Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.8
246
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
126
3 Stars
42
2 Stars
23
1 Stars
5
Conditions
3.5
Value
4.2
Layout
4.2
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.6
84.3%
Recommend this course
208 out of 246 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.8
246
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
0
Conditions
3.7
Value
4.2
Layout
4.2
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.6
StaffFriendliness
4.4
86.4%
Recommend this course
38 out of 44 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.8
246
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
36
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
7
1 Stars
0
Conditions
3.7
Value
4.3
Layout
4.2
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.7
StaffFriendliness
4.4
86.1%
Recommend this course
62 out of 72 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6405
Slope 0
Rating 0.0
Type
The 18-hole Diamondback Golf Course (previously known as Diamond Back at Woodland Valley Country Club) in Loris, SC is a jensen ultra dwarf golf course that opened in 1999. Diamondback Golf Course was designed by Russell Breeden. The greens are jensen ultra dwarf and the fairways are bermuda. This modern Russell Breeden design is surrounded by unspoiled natural wetlands and lowcountry forest. Diamondback Golf Course is the first course on the Grand Strand to offer Jensen Ultra Dwarf greens. Strategically placed bunkers and lakes allow for a challenging round of golf that will make you return year after year
Book a Tee Time at
Diamondback Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 72 6405 yards
White 72 5691 yards
Red 72 4945 yards
Scorecard for Diamondback At Woodland Valley
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 74.0/139 432 591 395 194 442 439 500 150 378 3521 540 406 144 368 423 542 209 384 370 3386 6907
White M: 71.4/129 382 555 370 176 397 370 478 135 337 3200 530 388 125 338 401 520 180 369 339 3190 6390
Gold M: 68.3/119 358 531 246 134 370 330 445 106 303 2823 487 347 115 265 370 482 147 344 311 2868 5691
Red W: 69.1/120 333 473 235 112 336 297 409 87 225 2507 344 322 90 233 309 453 118 281 288 2438 4945
Light Blue W: 67.6/116 266 409 235 112 247 282 377 87 225 2240 344 322 90 233 309 403 118 281 288 2388 4628
Handicap 15 5 11 13 3 1 7 9 17 2 10 18 14 8 4 6 12 16
Par 4 5 4 3 4 4 5 3 4 36 5 4 3 4 4 5 3 4 4 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 1999
Fairways Bermuda
Greens Jensen Ultra Dwarf
Golf Season Year round
Architect Russell Breeden

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Single Allowed Yes

Reviews

3.8
246

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 16
19th Hole Specials 8
Watching the Game 7
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 46
Bunkers 39
Forced Carries 39
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 28
Locals 26
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 26
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 38
In the 'Burbs 21
Convenient to the City 5
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Response from Diamondback Golf Course on 07/06/2018:
Thank you for playing Diamondback Golf Course! Like many of the courses in the area, our greens suffered from the harsh winter. We will be closed until about mid-August repairing all the greens. Hope to see you out here when we're finished. Follow us on Facebook to stay up-to-date!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Winter kill made course suffer

I've played this course about 10 years or so and it was a fun experience. This time however was different. The greens were suffering with winter kill from last year's really bad ice South Carolina had. It's a shame too because this course is a gem otherwise

Patrick in the clubhouse was very good to me. I forgot my wallet with my money. Patrick allowed me to play and was very accommodating with a breakfast sandwich as well! Thank you Patrick, it wouldn't have been a good day without breakfast! When the course is fixed I'll be back. As I'm sure most people will.

Conditions Poor
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from Diamondback Golf Course on 06/27/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to write a review of our course. We glad you enjoyed our staff friendliness and we appreciate your feedback on the course conditions. Thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again at Diamondback Golf Course.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great value for a hot deal

Front 9 greens were in rough shape, back 9 was great. All courses in the area have had some sort of green damage this year, so I give it a pass. Long par 5s and decently long par 4s, emphasis on tee shot placement. As far as we could see there was only 1 staff member to check people in, bartend, and run cart duty. That poor guy had his hands full. A bit off the beaten path for myrtle beach area but worth the drive, especially on a hot deal grab.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Response from Diamondback Golf Course on 07/03/2018:
Thank you for playing Diamondback Golf Course! We appreciate your kind words and feedback. Like many of the courses in the area, our greens suffered from the harsh winter. We will be closed until about mid-August repairing all the greens. Hope to see you out here when we're finished. Follow us on Facebook to stay up-to-date!
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Diamondback Golf Course on 06/04/2018:
Thank you very much, Bob! Come back to Diamondback Golf Course again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Pleasant Round of Golf

Diamondback Golf Course has a very nice layout and challenging for all types of golfers. We played in mid-May & the fairways were excellent, greens ran true, some were sketchy but very playable. Water seemed to be in the mix on every hole. It is a bit off the beaten path but worth the play, especially if you can get “Hot deals” via Golfnow.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from Diamondback Golf Course on 06/04/2018:
Thank you for playing Diamondback Golf Course! We're glad to hear you enjoyed our course conditions and fun layout. We hope you make the drive out here again soon. Be sure to Like us on Facebook for the latest course news and specials.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Diamondback Golf Course on 05/24/2018:
Thanks for the 5 stars!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Middle of the road

I've played many different courses in Myrtle Beach over the years and nothing stood out about the course. The greens were very slow.

The price made this a good option at 39 pp but if you are expecting anything more that a cheap reasonably challenging you'll be disappointed based on the 4* reviews.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Diamondback Golf Course on 05/09/2018:
Hello Steve, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Diamondback Golf Course, in the Loris area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Overbooked

Course was okay not like it was rated on the reviews it was very overbooked had to wait every shot didn't finish 18 only played 9

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Response from Diamondback Golf Course on 05/08/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us, Diamondback Golf Course, in the Loris area. We're very sorry to hear you may not have had the best recent customer experience with us due to the pace of play, and we greatly appreciate your feedback regarding the rangers so we may work towards any necessary improvements. Thank you for golfing with us, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Good Course

We played this course because of a Hot Deal and positive reviews on GolfNow. It did not disappoint. This is a great layout, and with more time and TLC it will be a course you'll have to play every time you're in the area. The greens weren't perfect, but they were very good and very playable. The fairways were firm, and they are fairly narrow in places, so you better be hitting the ball where you aim, or you will be in trouble. The staff here is very friendly and helpful. We will be back.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Response from Diamondback Golf Course on 05/24/2018:
Thanks for playing Diamondback Golf Course! We're glad to hear we lived up to the expectations of our great reviews. We appreciate you recommending us to other golfers as well. Be sure Like us on Facebook for the latest course news and specials.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Unforgiving

Very narrow fairways so accuracy is critical. If the ball goes into the rough it will be very difficult to find it. Be prepared to lose balls. You score will be higher than you expected.

Fairways and Greens were in very nice shape. The Greens had some tricky slopes.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Diamondback Golf Course on 05/07/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Diamondback Golf Course, and for the 3 stars. We hope that you enjoyed playing our golf course and that you will see improvements in the course conditions the next time you are with us. It looks like you had a smooth round and a friendly experience with our staff, so we are glad to see that. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Request A Vacation Quote From Fore Myrtle Beach
Please provide your information below and a staff member at Fore Myrtle Beach will be in contact to help you start planning your travel.

Stay & Play Offers

$449 Starting price
Valid dates: Sep 03, 2018 - Oct 21, 2018
Book this Stay and Play package to enjoy your stay at the Stowe Mountain Lodge which includes 1 round at the exclusive Mountain Course at Spruce Peak (Formerly known as the Stowe Mountain Course) and unlimited rounds at the Stowe Country Club!
Nearby Courses
Loris, South Carolina
0.0
0
Loris, South Carolina
0.0
0
Longs, South Carolina
1.6202
42
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE