The Grand Bear Golf Course

4.6373945846 4.6 stars from 5 (168)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7204 yards
  • Slope: 143
  • Rating: 75.5
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes - 100 tees
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper Golf Attire Required: Collared Shirt (No Denim)
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Grizzly Bear 72 7204 yards 75.5 143
Golden Bear 72 6733 yards 73.0 139
Brown Bear 72 6221 yards 70.5 134
Black Bear 72 5638 yards 67.9 130
Teddy Bear 72 4802 yards 68.4 120

Unlike some Jack Nicklaus golf courses that have earned a reputation for being among the world's most difficult, mid- and high-handicappers stand a fighting chance at the Grand Bear Golf Course. Nicklaus offers wide fairways before the sprawling woods take over on either side, most bunkers aren't horribly steep, and greens generally have room in front to run a shot up. The winding Biloxi River helps build Grand Bear to a dramatic finish. The par-3 14th hole plays through a chute of woods to a green guarded by the river below that runs along diagonally, punishing hooked shots left short. After another par 3 on the 16th that plays with the river to the left, the 17th once again plays over the river on the drive, then parallel to the hole. The 18th hole plays long and uphill back toward the clubhouse.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 168 Reviews
5 stars:
119
4 stars:
43
3 stars:
4
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
2

recommend this course

164 out of 168 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Must play"


Seidel's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/23/2015
First time playing Played as a single Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in very good shape. Staff was very friendly. Off the beaten trail, but very much worth the drive


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Quality of food & beverage: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great layout that needs more maintnenance crewmwn"


fredcloss's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

I've played Grand Bear several times since it first opened. It's a fantastic Nicklaus layout andit will challenge your game. There are several tees to suit your length. They are installing "Better Billy Bunkers". Unfortunately, they only have 10 maintenance crewmen to maintain the course. The greens really needed to be rolled as no putts rolled smoothly. Still, the course is in good shape and I will play it again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Layout"


pennstatetim1213's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Really enjoyed playing this course! Great layout. Course was a little wet after a couple days of rain. Driving range was closed. Cart path only!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Track!"


u000007264216's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/04/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Probably the best value is south Mississippi. Layout is challenging with greens that are quick but fair. The golf staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Play this track!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000007366628's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/27/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Very good"


uFVST2569FV's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/24/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

The day was kind of chilly but the course was in good shape the pace of play was very good and a played with a couple and a good time was had . Good value on price scenic views and I would recommend playing here if you get chance


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great course"


Mike3013175's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/21/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

From the time we stepped out of the car, until our last putt on 18. The overall experience was Great.. the staff very friendly and helpful. The course was in good condition for the winter weather. Would recommend to anyone


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Golf & Nature's Finest"


u00000754700's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/13/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I visit Biloxi twice each year. My golf group would choose another location if not for The Grand Bear Golf Course. This is an absolute must play for golf & nature lovers. It is among the finest in this country. I live in Tampa Bay & would choose Grand Bear over any of the 200 here.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Challenge Golf Course"


tranqu2's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/23/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Got to play to know, challenge and beautiful golf course


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"A Golfer's Dream"


u00000754700's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/19/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Just take my word for it....from the time you exit the highway onto Grand Way....you are in for an experience you will never forget. My group will again be there the last week of March 2018.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Larry4032133's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/24/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Best Shape Ever"


ricardo1946's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/12/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Wet from last evening’s heavy rain but greens were perfect, fairways good. Cart path only because of the water but worth it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Wet but still in amazing shape"


blucky64's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/12/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

I called on Wednesday they said it was no cart restrictions got there Thursday morning it was cart path only kind of disappointing but at no fault of the golf course they had two inches of rain and this course was still in amazing shape greens ran beautiful yes there were some wet spots but nothing you can do about human nature.. Tommy in the Pro Shop was very friendly and Bailey running the whole cart thing was exceptional.. fantastic Clubhouse also can't wait to come back and play at the Grand bear


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course"


poppiegolf5's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/14/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Great course, layout is perfect, also very challenging.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Running from Irma"


Ktsc's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/13/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Course was a nice change from other courses I have played. Greens almost completely grown in from aeration.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Grand Bear"


uEYUV2505EY's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/02/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Always a nice experience, wish it was a little easier to get to, wolf play it more often. They had just recently punched the greens and sanded them. Probably wouldn't have played them until they healed a little. But still a nice round of golf at a great Golf Now price. Would recommend this Course anytime.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Nice design"


u3019577's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/31/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

The greens had just been plugged and sanded so I would not recommend playing this course anytime soon.

Very disappointing


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


"Amazing course!"


u497099181's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/01/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

As soon as you enter the grounds you are treated like royalty! Staff is absolutely amazing and will assist you with anything you need. The course itself is one of a kind, extremely challenging, yet rewarding! Hands down the best overall experience from our trip to Mississippi, would definitely make time for a round or two there in a heart beat!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Absolutely beautiful"


u607719267's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

This was a treat for my son (10yrs old) and the rest of my team, the wild life deer , rabbits right in the fairways. Would recommend to everyone to go play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Excellent"


Howard1899936's avatar
Gender:  Male

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Very Playable in great condition with a friendly staff.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Jack wouldn't be happy"


ToddyTrout1's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

We played this course 2 years ago and it was an incredible course in great shape. When we played it this past Monday, the overall shape of the course was fair. The traps were washed out as can be expected with all of the rain they've had in the past month. But the fairways were not in great shape, the greens were slow, and there was NO grass on the tee boxes. The staff was excellent as they were the first time we played there.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed