Grove/Lake at Errol Country Club

This golf course is closed for business. Not true? Let us know.
Looking for other options nearby?

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.1
301
5 Stars
60
4 Stars
127
3 Stars
74
2 Stars
19
1 Stars
21
Conditions
2.6
Value
3.9
Layout
4.2
Friendliness
4.0
Pace
3.5
Amenities
3.1
52.7%
Recommend this course
247 out of 301 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course
Average Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6745
Slope 132
Rating 72.9
Type Semi-Private
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6745 yards 72.9 132
Blue 72 6459 yards 71.7 129
White 72 6200 yards 70.6 127
Red (W) 73 5791 yards 72.6 129

Course Details

Year Built 1973
Golf Season Year round
Architect Joe Lee

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Proper golf attire is required for members and guests of the county club; Tennis skirts, tennis shorts, jogging shorts, short-shorts, cut-offs, or shorts other than walking shorts or Bermuda shorts are not permitted; Tee shirts and tank tops are not permi

Reviews

3.1
301

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 21
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 51
Bunkers 48
Undulating Greens 26
This course/club is great for:
Locals 56
Advanced Golfers 30
Seniors 28
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 35
Convenient to the City 32
In the 'Burbs 30
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Fun track

Fun track. If you don't keep the ball in the short grass, you'll be heavily punished by horrible lies. Greens rolled better then they looked.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Apopka Golf & Tennis at Errol Estate on 09/15/2017:
We're glad to hear that you had a fun time! Please come and play us again in 2018 when we re-open!
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

$10 Course

It's place to play golf. Better than your backyard but not by much. Was truly shocked to see how much that place fell off.

The front fairways looked like the backyard of an abandoned house. You should definitely play the back 9 2x. Back 9 is 300% better than the front.

But it was only $10.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Response from Apopka Golf & Tennis at Errol Estate on 09/15/2017:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us helpful feedback! We have closed for extensive renovations and we hope you'll give us another chance when we re-open in Fall 2018.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

It's alrighttttt

The only reason I say it's okay is because of the price. 14$ for 18 holes. The fairways were terrible. The greens were sandy. Tee boxes had normal height of grass in my backyard. I mean but you get what you pay for.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Excellent
Response from Apopka Golf & Tennis at Errol Estate on 09/15/2017:
Thank you for the helpful feedback. We have closed down operations for complete renovations and will re-open in Fall 2018. We look forward to your next round then!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played

Just a practice round for Sunday .....inexpebsive

The course is playable but has seen much better days as posted in my review last week. The staff is very nice and pace of play is great. The course I understand is shutting down in September for a much needed make over. Looking forward to seeing how it works out.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Apopka Golf & Tennis at Errol Estate on 09/15/2017:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Yes, we have closed for renovations and will be back open and looking fantastic in Fall 2018. We hope to see you then!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played

Worse to Worst

I have played here from 1980 to the present. It used to be a must play course. The course has eroded to the worst condition I have ever seen. I hear of big renovation plans but no timetable. The last year the course has become awful. I play here when I'm broke or a last minute decision. I do hope they make their plan come to fruition. Until then I have too many other choices to bother.

Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Apopka Golf & Tennis at Errol Estate on 08/29/2017:
Thank you for the helpful feedback! Yes, we will be shutting down for renovations in September. We hope you'll come back once the renos are complete to see the great progress we've made!
Played On
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Apopka Golf & Tennis at Errol Estate on 08/29/2017:
That's great to hear!
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

My day at Mount Dora Country Club

I had an excellent day. Course was in very good condition. I will certainly play this course again. Staff was very friendly.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Apopka Golf & Tennis at Errol Estate on 08/29/2017:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review! We're glad to hear that you had an excellent day with us and we look forward to your next round!
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Previously Played

really upset with the desk check in person

We played again today..we are regulars here and have played here many times. We had a foursome and my friend , in town for the weekend. had his 13 yr old son with him. (not playing) the guy charged him $20 for his son to ride along with us. IS this your policy?? The course was NOT busy at all...We had problems with this same guy before about other things. My friend has played with us several times before WITHOUT a problem and now we get this. He was so mad he wanted to leave. Unless he gets a refund, we all have said this will be the LAST time we will play. But, I know it doesn't matter to you... just wanted to let you know.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from Apopka Golf & Tennis at Errol Estate on 08/29/2017:
We're sorry to hear that you won't be returning. If an extra cart is required, as was the case here (4 adults and 1 teenager), then yes we do charge for an extra cart. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.
Default User Image
14stix
Commented On 08/22/2017

I'm sure this is the same guy that charged my friend who is handicapped to ride along with me. Absolutely Absurd.

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great layout/Payment issues

Great layout...some really beautiful holes. The course has fallen into disrepair as they prepare for a one year renovation. The information from Golf Now regarding the amount I was to pay at the course was incorrect. I had to pay an extra few bucks at the course for "tax". Golf Now needs to correct that information.

Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Response from Apopka Golf & Tennis at Errol Estate on 08/17/2017:
We're sorry to hear about the pricing inaccuracy on GolfNow and we will certainly look into that. Thank you for bringing it to our attention and we appreciate the feedback.
Played On
Skill Beginner
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Apopka Golf & Tennis at Errol Estate on 08/09/2017:
Thank you for the four stars!
Nearby Courses
Apopka, Florida
3.0830647059
301
Apopka, Florida
3.0830647059
301
Apopka, Florida
2.4218
147
Zellwood, Florida
3.7910588235
317
Apopka, Florida
3.8125
160
Longwood, Florida
3.6374117647
308
Longwood, Florida
0.0
0
Longwood, Florida
3.9714
280
Longwood, Florida
2.4846
130
Casselberry, Florida
3.3091588235
314
Winter Springs, Florida
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

$174 Starting price
Valid dates: Sep 17, 2018 - Oct 31, 2018
Staying at Orange Lake Resort and teeing off on any of our four unique golf courses has never been easier.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE