Palm at McCormick Ranch Golf Club

3.5503235294 3.6 stars from 5 (805)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7044 yards
  • Slope: 137
  • Rating: 73.7
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: No
Practice hole: No
Simulator: No
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: No

Policies

Walking allowed: No
Metal spikes allowed: Yes
Singles allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirt required, no denim
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 7044 yards 73.7 137
White 72 6279 yards 70.0 130
White (W) 72 6279 yards 75.9 131
Brown 72 5820 yards 67.5 123
Brown (W) 72 5820 yards 72.9 126
Red (W) 72 5057 yards 68.7 114

McCormick Ranch Golf Club features two lush manicured year-round courses amid the lovely views of Scottsdale. Both the Palm and Pine golf courses' championship tees lay to over 7,000 yards, and there are also the options of men's, seniors' and ladies' tee sets to allow everyone a crack at the tests offered by these golf courses.

Golf Illustrated selected the ninth hole of the Palm Course at the McCormick Ranch Golf Club to be "One of the USA's Top 18 Water Holes." It's just one of 10 water holes on the golf course, which, as you might imagine, also features lots of big palms. In all, the golf course plays to over yards from the blue tees, including four par-5 holes that measure over 500 yards.

A round of golf on the Palm Course at the McCormick Ranch Golf Club kicks off on the par-4 first hole, which plays close to 400 yards from the blue tee and requires a drive right-center to ensure a short-iron second shot.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.7 stars from 5
Value: 3.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 805 Reviews
5 stars:
162
4 stars:
341
3 stars:
175
2 stars:
88
1 stars:
39

recommend this course

612 out of 803 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near local attractions worth the drive   Great for locals playing multiple courses advanced golfers   Challenges include water hazards bunkers undulating greens   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u503876120's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/07/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course conditions were substandard. Many bare areas with no grass. The course was over run with geese and their droppings driving range equally bad with no grass. No water on the course except through beverage cart purchase. Also beverage cart driver was driving down cart path as we were hitting drive


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



desprunty's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/16/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I thoughtt the course was in very poor condition for a golf club right in the middle of Scottsdale There were too many bre spots throughout the course


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


"Great value"


Andrew5292880's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/15/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Phenomenal round. The course is well laid out and in great condition. Really enjoyable for a first round. The architecture had a lot of risk reward options


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Not long"


kerry24's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Not the greatest conditions but I did like the layout. It was a decent course for the first course in Scottsdale. Lots of tournaments played on this course.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"nice course, but could be in better shape"


mikenelson48's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

not in as good of shape as i would exlpect for the price


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Needs some TLC"


u000003880018's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fareways need some help.. a lot of baron spots. They also need to get rid of a lot of the birds.. too much bird poop to navigate. Over all i psid omly 40.00, still a value this time of year.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



brett3060637's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Disappointing !!!"


Terry9469257's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played McCormick Ranch many times for years but the course has deteriorated substantially . I was shocked at the lack

of maintenance, sand traps are a joke, no sand basically dirt, tee boxes were not trimmed, SAD for a course that has much to offer. Management needs to get their act together


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course



u000003552198's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/30/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Nice course"


Alan11's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were definately slick. Best not to be above the hole. Putted pretty true though. The only blemish was the condition of the fairway on #9 Palm. Right side ok. Left side not so much. Not bad if that is all I can complain about.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"No grass in fairways ... avoid this course"


Sue6044239's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Played the Palm course. Many of my approach shots on the back 9 I was hitting off mud, dirt, or small clumps of grass...and I was on the fairway. Wish I would have read the most recent reviews because I would not have played here. They are accurate. Maintenance is terrible on Palm. So many other options for your vacation dollars.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Good Course"


u000002038132's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Front 9 was on great shape. The back 9 had some issues and was not in as good a shape as the front. Still was an enjoyable round.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Bad course conditions"


u000002534140's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The value over weekend wasn’t worth the course conditions


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Slow pace of play / course could use more grass"


cjohnson682's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Pace of play was slow. Took our group a little over 5 hours to play. The course needs more seed/grass. Conditions were terrible on the back nine holes. Worst I have seen as we play there in the spring once a year. I wish we would have picked somewhere else especially for current price point.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Don’t go"


christelb's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Slow play, no ranger and terrible shape . Wow 100

Bucks to play..


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 04/08/2018

Totally agree. We left after 15 holes and 5 1/2 hrs. It would have been another hour for the last 3 holes. Talked to them when I returned the cart and they said they only had one ranger for both courses and book every 8 minutes. Never again. Have tried twice and not worth it




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/23/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"poor course condition"


kevincooney's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have been a regular winter-spring for over 15 years. One of my three favorite courses. The other two have been consistently high quality. Pines and Palm have deteriorated the past 3-4 years, but more so this year.

area around several traps are completely bare.

Fairways are thin, sometimes muddy. divots are not filled with sand. If the staff fills them, players may follow the example.

The practice area looks like Tin Cup. When I played last week the hitting area had been moved about 50 ft. south. That was the first move in at least 4 weeks, I see staff giving lessons, so they are either not reporting conditions or are being ignored.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"terrible fairways"


douggibson's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played the Palm course and found the front nine to be in very good shape. Greens were really good. Got to the back nine and it was like a totally different course. The fairways are a disaster, all burned out and muddy in spots. Areas around the greens are nothing but hard-pan. I would not go back if it remains to be in that condition. Its not like they don't have water there. Plenty of that available. Must be a different greens guy for the back side!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Challenging course Nice vibes all around"


AlanAlvin's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/20/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always enjoy this club. Staff particularly friendly every time. Beautiful location with distant views of mountains. Prefer Palm course but both fairly open for stray hits. Hope to play here for next 20 years!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"This course was deceptive but wonderful"


brrbben's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/20/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

At first, I felt the course was very straightforward. I play from the white tees and I'm about a 15 handicap. Some of the greens and set ups, as your round develops, become really interesting; you have to know where you're hitting the ball or you can put yourself in an unusually difficult position. I played to the right on a par 3 with a severe slope and I ended up playing right in to the hands of the golf course and putting my lag putt off the green and in to the water. I'd never done that before and I saw the break...that's just one example of how you get surprises if you don't hit shots in to the green that are in the right quadrant. The lies are very tight and the ground was hard but that will change from season to season. On the whole, I'd really recommend this course and I had a terrific morning (it took us 3.5 hours to play). It's a little more money than I normally allocate for golf but it was worth it on a my vacation.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed