measures 601 yards from the blue tees. It doesn't get much easier to finish: The 18th is a par 5 that measures 513 yards from the blue tees.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 468 Reviews
5 stars:
315
4 stars:
112
3 stars:
29
2 stars:
9
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

434 out of 468 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive at a resort in the 'burbs   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include bunkers forced carries undulating greens   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Staff..."


katstom's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Everyone we encountered was great excep for the starters..rather rude and no course info given..ie, pin placement, etc.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Excellent experience at the Boulders"


DesertClub's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/15/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Played the South course yesterday for the first time. What a great golf course! The layout is excellent and the greens were in immaculate shape! You cannot find better greens in the summer months in the Phoenix area! Staff and practice area were great as well. Will definitely be coming back!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Good value yet challenging enough"


pinestone7's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/05/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always enjoy the Boulders, be it the North or South course

Despite extremely hot weather they were enough water stations with Ice

Pace of play overall good, were let through twice by twosomes as we were also a twosome.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Just OK"


cooklin's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/30/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens are good fairways were average nothing memorable about any of the holes except for large boulders. Played the back nine of the north and the front of the south the south seemed better. Not really anything special to draw me back.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Wow!"


Brysie666's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/26/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

What a beautiful course. Great holes, great challenge and great views.

The condition was excellent.

A must for any golfer to play here


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Starter major mistake!!!"


David3861048's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Starter forgot to give us a map of the course, and we didn’t have a clue which way the fairway went after our tee shots on several of the holes !!!!. Cost me at least 3 strokes


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Dag Handle"


d2155983's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

South course was in great shape

Our time was a “Hot deal” thru golf now which even made it better

Mid day tee time had to wait on most tee boxes

took just over 4 hours

Seen the beverage cart 3 times

All and all it was a good time as long as you don’t mind the heat.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



edbates45's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/18/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Amazing experience. Got a great rate and had the chance to play this course. Spectacular views and some challenging holes. Would love t go back


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



jmt628's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/18/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"18 holes"


martyk's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/18/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

only 18 holes were open and the pace of play was slow for an afternoon tee time. course wasn't as nice as last year when I played it at this time


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great layout."


u000003634709's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

In Scottsdale for 14 nights definitely best course played.

From turning up at the bag drop to finishing your round the staff go out their way to make you feel welcome.

The course as in excellent condition. Would play again tomorrow if could.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u904050525's avatar
Skill:  Advanced

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



sandksimpson's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



marikagerrard's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



df2421's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Great course"


u000005044317's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Was our first time out here. It was a great course and very challenging. Great shape overall.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Greens were recently punched."


Johnnyfastball1's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If you see a special Hot Deal for the Boulders club these days there is a good chance they just punched the greens. I experienced that this week and although the greens were just done the rest of the course is in terrific shape. With it being 100 degrees it would have been nice to see the cart girl more than once in my round. All in all a great and challenging track.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great Course & Staff9"


ericaasen's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Top notch staff at checkin, got right out, everyone over the top friendly. Greens slightly bumpy due to recent aeration, but was advised up front. Found course extremely challenging from the blue tees at just over 6700 yards. I am an 11 handicap. Beautiful layout, everything as advertised. Lost a club at the course and had to fly home the same night. Contacted by course that my club was found and they would send it to my house at no extra cost even though I offered to pay for shipping. Not many courses give that kind of service. The Head Pro, Deane, was such a great ambassador to the course with service and answering questions. Lastly, had an excellent meal at the Grille afterwards. Overall, just a top notch course and staff. A must play, can't wait to come back!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"The course layout is very good."


vic92247's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/23/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The only problem with course was the greens were bumpy due to being punched recently. Pace of play was slow.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Living a dream"


garyjune56's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always wanted to play. Staff fantastic!!! Cart guys Ryan made a special effort for me! The started to, Would love to be a member! All facilities driving range, course, clubhouse, staff 10+, Thanks much!

Gary Hoch


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Really good course"


Pic's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It is a challenging course, you have to plan a lot of shots, and you have to keep it in play, if it goes off course it’s gone.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed