Faldo at Wildfire Golf Club at Desert Ridge Resort

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.5
519
5 Stars
291
4 Stars
192
3 Stars
21
2 Stars
12
1 Stars
3
Staff Friendliness
4.5
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.4
Conditions
4.5
Value
4.4
Layout
0
93.5%
Recommend this course
487 out of 519 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.5
519
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.6
Pace
4.6
Amenities
4.5
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.6
Layout
4.8
90.0%
Recommend this course
36 out of 40 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.5
519
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.6
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.5
Conditions
4.6
Value
4.5
Layout
4.7
93.3%
Recommend this course
70 out of 75 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 71
Length 6846
Slope 132
Rating 72.3
Type Public
Faldo Championship Course at the Wildfire Golf Club measures as long as 6,846 yards, depending on which tees you're shooting from, and lies on 174 acres and features some differences from the average desert-themed golf courses. Faldo offers abundant fairways, big bentgrass greens and tee boxes, as well as the golf course's neighboring mountains, century-old saguaro cacti and 106 sand bunkers - which remind golfers of Aussie sand-belt golf courses, which gives it a magnificent locale for golfers. Wildfire Golf Club is much-feted: When the Faldo Championship Course opened, the Arizona Republic selected hole No. 2 among the valley's 18 best. The golf course received recognition among the 2006 Travel & Leisure Golf's "World's Best Golf Resorts" for family getaways and in the 2006 Conde Nast Traveler rundown of the "Top 100 Golf Resorts in North America." These are in addition to the Gold Tee Award from Meetings & Conventions Magazine.
Book a Tee Time at
Wildfire Golf Club - Faldo Course
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Tournament 71 6846 yards 72.3 132
Champinoship 71 6467 yards 70.5 126
Championship (W) 71 6467 yards 76.9 132
Regular 71 6016 yards 67.7 118
Regular (W) 71 6016 yards 74.4 126
Forward 71 5245 yards 64.8 113
Forward (W) 71 5245 yards 70.0 116
Scorecard for Faldo Course
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 72.3/132 411 408 164 452 389 350 220 341 534 3269 460 547 478 360 214 607 314 177 420 3577 6846
Blue M: 70.5/126 W: 76.9/132 395 402 155 413 380 341 180 323 497 3086 441 527 454 347 187 570 298 160 397 3381 6467
Blue/White M: 69.2/123 W: 75.3/128 395 350 155 398 380 341 167 323 497 3006 421 527 428 310 167 522 298 160 377 3210 6216
White M: 67.7/118 W: 74.4/126 375 350 135 398 360 315 167 293 477 2870 421 508 428 310 167 522 277 136 377 3146 6016
White/Red M: 65.4/115 W: 71.3/122 317 297 135 365 299 315 116 293 442 2579 390 459 363 251 123 485 277 136 330 2814 5393
Red M: 64.8/113 W: 70.0/116 317 297 89 365 299 287 116 268 442 2480 390 459 363 251 123 485 232 132 330 2765 5245
Handicap 7 5 17 1 9 13 15 11 3 8 4 6 16 14 2 12 18 10
Par 4 4 3 4 4 4 3 4 5 35 4 5 4 4 3 5 4 3 4 36 71

Course Details

Year Built 2002
Fairways Winter Rye Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Nick Faldo (2002)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes
Pull-carts No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Caddies No
Golf School Academy Yes - "Wildfire Golf Academy"
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Collared shirt and bermuda shorts required. No denim.

Best of Lists

Reviews

4.5
519

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 38
Dinner 16
Patio Dining 16
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 105
Undulating Greens 42
Forced Carries 28
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 52
A Weekend Splurge 50
Locals 37
This Course's Location is:
At a Resort 70
Convenient to the City 55
Worth the Drive 39
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Fair
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Average
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Liked it

Best course so far on our Phoenix tour. Really nice layout with lot of bunkers. The amount and quality of sand varied between bunkers. Greens in excellent conditions. Enjoyed The course layout: you had good visibility from teeboxes. Will play Palmer course next week.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Hot weather
Used cart

Great Round of Golf with Friends

We played the Faldo Course with four players with handicaps of 13-19 and had a terrific time. The fairways were like playing on carpet- the very best I have ever played on since the Coeur d'Alene GC opened many years ago in Idaho. Sand traps had the finest sand (somewhat grainy so there was no "compacting") and we found many of them! The biggest challenge for us was keeping ball out of the sand traps- not easy on some long approach shots. The entire staff (pro shop, baggers, beverage cart, and starters) were all extremely professional and courteous. The price ($30.94 including all taxes and resort fees) for each of us made playing a course of this quality very affordable and will certainly bring us back. Living in the area year-round we will likely play this course many times as the hot weather does not seem to have adverse effects on the course. GREAT TIME SPEND ON THE FALDO COURSE!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course a must play

Great layout, LOTS or sand, but fair. Greens are in great shape. This is a track that should be on your list.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Average
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Fun but challenging

This was truly a great course to play for the first time ever. The course is was in great condition, pace of play was great. A fun course but challenging with a ton of bunkers. The fairways were awesome and greens were in good condition, a little fast but good.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Very Nice Course

Several burned out/thin areas around the greens...just move the ball as ground under repair. Other than that, tees were thick and lush, fairways nice and bunkers were well manicured. Layout was great. We played early as a 2 some and flew around...hard to comment on how pace of play or Marshalls would be on a busy day. Will definitely keep on my favorites list
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Enjoyable round of golf

I played the Faldo course and it was a lot of fun. Lots of fairway traps to dodge,. Good greens, sand, tee boxes, fairways. Very nice variety of holes. Some bare spots on fairways so I moved my ball a couple feet a few times. Staff is always friendly, professional and accommodating.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE