Oyster Reef Golf Course

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.1
202
5 Stars
64
4 Stars
101
3 Stars
27
2 Stars
7
1 Stars
3
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.0
Layout
4.3
Friendliness
4.5
Pace
3.9
Amenities
4.0
85.5%
Recommend this course
173 out of 202 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.0
31
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
17
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.9
Value
4.0
Layout
4.3
Pace
4.0
Amenities
3.9
StaffFriendliness
4.6
78.1%
Recommend this course
25 out of 31 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.0
87
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
45
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
2
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.0
Layout
4.4
Pace
3.7
Amenities
4.1
StaffFriendliness
4.6
85.1%
Recommend this course
74 out of 87 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 7018
Slope 137
Rating 74.7
Type Semi-Private
Oyster Reef features elevated tees and lush fairways lined by thick stands of live oak and pine. Numerous doglegs accented by strategically located mounds and fairway bunkers, call for well-planned tee shots. Varying sizes of greens with well-defined tiers place a premium on precise approach shots. The par-3 sixth hole, which plays 192 yards from the back tees to a green set against a backdrop of Port Royal Sound, is one of the most visually spectacular holes on Hilton Head. Oyster Reef is now a semi-private member-owned club with a limited number of tee times for guest play, The carefully-maintained facility, designed by noted course architect Rees Jones, continues to be a favorite destination for serious golfers as well as a favorite with locals.
Book a Tee Time at
Oyster Reef Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 7018 yards 74.7 137
Blue 72 6440 yards 72.2 124
White 72 6071 yards 70.5 119
Green (W) 72 5288 yards 71.1 120
Scorecard for Oyster Reef Golf Course
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Gold M: 74.5/134 391 514 175 375 455 192 400 430 542 3474 378 171 524 423 384 541 209 453 461 3544 7018
Blue M: 71.9/124 364 480 168 364 397 160 368 400 511 3212 353 135 491 385 362 504 165 412 421 3228 6440
White M: 67.7/122 W: 75.6/133 342 463 145 341 372 146 346 382 478 3015 343 130 470 363 340 470 145 388 407 3056 6071
Black M: 67.6/116 313 433 133 323 360 129 330 332 461 2814 328 110 419 334 269 460 115 377 378 2790 5604
Green M: 67.0/112 W: 71.2/121 267 427 118 318 326 122 292 326 455 2651 320 93 414 328 266 429 107 344 337 2638 5289
Handicap 16 2 18 12 8 14 4 10 6 13 17 9 11 3 1 15 5 7
Par 4 5 3 4 4 3 4 4 5 36 4 3 5 4 4 5 3 4 4 36 72
Handicap (W) 13 1 17 11 9 15 7 5 3 12 18 6 4 10 2 16 8 14

Course Details

Year Built 1982
Golf Season Year round
Architect Rees Jones (1982) Keith Evans (1982)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No

Reviews

4.1
202

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 7
Patio Dining 4
Watching the Game 3
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 20
Water Hazards 13
Narrow Fairways 10
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 13
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 11
Playing Multiple Courses 10
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 12
Near the Airport 7
At a Resort 6

Reviewer Photos

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

What Could’ve Been...

Certainly could have been a great round. Although, quite possibly some of the worst course conditions and etiquette I’ve played on in some time. I think that there could have been some sort of communication stating that the golf course had began undergoing renovations. The fairways were in decent shape, as were the greens minus a few patches here and there. But overall, very disappointed in having to hit over bulldozers and excavators to play shots.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great experience

Overall... this was an excellent place to play. Booked online and had never seen the place before. Staff was very friendly and told us that their course renovations had alr day begun, and what to do if it interfered with play. Can’t wait until the renovations are done so we can go back. Awesome restaurant (had lunch and happy hour) and wonderful course.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
OysterReefProShop
Commented On 06/11/2018

Thank you for the kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your round here at Oyster Reef.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Not worth the hype

To be honest I had high expectations for this golf outing. We have tried to play this course for 3 years now. I understand that this course is part of the Heritage Collection (??), and There was a time when you had a premium to play Oyster Reef (like an extra $10 compared to the others in the collection), so I thought “boy this must really be a great course.” I couldn’t have more wrong, or perhaps I couldn’t have been more misled. Definitely not worth the money, there are many courses on the island that are a much better bang for the buck. I won’t be going back any time soon, if ever. If Oyster Reef thinks they are worth any “premium “ they are delusional.

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
OysterReefProShop
Commented On 06/11/2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

We would love to have you back when we finish our course renovations over the summer.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Nice layout, nice people but under construction

We were paired with two very nice people. That doesn’t always happen so we were grateful that it did this time. The course has a nice challenging layout. The greens were quick but had some patches on them that were ground under repair. The must frustrating part was the sand traps that were under construction. Not only were they an eyesore, they impacted play. When workers were in them they didn’t stop and you had to avoid them and the machineary. It would have been nice to know this prior to the reservation. We would have went elsewhere. The people there are very nice. It is nice to see they were making improvements. But, please communicate somehow that as a potential customer this is what we are going to face if we golf there.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
OysterReefProShop
Commented On 06/10/2018

We do apologize for the miscommunication. The renovation project got started earlier than anticipated. Please come back and see us when we open September 5, the course is going to be fantastic.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
4.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Major bunker renovations are commencing

I played this course the last week in May. I liked the course despite my having issues holing putts. Greens were good, quite grainy, but soft and receptive to good shots. It has a good layout. The signature hole is a kinda short par3 on the front side that plays out towards the water giving a great view of a bay feeding into the Atlantic Ocean. The reason I don't recommend playing this place is the major bunker renovation taking place. As of last week there were just a small number of bunkers undergoing this work. But they are expanding this major project pretty quickly & alot of the other bunkers on this course don't have too much sand in them. So, this works out pretty good if you're in a fairway bunker, because you have a good chance to get a club on the ball and hit a good shot. But when you get around the greens this becomes a different issue. It is easy to get out of these bunkers, but without enough sand its hard to judge how hard to swing & the club will bounce off the dirt. So, while I enjoyed playing here & after the renovation will go back, its best to find another place to play, because in a few weeks this place will resemble a war zone.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
OysterReefProShop
Commented On 06/10/2018

Thank you for the review. Your thoughts are very important to us.

Regarding our renovation project, we will be closing the course June 12 to finish our bunker project and will re-open September 5. Please come see the new course it is going to be great.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Excellent layout

Always one of our favorite courses to play on the island. The course is always in a good shape and they are about to close down for the summer to resurface the greens and are already in the process of rebuilding the bunkers. I have been playing this course since the early 80s and it never disappoints!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Good value

Overall really good course. Good layout and good greens. Played with a guy I would call “ the human rain delay” so pace of play was just ok, but I would recommend this course for any level of player

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
OysterReefProShop
Commented On 06/10/2018

Thank you for the recommendation. We hope to see you again.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
SentryWorld
SentryWorld is the pinnacle of parkland golf. Redesigned in 2014, it combines the character and versatility of the country’s finest modern courses with a welcoming atmosphere and stunning natural beauty. From the spectacular fifth hole—a par five that hugs the shore of SentryWorld’s big lake—to the legendary “Flower Hole,” where 33,000 flowers surround the gently sloping green, the course provides players with gorgeous views at every turn.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course for price

One of the best courses in the area. Would highly recommend it only if a hot deal is available. Definitely one of the best conditioned courses in the area.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Image
OysterReefProShop
Commented On 06/10/2018

Your review is very kind. We would love to have see you again.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Default User Image
OysterReefProShop
Commented On 06/10/2018

Thank you for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Fantastic Opportunity in Hilton Head

Great course. Great greens. Friendly staff. Course in great shape.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
OysterReefProShop
Commented On 05/27/2018

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here at Oyster Reef.

Please come see us again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

good

Enjoyed the course, we used golfnow to book a 2-some, the ranger put us with another two some we didn't know, who had a tee time 12 mins after us. By the 4th hole they were already telling us we were behind on our time. We had 2 holes open behind us but were still being rushed. By the turn the ranger there told us we were well behind. I explained to him that there were no groups even close to us and he put us with the other two-some who had the tee time behind us. He said "it doesn't matter whats behind you we always look at whats in front of you" ? lol. all in all they put us with 2 guys we didn't know who were having a tough day and expected us to rush around the course, the two of us payed a total of 200$ to play while the other two paid 40$ because they stayed on the course. kinda bummed, but it is what it is.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Request A Vacation Quote From Heritage Golf Group
Please provide your information below and a staff member at Heritage Golf Group will be in contact to help you start planning your travel.

Stay & Play Offers

$174 Starting price
Valid dates: Sep 17, 2018 - Oct 31, 2018
Staying at Orange Lake Resort and teeing off on any of our four unique golf courses has never been easier.
Nearby Courses
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
4.1184176471
234
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
4.3665705882
294
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
3.9583411765
268
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
3.9353823529
181
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
4.012
47
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
4.5966285714
18
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
4.1389176471
86
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
4.0511764706
109
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina
3.9242588235
876
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE