Hillcrest Golf Club at Sun City West

3.2982529412 3.3 stars from 5 (678)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7002 yards
  • Slope: 126
  • Rating: 72.7
  • Layout

  • 20002 N Star Ridge Dr, Sun City West, Arizona 85375, Maricopa County
  • (623) 584-1500
  • (623) 546-9138
  • www.hillcrestgolfclub.com

Year built: 1978
Architect(s): Greg Nash (1978), Jeff Hardin (1978)
Type: Public
Style: Traditional
Greens: Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - "John Jacobs' Golf Academy"

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Shirt with a collar as well as no denim bottoms
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7002 yards 72.7 126
Blue 72 6574 yards 70.3 123
White 72 6381 yards 69.1 116
White (W) 72 6381 yards 75.0 126
Gold (W) 72 5864 yards 67.3 113
Red (W) 72 5512 yards 70.7 120

Hillcrest Golf Club possesses a championship length course that offers a great variety of game options with five sets of tees. The course has a traditional design that features open fairways lined with trees, which put a premium on straight shots. The greens vary greatly with some that are relatively flat and medium sized and others that are quite large and dramatically sloped or multi-tiered. In addition to several sand bunkers, water hazards in the forms of lakes and ponds come into play. The signature hole is the par-5 13th, which has been touted by the Phoenix Gazette as being on of the best holes in the state. Hillcrest Golf Club not only has a dogleg around a lake, the hole requires an approach shot uphill to a green that is guarded by eight bunkers.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.3 stars from 5
Value: 3.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 2.9 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 678 Reviews
5 stars:
64
4 stars:
271
3 stars:
172
2 stars:
110
1 stars:
61

recommend this course

479 out of 673 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is in the 'burbs convenient to the city worth the drive   Great for locals seniors advanced golfers   Challenges include water hazards bunkers undulating greens   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole specials  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u913987821's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/20/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course



bobk50's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/20/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course



u000002113388's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/18/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Butch2678176's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/18/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Father / Son"


u2530842's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is in good condition for the heat of the summer. Fairways and greens are in good shape, the sand traps are not concrete hard. Definitely a value for the dollar. Pace of play was great full round in about 3.5 hours maybe a little less. Friendly staff


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/16/2018

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you back real soon.

Thank you

~HC


"Poor shape for early in the summer"


msivakoff's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

What was once a lovely course has many fairway bald spots, fair greens, and poor course management allowing players to play very slowly and no one cruises by to check. Not very much water on the course, no ice in the golf cart bucket, and even though the cart attendant will drive around the parking lot in a golf cart, he's more then happy to let you carry your clubs to your car without assistance. The only thing it has going for it is price.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 06/16/2018

The fairways are patchy due to the heat, the greens are in great shape for the time of year. If you need ice you can grab it in the grille area. for the time of year we don't have a ranger because of number of rounds and pace of play is great.

~HC


"Fun Layout"


u000005324992's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2018
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My Wife and I played Hillcrest for the first time and had a good time. The course was in fair condition being June. Not as nice as I was thinking it would be though since they have hosted Senior Tour events here. A bit rough around the edges and the greens were a little shaggy and slow. But for $30 it was worth it. We will be back when the conditions are more favorable as there were some fun holes. No beverage cart. Hmmmmm?


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/11/2018

Thank you for coming out, for this time of the year its in good shape and the tour events were in the 90's when the course was younger.

Thank you

~HC



David7741530's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 06/11/2018

Thank you for coming out to Hillcrest.

Thank you

~HC


"water leaks every where"


Butch2678176's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

they should at least fix the ones in the fair way and around the greens


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/30/2018

thank you for coming out we are in the process of this right now.

Thank you

~HC



srthsl66's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/23/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Nice course,friendly folks,course needs some attention


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/30/2018

thank you for coming out and playing hope to see you out again real soon.

Thank you

~HC


"Golf Outing"


Tony2703686's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Sandra Day O’Connor held there 6th annual Golf Tournament at Hillcrest this year.. The staff was awesome and very helpful in every phase . The course condition was better than anticipated due to time of year. The room we used for our Lunch was perfect and the food was very good. I can’t say enough about there service everyone from the greeter to the food server was very customer friendly.

Vinni & Spencer Thank You !

See you next year..


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/30/2018

Thank you we are glad you enjoyed see you next year for another great event.

Thank you

~HC




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/22/2018

Thank you for your review hope to see you back real soon.

Thank you

~HC



RCAtwater66's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"ugh"


mikeaz518's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

i have played here a year ago or so and this is my first time back. the conditions are worse. dry fairways with no grass in some spots, then drowning in others. LOTS of weeds, and truly unkempt. i did not see one associate, although in fairness was a late am tee time and the course not busy. mgmt should either put some money into this nice layout or perhaps try different ownership. but there are many other nearby courses in MUCH better condition


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"ugh"


mikeaz518's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

i have played here a year ago or so and this is my first time back. the conditions are worse. dry fairways with no grass in some spots, then drowning in others. LOTS of weeds, and truly unkempt. i did not see one associate, although in fairness was a late am tee time and the course not busy. mgmt should either put some money into this nice layout or perhaps try different ownership. but there are many other nearby courses in MUCH better condition


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Love this course"


u3034777's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Lovely course at 7000 yards with good sized, soft greens. They keep a good course. Took a beginner out and the wide fairways and shallow waters - he only lost two balls that day. (Pretty good for a first time) Definitely a fun course


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/22/2018

Thank you for your review hope to see you back again real soon.

Thank you

~HC


"Hard to evaluate"


u000002419703's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course seems to be in the middle of a renovation. Bare spots in a lot of the fairways, inconsistency’s with sand traps ( some hadright amount of sand others were rock hard, Stoney sub surfaces showed up in a few). The water hazards on the course were utilized nicely as far as coming into play which led to what I thought were a number of holes with real character. Right now there is a real crudeness to it but I can see a great deal of potential with it if they address the blemishes it currently is showing....


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/22/2018

Thank you for coming out to hillcrest hope to see you back soon.

Thank you

~HC



sylviaann's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/16/2018

Thank you for coming out and enjoying our course hope to see you back real soon.

Thank you

~HC



u000006226202's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/16/2018

Thank you for coming out and playing hope to see you back real soon.

Thank you

~HC


"Hillcrest GC"


pdewane's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

One of the best GC's we have played in the Sun City area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/16/2018

Thank you for your comments hope to see you back soon.

Thank you

~HC



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed