Palmer Course at Wildfire Golf Club at Desert Ridge

4.4079352941 4.4 stars from 5 (445)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7145 yards
  • Slope: 142
  • Rating: 72.7
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Wildfire Golf Academy"

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirt and bermuda shorts required. No denim.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Tournament 72 7145 yards 72.7 142
Championship 72 6645 yards 70.4 131
Championship (W) 72 6645 yards 77.4 132
Regular 72 6060 yards 68.1 122
Regular (W) 72 6060 yards 74.0 126
Forward 72 5390 yards 64.8 109
Forward (W) 72 5390 yards 70.6 118
Wildfire 72 4835 yards 62.2 99
Wildfire (W) 72 4835 yards 68.5 107

The Palmer Course at Wildfire Golf Club is an 18-hole golf course designed by Arnold Palmer and built in 1997. The par-72 golf course measures 7,145 yards from the tournament tees. "I enjoy designing golf courses that celebrate the sheer fun of golf," Palmer said about this course, "and Wildfire is exactly that."

The Bermuda grass Palmer Course at Wildfire Golf Club is one of two championship courses at the club. It features a GPS option that offers golfers detailed mapping of the Faldo and Palmer courses, precise yardages for tee shots and approach shots to the greens, and the chance to order breakfast and lunch from the golf cart. Additional features include communication with the golf shop, a CBS Sportsline ticker with all scores 24 hours a day, and the leader board for tournaments. Its sibling, the Faldo golf course, also features the system.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 445 Reviews
5 stars:
231
4 stars:
169
3 stars:
35
2 stars:
7
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

422 out of 441 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort convenient to the city worth the drive   Great for advanced golfers a weekend splurge locals   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens forced carries   Great for drinks dinner patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Nice & Friendly"


Dmelwood's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always enjoy playing there and in general pace of play is always good. That's a key reason I like playing there. Also excellent practice range.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



ctprggolfer's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000007721442's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"A good mix of mild and with teeth!"


eltigre132's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The driving range conditions were not good. And with a 10:30 tee time, it was difficult to get a Gatorade other than being referred to the cart girl, and we didn't see her for another hour. But the conditions of the fairways, greens, and bunkers, we're fabulous. Despite being a 2 some between 2 4somes, the day went smoothly. Pricey, but certainly with the limit of Phoenix norm for a course of this quality, this time of year.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"10 rating"


u9492033's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played right after lpga harbour bank, rough very tough


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Awesome"


u000004101701's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/16/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Desert Ridge was fantastic, we played 9 on the Faldo, and 9 on Plamer, as LPGA were there also playing the course. Faldo seemed harder of the tracks , due to all the bunkers, had a Great time, course in good condition, will be back.....friendly staff....


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Beautiful, challenging course"


dmeylink's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've golfed the Wildfire courses several times and I'm always struck by its layout and beauty. Not much artificial prettiness just natural beauty. Great condition. Friendly staff.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Fun but real work for high handicapper"


u000001736302's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played after getting great half price deal to fill in a foursome. Course even playing up was over my head as a 30 handicap but the course is beautiful. Easy to find errant shots in the desert washes and you can play out of those places fairly well. Wide fairways and huge greens. Found myself three putting most of the time because of their sIze.

Staff oriented to the course and ranger very helpful on pace of play. Done is just over four hours.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Course in excellent shape"


u504132723's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/20/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice course. Very fair- not too difficult. Beautiful views, nice facilities. Very enjoyable round. I played on a Tuesday with a foursome, and we never saw another group- either in front of us, or behind us.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Solid choice"


cow22155's avatar
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great conditioning. Had misfortune of playing on cold and windy day, but on the plus side round took 3:40 on cart. Greens rolling well. A little difficult to play for the first time. Cart has gps but the flyover video snippets are useless. Would have benefitted from knowing where to (and not to) hit it off the tee.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course



u00000929755's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/06/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff was very friendly. Course was in perfect condition. Greens rolled true. The only downside I could see was lack of a good snack bar in between nine's. Will play here every time I come to town.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Fair challenge:"


LarryKich's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/23/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played from the Blues. Course was in great condition. Greens were firm and fast, and rolled true. A fair test. Am an 3 hcp - enjoyed playing the course. We were done in 3.75 hours.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great conditions"


Greg4939533's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I enjoy this course. Nice layout and staff. Fast greens and nice fairways.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/23/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Enjoyable first round on Palmer in spite f weather."


stansaibil's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/20/2018
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wanted to play this course last fall but it was unavailable due to over seeding at that time. As it was highly recommended to me by an excellent golfing friend I just had the opportunity to play it myself.

The course was as good as he indicated and I was thoroughly happy to have had the chance to experience it personally.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Superior attitude."


sharkreid's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/31/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We played the Palmer course at Wildfire. Extremely nice layout, the greens were in excellent shape and the speed was excellent, the greens consistent and true. It was a challenging layout, with lots of variety.

When I am on vacation, my wife, who is a non-golfer, rides along with me. During this visit to Arizona, we have played 11 courses, including Wickenburg Ranch and the Stadium course at TPC Scottsdale. At every course that we attended, we were treated extremely nicely and there was never any concern about my wife riding with us. However, at Wildfire, my wife was told that she could not ride and there was no willingness on the part of the pro shop staff to accept a payment for her to ride or any other accommodation. It was no and that was it

Thankfully the starter, a gentleman named Ted, understood our anger and disappointment and quickly accommodated us.

In closing, I’m sorry to say that I will not return to this resort, due to the disrespectful treatment by the pro shop staff. I feel that this staff did not display the respect and willingness to be helpful which were hallmarks of Mr. Palmer and that one would associate with course carrying Mr. Palmer’s name. .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/31/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Fantastic Course"


Jeff3773609's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/11/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

This was the best course I played in the Scottsdale area. The course was perfectly maintained and had a great design. It was both challenging and fun. A great experience and well worth the money. The sister course looks equally good and I’ll be playing it this week.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Palmer course was interesting but challengeing"


uSGMI7389SG's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We enjoyed the day but found the course difficult.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed