Harbour Town Golf Links at Sea Pines Resort

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.8
63
5 Stars
55
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.9
Pace
4.6
Amenities
4.8
Conditions
4.7
Value
3.9
Layout
4.8
92.1%
Recommend this course
60 out of 63 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.8
63
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.9
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.8
Conditions
4.9
Value
3.6
Layout
4.8
84.6%
Recommend this course
11 out of 13 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.8
63
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.9
Pace
4.6
Amenities
4.8
Conditions
4.9
Value
3.8
Layout
4.8
88.9%
Recommend this course
16 out of 18 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 71
Length 7099
Slope 148
Rating 75.6
Type Resort
The Harbor Town Golf Links is one of three 18-hole courses at the Sea Pines Resort. It is constantly ranked one of the best courses in the area and in the U.S. Pete Dye, with help from Jack Nicklaus, who designed the course and it is touted as one of his finest courses. The par-71 course covers 7,099 yards of flat terrain. Harbor Town's sloping greens are small and covered in Tif Eagle grass. There are several challenging par 3s but the signature hole of the golf course is a tricky par 4. The infamous 18th hole is 458 yards that require a long tee shot towards the lighthouse. The breeze from the Calibogue Sound is definitely a factor in the difficulty of the hole.
Book a Tee Time at
The Sea Pines Resort - Harbour Town Golf Links
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Heritage 71 7099 yards 75.6 148
Blue 71 6681 yards 73.3 144
White 71 6253 yards 71.4 136
White (W) 71 6253 yards 76.2 144
Gold 71 5867 yards 69.6 131
Gold (W) 71 5867 yards 74.1 137
Green 71 5084 yards 66.7 118
Green (W) 71 5084 yards 69.8 126
Scorecard for Harbour Town Golf Links
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Heritage M: 75.6/148 410 502 469 200 549 419 195 473 332 3549 451 436 430 373 192 588 434 174 472 3550 7099
Dye M: 73.3/144 392 495 411 187 511 404 172 435 322 3329 421 413 404 354 165 571 395 185 444 3352 6681
Sea Pines M: 71.4/136 W: 76.2/144 380 471 381 165 497 373 160 405 298 3130 398 387 376 339 148 541 361 159 414 3123 6253
Carolina M: 69.6/131 W: 74.1/137 347 424 355 155 485 360 148 380 283 2937 358 365 360 324 138 511 333 141 400 2930 5867
Palmetto M: 66.7/118 W: 69.8/126 330 383 315 140 427 318 113 309 267 2602 324 285 272 307 107 421 304 130 332 2482 5084
Handicap 11 13 9 15 5 3 17 1 7 12 6 8 10 18 4 14 16 2
Par 4 5 4 3 5 4 3 4 4 36 4 4 4 4 3 5 4 3 4 35 71
Handicap (W) 11 3 9 17 5 13 15 1 7 10 14 12 8 16 4 6 18 2

Course Details

Year Built 1969
Fairways Celebration Bermuda Grass
Greens Tif-Eagle Bermuda Grass
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Caddies Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Best of Lists

  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Courses for Pace of Play in the U.S. (2016 #4)
  • Golf Advisor: Ginella's Top 50 U.S. Courses You Can Play (2016 #14) (2015 #13)
  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Friendliest Courses in the U.S. (2016 #8)
  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Courses for Layout in the U.S. (2017 #18) (2016 #12)
  • Golf Advisor: Top Courses in South Carolina (2017 #1) (2016 #1) (2015 #1)
  • Golf Advisor: Best of Golf Advisor (2017 #17) (2016 #3)
  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Course Conditions in the U.S. (2016 #4)
  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Off-course amenities in the U.S. (2017 #7) (2016 #1)

Reviews

4.8
63

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
19th Hole Scenic Views 10
Drinks 9
Patio Dining 9
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 15
Narrow Fairways 14
Bunkers 12
This course/club is great for:
A Bucket list/Top 100 Pick 17
Advanced Golfers 16
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 15
This Course's Location is:
At a Resort 13
Near Local Attractions 6
Worth the Drive 4
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
First Time Playing

Not worth the price

First, a beautiful course. Staff was very friendly. The problem is the caddie is not there so much to help you, but to get you off the course as fast as possible. It’s an easy course to walk but the pace the caddie pushed was too fast. He drug us along at 1.5 hours on the front nine. Play slowed on the back as we ran into other groups in the last two holes. Or pace was so fast that we waited for 30 minutes at the 17th tee and still no one behind us caught up. There was a youth tourney played on the back that day but if we had not been pushed at a 3 hour pace we would never of had to wait. Very disappointed that for that level of course and how much we paid to play it, that we were pushed that fast. Really didn’t get to enjoy the course as we should have. We also played the other sea pines courses. All staff very nice and Atlantic dunes was great, heron pointe had just been aerated but still a really nice course. I would play those two again but will not play harbor town again and would advise anyone going to Hilton Head to avoid harbor town. Many other great courses on Hilton Head less expensive and can play at a normal relaxed 4 hour pace.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Fair
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
First Time Playing

Top 100

Pretty cool to play a course that is featured on the pga tour. Excellent design tight varied and hard! This is as challenging as it gets don’t let the lack of overall distance fool you. Lots of bunkers and trees. Top notch Dye design. Forecaddie was very good and fun. Knew the course well and excellent at reading outs which you will need. This course have almost 18 memorable holes not just hole 18 with the lighthouse
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Nice course - over rated

The course was in great condition. The RBC heritage golf tournament was in two weeks. The setup for the tournament had a lot of stands around the greens, ruining what should have been nice views. Although caddies appear to be required, none were available (or wanted for the additional expense). A nice trek with only two possible water view holes. Narrow fairways and lots of sand. Nice course if money is no object.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Staff was wonderful, course was world class. Pace was a little slow, but not unexpected. Neil, our forecaddy was awesome. Read every putt he was asked to, located almost every errant drive (and there were plenty) and was very personable. We got to play 2 days before the course was shut down ahead of the RBC Heritage, so it was in immaculate condition - greens were firm but read true. Paid a premium, but got what we paid for.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great Course - Memorable Day - High Cost

It’s always fun to play a tournament course....but at $290 a player, the cost is a bit steep. None the less, I wanted my son to have the experience. We were extremely lucky - weather looked a bit sketchy but it turned out to be 75 and sunny. As a result, we had the course to ourselves and played in 3.5 hours. Our forecaddie was great. Since we were not staying in a Sea Pines property, we paid full fare for the round. You can do better if you book a package but we only had one day. $175 - $200 a player would get the course more play. Conditions were great. Greens were fast and true. Having the course to ourselves made the round fantastic but if we had to experience the typical 5 hour resort corse round, my review would be a lot less favorable. Bottom line: Would I play again? Sure, but only if the rate was under $200.Any more than that and it’s not really worth it. By the way, it’s much better to walk here than ride in a cart - the course is flat and if you ride, it’s cart path only.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Grand Experience

Great time at Harbour Town, our forecaddie Andy from London was awesome....good company and a great help on the course with where to put the ball and in reading the exceptionally small, immaculate, fast and true greens. Trees come into play on every hole if you are not careful. A real golfing experience.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

The Real Deal

We took a group of 16 to Harbour Town on our annual golf trip. The entire experience was first class! When we got there we had lunch in the clubhouse locker room overlooking the course. Food was really good. Practice facilities were great although I must admit first time I’ve ever seen a house within striking distance on a range.The course conditions were perfect 1 month before tournament. Also the stands were up which gave it a cool feel. It is a very tight course good layout with the last 6 holes being very memorable. Last two holes best on the course! My caddie Brock was very knowledgeable and helpful.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Rushed

I had a 1:30 tee time, I arrived at 12:50 so I would have time to warm up at the range, and putt on the putting green. I had hit about ten balls on the range when I heard someone calling my name. That’s when I was informed I’d be going off a lil early, and I asked when and the gentleman said “well actually now.” Which was around 1:15, I was informed my group was on the tee. Then I was notified we’d be playing the back first. I immediately left for the tee and the group had already left the tee and we’re in the 10th fairway, so I teed up and joined the group. I normally like to warm up, putt and make a bathroom run before I play, and I hate to be rushed in such a manner. The course was beautiful, Alex the fore caddie was great, and I’m not saying it ruined my round but, it was a little unnerving and thank God for the bathroom facilities on 13.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

It's Harbourtown

Terrific course which ate me up due to extreme windy conditions. Course in excellent shape.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Request A Vacation Quote From The Sea Pines Resort
Please provide your information below and a staff member at The Sea Pines Resort will be in contact to help you start planning your travel.

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Nearby Courses
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
4.8204352941
36
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
3.5556
9
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
4.6852
29
Daufuskie Island, South Carolina
5.0
3
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
0.0
0
Daufuskie Island, South Carolina
4.0
1
Daufuskie Island, South Carolina
4.0
2
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
3.5914705882
265
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
3.5914705882
265
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE