Kiln Creek Golf Club & Resort

4.1410823529 4.1 stars from 5 (143)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6972 yards
  • Slope: 138
  • Rating: 73.4
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper attire is required. No denim.
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6972 yards 73.4 138
Blue 72 6394 yards 71.1 133
White (W) 72 6013 yards 75.3 135
White 72 6013 yards 69.3 129
Green 72 5774 yards 68.2 126
Green (W) 72 5774 yards 74.4 132
Red (W) 72 5316 yards 70.7 125

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.1 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.3 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 143 Reviews
5 stars:
29
4 stars:
69
3 stars:
28
2 stars:
10
1 stars:
7

recommend this course

126 out of 143 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is near the airport convenient to the city worth the drive   Great for locals advanced golfers seniors   Challenges include bunkers water hazards elevation changes   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Awesome"


u000005202471's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

This course has undergone extensive improvements over the past couple of years and it shows. Everything is in great shape and has the nicest greens anywhere on the peninsula. The staff is very friendly and helpful. One of my favorite courses in Virginia.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great round"


jamesgraves's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played with a colleague from work, we both have bad knees and he has a hip replacement, Our cart did not have a full charge, we played later in the day. We were met on the 9th tee with a replacement. The staff was very friendly. The course was in great shape.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



MSQUARE's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great course!"


A307799's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in great condition. Greens were in perfect condition and fast. We really enjoyed the round because the greens and fairways were in good condition. Nice layout. Drove from Richmond to play with some buddies. We will deffinantly play the course again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course




2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was charged more money than I was supposed to pay when I got there under the pretense of it being sales tax


Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair


I don't recommend this course


Response from Kiln Creek Golf Club and Resort on 03/22/2018:

Hello David, thank you for reviewing our course, Kiln Creek Golf Club and Resort. We strive to provide the best possible customer experience to our golfers, and we apologize if we missed the mark. Your loyalty to our course is valued and we hope you will see improvements the next time you are with us. Thank you for choosing to play our course, in the Newport News, Virginia area, and we hope to earn your business again soon.

"Challenging"


bigsexy16's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/09/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Good course and Ed Collins and the staff have always been helpful on the range or giving a putting lesson. Seems like they are always available from shot selection to club management. The golf shop is awesome for men and carries most Titleist irons and woods for demo and purchase. One thing that I would approve would be more clothing apparel for women. The course lay-out was challenging and greens roll true.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



bobpinhampton's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"This course should have been closed."


randyboland's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/21/2018
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

this was the first time I have been on a course where making money was the prime objective. the course was a mud bog. every fairway was like walking on a sponge full of water. Balls were plugging in the middle of the fairways off the drive. It will take a week of hot weather to dry out. there was at least 1/2" water at every tee box to walk through to tee off. I hope I didn't ruin my shoes and my pants are covered in mud. horrible course condition!!!!


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


"Fastest greens in area"


u571809341's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Well maintained course and challenging layout. Pace of play always good for me. Putting takes some getting use to. One of my favorite courses in the area. Golfnow a great value.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



7399274081449926337's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Oh Yes"


TimothyThomas's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Cart path only difficult, cold temps, leaves at the edges make finding ball difficult BUT all worth the play


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Not again"


u000007175024's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/10/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Even with the great golf now rate we quit after 13 holes.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Kiln Creek Golf Club and Resort on 11/13/2017:

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us, Kiln Creek Golf Club and Resort in the Richmond area. We're very sorry to hear you had a negative customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape on the day of your round. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so we may improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for golfing with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Commented on 11/13/2017

Sorry you didn't enjoy your visit. Seems like other players have been enjoying our improvements recently. Please follow up to info@kilncreekgolf.com with details so that we can improve our service! All feedback is appreciated!


"Could Not Have Been Better"


jcsdmd's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/03/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

What can I say....this was the single nicest course I have ever played on a Golfnow Hotdeal. Staff was great, course was near perfect with quick true greens. A must play again!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Fantastic day"


Rene5300220's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/02/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We didn’t expect to play on such a well managed golf course. The fairways, tee boxes and the greens are in great conditions, so from our 4some we would like to congratulate your course staff for a fantastic day.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Kiln Creek"


andyhims's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/31/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

An enjoyable and challenging golf course with water and sand to contend with. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. A great day!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Greens are as fast as Augusta National"


u526383371's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played this course 50 times and will definitely play it more, nowhere public has greens as pure and fast as these. Great layout and phenomenal conditions


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



davelovingood's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/21/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



uCXDO1834CX's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

the group in back of us was very disrespectful. shouting (one player) clapping his hands for us to move faster. Mind you we(foursome) where on a four hour pace for 18 holes. we just picked our balls and moved on to the next hole. My regret was that I didn't call the pro shop to express my anger. It would have been better for him to ask us if he could go in front . maybe he didn't do it was because we had just three holes left umm. Maybe he was angry with something else but however it took the fun out of the game.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Nice course,well worth a round."


kevin2418915's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed our round even though the course was wet,and cart path only,plenty of yardage markers so from cart path a reasonable distance could be made,the whole course was green no bare spots just lush green grass,tip check the card some sneaky water comes into play.Definetly worth a round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Cart Path Only"


uDSHD2103DS's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/14/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very good course. Played cart path only due to several days of drizzle. Hole two requires lay up because of water unable to see from fairway. Course began to dry out during back 9. Was able to get a morning tee time which we could not obtain in the Williamsburg area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed