Mission Inn Resort & Club - El Campeon Course

4.6220411765 4.6 stars from 5 (588)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7015 yards
  • Slope: 136
  • Rating: 73.8
  • Layout

  • 10400 County Rd 48, Howey in the Hills, Florida 34737, Lake County
  • (352) 324-3885
  • (352) 324-4199
  • www.missioninnresort.com
Write a review

Year built: 1917
Architect(s): C. E. Clarke (1926), George O'Neil (1917)
Type: Resort
Greens: Ultra Dwarf Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: No t-shirts or tank tops. Shorts are allowed but must be proper style and length. No tennis shorts or athletic shorts.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7015 yards 73.8 136
Blue 72 6601 yards 72.0 135
Historic 72 6242 yards 70.3 131
Challenger 73 6073 yards 69.6 130
Gold 72 5624 yards 67.4 121
Gold (W) 73 5624 yards 72.9 133
Red (W) 73 4811 yards 68.6 125

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 588 Reviews
5 stars:
430
4 stars:
127
3 stars:
20
2 stars:
8
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

566 out of 586 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive at a resort in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views a bucket list/top 100 pick   Challenges include elevation changes water hazards bunkers   Great for drinks dinner brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Absolutely The BEST!"


CaptainDave13's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/21/2016
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

El Campeon at Mission Inn is absolutely the best place you can play in Florida. I have played here foe many years and have never not found the course in perfect condition. It is challenging and fun. It has the best scenic holes anywhere. You have uphill shots, downhill shots, peninsula greens, elevated greens, doglegs. The designer was genius. It is my favorite course in Florida.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Wow! What a great afternoon on an immaculate course!"


LGA56's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A beautiful layout, this course offers great vistas with challenging approaches and quick greens. Looking forward to returning for another great round!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Pace of play"


Charles1296560's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Would have been a perfect 5 star but felt a little rushed. Wasn't able to take in the beauty of the course as much as I would have liked to. If the starter didn't put me out ahead of a 4 group men's league(which got out late)I wouldn't have finished my round. Got around in 3 hours 40 minutes. Just felt rushed. Beautiful and challenging layout. Would come back though.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A remote gem."


SPEEDDADDY's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellent conditions,fast greens. Nice elevation changes unlike the typical flat Florida courses. Beautiful setting, you won't be disappointed.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"El campeon"


harmstrong11's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/12/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

This is our third time playing this course this course is always a beautiful choice. We will be back again soon


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Exceptional Value"


smitht's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/05/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Really appreciated the $22 fee for a 1:48pm tee time (finished at 5:20pm) because it's almost a one hour drive to this course from my house. The hot deal made it worthwhile to travel that far for this exceptional course.Really enjoy the shot values and trickiness of several of the greens on El Campeon.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



beverly827's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/05/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



voorheesfamily's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/04/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Awesome"


dobbies's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/03/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is one hundred years old this year and it is still one of the very best courses in Florida.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great layout - A Must Play"


redwing25911's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/30/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The fairways were long but just overseeded. The greens were great and very fast. Saw two gators with one being at least 10-12 feet. Great scenery


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"El Campeon should be on your list of places to play."


gardnemi's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

In a word spectacular!

Exceptional layout, greens run true along with perfect pace of play make for a great golfing experience


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Huge disappointment!"


wolfgangspreitzer's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/25/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We were looking forward to playing this course, as we read many positive reviews. But for us it was very disappointing. Fairways and tees were not mowed since a few days - ok, it was thanksgiving weekend - but friday courses have to be mowed. Starter did not care about starting times, he let us go when we showed. Only to found 3 flights on every other fairway then. It took us more than 5 hours, terrible.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"Old style course"


William1338851's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is on my favorite in Orlando area. It is 100 yrs old but don’t let that fool you it is one best layouts in the area. You don’t expect this kind of elevation change in Florida. I highly recommend this course if you get the opportunity to play it


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Wow"


u8530887's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/19/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

In 20 years on of the most beautiful courses I ever played. You will never forget this one. Go and play it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/25/2017

Thank you for your outstanding review and kind words! We hope to see you back soon!

-Pro Shop


"Top notch"


Kim3810088's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fantastic course with a wonderful layout. Highly recomended


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/25/2017

We are ecstatic that you enjoyed the wonderful layout and had a great round! Hope to see you back soon!

-Pro Shop


"Excellent greens and challenging course"


Michael6502128's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Whole course was in great shape. Very fun yet challenging course. Will definitely be back


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/25/2017

Thank you for your glowing review, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Visit us again soon!

-Pro Shop


"Be careful to avoid tournaments"


uTRVG7726TR's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/02/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Arrived to find Florida High School championship practice day in progress. In front of us were several 6 ball groups practicing with their coaches/teachers in tow. Many students were not taking it seriously, 'blasting' balls into trees, laughing, swearing, joking etc. Needless to say it was tedious and slow. I don't think Mission Inn should take bookings when these tournaments are in place as it undermines what is an excellent golfing venue. The course was in excellent shape, staff are superb and the whole facility is so unpretentious for a top golfing venue. I will return but hopefully not on a day which is dedicated to championship golf or practice.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/25/2017

We apologize that you were booked in behind the practice round for the Florida State High School Championships. Please call the pro shop before your next visit and we will be sure to inform you of any such events. Hope to see you soon.

-Pro Shop




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/31/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/25/2017

Thank you for your 5 star review!

-Pro Shop




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/31/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/25/2017

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will return soon!

-Pro Shop


"A "Must Play" experience!"


reddotsdee's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/29/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

on a 3000 mile (fr Oregon) 12 day golf vacation and MI was definitely a great play. We were paired with a nice couple of similar age (70) and hc. Played gold tees 5608yds! Warm, windy day. Course is definitely "old" Florida: Spanish moss, sand, water, and gators! We really enjoyed the round. Every hole was a challenge leading to #17 "Devils Delight"! on the tee just avoid the traps at 200 yds BUT its your 2nd shot that plays like a ride at Disney World BUT more fun! Should be on every golfers bucket list!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/25/2017

Thank you for your glowing 5 star review! We hope the rest of your trip was great as your time with us here at Mission Inn.

- Pro Shop


"Very interesting and challenging old course"


tomik17's avatar
Top 10 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/24/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A hundred years old course! I’ve played it so many times in last 15+ years and was looking forward to see how it is after the hurricane and rain. Well, it is still a little bit wet out there, but they have done an excellent work (and still do…) to get it in good conditions. The track is rather challenging and requires straight and precise shots. Tee boxes and bunkers are very good. Fairways are still a little wet, the course seems not to drain fast, but except some spots fairways are absolutely playable. Greens are very good – true, but not too fast. Very good pace of play out there (3 ¾ h). Stuff is correct and helpful.

Overall – it is worth the one hour drive from Orlando, especially if you catch a hot deal from Golfnow, than it is a great experience for a very reasonable price.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/25/2017

Thank you for your review. Please be sure to return now that we have been able to clean up from the hurricane. See you soon!

-Pro Shop



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed