Julington Creek Golf Club

3.6507647059 3.7 stars from 5 (265)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6908 yards
  • Slope: 127
  • Rating: 72.4
  • Layout

  • 1111 Durbin Creek Blvd, Jacksonville, Florida 32259
  • (904) 287-4653
  • (904) 287-2044
  • julingtoncreekgc.com

Year built: 1992
Architect(s): Steve Melnyk (1992)
Type: Semi-Private
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 6908 yards 72.4 127
Blue 72 6401 yards 70.1 120
White 72 5888 yards 67.6 114
White (W) 72 5888 yards 73.4 136
Green 72 5049 yards 64.3 107
Green (W) 72 5049 yards 69.6 115
Red 72 2768 yards N/A N/A

Julington Creek Golf Club (previously known as The Champions Club at Julington Creek), designed and owned by PGA Professional Steve Melnyk, offers a retreat to traditional designs of the past. With rolling Bermuda grass fairways wrapped around sparkling lakes and dense woods, the Julington Creek Golf Club offers a challenging but playable experience for the advanced and average golfer.

Since its opening in 1992, the Julington Creek Golf Club has played host to the Hooters Tour Jacksonville Open from 1996 to 1998 and the World Junior Championship Finals in 1997.

The golf course measures 6,908 yards from the gold tees. The longest hole is No. 14 at 566 yards. Champions has a rating of 73.4 and a slope of 132.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.4 stars from 5
Value: 3.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 265 Reviews
5 stars:
51
4 stars:
130
3 stars:
52
2 stars:
23
1 stars:
9

recommend this course

214 out of 262 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city in the 'burbs worth the drive   Great for locals seniors advanced golfers   Challenges include bunkers water hazards narrow fairways   Great for drinks patio dining watching the game  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Fair to average"


jmikailonis's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/10/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens and tee boxes weren't in the best shape, layout of the course was fun.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Punched greens"


Jorge7179873's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Totally disappointed with the Golf course, no one informed me about the greens have been punched poor customer service


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course



lschevitz's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



RCH3's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course



u5642421's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"The “Go To” course"


Mmillet's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

I would have to say the course is in the best condition since I started playing it, 10 years ago. The greens looked and rolled excellent. I typically do not give 5 stars across the board but the day I played was awesome. This course has never let me down. Thus, this is my “Go To” course when ever I have friends and family in town.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Excellent condition"


john316613's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Entire course is in great shape. Back nine greens and fairways were very good. Greens were smooth and fast. There were some brown spots but in the rough near the cart path. I guess it was due to lack of rain. Front nine had some greens that were recently sanded. The sanded greens were fast and very little sand on your ball. We enjoyed our round of golf. Love the hot dogs from the bar.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Terrible condition"


u000003855754's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in terrible condition. Didn't have any food after. Definitely over priced, I'm guessing that is why the pace was good, no body was there.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"lacking fairway grass"


uPYGR6048PY's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/12/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

front 9 fairways very little grass tight lies. back 9 fairways much better. greens ok.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I don't recommend this course



2goodmike's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/07/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course



bdepoli's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Playing Julington Creek"


grayintruder's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/22/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tees and fairways were playable, greens were good. Course has a lot of tree trouble, and enough water to challenge you.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Fun Course Great Staff"


Jimmie19's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/17/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Only had one week of warmer weather so the fairways still have some firm dead spots but are almost there. Greens are nice no dead spots would like to see them sped up some, but balls roll true. Really enjoyed the different hole designs the course gives a lot of different looks. The staff was fantastic. The guy in the clubhouse, the girl at the bar, and the cart barn guy all very friendly. If you want a fun challenging course with a great staff and don’t like the stuffy country club feel this is the place. Pace of play was great. Started a little before three on a Saturday and finished 18 before dark.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



famrice's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/10/2018
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairways were in poor sharp with a serious hardpan issue.Did not enjoy hitting off fairways..


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Hard pan fairways"


jrsares's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were in great shape, but the fairways were like hitting off concrete.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Great course"


u5642421's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/01/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course to play, perfect par 3’s and very challenging par 5’s ... makes for a fun round for sure!!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Cow pasture"


Jeron3220774's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/31/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It has been a few years since I played Julington Creek. I decided to give it another try, and was very disappointed. The greens are extremely slow. They are not cut very close, and they definitely don’t roll them. The fairways are dormant, and have dead grass clumps that interfere with your lie. If you would like to verify my review, just stop by and take a look at the practice green next to the clubhouse. It is abysmal.

With so many golf courses around, there is no reason to play here. St Johns and South Hampton are far superior courses for nearly the same price.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Great layout , challenging holes!!"


airboss1013's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very fun course to play. Typical winter fairways for this time of year but greens in great condition rolled true.

Great time. Not to busy during morning tee time.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Excellent"


Warren3635868's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/24/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tee box to green. Very well managed course. Rate it up there with Osprey Cove. Fairways a little brown but we have had freezing weather so I can’t wait until spring to get my toes in the grass. Go play this course. It’s a must


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice course"


u289847158's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/09/2017
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were in great shape and were still pretty fast despite heavy rains the night before.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



sacco1111's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed