Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run

3.8130529412 3.8 stars from 5 (796)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7014 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 73.7
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes
GPS: ParView GPS Full Color System on

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirts are required. Shorts must be Bermuda-length. Tennis shoes are allowed.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7014 yards 73.7 132
Blue 72 6643 yards 72.0 128
Gold 72 6184 yards 70.1 122
White 72 5259 yards 66.4 115
Red 72 4974 yards 68.9 115

Jack Nicklaus designed the golf course at the Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run. The 18-hole, public course is touted as having one of the best layouts in the area. The par-72 course offers 7,014 yards of challenging and fun golf. Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run's design emphasizes strategy rather than power. Sand and water hazards add interest to the course. In addition to providing a great game of golf, the course also has picturesque scenery with the many oaks and pines that snake though the course. It has been named one of America's Top 100 Courses priced under $100.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.7 stars from 5
Value: 3.9 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 796 Reviews
5 stars:
190
4 stars:
381
3 stars:
148
2 stars:
56
1 stars:
21

recommend this course

653 out of 793 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city near local attractions at a resort   Great for advanced golfers locals seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards narrow fairways   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great Value, Great Layout"


Steve6863016's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Despite windy conditions my wife and I had an enjoyable round at a great price. Course layout is excellent and greens in great condition and fast. Fairways need some care as lots of hard pan and not enough grass.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Will not be back"


anne0118's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We won’t play here again. The course does not appear to be kept up as well as the others on the island we played. Truly disappointed. The carts are old, the starter seemed to be not the least bit interested in providing us with any information regarding the course. It was a chore for him to talk to us. It appeared we were supposed to be paired with another twosome, but apparently that twosome didn’t want to play with us, so the starter told US to go early. Fine with us, but we didn’t get a chance to practice putting and then we waited on almost every hole because of the slow play ahead of us. No marshalls to monitor pace of play, one of the “gentlemen” ahead of us spent his afternoon retrieving balls from the lakes! No beverage cart. Very low budget operation. There are lots of other courses where I can spend my money.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Well manicured"


Jsquires55's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good layout, challenging yet fair; bunkers very nice sand, greens good condition; good value; only complaint were the rental clubs for women weren't great and they didn't provided tees or balls with the rental which most other clubs seem to do;


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Slow and rough"


u000005589360's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Horrible shape. I get it, it’s still early season. But it’s not this early. Fairways hard as rock causing many shots not holding.

Every group packed in. Not sure if starter is aware of this. No ranger in sight.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"Beautiful April Morning"


thegull8585's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Tees, fairways, and greens in great shape! “Rough” area around the greens and along fairway were a bit sparse and sandy, but overall a great experience. Loved playing here and will absolutely be back to play again my next trip to HHI.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/20/2018:

Great! We're glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you enjoyed our course conditions. We look forward to having you back the next time you are in the Hilton Head area!

"Needs work"



2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Layout was respectable. Nothing really note worthy. Fairways were in pretty bad shape, greens were nice


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/20/2018:

Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed our layout but we apologize that our course conditions didn't meet your expectations. We appreciate your review and we hope you will give us another try in the future!


ernieh's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/18/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/20/2018:

Awesome! Come back soon!


jimmmymac's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is fine but the price should be reduced at this time of year. The grass is still dormant and the fairways are hard and patchy.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/20/2018:

Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed our course and we appreciate your feedback on our course conditions. We hope to have you back again soon for your next round!

"Great layout"


Coffey3877's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tees good, greens nice but bumpy. Fairways and

areas around the greens were sparse.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/20/2018:

Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed our course but we apologize that our course conditions didn't meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you will give us another try in the future!

"Excellent"


gtgearhead's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is worth the price for sure. Challenging layout. Great greens. Fairways are good, will be better when grass really starts to grow. Looking forward to playing again soon.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/17/2018:

Wonderful! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our course and the challenge that it presented. We're also glad that you found us to be a good value. We look forward to having you back again soon at Golden Bear!

"Bare Bear"


codymshaw's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Unfortunately this course fell far short of expectations. Clover and Divots were more prevalent on the Range, Tees, Fairways than good healthy growing grass. Many bare spots and lack of grass were par for the course. And the greens looked and rolled decent despite all the unfixed ball marks. Members might need lesson in how to use a divot tool and sand.

We had an early tee time so pace of play was good, but unfortunately we were slow to get going, as the carts and bag drop workers were late to arrive.

Inside the pro shop the gentleman was great, actually his attentiveness was the highlight of the experience.

But outside the Starter was also late on arrival.

Wish I had more positive things to say, but unfortunately not. Plenty of other great courses in the area, so this one is off the playing list unless I hear about some drastic changes.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/17/2018:

Thank you for your review! We apologize that our course didn't meet your expectations and that you had a slow start due to our staff. We appreciate your feedback and we'd love the chance to speak to you more about your time with us. Please reach out to us at goldenbeargolfclub@gmail.com at your earliest convenience. Thank you again and we look forward to speaking with you!

"Pretty course which had just the right amount of difficulty and interest"


Kathyfitchett's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played this course twice . The first time we were paired up with a singe ball. The round took 4.5 hours which wasn’t great but you’d the course was good without being too challenging.

Played a second time at twilight and flew round the course in just over 3 hours. Great value playing at twilight . Greens in great condition and overall condition of course good.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/17/2018:

Great! We're glad that our course conditions met your expectations and that you enjoyed the challenge our course presented. We're also pleased that you found us to be a good value. We can't wait to have you back again soon!

"Disappointed"


debclauson's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

We were looking forward to playing this year. Enjoyed this course in the past. The design is wonderful but aside from the greens the course is in poor condition. The staff has quite the attitude and were rude. The only thing that salvaged this round was the couple we were paired with who were lovely.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/17/2018:

Thank you for your review! We're pleased that you enjoyed the layout of our course and the couple that you were paired with. We apologize that our course conditions didn't meet your expectations and we appreciate your feedback. We'd love to speak to you more about your time with us. Please reach out to us at goldenbeargolfclub@gmail.com at your earliest convenience. Thank you again and we look forward to speaking with you!

"HIlton head vacation"


ggoss44278's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Really glad did not have to pay full price for this golf course. Greens were good, other than that poor conditions .


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/17/2018:

Thank you for your review! We apologize that our course conditions didn't meet your expectations and we appreciate your feedback. We'd love to speak to you more about your time with us. Please reach out to us at goldenbeargolfclub@gmail.com at your earliest convenience. Thank you again and we look forward to speaking with you!

"Lousy fairways, greens in pretty good shape"


drozum's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairways didn't have much grass on them. Greens were good. Staff acted like they were doing us a favor.

Would not recommend for $55 plus.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/11/2018:

Thank you for your review! We apologize that our course didn't meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you will give us another try in the future!


u986086273's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/09/2018:

Awesome! Come back soon!

"Poor conditions"


Mccole29926's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fairways were very thin. Not much grass. A lot of fringe area and rough was bare. This course usually has good conditions. I had out of town guests for a golf vacation and they were disappointed. Staff is always good. Needs some course maintenance..


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/09/2018:

Thanks for your review! We're pleased that our staff left a great impression on you, but we apologize that our course conditions didn't meet your expectations. We appreciate your review and we hope you will give us another try in the future!

"Course was OK"


zchris90's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Greens were nice and fast. Fairways were pure dirt and non-existent. Awful condition everywhere but greens and tee boxes. Course layout is boring just down and back with both 9's a copy of each other. Staff was pretty friendly just didn't enjoy the course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/09/2018:

Thanks for your review! We're pleased that you enjoyed our greens and that our staff left a great impression on you. We apologize that you didn't enjoy our course and we appreciate your feedback. We hope you will give us another try in the future!

"Too slow to finish."


u597384152's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Play was slooow. Finally left after 13th when we got to 20 minutes wait between shots. Course is beautiful. Great layout. Some bare areas in fairways. Greens were superb. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would love to play again. I think they just sent out too many twosomes.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/09/2018:

Great! We're glad that you enjoyed our course and that our staff left a great impression on you. We apologize that the pace of play was slow and we appreciate your review. We hope to have you back again soon!


uOUVG5825OU's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from Golden Bear Golf Club at Indigo Run on 04/09/2018:

Outstanding! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us and we can't wait to have you back again soon for another perfect day with us!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed