Kiva Dunes Golf Course

4.6825882353 4.7 stars from 5 (144)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7092 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 73.9
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Accepted

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 7092 yards 73.9 132
Blue 72 6464 yards 70.8 129
White 72 5849 yards 67.8 119
Red (W) 72 5006 yards 68.5 115

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 144 Reviews
5 stars:
116
4 stars:
24
3 stars:
3
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

141 out of 144 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Great for a weekend splurge advanced golfers group getaways   Challenges include bunkers  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Best on The Gulf"


imissimissimake's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/19/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

Course was in perfect condition. Lush fairways and perfect greens. Renovation in 2015 created playability for all levels of golfers. We felt welcomed and the staff made sure we had everything we needed and were enjoying our day. Generous fairways and big greens help accommodate the breeze off the gulf. KIVA DUNES is a must play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Awesome course"


u000006148106's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Kivas Dunes is a gem. Course was in excellent condition and the staff was very nice and accommodating. I definitely recommend playing here if you are in the Gulf Shores area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



jmorvant's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Great day"


rggolf's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/05/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Was paired up with great guys from Mississippi, very friendly and enjoyed the course together. Had one slow hole but Marshall took care of it


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Golfer Friendly"


Bean52's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in great condition would highly recommend playing


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Is this really top Course in Alabama?"


Jbcoats's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Kiva Dunes is a nice, challenging resort course. Course conditions were excellent, greens could have been better. It is not a must play by any means..spend your money elsewhere..


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u819612780's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Excellent"


Rongaubert's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in great shape. Wide fairways with some interesting shots to the geens. The greens are rather large also. A ptremium course that should be on your list to play.

Very helpful and friendly staff. Nice club house with restaurant.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course"


u000004124345's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Upon arrival there were a couple of very friendly gentlemen at the bag drop off who were happy to unload our clubs and put them on a cart. They then proceeded to give a quick course overview that was very informative. After checking in at the pro shop we priced to the practice range and practice greens, included in the round of golf so you can warm up! The starter came over when there was a break in tee times and we had about 20 minutes until our tee time but as luck would have it he offered us to start a bit early due to an unforeseen opening. We were warmed up and ready to play so we took the given opportunity. The starter let us know about the nitches on the course and have a few pointers for how to play the course. Once we feed off we experienced the beauty of this very well maintained course. Man it was hot out the day we played, but the course was accommodating from the courtesy towels in the cart to the water coolers on multiple holes. The cart gal came by frequently enough you didn’t have to worry about fully stocking your provided cooler or even swing in to the clubhouse for lunch as she was fully equipped, or would grab you what you desired from the clubhouse. As with any course you may catch up with a slower group ( we have all been in that party before...) much to my surprise as we were playing we had a marshal approach us and he advised he was going to play us through the group in front of us. I mean they already let us tee off early and now letting us play through, this was just the cherry on top. After our round we proceeded to the clubhouse for a couple cold ones and to grab a couple souvenirs from the pro shop and the hospitality did not stop there. The fellas from the bag drop followed us to our vehicle and priced to clean our clubs as we swapped shoes. They even provided us with a cart to head back to the clubhouse with since they were taking our cart to clean it up, they told us to just drive up to the front door and head on in and they grabbed that cart from there. This course is pure class and beautiful I’d 10/10 recommend Kiva Dunes to anyone in the area! Definitely worth the price.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


Bwest90's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/23/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played this course on a Saturday at 1200 and only had to wait in one hole. Lot of different ways to play this course. I Hit a lot of drivers that got me in trouble because I didn’t have the right angle on the fairway can’t wait to go back now that I’ve seen the course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


Tbagolf's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/22/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Overall a great course in very nice shape. Challenging course especially when the wind is blowing like it normally does. They did allow a 5 some to play in front of us, but they played quickly and let us play through. Starter can be a bit pushy.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Unique, challenging and fun"


Tomlovell's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/21/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have probably played 30+ rounds at Kiva while vacationing in the area over the last 28 years. Kiva Dunes is a links style course built in natural sand dunes adjacent to the Gulf of Mexico. Typically it plays fast and firm. Course conditions are excellent. It is a very challenging course with lots of sand and water hazards. I think it is a first shot golf course that is best played conservatively off the tee. Four great par 3s. Number 6 is perhaps the best short par 4 I have ever seen. Highly recommend


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Awesome"


Dustinrdyer's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/18/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course in immaculate shape and great course all around!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Kiva Dunes"


resq1ff000001's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great deal on Golf Now, great course, wonderful staff and friendly gators.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000001458776's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Day."


u000007666663's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course and friendly staff. The greens had been aerated but the still were putting fairly smooth. Go and play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Visiting Texan"


dwt101's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Marshall and starters are some of the nicest people ever. I play this course at least once every two years or once a year for the last 21 years. We live 600 miles away and come to this area every year for one or two weeks a year. I used golf now for the first time and I felt the shop staff acted as if we were just cheap discount golfers. Kiva Dunes is the best public course in Alabama and it shows, awesome greens, fairways, and design. It might have been my imagination, but felt a little comfortable in the pro shop. I love the course and it is one of my highlights of my trip every year. If you have not played, give yourself a treat and go play it!!!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Very Nice Course"


hasnider's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was not terribly busy the day I played and I played 36 holes. Weather was hot and a bit windy making the course play a bit more difficult but still was an enjoyable day of golf. The greens were firm, barely left a ball mark, and moderately quick but rolled true. Definitely a course you will play better after having seen it once as course knowledge will save you many strokes. I would recommend this course to anyone that enjoys a well conditioned resort course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Kiva is a GREAT course - play it!"


Philip8576819's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Everything about our day here was simply terrific. From the welcome by the cart boys, to the club staff, to the starter, the range and finally the course, it was a perfect day (even at 94 degrees that afternoon). The course was pretty much perfect. Lush fairways, perfect greens .... and evil bunkers. Even the refreshment cart girl was pleasant and professional. Don’t miss the chance to play this jewel on the gulf!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Proton11's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Not sure there’s a better course in Alabama"


u9696888's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Greens were perfect. Beautiful course and not too crowded. Great value.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed