Apollo Beach Golf & Sea Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.4
308
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
115
3 Stars
94
2 Stars
41
1 Stars
19
Conditions
3.0
Value
3.8
Layout
4.2
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.4
76.6%
Recommend this course
234 out of 306 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.3
6
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Conditions
3.7
Value
3.8
Layout
4.7
Pace
3.5
Amenities
4.2
StaffFriendliness
4.2
100.0%
Recommend this course
6 out of 6 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.5
50
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
9
1 Stars
2
Conditions
3.3
Value
3.9
Layout
4.2
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.4
StaffFriendliness
4.3
78.4%
Recommend this course
40 out of 50 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 7033
Slope 127
Rating 73.9
Type Public
Originally designed by Robert Trent Jones Sr., Apollo Beach Golf Club features large, well- bunkered greens and long tee boxes with generous fairways. The course is designed around many small lakes and inlets that dominate the landscape, bringing water into play on every hole. One trip around the layout and you will know that there are all sorts of unseen challenges awaiting golfers of all skill levels. The snack bar/restaurant offers home cooked breakfasts and lunches featuring specials daily.
Book a Tee Time at
Apollo Beach Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 7033 yards 73.9 127
White 72 6315 yards 70.4 125
Gold 72 5701 yards 67.5 119
Red (W) 72 5047 yards 69.2 117
Scorecard for Apollo Beach
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Blue M: 73.9/127 403 498 378 203 437 403 553 192 417 3484 439 528 174 428 400 381 568 199 399 3516 7000
White M: 70.4/125 383 445 351 169 393 375 513 158 374 3161 395 488 145 367 365 347 511 165 371 3154 6315
Gold M: 67.5/119 362 417 321 141 361 347 475 144 354 2922 337 446 128 275 332 301 461 152 347 2779 5701
Red W: 69.2/117 307 379 301 122 297 289 426 121 299 2541 306 420 112 235 266 277 417 140 333 2506 5047
Handicap 5 17 11 13 1 9 3 15 7 4 8 18 2 14 10 6 16 12
Par 4 5 4 3 4 4 5 3 4 36 4 5 3 4 4 4 5 3 4 36 72
Handicap (W) 7 9 3 15 5 11 1 17 13 4 8 18 2 12 14 6 16 10

Course Details

Year Built 1962
Greens Paspalum Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Robert Trent Jones, Sr. (1962)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Caddies No
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Proper golf attire required.

Reviews

3.4
308

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 19
Brunch 11
19th Hole Specials 6
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 59
Bunkers 31
Forced Carries 21
This course/club is great for:
Locals 49
Seniors 36
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 26
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 24
Worth the Drive 22
In the 'Burbs 21
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Response from #ApolloBeachGC on 10/16/2018:
Thanks for the 4-stars! Come back to Apollo Beach Golf Club again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Ok

The course didn’t disclose that the greens had been areated recently

Conditions Good
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Fair
Amenities Average
Response from #ApolloBeachGC on 09/19/2018:
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review, however, we apologize for any miscommunication regarding our recent aerification. We typically place alerts on our online tee times to notify golfers ahead of time but apologize if this was not the case with your reservation. Your comments have been shared with our staff so we can address this better moving forward. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back for a better round soon.
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Response from #ApolloBeachGC on 09/05/2018:
Thank you for the 4-stars! Come back to Apollo Beach Golf Club for another great round soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Helped by rain

Much improved thanks to mother nature. Always enjoyed playing here,even off the hardpan. One wish would be for actual sand in the traps,and maybe weedeat a fringe around them..also, lost a couple balls in the first cut.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from #ApolloBeachGC on 07/03/2018:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and 3-stars. We're glad to hear you are enjoying the course improvements, but your comments will be shared with our staff for future improvements as well. We look forward to having you back at Apollo Beach Golf Club for another round soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from #ApolloBeachGC on 06/19/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review! On behalf of us at Apollo Beach Golf Club, we look forward to having you back for another great day soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Much potential

The course is in need of some work. The greens are being aerated which was not advertised. The grounds crew was cutting the grass on one of the holes as we approached and we had to wait a few minutes for them to clear the green. Sand traps had not been attended to at all.

All that said, it is a fun layout and the staff is friendly. One of my favorite courses to play in the summer time when the price matches the quality.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Apollo Beach Golf Club on 05/23/2018:
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review, as well as 3-stars. On behalf of our staff at Apollo Beach Golf Club, we do value your comments regarding some of the course conditions so we may focus on any necessary improvements for your future golf experience. We appreciate your dedication to playing our course and look forward to seeing you this summer!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Apollo Beach Golf Club on 04/10/2018:
We truly appreciate the 5-stars! Thank you for golfing with us at Apollo Beach Golf Club. Tee it up again soon!
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Rough track lots of hard pan

No ball washers

Bumpy greens

Lots of better kept courses around

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Response from Apollo Beach Golf Club on 04/10/2018:
We're very sorry to hear your recent experience with us did not meet your expectations regarding the course conditions. We value your feedback for any improvements but hope you were still able to enjoy your day with us. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a better round soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played

Not great but convenient

Tee boxes are awful. To many bald spots on fareway . Green in bad shape. Greens very bumpy. Price is righ not worth more than $22.00.

Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Apollo Beach Golf Club on 04/08/2018:
We appreciate you taking the time to leave us with your feedback, and are truly sorry to hear your recent round did not meet your expectations. Your comments will be passed along to our staff for any necessary improvements regarding the course conditions, and we hope to have you back for a better round soon.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

great layout, very nice staff

Played numerous times, love the layout and it's a good challenge.

excellent pro staff and really nice people overall..

will return often.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Apollo Beach Golf Club on 04/08/2018:
Hi Ronald, thank you for the 5-star review! We appreciate your kind feedback regarding our staff and course. Book another round at Apollo Beach Golf Club soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

This course could be great!!!

I’ve played this course a hand full of times and I see a steady decline in the course conditions. It’s a shame because it could be a beautiful course if they could turn it around. Then it would be really worth the cost of play.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Response from Apollo Beach Golf Club on 04/02/2018:
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us, and are truly sorry to hear your recent experiences with us have not met your expectations. Our staff truly values your comments as we are committed to proving you with a valuable golf experience, and apologize if we have not done so for you recently. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back for an improved experience soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from Apollo Beach Golf Club on 04/01/2018:
Thank you for the 3-stars and taking the time to leave us with a review. We hope you were able to enjoy the day with us at Apollo Beach, and value any additional feedback on how we can provide you with an even better round in the future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Cow Pasture

It's like they just mowed down to the ground in the cowpasture and put up a sign to play golf. 25% of the greens had really no grass at all. Very little maintenance is done here!

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Response from Apollo Beach Golf Club on 03/14/2018:
Hi Erik, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We apologize if your recent experience at Apollo Beach did not meet your expectations, and truly value your comments so we may forward them to our staff for necessary improvements. We hope we have the opportunity to provide you with a better round soon and thank you for choosing to golf with us.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good Value

Always always slow this time of year.

No starters!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from Apollo Beach Golf Club on 03/13/2018:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, as well as the 3-stars. We appreciate your feedback regarding the pace of play so we may pass this along to our staff for any necessary improvements, and hope you were still able to enjoy your round with us. We look forward to seeing you at Apollo Beach again soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Response from Apollo Beach Golf Club on 03/05/2018:
On behalf of our staff, we are very sorry to see that your recent experience with us did not meet your expectations and value any additional feedback on how we can improve your experience with us in the future. We hope we have the opportunity to provide you with a better soon and appreciate you taking the time to leave us with your feedback.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

good value

Course was in good shape. Greens were a little rough but puttable

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from Apollo Beach Golf Club on 02/21/2018:
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we appreciate your feedback regarding the course conditions so we may pass this to our staff for any necessary improvements. We hope you were still able to enjoy your day with us and value any additional feedback on how we can improve your experience with us in the future. Come back to Apollo Beach Golf Club again soon!
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Apollo Beach Golf Club on 02/21/2018:
We're glad to hear you had a great round with us! Thank you for the 5-stars and taking the time to share your feedback. Book another round at Apollo Beach soon!
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Another great day at Apollo

Thanks again for the great golf day, enjoyed it and the people we played with. As usual got tired after the 15th to struggle to finish but still managed not to lose too many balls and I got a birdie!! Do find the water across the canal challenging for women as I am a weakling lol.Thanks again!

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Apollo Beach Golf Club on 02/21/2018:
Thank you for joining us for another great round, Mary, and congrats on the birdie! We appreciate the 4-stars and truly value your feedback. Come back to Apollo Beach again soon!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Excellent

Four of us went to play on February13 and all of were very pleased ,freindly staff,nice lay out and good pace of play.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Apollo Beach Golf Club on 02/20/2018:
Thank you for the kind review and 5-stars! On behalf of us at Apollo Beach Golf Club, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your day with us. Come back for another round soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Bad First Impression

First time playing this place after driving 45 minutes to get there, I pulled up to the course about 30 minutes before my tee time. It’s not the Taj Mahal which is fine by me, I can deal with that. What I can’t deal with is the starter giving me a hard time because I booked my tee time on the app as a single. The response I got was, “we don’t accept singles, you need to join up with the group in front of you”. Immediately it put a bad taste in my mouth since I felt rushed and forced to go catch up to the group that was halfway down the fairway. It would have been nice to get some time to chip and putt before hand, but being that it was 8:30 in the morning on a Sunday and I really didn’t feel like arguing so I made my way to the 1st tee. I turn around after a few practice swings and see the starter staring at me with his hands on his hips shaking his head until I hit my first shot. This experience alone will ensure that I never come back to play no matter how great the rate is.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Average
Amenities Fair
Nearby Courses
Sun City Center, Florida
5.0
5
Greater Sun Center, Florida
1.0
1
Riverview, Florida
3.8307294118
401
Saint Petersburg, Florida
4.0
3
Saint Petersburg, Florida
4.0231235294
280
Saint Petersburg, Florida
4.0
1

Stay & Play Offers

$89 Starting price
Valid dates: Oct 11, 2018 - Aug 31, 2019
Stay and Play Golf in Scottsdale, Arizona from $89 per golfer/night (including golf & lodging!)
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE