Mission Inn Resort & Club - El Campeon Course

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.6
678
5 Stars
492
4 Stars
146
3 Stars
26
2 Stars
9
1 Stars
5
Staff Friendliness
4.5
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.3
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.5
Layout
4.8
95.1%
Recommend this course
650 out of 678 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.6
678
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.4
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.5
Layout
4.8
93.7%
Recommend this course
59 out of 63 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.6
678
5 Stars
83
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
2
Staff Friendliness
4.5
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.3
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.4
Layout
4.7
94.4%
Recommend this course
119 out of 126 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 7015
Slope 136
Rating 73.8
Type Resort
Book a Tee Time at
Mission Inn Resort & Club - El Campeon Course
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7015 yards 73.8 136
Blue 72 6601 yards 72.0 135
Historic 72 6242 yards 70.3 131
Challenger 73 6073 yards 69.6 130
Gold 72 5624 yards 67.4 121
Gold (W) 73 5624 yards 72.9 133
Red (W) 73 4811 yards 68.6 125
Scorecard for El Campeon Golf Course
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 73.8/136 515 176 460 405 450 398 457 190 353 3404 569 431 240 340 532 142 364 556 437 3611 7015
Blue M: 72.0/135 474 172 430 380 403 382 448 170 334 3193 540 405 205 336 505 138 347 538 394 3408 6601
White M: 70.3/131 467 168 367 374 382 364 421 155 326 3024 495 374 164 332 477 138 332 518 388 3218 6242
Challenger M: 69.6/130 467 163 367 335 360 364 367 140 326 2889 495 359 164 332 477 138 332 518 369 3184 6073
Gold M: 67.4/121 W: 72.9/133 422 163 308 335 360 308 367 140 318 2721 414 359 152 237 432 125 317 498 369 2903 5624
Red M: 63.9/112 W: 68.6/125 353 115 247 241 293 257 367 100 283 2256 409 343 123 237 386 104 236 436 281 2555 4811
Handicap 14 16 10 8 6 4 2 12 18 11 3 15 9 13 17 7 1 5
Par 5 3 4 4 4 4 4 3 4 35 5 4 3 4 5 3 4 5 4 37 72
Handicap (W) 12 14 18 16 2 6 4 10 8 9 3 17 11 7 15 5 1 13

Course Details

Year Built 1917
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Ultra Dwarf Bermuda Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect C. E. Clarke (1926) George O'Neil (1917)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code No t-shirts or tank tops. Shorts are allowed but must be proper style and length. No tennis shorts or athletic shorts.

Best of Lists

Reviews

4.6
678

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 51
Dinner 37
Brunch 35
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 132
Water Hazards 114
Bunkers 104
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 98
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 89
A Bucket list/Top 100 Pick 79
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 123
At a Resort 94
In the 'Burbs 34
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played

Great layout (El Capeon)

Great golf course. Always in great shape. Wide variety of holes..
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Best course in central Florida

There are a lot of golf courses in central Florida. For that matter there are a lot of great golf courses in Florida, but this course is above the rest. Challenging, fun, and some very unique holes. Great conditions. Play it!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Golf Channel
First Time Playing

First time at El Campeon

Was excited to finally have the chance to play at Mission Inn El Campeon as a lot of my buddies have played it and it ranks really higher on Golf Advisor. I’ve been out there a couple times for meetings but never stayed to play. My home course and my buddy’s were both holding tournaments on Saturday, so this was the perfect time to give it a go. El Campeon is a very good test. We played the blue (back) tees and there were a bunch of pretty long par 4s (430+). The course has seen a ton of rain in the last few months, so a host of holes were very wet and the greens were fairly slow. I have heard that a lot of people say they either love this course or not because it’s tight and has a lot of water. While that’s true, the course is fair if you choose the right club off the tee (which is often not driver). This place doesn’t remind me of traditional Florida golf which is a plus in my book. There are a lot of elevation changes which is great and you can hit every club in your bag. Would love to play El Campeon again in the when the rains are gone, but playing in the summer is a great value and shouldn’t be missed.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Great layout with wonderful greens . A little wet in some spots especially #1
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Very difficult course from the Blue today

Course was playing long because it is so wet. Made it harder than I remembered. 2 holes are currently cart path only.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

History Lesson

From the time we arrived the entire group was treated with respect. The golf shop staff were well-informed about the course and the history of the area when asked. They started with details dating back to 1910! What a great family owned and operated golf resort. I hope to bring my family back for a weekend of rest, relaxation and pampering.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Best Course in Florida!

I've played this course many times and it's always my favorite. The views lay out the condition of the course is always spectacular.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Top 100 Contributor
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

nice place

Worth the drive from Orlando for me, 45-50 minutes. Great design, fine conditions. Slower twosome let me play thru, nice. Lost my rangefinder, told pro shop staff, they called to say it had been turned in. Doubled back and picked it up...great service!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Best around

Title says it all played El campeon both are awesome
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Classic Layout

Most enjoyable. Historical layout you'll want to play again.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Request A Vacation Quote From Mission Inn Resort & Club
Please provide your information below and a staff member at Mission Inn Resort & Club will be in contact to help you start planning your travel.

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Nearby Courses
Howey in the Hills, Florida
0.0
0
Howey in the Hills, Florida
4.5491235294
360
Leesburg, Florida
4.2634941176
317
Zellwood, Florida
3.7823529412
316
Apopka, Florida
2.4218
147
Apopka, Florida
3.3060235294
301
Apopka, Florida
3.3060235294
301
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE