River Club, The

3.5841058824 3.6 stars from 5 (512)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7026 yards
  • Slope: 144
  • Rating: 74.4
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees (with GPS)
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: No
Practice hole: No
Simulator: No
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Appropriate golf attire.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 7026 yards 74.4 144
Blue 72 6614 yards 72.1 137
White 72 6102 yards 69.6 128
Green 71 5495 yards 66.7 117
Red (W) 72 5056 yards 69.0 120

River Club is a popular Ron Garl-designed golf course famous for its unique moundings and positioning of grass and pot bunkers. Front nine are open with all elevated greens. River Club's back nine at are cut into the woods. There is water on 16 holes.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.3 stars from 5
Value: 3.9 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.0 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.0 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.3 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 512 Reviews
5 stars:
68
4 stars:
243
3 stars:
116
2 stars:
56
1 stars:
29

recommend this course

396 out of 509 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for locals advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks brunch 19th hole specials  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

u094141087's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 08/24/2017:

Thank you for the fantastic 4-star review of The River Club. Please come back and see us again very soon!

"Good Day..."


u982175233's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in good shape and staff was friendly. Add in some beautiful weather and it was a good day of golf.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u984272048's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course in good condition, found the greens hard to read. First time there and will diffenitly will be bbsck


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Must play"


BRYAN5180854's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is in great shape. Lots of beautiful sand bunkers, some can be treacherous, but you should be able to get over them with a good shot, risk-reward. The layout and tee boxes allow for a good range for players of varying ability


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u841637901's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 04/24/2018:

Thank you for your review and feedback on our course. We hope you will let us know if you ever need anything and come back and see us again very soon!

"Horrendous"


stoney9m's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course should be closed for condition it’s in. Save your money.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 04/24/2018:

Please reach out to us at riverclubmanagement@gmail.com so we can discuss in further detail and invite you back for another round

"After the war"


emiliocan's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

You could tell this club has had a busy 3 months of winter. The tee boxes look like a football team has practised on them.

The place simply does not look kept.

WHich is too bad because the layout of the course could make this one great.

It is a rather goofy course when it come to slope, white is 124 and blue is 139, nothing in between.

The price was great due to a hot deal, otherwise we would not be there, we needed to hit some balls.

Greens slow.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 04/23/2018:

Please reach out to us at riverclubmanagement@gmail.com so we can discuss in further detail and invite you back for another round

"Island Green"


meikco's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A very nice course with some difficult holes , but the 16th was a real challenge with an island green . The overall condition was good but the fairways sure could use some water .The one issue I had was the 18th. We could not seem to find the senior tee. There is a large area of extreme rough between the regular tees and the start of the fairway, so we thought the senior tee must be on the other side but the only thing there was a granite monument that said ( 18th par 3), very confusing . You should ask about that before you play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 04/23/2018:

Thank you meikco as we appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon here at The River Club.


melsack115's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 04/20/2018:

Thank you melsack115 for the review. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we did and please let us know if you ever need anything while you are here. Come back and see us again.

"Could be nice"


moveon16's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

With all the courses in this area, the staff was very blazae (one exception, the greeter). No other players but was paired up with someone & not allowed our own cart even though charged for one. The first three holes need some serious fairway maintenance. Otherwise the course is pretty boring with sand traps in odd places. 18th tee a really ill thought out hole. No need to return.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 04/20/2018:

Thank you moveon16 for the review. We appreciate you taking the time and we apologize for anything less than a five star round. We are always working to get better and we hope you will give us another chance again soon.



3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 04/16/2018:

We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.

"Not good"


Bsinc2531's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The rough is terrible , same as fairways . Greens are small and extremely slow and spongy . No starter , so kinda weird . Not a good time


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 04/17/2018:

Thank you for your review. Please reach out to us at riverclubmanagement@gmail.com so we can discuss in further detail and invite you back for another round.


PSAUER67's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in good shape fairways green & full. Greens rolled true. The only drawback was the areas just off the elevated greens were mushy from the irrigation needed this time of year.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 04/16/2018:

Thank you PSAUER67 so much for taking the time and for your 5-star rating! Book another round with us soon here at The River Club as we would love to have you back.


u8135251's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 04/10/2018:

We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

"Going Down Hill"


robkarrob's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played 6 weeks ago and River Club was good. But played Thursday April 19, 2018 and it is starting to get bad. River Club like many courses in the area heavily over-seed for winter/spring. But when the hot weather comes back the over-seed dies out and that is what is happening. A majority of the greens had large areas of dead grass (over-seed) which will soon be bare dirt. Areas of the fairways are similar. The problem is when the over-seed dies out only dirt remains. This will be an issue all summer until they over-seed next fall, a lot of bare ground on the greens and fairways. DO NOT PLAY if you value good course conditions. Wait till late fall 2018.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 04/23/2018:

We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.


chally's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 04/10/2018:

Thank you chally so much for taking the time and for your 5-star rating! Book another round with us soon here at The River Club.

"Affordable"


logicalposition's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

This course becomes affordable "off season", April thru October. In season it's a tad expensive for what it is. An older course showing it's age, kept up enough to keep it playable.

Lots of water and vegetation force you to keep the ball on the fairways. Some tee boxes were dry as were all the fairways. It's that time of year, but the greens were surprisingly near perfect. Cart paths are broken concrete in many spots, the carts were nice and the GPS was a plus.

The course is well used by players of all levels, so expect a lot of wear and tear. There are several gators that frolic about the streams and ponds, birds are everywhere. Bring your camera.

Overall it's a fun course for the average golfer, decent amenities, and affordable off season rates.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 04/05/2018:

Thank you logicalposition as we appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.


fhruska's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 04/05/2018:

Thanks fhruska as we appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon here at The River Club.


RG80D4BB871552C6115's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 04/17/2018:

Thank you for your review. Please reach out to us at riverclubmanagement@gmail.com so we can discuss in further detail and invite you back for another round.

"River club golf course"


u000005339255's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/28/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We really enjoyed our afternoon here at River Club. The course is arranged over a wide area and sometimes we felt that there could have been a bit more signage to reassure us that we had taken the right route to the next hole. However we never actually got lost so it must have been adequate. The staff here were both helpful and friendly, making us feel welcome.

The course is a mix of straight forward and more complicated holes. The big surprises came on the 16 th, which is an island green and has quite a carry, and the 18th which requires a long and straight drive over the hazard.

Although we didn’t have any hold ups during our round there was so much interesting wildlife on the course that a few minutes wait would have been welcome so that we could enjoy the baby cranes and alligators etc. I took lots of photographs and had a very enjoyable afternoon.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 04/02/2018:

We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon here at The River Club in Bradenton, Florida.

"Great"


Ben7898835's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a great time good character on the course and met some good people playing the course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The River Club on 03/29/2018:

Thank you Ben as we appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon here at The River Club.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed