Elks Run Golf Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.2
243
5 Stars
100
4 Stars
101
3 Stars
25
2 Stars
13
1 Stars
4
Conditions
3.9
Value
4.2
Layout
4.6
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
3.9
Amenities
4.0
85.4%
Recommend this course
212 out of 243 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.4
10
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.0
Value
3.3
Layout
4.1
Pace
3.3
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
3.8
60.0%
Recommend this course
6 out of 10 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.1
33
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.8
Value
4.0
Layout
4.6
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.9
StaffFriendliness
4.3
81.8%
Recommend this course
27 out of 33 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Style Links
Par 71
Length 6845 yards
Slope 138
Rating 72.9
Elks Run Golf Club in Batavia was designed by Greg Norman. It sprawls across 163 lush and secluded acres where golfers will be hard-pressed to find a home anywhere close to the course. Norman carefully utilized the natural terrain, incorporating the meandering creek on several holes and also adding a few holes that venture up the side of a hill. Thanks to the dramatic elevation changes, there are some tees where your ball seems to stay in the air forever. The first nine is more open with a traditional links-style layout that then leads to the more densely wooded back nine. In addition to the trees and other natural hazards, there is also an unusually thick first cut of rough as well as tall stands of native grasses.
Book a Tee Time at
Elks Run Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 71 6845 yards 72.9 138
Blue 71 6486 yards 71.3 136
Silver 71 6053 yards 69.3 132
Gold 71 5334 yards 70.7 134
Scorecard for Elks Run Golf Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 73.0/136 353 195 517 475 550 412 363 156 407 3428 366 410 154 388 430 539 445 228 457 3417 6845
Blue M: 71.3/131 335 175 508 460 535 387 335 136 379 3250 355 380 144 379 390 517 435 216 420 3236 6486
White M: 69.3/124 W: 75.1/132 312 151 493 409 511 372 307 121 348 3024 333 374 136 346 372 491 409 199 369 3029 6053
Gold W: 71.1/122 256 125 434 366 432 344 267 96 307 2627 310 342 116 301 330 443 361 158 343 2704 5331
Handicap 17 5 7 1 9 3 11 13 15 14 16 18 6 4 8 10 12 2
Par 4 3 5 4 5 4 4 3 4 36 4 4 3 4 4 5 4 3 4 35 71

Course Details

Year Built 1999
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Greg Norman (1999) Tad Burnett

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fee
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted Amex MasterCard Visa Discover card(s) Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Fivesomes Allowed Yes
Dress code Colared shirt required, no denim.

Reviews

4.2
243

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 22
Watching the Game 10
Brunch 9
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 36
Elevation Changes 33
Water Hazards 32
This course/club is great for:
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 34
Advanced Golfers 25
Entertaining Clients 18
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 32
In the 'Burbs 16
Convenient to the City 7

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Elks Run

This course has a lot of elevation changes, a very pretty course. Bring extra balls because the rough is always high and missing the fairway usually means losing the ball. And don’t bother going into the heather, you’re wasting your golf time. This course requires shaping tee shots both left and right to score well. This is a challenging course that plays on the longer side.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Elks Run on 11/06/2018:
Thank you so much for the 5-star review of Elks Run Golf Club! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your round despite the challenges the course provides. Please be sure to tee it up with us again soon!
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

So much potential

Elks is that one place that could be great, but will probably never get there. It is a great layout, and makes you hit every shot. It is challenging, and really does have a ton of potential. Conditions can be hit and miss. Some of the tee boxes are right up there with the worst tee box conditions in the city, where others are very nice. Some of the fairways and greens will be plush, and others will be burnt. Lots of inconsistencies throughout the course. Doesn't make much sense. That being said, the condition of the course ISN'T the problem, and isn't what will likely keep my friends and I away. It is the course management.

We have played here A LOT. Unfortunately, it has just gotten to the point where it is always something when we go. Someone is finally filling the water coolers. There was a time when they always seemed to be empty. That difficult task seems to have been resolved. However, when you aren't arguing with someone in the pro shop about the rate that someone else told you that you would have, and didn't notate it in the system, you are spending the bulk of your time sitting in your cart, waiting over EVERY shot. A couple of trips ago, we were part of a traffic jam that was already formed on the FIRST TEE. It was cart path only, which happens, but they let off a group of 4 older, and much less skilled golfers that were 90 minutes LATE for their tee time, in front of the 2 or 3 groups that were sitting there ready to go. You just can't do that. We were already being backed up, and then they just slammed a group of terrible golfers into a full tee sheet in front of us. That round had nightmares written all over it. We left...

On this latest trip, there was an outing, and it clearly wasn't being policed. We once again waited on every tee box and every shot. We came off of number 9 at 25 after the hour. By the time we finally got to play number 10, and finish the hole, it was 10 after the next hour. Yep, 45 minutes to get through number 10. You almost ALWAYS sit on the back at Elks anyway, but this was a whole new level. We muddled our way through 11, watching and waiting. We got to the 12 tee box, and the group in front of us was still sitting in their carts. After almost 20 minutes, and finally getting to hit shots on 12, we had had enough. All rhythm that we managed to keep up on the front (and better golfers know about rhythm)was completely gone. It wasn't worth it anymore. We left. Again.

I tend to play wherever my buddies want play. I will go anywhere, and can enjoy just about any course. I don't think I can enjoy Elks anymore. I truly hope my friends have had enough as well, and don't want to go back. At least not until they work their tee sheets better, and police the course. They are too many other courses to play that don't have those headaches.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Elks Run Golf Club
Commented On 2018-11-06T21:40:35.000+00:00

We would like to apologize that your experience with us was anything less than a 5-star experience. Would you mind calling the pro shop and requesting to speak with the GM about your round? Thank you.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Course is suffering from weather

This course looks like it has taken a beating from the weather the fairways are spotty at best the greens look like they've been bombed and scorched. It will take this course a while to recover.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Elks Run on 10/01/2018:
We are very sorry to hear that your experience was anything less than a 5-star experience.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Elks Run on 10/01/2018:
Thank you so much for the 4-star review of Elks Run Golf Club. Please come back and visit us soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Beautiful Setting

Great time in a beautiful, serene setting. A few fairways off limits due to new grass growing but really no problem for us.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Elks Run on 10/01/2018:
Thank you so much for the 4-star review of Elks Run Golf Club. Please be sure to come back and tee it up with us soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Beautiful course!

Course over all was in good shape. A few of the greens and fairways conditions were average to below average(mostly because of ball marks and divots not being repaired). A definite risk reward course. Layout is beautiful. I encourage any golfer to play this course just for the experience.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Elks Run on 10/01/2018:
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience while you were here at Elks Run. Glad that you enjoyed the layout and the course. Please come back and visit us soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course/5 and a half hour round

I thoroughly enjoy playing this course. It’s always in great shape. However, it took us over 5 1/2 hours to play today. There was a group of 30ish players in front of us that were having a great time but we’re very slow. We didn’t see a ranger the entire time and honestly wish we would’ve called the clubhouse. Someone needed to speed them up. If you have a large group, don’t offer a GN deal/tee time right behind them. Let them have their fun, but don’t let us have to add an extra two hours to our round.

Again, great course and will come back again.

Respectfully,

Dave Setter

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Response from Elks Run on 09/18/2018:
Thank you Dave for your concern. We are glad that you were still able to enjoy your round while you were here with us. Please come back and visit us soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Response from Elks Run on 09/04/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review of Elks Run Golf Club. Please come back and visit us soon.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Very good value, but a bit run down

I find the course is one of the better layouts in Cincinnati. However the conditions were a bit rough. Many of the greens and the rough around them are not in as good a shape as they used to be a few years ago. The pace of play was outstanding for an early Saturday tee time.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Elks Run on 08/28/2018:
Thank you so much for taking the to write us a 4-star review of Elks Run Golf Course. Glad to hear you enjoyed the layout and the pace of play was outstanding. Please come back and visit us soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
First Time Playing

Big Disappointment

Have been wanting to play this course for a while with all the good reviews. The course was in horrible shape and poorly maintenanced. Pace of play was horrible tee times too close for a good pace. Waited every shot 5 hour round. Don't waste your money thinking this is a nice course. Spend the extra 15 and go to stonelick hills.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Response from Elks Run on 08/22/2018:
We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy the course of the course conditions while you were here. We would also like to apologize for the slow pace of play. Please do not write of Elks Run. We hope you will return and have a better experience.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course is a Wreck

Lots of fairway and tee box rot; greens have some and are pock marked with many unrepaired ball marks.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Elks Run on 08/06/2018:
We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your round with us at Elks Run Golf Club.
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

greens were fast but fair, some rough spots in fairways but its been hot and dry around here lately. The course is challenging but not impossible for the average weekend golfer.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Elks Run on 08/06/2018:
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your round while you were here with us! Thank you for the 5-star review, please come back and play Elks Run again soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Bring extra ball

But the course is beautiful shape. The was some problem with the fairway grass on a couple of holes but the greens were fast and true.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from Elks Run on 07/26/2018:
Thank you for the 5-star review of Elks Run. Glad to hear you enjoyed the course despite the challenges. Please come back and visit us soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Great set up

Fairways were firm and fast, while still having some green in them. Greens were true with a couple minor exceptions. Overall I had a lot of fun!!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Response from Elks Run on 07/20/2018:
Thank you for the 5-star review of Elks Run. Please come back and visit us soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Elk Run

This is a great course to play if you stay in the fairway. Which I don't

Everything was in good shape and I will be back

Enjoy the view as it sits at the base of a hill.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from Elks Run Golf Club on 07/09/2018:
Thank you so much for the 5-star review of Elks Run. Glad to hear you enjoyed the course and course conditions. Please come back and visit us soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Twice a year
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Response from Elks Run on 06/25/2018:
Thank you for the 5-star review of Elks Run. Please come back and visit us soon.
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Response from Elks Run on 05/30/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review of Elk Run Golf Club. Please come back and visit us soon!
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Great!

Have been playing here for years! Best I have seen this course in a long time. The greens and fairways are excellent!! The tees are pretty good as well. The only complaint I would have would be the BUNKERS. If your going to charge a premium for playing then you need to have everything in good shape. Anytime they get rain the bunkers get washed out.

Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Response from Elks Run on 05/30/2018:
Thank you for the kind words of Elks Run! We appreciate the 5-star review, we will work on the bunkers. Please come back and visit us soon.
Played On
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Excellent Course

One of my favorite courses in Cincy. Great layout and great condition.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Elks Run on 05/21/2018:
Thank you for the 5-star review of Elks Run Golf Club. Please come back and visit us soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Picturesque

First time playing this course. Played in 3.5 hrs. Great layout. Little drive from downtown but well worth it. Great scenery from every hole. Staff is amazing. Give it a try.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Elks Run on 05/10/2018:
Thank you for the 5-star review of Elks Run Golf Club. Glad to hear the staff was great and you had some great views. Please come back and visit us soon.
Nearby Courses
Batavia, Ohio
4.8557764706
85
Amelia, Ohio
2.9412
17
Cincinnati, Ohio
0.0
0
Cincinnati, Ohio
4.3785941176
118
Batavia, Ohio
3.7644764706
109
Cincinnati, Ohio
4.6428571429
3
Goshen, Ohio
3.7828235294
82
Cincinnati, Ohio
0.0
0
California, Kentucky
4.2865352941
164
Cincinnati, Ohio
5.0
2

Stay & Play Offers

$145 Starting price
Valid dates: Feb 11, 2019 - Mar 31, 2019
4 days/ 3 nights with unlimited golf, starting at $145 pp/pn
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE