Palmer Course at Wildfire Golf Club at Desert Ridge

4.3941529412 4.4 stars from 5 (474)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7145 yards
  • Slope: 142
  • Rating: 72.7
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "Wildfire Golf Academy"

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirt and bermuda shorts required. No denim.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Tournament 72 7145 yards 72.7 142
Championship 72 6645 yards 70.4 131
Championship (W) 72 6645 yards 77.4 132
Regular 72 6060 yards 68.1 122
Regular (W) 72 6060 yards 74.0 126
Forward 72 5390 yards 64.8 109
Forward (W) 72 5390 yards 70.6 118
Wildfire 72 4835 yards 62.2 99
Wildfire (W) 72 4835 yards 68.5 107

The Palmer Course at Wildfire Golf Club is an 18-hole golf course designed by Arnold Palmer and built in 1997. The par-72 golf course measures 7,145 yards from the tournament tees. "I enjoy designing golf courses that celebrate the sheer fun of golf," Palmer said about this course, "and Wildfire is exactly that."

The Bermuda grass Palmer Course at Wildfire Golf Club is one of two championship courses at the club. It features a GPS option that offers golfers detailed mapping of the Faldo and Palmer courses, precise yardages for tee shots and approach shots to the greens, and the chance to order breakfast and lunch from the golf cart. Additional features include communication with the golf shop, a CBS Sportsline ticker with all scores 24 hours a day, and the leader board for tournaments. Its sibling, the Faldo golf course, also features the system.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.4 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 474 Reviews
5 stars:
248
4 stars:
175
3 stars:
39
2 stars:
9
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

446 out of 470 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort convenient to the city worth the drive   Great for advanced golfers a weekend splurge locals   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens forced carries   Great for drinks dinner patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Fun but real work for high handicapper"


u000001736302's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played after getting great half price deal to fill in a foursome. Course even playing up was over my head as a 30 handicap but the course is beautiful. Easy to find errant shots in the desert washes and you can play out of those places fairly well. Wide fairways and huge greens. Found myself three putting most of the time because of their sIze.

Staff oriented to the course and ranger very helpful on pace of play. Done is just over four hours.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Fun track"


Boisemolcks's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Lots of bunkers and you better drive the ball straight it's a fun golf course


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Bummed"


u762491259's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Was really looking forward to playing this course today but since they just punched and seeded the greens they were very difficult to play and most of the fairways had large dirt patches. It was frustrating when you made a great tee shot middle of the fairway only to be left in a dirt patch that was either muddy from the recent rain or super dry and hard. Im sure this course isnt usually this rough but I was very dissappointed .


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Good but not great"


chitown51's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/30/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

They have issues with their fairways, large patches dead grass and mud that required a “bump” to grass to play approach shots. In some cases you had to move 10-20 feet to find grass, disappointing.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Still Love This Course"


Dander05's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I had not played Wildfire Palmer for a few years. It has always been one of my favorite courses in the valley. It is a fun layout with a good variety of hole. Greens were in very good condition, fairways were burned out in high spots, which is typical for Phoenix courses in the summer.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Bare Fairways"


john26830's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/28/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens & Tees were great , most fairways are very patchy grass or just plain bare !! something has gone wrong with the fairways the grass is mostly gone , it's hard to hit off without grass there, won't be going back this year anymore


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course



NavyMac's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/22/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"great value, great features"


pinestone7's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played as a twosome 17 holes in 2.5 hrs. Skipped a par 5 with 2 foursomes that were slow and nobody ahead of them

Other than that really enjoyed our outing and look forward to more rounds this summer.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



KeriJo99's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great layout"


ryan6399487's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in ok shape, the main issues were the fairways had lots of bare spots and the course was really wet. Don’t know if that was from rain or overwatering the course but is going to make things worse with golf cart tracks tearing up good gras spots that were left. But the layout is awesome and staff is really good.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course



jkluke's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


"Dissapointing"


u000001351274's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/04/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

6:40am Tee time 6/20/2018.

First off, attendant put my clubs on the wrong cart and sent someone else off to play with my clubs. Luckily, people came back to get there own so that's when my clubs finally reappeared. The cart we were given had GPS that did not even turn on so we changed out carts after 9 holes. To top things off, we did not see a beverage cart our entire round of 18 holes. Could not even buy a drink in the clubhouse after 9 holes as they hadn't opened yet.

A lot of bare areas in fairways. I get that it's tougher to keep in great shape during the summer. Greens were in good shape. I expect a little more for a weekday rate during the summer of $48.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course



u721783933's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/30/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"One of my favorite facilities"


Corey4652891's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Both courses at wildfire are excellent. The Palmer has more desert washes in play, while the Faldo has more bunkers. They are a bit pricey in the winter, so I only play when the rates come down

Palmer course conditions were excellent, and as always the staff was fantastic. I played with a couple that are members and the lady made a hole in one. That was exciting! We finished in just under 4hours snd had a very enjoyable day. I just wish it was closer to my place in Tempe and a little cheaper. Still an awesome place to play. It’s always busy, but the staff is always great. Go okay if you can get a rate that is acceptable to you.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Awesome Round"


Scott1978621's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course, staff and views. Can’t wait to go back!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Fun track"


Tuketown's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Was nice course to play! Some areas transitioning but greens were in great shape. Will come back and play again!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



edbates45's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have been wanting to play courses like this for a long time, I've just not been able to afford to do so.

Truly enjoyed my round. Some challenging holes as well as some that "made you feel good about your abilities"

The staff was very friendly and let me get out a little earlier than my tee time and I breezed through the first 15 holes before I saw the twosome in front of me.

I'd love to have the opportunity to play here and the Faldo course again


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Palmer Course"


DoubleA12's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played from the blacks and it is a pretty tough course. A couple times driving off the blacks I only ended up about 30 to 40 yards in the fairway which is humbling, mind you those were 250+ yard drives. The greens are tricky but fun. For this course just being recently aerated it was still in pretty decent shape it was a pleasure to play there specially for the money


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great staffs"


Howardsung12's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Great course, great staffs in Arizona

Our group 30 people played the Arnold Palmer course today.

Club Manager and staff members are excellent. It was great choice and we enjoyed playing here.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Pretty nice course"


mletrmn's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Easy to find, sort of confusing check in with somewhat hard to find pro shop, needs better signage, cart boys weren't really helpful since we were there for the first time and needed a little better direction, got put behind a group of novices in a best ball tourney and they were slow, but as luck would have it the best player assistant we have ever seen, Dave, moved us to the back nine and we basically had the course to ourselves and then played until we wanted to stop, good carts with customer friendly GPS, water buckets for our towels, water every other hole to drink, ice chest on the cart, tees nice , fairways the best we've seen, pretty nice layout that looks tighter than it plays, greens that putt smooth and pretty fast, bunkers had some sand, got a good rate on GolfNow, cuz couldn't afford regular rates , will hope to return in the off season again, one of the nicest courses that we have played


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Wore pink shirt in honour of my Mom & Arnie"


Joicoman's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great practise area to get your round started. Course was in excellent shape, surprising not many pitch marks so must players must care. Played the White / Blue combo at around 6300 yards, must have been the right tees as a 11 handicap who averages 225 off the tee, shot a 79. Always enjoy a course that makes you think about each shot, used most of my clubs in the bag.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed