Mission Inn Resort & Club - El Campeon Course

4.5714058824 4.6 stars from 5 (617)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7015 yards
  • Slope: 136
  • Rating: 73.8
  • Layout

  • 10400 County Rd 48, Howey in the Hills, Florida 34737, Lake County
  • (352) 324-3885
  • (352) 324-4199
  • www.missioninnresort.com
Write Review

Year built: 1917
Architect(s): C. E. Clarke (1926), George O'Neil (1917)
Type: Resort
Greens: Ultra Dwarf Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: No t-shirts or tank tops. Shorts are allowed but must be proper style and length. No tennis shorts or athletic shorts.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7015 yards 73.8 136
Blue 72 6601 yards 72.0 135
Historic 72 6242 yards 70.3 131
Challenger 73 6073 yards 69.6 130
Gold 72 5624 yards 67.4 121
Gold (W) 73 5624 yards 72.9 133
Red (W) 73 4811 yards 68.6 125

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 617 Reviews
5 stars:
446
4 stars:
137
3 stars:
21
2 stars:
8
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

593 out of 615 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive at a resort in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views a bucket list/top 100 pick   Challenges include elevation changes water hazards bunkers   Great for drinks dinner brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Absolutely The BEST!"


CaptainDave13's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/21/2016
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

El Campeon at Mission Inn is absolutely the best place you can play in Florida. I have played here foe many years and have never not found the course in perfect condition. It is challenging and fun. It has the best scenic holes anywhere. You have uphill shots, downhill shots, peninsula greens, elevated greens, doglegs. The designer was genius. It is my favorite course in Florida.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



Clifford8436869's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/17/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Worth the drive!"


TheQManAce's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a great course. It has everything you want including lots of bunkers with that fluffy Florida sand that even i can get out of, awesome greens (that you can't read) and some elevation changes.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Interesting hilly historic layout"


Karenano's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/10/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We enjoyed El Campeon....not what you would expect in Florida with old growth trees and significant elevation changes. Course condition was well maintained but bunkers were inconsistent. Twice I had bunker shots where I thought I had sand under the ball but didn’t. Greens were grainy. The whole course is extremely picturesque. Water comes into play but is fair. Accuracy matters. Slicers will struggle. Overall it was worth it.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"100 year old course stands the test of time"


Gerald4250956's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice track nice layout was a pleasure to play. And for a added twist I played the other course and was really surprised wow long and modern the course was so you got one course Thsts a 100 year old and the other is really fun to play

Can’t go wrong


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"First time at el campeon"


u000005210364's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/07/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Have been fortunate to have played some great courses over the years. El Campeon has without a doubt the BEST layout I have personally played. Memorable holes I wont soon forget.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Rtmw999's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



jvwedgemobil's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Worth The Drive"


DarleneW's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The weather was perfect for a day on the links and El Campeon was a perfect way to spend it. The holes on the course offer a variety of challenges and a lot of sand. The course is in great shape. The practice facility and putting green offer many opportunities to warm up prior to taking on the course. It played a bit slower than I like but the scenery was great while waiting for the opportunity to tee it up. I would love to play this course again, despite the hour drive.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"a great course"


rogerjohnston65's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/04/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Over the last 20 years, when I am travelling from Ireland, I have played maybe 50 courses around Orlando. This was def right at the top of the pile. A really dramatic layout (for Florida) with significant elevation rises and falls. Greens were excellent. Really worth the slightly longer drive to get here.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great layout but conditions need to be better for what they charge."


u000002133482's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

El Campeon is a great course with a wonderful layout. But at a rate of $120 on a Friday morning the course conditions need to be MUCH better. It started on the driving range as there was no grass to hit from, only dirt. The course itself on some fairways had very little grass. With these conditions the price should have been around $50-$60.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 02/11/2018

Your dead on and greens are slow


"Elcampeon"


angell's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/01/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Outstanding and very addictive it makes you want to come back.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Challeging course with beautiful views."


RussAmen's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/29/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in fantastic shape after significant rain the night before. Views from all over the course were magnificent. Will definitely play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great Course!"


m7364m's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/28/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I’m handicap 8 and I like the challenging par 4s from the blues (420s and 439s). Plays it true course and slope ratings!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/26/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



cuspo1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/26/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



charlienagy's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/24/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Layout features both up and downhill shots with many forced carries with two or three island greens. Greens were fast this day for my group - Stimp probably 11+. Course was in great shape for being off-season. Played in a little over 4 hours. Only problem was everything was shutdown when we finished at about 5 PM.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Worth the drive from Lake Nona"


TrekSense's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/15/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

the course is about 50 miles out but definitely worth the drive. Course it great shape and challenging layout. The 17th hole was not only the #1 handicap but also the prettiest of all 18th holes. After golf, I spent the rest of the day at Winter Garden Plant Street Market for wonderful craft beer at Crooked Can and sushi at Jōdo and even bought artisan chocolate for the better half upon return home (Happy wife Happy life). @treksense


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



"Mission inn"


angell's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The finest course I've ever played on. I could not find one thing wrong. The pace of play was 3 1/2 hours in the course was in unbelievable condition. Looking forward to doing it again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Good golf course"


clgolfer's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/04/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good layout. Course in great condition. We really enjoy our round.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



doosang8813's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed