Stonecreek Golf Club

3.5098000000 3.5 stars from 5 (584)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 71
  • Length: 6871 yards
  • Slope: 131
  • Rating: 72.8
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Denim Ok
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Championship 71 6871 yards 72.8 131
Back 71 6322 yards 69.9 128
Middle 71 5937 yards 68.1 125
Middle (W) 71 5937 yards 73.1 132
Forward/Middle (W) 71 5453 yards 70.5 126
Forward (W) 71 5018 yards 68.4 119

The course at Stonecreek Golf Club has a traditional links-style layout that meanders through Paradise Valley, providing stunning mountain vistas to the south and west. The golf course has undergone several renovations since its opening and the result is superb round of golf in a beautiful setting. The hilly fairways and fast greens are immaculate and well manicured. Water hazards come into play on five holes. There are also bunkers strategically placed throughout the course. Stonecreek Golf Club also has convenient practice facilities including a putting green and chipping area. There is also a pro shop and professional golf instructors on the premises.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.5 stars from 5
Value: 3.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 584 Reviews
5 stars:
87
4 stars:
263
3 stars:
132
2 stars:
56
1 stars:
46

recommend this course

431 out of 581 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near local attractions worth the drive   Great for locals advanced golfers seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards forced carries   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Start on both 9"


Larry9901700's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Course was in pretty rough shape. Very disappointed that they started on both nines. We book The 5:30 a.m. tee time so we can finish in 3 hours. When we made the turn they had 2 fivesomes in front of us. Finished front nine in hour and 45 minutes. Back nine was over 3. Will probably not go back


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 05/14/2018

We would like to thank you for visiting us. We have shared your feedback with our staff to ensure that this remains an isolated issue. We hope to have the opportunity to better your experience with us again.


"All around great!"


David7741530's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Super friendly staff. Great course conditions. Some fairways had bare spots but to be expected this time of year. Greens were in excellent shape. I've played this course for years. Always had a good time. Keep up the good work!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Fun Course"


lmorentin's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Stonecreek is a fun and challenging course and a bargain. If you play on a weekend make sure there are no tournaments; we weren't able to finish our round at the 16th due to the heavy back up. A shotgun start with A & B groups killed our round, but we'll be back as long as there isn't a tournament.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Average coursae noy worth the money"


u032603127's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The fairway course conditions were inconsistent with significant hardpack on the back nine. We noticed 5 and 6-somes out to play which results in slow pace of play. Our round took over 5 hours. This course has low value for the high greens fees being charged


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"A very nice course that can be difficult"


21AZGolfer's avatar
Top 100 Contributor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/25/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in very good shape. The greens provided a nice true roll and can be challenging at times. I liked the layout variation among the holes. No two holes looked the same. Our foursome moved along at a nice pace. We finished in just under 4 hours. Play the appropriate tee box and you will enjoy your round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Slow play"


u883102891's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is in good shape but the pace of play was not good waiting on every shot. They need to pace the groups before calling the next group to the first tee. Will play here again in the summer when it is hot. No waiting then that's for sure.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"great weather for slow day"


rdivito's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The staff was friendly and the course is average but the pace of play for this day was 5 hours for 18 holes. That is just not good golf. The management should think about not allowing 8 min starts to prevent 30 min back ups on par 3 holes. If it was not for a perfect day in AZ i would have walked off after 9 holes.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"SLOW"


Keithandgail's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

They weather and everything was perfect. they totally overbooked.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Great course - would recommend"


cdncarol's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The course conditions were good - some bare spots and soggy spots on fairways but greens were perfect. We played the round in 4 1/2 hours in 100 degree temperatures. This course gets a tremendous amount of play and is in good condition for the wear and tear. We thoroughly enjoyed the layout and found it challenging. We would definitely play this course again and not hesitate to recommend it to others.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Pace of play"


trogersaz1's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

The issue is pace of play. Way too slow. We waited on EVERY hole EVERY time. The group in front of us, and the one in front of them were ovbiously playing from the wrong tees. This slowed everybody down to a crawl. One of our guys bailed after 9 holes. The ranger to his credit asked us if we wanted to pass the group in front of us. The only problem was that the group ahead of them was just as slow. The Ranger needs to keep the groups at the front moving. I would suggest that if he sees players on the wrong tees to suggest that they move up. These guys had to have shot 110 or more. You might have the starters tell players if you are not a single digit handicap (currently - not what you used to be) then DO NOT PLAY THE BACK TEES. If you cannot consistantly hit 250 yards with your driver, DO NOT PLAY THE BACK TEES.

Personal note: Keep an eye on your bag here. I had a sleeve of Pro V1's taken from my bag during this round. Not the first time either. I don't mind loosing balls, but I'd prefer to loose them myself, thank you. .....and yes I had them before I arrived. I put in a fresh sleeve which I did not use before going to the course.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


"5-hour and 20-minute Round"


Michael5704215's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were in nice shape, not too fast. Everything else was average, at best. I don't recall this course having such a slow pace of play. The 10th tee box had THREE groups waiting, plus the groups playing the hole. Never seen that in AZ.

This used to be worth it during high season. I could drive an hour away (instead of 15 minutes), and I'd still make it home before someone playing Stonecreek.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"six hour round"


libbytiberi's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I knew I was making a mistake booking this course for a Saturday afternoon. 3 hours to play the front and 245 hours to play the back. Couldn't really see anybody holding up the course, they just jam in the golfers. Many upset groups at the turn and in the parking lot, many of whom didn't get in 18. Its not an easy course and really not suited for casual golfers and seniors in my opinion. I enjoy playing this course, but will stick with playing early in the morning. Slow play seems to be a constant complaint for this course.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Smithers golfer"


RonJanna's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/30/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

A good round of golf during a busy part of the day but the pace kept up for the most part. A tough course with plenty of water and sand that comes into play.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Challenging"


webbwade's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a pretty challenging track. Conditions were pretty good but quite damp and muddy in a lot of areas.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"good value, abit wet early in the morning"


libbytiberi's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Teed off just before7, course was still a bit wet from the watering. really soppy on a couple of holes, looked like a sprinkler malfunction. Challenging course, use every club in the bag. I play this course several times when visiting. Have been doing so for the past 8 years. Look forward to playing it again before I leave. Bruce in the pro shop was very helpfull, a pleasure to deal with him. thanks Bruce.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



u705204635's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Water water and more water. Second time playing this course and shot mid eighties cause of water. Still a great course. Will play again


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



garykoliger's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Course conditions"


Doug9492751's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/15/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The fairways were green and the greens were well maintained


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A few changes could go a like way"


Robert9774114's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I t think this course has a great design. What the need to do is improve the pace of play, and clean up the garbage in the creek.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed