River Club, The

3.5313094354 3.5 stars from 5 (463)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7026 yards
  • Slope: 144
  • Rating: 74.4
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees (with GPS)
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: No
Practice hole: No
Simulator: No
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Appropriate golf attire.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 7026 yards 74.4 144
Blue 72 6614 yards 72.1 137
White 72 6102 yards 69.6 128
Green 71 5495 yards 66.7 117
Red (W) 72 5056 yards 69.0 120

River Club is a popular Ron Garl-designed golf course famous for its unique moundings and positioning of grass and pot bunkers. Front nine are open with all elevated greens. River Club's back nine at are cut into the woods. There is water on 16 holes.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.3 stars from 5
Value: 3.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.0 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.2 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 463 Reviews
5 stars:
64
4 stars:
223
3 stars:
97
2 stars:
51
1 stars:
28

recommend this course

363 out of 460 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Hidden Gem"


richshultz's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/17/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

This was the second time we played The River Club, while on vacation to Bradenton.

As what happened last year it poured prior to our scheduled 324 Tee Time.

On arrival we were instructed cart path only. Trust me smart move.

It was comical on the 2nd hole as my shot came up short and splash found a bunker.

Even though the front nine was pretty wet we enjoyed the various hole layouts & pin placements.

It was very challenging to score.

In making the turn to the back nine the sunshine really came.

This course has some pretty challenging hole layouts. And the various wildlife that acts as your gallery is unique to itself.

My favorite hole is the par 4 with a peninsula green. Just fantastic hole.

Greens were in great shape and ran true. There are a few women's tee boxes that could be improved upon, however my honey loves the course sp its a must when we're down during a summer vacation.

Trust me the value for your buck can't be beat. We booked on Golf Now at $15 each for 18 & cart with GPS. Playing in the late afternoon after 3pm felt like we owned the course. Our round was just under 4 hours.

Highly recommend this venue. It must be gorgeous in the winter months. Planning on coming back in March.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 08/23/2017:

Hi Richard, we're happy you enjoyed our challenging layout and great course conditions. Thank you for playing The River Club, we look forward to seeing you again in March!

"Nice Pace"


Mattcath's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/18/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Decent lay out great pace of play finished in 3 hrs


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 02/20/2018:

Thanks so much Mattcath for your 4-star review and feedback on our golf course. We love seeing you had a good time on the course and we hope to see you back again very soon!

"Great Value"


u133615448's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

The Course is a great value for the money. The greens are of average speed and roll true. There are a couple of quirky holes, but those should not be a problem, now that we know the layout of the course. Will definitely play again while we are in Sarasota.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Not a bad design but"


jscotillo's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Not a bad design but the greens are small and slow


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 02/20/2018:

Thanks jscotillo for your 3-star review and feedback on our golf course. We love seeing you had a good time on the course and we hope to see you back again very soon!


Zach5071328's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/14/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 02/20/2018:

Thanks Zach. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.

"TCL Urgently Required"


u000008125639's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/14/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

The River Club is one of the best layouts in the area but its not being looked after. The teeing areas are scruffy. The fairways are patchy. The greens are in terrible condition with pitch marks everywhere.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 02/22/2018:

Thanks for your review. We are working hard on course conditions and we hope you will come back and give us another try again as we would love to have you back.

"River Club Golf"


Patrick279's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/08/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

First time playing this course and pleasantly surprised at how good it was. Proshop staff very helpful and friendly. Course itself is a treat. It is a circular course vs a butterfly...once you leave on the first hole you don't get back to starting point until after the 18th. Very spread out - this is not a walking course. A course book is provided (a la the Pro Tour) to describe the holes and distances and recommended golf shots, which proved very helpful. Fairways are good and kept smooth, rough is manageable, greens are terrific and undulating. #16 is an island green and a solid challenge. We will certainly be back for more of the same, especially with Golfnow pricing during the peak season. Highly recommended and worth driving to get to if that's what you have to do.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 02/12/2018:

Thanks Patrick279 for your 5-star review and feedback. We love seeing you had a good time on the course and we hope to see you back again very soon.

"Exciting layout"


Michael4635602's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

First time here and loved the various layout of the course offering challenging strategy golf: requires straight shots and plenty of options

The yardage book layout provided was awesome!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 02/12/2018:

Thanks Michael for your fantastic 4-star review and feedback. We love seeing you had a good time on the course and we hope to see you back again very soon.

"Great layout"


mbarb377's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/07/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course has a nice variety of holes, with water, sand, and trees coming into play. Greens were in good condition, but pretty slow. Unfortunately, players are not repairing divots in fairways, ballmarks on greens, or raking sand traps. Player in front of us walked through a trap without any attempt to rake it. Driving range and putting green are fine.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 02/12/2018:

Thanks mbarb377 for your 4-star review and feedback. We love seeing you had a good time on the course and we hope to see you back again very soon.

"Somewhere along the cart path is a golf course."


schantz's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2018
First time playing Used cart

Reviewed on

Each hole was ok in design but you spend as much time off course traveling between holes as you do driving along the hole.Greens rolled well medium speed.Somewhere along the cart path is a golf course.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 02/12/2018:

Thanks schantz for your review and feedback. We appreciate you taking the time and we hope to see you back again very soon.

"Ehhh"


Golfpro7099's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/03/2018
First time playing Used cart

Reviewed on

Blind holes, blind shots. Not in good condition.

Some interesting holes but wouldn't recommend. Early February but greens spotty & not reliable, fairways fair, rough poor.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 02/06/2018:

Thanks Golfpro7099 and we are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.


Gentry2422340's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/28/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 01/30/2018:

Thanks Gentry for your 4-star review and feedback of The River Club. We love seeing you had an enjoyable day and round here at the course and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

"river club"


mich38l's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/28/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I scheduled this this round looking for a group to join since I was alone. got there early and the starter introduced me to the others in the foursome and sent us right off. Greens were in very good shape. had a good round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 01/30/2018:

Thanks mich38l for your fantastic 5-star review and feedback of The River Club. We love seeing you had a good round here at The River Club and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

"Great track maintenance required"


popfish1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/26/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

This is probably one of the best layouts in FL. Pretty blemish is in maintenance. Ponds were sitting in and bogging. Cart paths were is disrepair in many places. Staff was great. Carts could be updated. Now it is a $40course that you pay $54 for is use.

I will play it again next week.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 01/30/2018:

Thanks popfish1 for your great 4-star review and feedback of The River Club. We love seeing you had a good round and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

"Loved the course"


uPHPJ6161PH's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/25/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Loved the layout. A real challenge. Greens were the best we have played down here.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 01/30/2018:

Thanks so much for your 4-star review and feedback of The River Club. We appreciate you taking the time and love seeing you had a good round. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

"Brutal"


ChrisHolyman's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/24/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Brutal pace of play and no marshal to do anything. Decided to miss 2 holes and once in front of very slow foursome we managed to finish before dark. Not recommended.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 01/26/2018:

Thank you ChrisHolyman for your review. Please let us know if you ever need anything and come back and see us again very soon!

Commented on 01/28/2018

Played as a twosome Sunday, January 28. Completed the round in 3 hours and 45 minutes. Course layout was very good. Required straight drives off the tee. Blue tees were 6,614 yards with a slope rating of 136. 4 par 3's were evenly spaced. Same for the 4 par 5's. Greens were fuzzy, slow, but consistent. Traps, cart paths and entrance needed work. Staff was polite, friendly and professional. I really liked the way the course finished on 16, 17 and 18.


"Bad shape"


Lloyd7592681's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/24/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course needs alot of work, need a real grounds keeper....


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 01/26/2018:

Thank you Lloyd for your review. Our staff is working hard on getting the course back up to par and we hope to see you back again very soon once all the changes have settled in.

"Ok and quick"


DaveHarnett's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/21/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course is an average design in slightly scratchy shape but given the recent weather, many are a little off. Pleasantly teed was fun before scheduled time and played in just over 3 hours as a twosome. Did not see another soul our entire round. Not even the beverage cart... boo. But overalll price matched course, location and time of year. No regrets.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 01/26/2018:

Thank you DaveHarnettfor your review. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know where we can do better and we hope to see you back again very soon!



3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/16/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 01/19/2018:

Thanks so much for your review and feedback. We are thrilled to see you had a good time on the course and we hope to see you back again very soon!<br/>

"Mediocre at best"


scotty6363's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/16/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

If you like dogleg par 5s, then play here. I am not a fan. Does not appear that they water the course much except for the greens. Would not play here again unless fees were about $20 including cart. A bit disorganized and quirky staff.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 01/19/2018:

Thanks so much Scotty6363 for your 3-star review and feedback. We are thrilled to see you had a good time on the course and we hope to see you back again very soon!


mannyaugusto's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/12/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 01/16/2018:

Thank you mannyaugusto for your review. We appreciate you taking the time and we hope to see you back again very soon!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed