Mission Inn Resort & Club - El Campeon Course

4.5493941176 4.5 stars from 5 (640)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7015 yards
  • Slope: 136
  • Rating: 73.8
  • Layout

  • 10400 County Rd 48, Howey in the Hills, Florida 34737, Lake County
  • (352) 324-3885
  • (352) 324-4199
  • www.missioninnresort.com
Write Review

Year built: 1917
Architect(s): C. E. Clarke (1926), George O'Neil (1917)
Type: Resort
Greens: Ultra Dwarf Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: No t-shirts or tank tops. Shorts are allowed but must be proper style and length. No tennis shorts or athletic shorts.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7015 yards 73.8 136
Blue 72 6601 yards 72.0 135
Historic 72 6242 yards 70.3 131
Challenger 73 6073 yards 69.6 130
Gold 72 5624 yards 67.4 121
Gold (W) 73 5624 yards 72.9 133
Red (W) 73 4811 yards 68.6 125

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.5 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 640 Reviews
5 stars:
461
4 stars:
140
3 stars:
25
2 stars:
9
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

612 out of 638 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive at a resort in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views a bucket list/top 100 pick   Challenges include elevation changes water hazards bunkers   Great for drinks dinner brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Absolutely The BEST!"


CaptainDave13's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/21/2016
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

El Campeon at Mission Inn is absolutely the best place you can play in Florida. I have played here foe many years and have never not found the course in perfect condition. It is challenging and fun. It has the best scenic holes anywhere. You have uphill shots, downhill shots, peninsula greens, elevated greens, doglegs. The designer was genius. It is my favorite course in Florida.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great layout"


Gulf4Fun's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course. One of my favourite layouts I’ve played in Florida. You don’t get too many hills in Florida but this course had a couple. Greens rolled nice and can’t say too much negative about this course. The only downside was one of our group needed to rent clubs for the round which cost 65.00 which we thought was a little pricey. Other than that great place to play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Challenging"


arjundt's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

very challenging for first timers! Lots of thinking and strategy gets into the game for most holes!

Orlando is really flat! But this course has hills...all up and down! With waters and different type of trees in play!

Really enjoyed playing this 101 year old course!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Disappointment"


Almccabe's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

We were a group of 12 looking so forward to playing here. For $109 plus tax it was a big disappointment. We played 4 other courses ranging from $49 to $79 plus tax. All were in much better shape and more enjoyable.

12 for 12 golfers felt the same way


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Classic Mission Inn"


u000003746955's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played here for 30 years. Best property in central Florida golf. Greens coverage as good as I’ve ever seen .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Another great day at Mission Inn"


skathwood's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great weather. Great round at Mission Inn. A course you have to play when you visit central Florida.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great pace of play"


margarethatfield's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Yes there are hills in Florida! Well maintained, lots of scenery


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



Mickhead1980's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/30/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Uniquely Challenging"


Rctrucks's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Group of 8 guys from Ohio played the course on Monday (3/26/18). We all found the course very unique to Florida with the elevation changes. The course Itself played extremely tough with 20 to 30 mph winds. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Greens were tough with the undulations and wind but fair. I would recommend this course and plan on coming back.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Unrealistic greens"


vr4blutooth's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice layout of course, greens were unrealistic, not a level spot on any of them and super fast so all downhill putts wouldn’t stop


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


"premium golf course"


francowitz's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

check was well staffed and polite. I didn't get a cart until 10 minutes before my tee time as course was heavily booked. having said that the staff turning around carts did an excellent job considering the situation. The design was excellent although a little difficult for most players. The greens were fast and with undulations and the grain was actually a factor in putting here. A couple of par 3' s over water had the area between the green and water shaved sown so balls that were poorly struck would roll of into the water. On a lot of holes only one side of the fairway left a clear shot to the green, while the other side meant you would have to work the ball to get at the green. Park your ego and enjoy this quality challenging course. My only problem was it was a 5 hour round and a guy in the group ahead of us drove his cart back to the tee to hit three of the tee because he could not find his tee ball and didn't hit a provisional. By the look of his swing and 2nd tee ball he was a decent player and as such should have known better. So the solution? A ranger? Don't over book? Neither of these would appear to be in the interest of the owner. My suggestion is book in the off season or when the weather is less desirable to golfers so the course won't be crowded. In summary great course, great staff terrible pace of play.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Mission Inn Great Value"


johnnagel's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/09/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Great Course. We played both coursed in the same day. El Champeon is the harder of the two with elevation changes 3 green surrounded by water. Built in 1917 but has gone through many upgrades. Greens were in great shape and fast. Fun to play and well worth the extra drive if you are staying in the Disney Area. Make the drive and save yourself $50.00 bucks will worth it. The surrounding area is beautiful.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u7426863's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/05/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played the course 3 times over 36 hours - loved it. Great value. Only minor complaint was that there was only 1 rake per bunker - slows down play and leaves some bunkers unraked due to laziness of some golfers.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



u880382855's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/05/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Got a great hot deal for Monday morning. Made the 51 minute drive from Disney and it was totally worth it. Gorgeous course, fairways and greens are impeccable . Highly recommend . Played El campeon,awesome course. Long course, greens were super fast. Great time


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Design"


WELRA1's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/05/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

If you enjoy well designed holes to play, then you need to play the El-Campeon Course at Mission Inn. Views you will remember.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"First TIme..."


sttcapt's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/05/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

After reading about this resort and how nice the tracks are kept I finally was able to play on March 5, 2018. First red flag...I check in and ask for range balls, $8.00 for small and $10.00 for large. Pro shop lady says give this receipt to one of the cart guys...I do, he says go to the range and u get the balls there...I did...no ball machine and all I see is a hitting area for MEMBERS ONLY with a bushel of range balls and several hitting stations...I go to Gilchrist Teaching Building and one of the staff tells me I have to go back and get the balls from one of the cart guys!!! WTF...so now I go back and the cart guy says no, all of the balls are on the range! huh? now I guided back to the part of the range where you can't see from the cart path and tells me just hit these balls out of the bushel size baskets...and I ask, "no small basket?" and he says no, just hit enough until ur ready. All of this could've been avoided if the lady at the desk or cart staff would've told me this from the beginning. Looking at the prices you would think this track would be in pristine and top condition, it is not. Definitely not worth the amount you pay and the pace of play was very, very slow...since I live in the area I left after 9 holes because this round would've fallen into the 5 hr time frame for 18 holes...buyer beware.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Worth the Trip"


LW11g's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/04/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Played this course for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed it. Nearly every hole is extremely well designed with some unique strategic placement of trees, water, and sand. There are many awesome views and the course has some very nice elevation changes. While the course conditions were a little moist on this day, this is is one of the very best layouts in all of Florida...very very picturesque. Staff was friendly and very accomodating nice practice range and big practice green came in handy before teeing off. This one is a must play in the Orlando area.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



riyaaz's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Excellent golf course"


u681903917's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/02/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Beautiful golf course, challenging course layout, great course condition, price is right too! We had a group of 8, and we all love this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Love this course!!"


philip52's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/27/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We started the day as the first group out. The course was perfect, having never played here before we hit some balls into trouble. We still played in under 4 hrs. We wanted to do a replay but they had a bunch of carts lined up for an outing . They were able to get us out right after them and we still played in the 4 1/2 hrs they show on the score card. The course is tough, fairways look smaller than they really are. Two eagles looking down on us at the first tee, Love this course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"a must to play inorlaqndo"


joecaiella's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/20/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

course in excellent shape

greens were fast and fair


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed