Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.1
571 Reviews (571)
5 Stars
173
4 Stars
264
3 Stars
71
2 Stars
37
1 Stars
26
Conditions
4.1
Value
4.2
Layout
4.4
Friendliness
4.1
Pace
3.9
Amenities
4.0
89.7%
Recommend this course
478 out of 571 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.3
44 Reviews (44)
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
2
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.4
Layout
4.5
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.1
StaffFriendliness
4.0
93.2%
Recommend this course
41 out of 44 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.1
93 Reviews (93)
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
42
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
5
Conditions
4.1
Value
4.2
Layout
4.4
Pace
3.9
Amenities
4.1
StaffFriendliness
4.1
90.3%
Recommend this course
84 out of 93 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private
Style Links
Par 72
Length 7018 yards
Slope 139
Rating 74.1
Book a Tee Time at
Black Bear Golf Club- Orlando
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1995
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Bermuda Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect P. B. Dye (1995)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
GPS No
Pull-carts No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Caddies No
Golf Simulator No
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes
Practice Hole No

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed No
Dress code Proper golf attire required

Reviews

4.1
571 Reviews (571)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 31
Patio Dining 16
Brunch 12
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 58
Elevation Changes 51
Undulating Greens 47
This course/club is great for:
Locals 39
Advanced Golfers 33
Seniors 18
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 46
In the 'Burbs 27
Convenient to the City 7

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Used Golf Now and got a "Hot deal" price during mid day. While it was hot, a breeze came up at times and made it more bearable. Course is in very good condition compared to others played this summer. Staff is always accomodating and friendly.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Deserves more visitors

Played many (more expensive) courses and this is the best value we played. Great hole design with tight greens this is a very nice test of golf. Tee boxes and fairways are excellent and greens recovering well from aeration though on the slow side. Had a nice beer in the friendly clubhouse to round off a great day. More golfers should take a trip out here rather than some of the overpriced tracks in Orlando.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played

Enjoyable layout

We travelled 59 minutes to get to the course and at the price that we paid for our golf, it was worth it. The greens are still in recovery from being punched but rolled reasonably well. Everything else was excellent.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Excellent condition

Heard about this course for awhile but this is my first time to play it. Course has deep bunkers but only one water Hazzard. Fun to play and in excellent condition. Plan to play again soon.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
First Time Playing

Very nice course

A little quirky. Some very small greens. Front 9 recently aerated. Overall, a enjoyable round. Staff very friendly.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

The course is great the food is great people are awesome

The only thing I would change is make the driving range right outside where you check in lieu of driving to other side of range. That is a pain..,.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Coming Into Form

The course is starting to come into shape. Despite a few area on the greens which need care the course is in excellent condition. I know it’s links style so the greens run slower than most courses, but it’d be cool if they sped them up at least a little bit.

I paid $14 to play, you really can’t beat it for the price.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Worth It!

Track challenging but fair. Priced right. I would definitely play course again and highly recommend it to golfers that like a challenge and reward if you make the correct club selection .

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Been too long

It’s been about 10 years sincere last time I’ve played Black Bear. I forgot how great of a track it is. The conditions are great. I will be back soon

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great round!

The course is in great condition. The fairway is very nice , bunkers are awesome well care with flippe sand. The green is well manicure and green. i played twice this week thanks to Golfnow for literally 12.00! Although it was hot but i can’t complaint!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Very Enjoyable

The course is in Excellent condition. The pace of play was great. It's nice having ice water on every 3 -4 holes.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Fun course

Very good condition! Enjoyed the round. Get a cooler from the bar before you start. There was no beverage cart and the two water coolers on course were warm. Great value! Can’t wait to come back!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Very Disappointed

I moved down from South Carolina a few months ago and have been looking to join a club down here. While Black Bear isn't an elite course to say the least, I've enjoyed playing here since I relocated, until this afternoon. I literally have the Black Bear membership papers on my kitchen table. After this afternoon, I want nothing to do with this club. What's unfortunate is that it just comes down to one or two people who obviously are not aligned with the business strategy of the course.

My tee time - in case anyone from Black Bear cares to know - was 2:48pm. I teed off about ten minutes later, 2:58pm. Fast forward to about 5:30pm... I got approached by a young guy and his friend about whether I was playing a second round. I told him that I skipped around a bit and am finishing my round now, and this was while on hole 12.

Two holes later, the young kid came back and told me (after only being the course for 2 1/2 hours) that I had to pay - and he had the credit card machine with him in his court - or leave. Even though I tried to explain, he said he just "worked there" and was taking instructions from the head golf person.

Very unfortunate. I have played at Black Bear on average, 2-3 times a week. Black Bear staff - you can verify this if you want. I've spent hundreds of dollars out there. I'm still shaking my head on that decision. I will NEVER play out there again. Good job Black Bear. You tempted the wrong bear.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Poor
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 09/13/2019

Nobody, and I mean nobody who has even an ounce of respect for the rules, regulations, the history, and the beauty of the game of golf would ever leave a comment like this. You show up late for your tee time, you "jump" around to which ever hole you feel like without any thought towards the staff or any fellow golfers, and you think that THEY are in the wrong?!?! What is wrong with you? What kind of entitled, bratty, backwards world do you live in? You should be embarrassed.

Was this comment useful to you?
Default User Image
Commented on 07/12/2019

One thing I will add, my comment about rude staff wasn't an isolated incident. Just read the other reviews on this site in addition to other sites out there. You lost me as a customer forever. That's done. Now, hopefully for your sake, you will learn from this, although I highly doubt it because you have shown zero concern for a good customer experience. Redtail and the Country Club of Mount Dora are far nicer courses, better conditions, and MUCH friendlier staff.

Was this comment useful to you?
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Nick,
We are as familiar with you as you are with us. We are indeed sorry you are disappointed, however we do have policies and procedures upon which we expect all of our golfers to follow. One of which is be on time for your tee times, respect the golf course, and one that should be the most obvious is no one has the right to jump all over the golf course at will and play what ever holes they like. Our staff was simple trying to enforce these policies. If you had "ask" to play multiple holes as you saw fit, you probably would have been give permission. Especially now in our summer slow months. It is unfortunate that you have decided "never to play" here at Black Bear again. We hope you will change you mind and in doing so follow our policies and procedures. We would love if you would consider becoming one of our members.

Thank you,
Black Bear Team

Was this comment useful to you?
Nearby Courses
Sorrento, Florida
4.0416235294
748
Sorrento, Florida
4.2930235294
866
Mount Dora, Florida
4.2062823529
524
Mount Dora, Florida
3.6159882353
261
Tavares, Florida
4.1301058824
571
Grand Island, Florida
0.0
0
Lake Mary, Florida
1.3886571429
301
Apopka, Florida
2.9412142857
301
Longwood, Florida
3.9714
280
Apopka, Florida
3.8125
160

Stay & Play Offers

From $199
Valid dates: Oct 10, 2019 - Oct 31, 2019
Golf Package Special for October starts at $199.00 for 1 or 2 golfers, Monday to Thursday. Golf included for each nights stay. Call 520-577-4092 to add additional golfers to the package.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE