Oyster Reef Golf Course
|Green (W)||72||5288 yards||71.1||120|
|Gold M: 74.5/134||391||514||175||375||455||192||400||430||542||3474||378||171||524||423||384||541||209||453||461||3544||7018|
|Blue M: 71.9/124||364||480||168||364||397||160||368||400||511||3212||353||135||491||385||362||504||165||412||421||3228||6440|
|White M: 67.7/122 W: 75.6/133||342||463||145||341||372||146||346||382||478||3015||343||130||470||363||340||470||145||388||407||3056||6071|
|Black M: 67.6/116||313||433||133||323||360||129||330||332||461||2814||328||110||419||334||269||460||115||377||378||2790||5604|
|Green M: 67.0/112 W: 71.2/121||267||427||118||318||326||122||292||326||455||2651||320||93||414||328||266||429||107||344||337||2638||5289|
What Could’ve Been...
Certainly could have been a great round. Although, quite possibly some of the worst course conditions and etiquette I’ve played on in some time. I think that there could have been some sort of communication stating that the golf course had began undergoing renovations. The fairways were in decent shape, as were the greens minus a few patches here and there. But overall, very disappointed in having to hit over bulldozers and excavators to play shots.
Overall... this was an excellent place to play. Booked online and had never seen the place before. Staff was very friendly and told us that their course renovations had alr day begun, and what to do if it interfered with play. Can’t wait until the renovations are done so we can go back. Awesome restaurant (had lunch and happy hour) and wonderful course.
Thank you for the kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your round here at Oyster Reef.
Not worth the hype
To be honest I had high expectations for this golf outing. We have tried to play this course for 3 years now. I understand that this course is part of the Heritage Collection (??), and There was a time when you had a premium to play Oyster Reef (like an extra $10 compared to the others in the collection), so I thought “boy this must really be a great course.” I couldn’t have more wrong, or perhaps I couldn’t have been more misled. Definitely not worth the money, there are many courses on the island that are a much better bang for the buck. I won’t be going back any time soon, if ever. If Oyster Reef thinks they are worth any “premium “ they are delusional.
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
We would love to have you back when we finish our course renovations over the summer.
Nice layout, nice people but under construction
We were paired with two very nice people. That doesn’t always happen so we were grateful that it did this time. The course has a nice challenging layout. The greens were quick but had some patches on them that were ground under repair. The must frustrating part was the sand traps that were under construction. Not only were they an eyesore, they impacted play. When workers were in them they didn’t stop and you had to avoid them and the machineary. It would have been nice to know this prior to the reservation. We would have went elsewhere. The people there are very nice. It is nice to see they were making improvements. But, please communicate somehow that as a potential customer this is what we are going to face if we golf there.
We do apologize for the miscommunication. The renovation project got started earlier than anticipated. Please come back and see us when we open September 5, the course is going to be fantastic.
Major bunker renovations are commencing
I played this course the last week in May. I liked the course despite my having issues holing putts. Greens were good, quite grainy, but soft and receptive to good shots. It has a good layout. The signature hole is a kinda short par3 on the front side that plays out towards the water giving a great view of a bay feeding into the Atlantic Ocean. The reason I don't recommend playing this place is the major bunker renovation taking place. As of last week there were just a small number of bunkers undergoing this work. But they are expanding this major project pretty quickly & alot of the other bunkers on this course don't have too much sand in them. So, this works out pretty good if you're in a fairway bunker, because you have a good chance to get a club on the ball and hit a good shot. But when you get around the greens this becomes a different issue. It is easy to get out of these bunkers, but without enough sand its hard to judge how hard to swing & the club will bounce off the dirt. So, while I enjoyed playing here & after the renovation will go back, its best to find another place to play, because in a few weeks this place will resemble a war zone.
Thank you for the review. Your thoughts are very important to us.
Regarding our renovation project, we will be closing the course June 12 to finish our bunker project and will re-open September 5. Please come see the new course it is going to be great.
Always one of our favorite courses to play on the island. The course is always in a good shape and they are about to close down for the summer to resurface the greens and are already in the process of rebuilding the bunkers. I have been playing this course since the early 80s and it never disappoints!
Overall really good course. Good layout and good greens. Played with a guy I would call “ the human rain delay” so pace of play was just ok, but I would recommend this course for any level of player
Thank you for the recommendation. We hope to see you again.
Great course for price
One of the best courses in the area. Would highly recommend it only if a hot deal is available. Definitely one of the best conditioned courses in the area.
Your review is very kind. We would love to have see you again.
Thank you for the great review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Fantastic Opportunity in Hilton Head
Great course. Great greens. Friendly staff. Course in great shape.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here at Oyster Reef.
Please come see us again soon.
Enjoyed the course, we used golfnow to book a 2-some, the ranger put us with another two some we didn't know, who had a tee time 12 mins after us. By the 4th hole they were already telling us we were behind on our time. We had 2 holes open behind us but were still being rushed. By the turn the ranger there told us we were well behind. I explained to him that there were no groups even close to us and he put us with the other two-some who had the tee time behind us. He said "it doesn't matter whats behind you we always look at whats in front of you" ? lol. all in all they put us with 2 guys we didn't know who were having a tough day and expected us to rush around the course, the two of us payed a total of 200$ to play while the other two paid 40$ because they stayed on the course. kinda bummed, but it is what it is.