The Duke at Rancho El Dorado

3.6606470588 3.7 stars from 5 (430)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7011 yards
  • Slope: 126
  • Rating: 72.6
  • Layout

Gift this Course
  • 42660 West Rancho El Dorado Parkway, Maricopa, AZ, 85239
  • (480) 844-1100
  • thedukegolf.com

Year built: 2002
Architect(s): David B. Druzisky
Type: Public
Style: Desert
Greens: TiffEagle Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirt, no cutoffs, denim ok.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7011 yards 72.6 126
Gold 72 6536 yards 70.3 118
Silver 72 5914 yards 67.5 110
Silver (W) 72 5914 yards 73.5 124
Copper 72 5136 yards 68.7 114

The Duke at Rancho El Dorado is a championship, 18-hole golf facility designed by David Druzinsky. This desert links style course offer generous fairways and a scenic view of the natural desert sage and brush surrounding. The difficulty lies in the slope of putting green so golfers beware.

The Duke at Rancho El Dorado is a par-72 golf course that measures 7,011 yards from the back tees.

After a round on the Duke at Rancho El Dorado, head to Silver Spur Grill for breakfast, lunch or dinner on the patio, which offers vistas of the Estrella Mountains as well as that 18th hole you just wrapped up on.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.8 stars from 5
Value: 3.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.9 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.4 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 430 Reviews
5 stars:
89
4 stars:
194
3 stars:
92
2 stars:
40
1 stars:
15

recommend this course

347 out of 428 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs convenient to the city   Great for locals seniors advanced golfers   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens water hazards   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Terrible shape"


bbclarke's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

First time playing this course. Clubhouse staff were friendly and helpful. Restaurant food at the turn was good. Cart girl was friendly and around often. Short game practice area (bunker and greens) were in pretty good shape and lots of room to practice. Pace of play was good, although backed up on most of the par 3's.

Now the bad. We come to Phoenix every year at this time for vacation and have played many of the under $120 (peak season) golf courses that I would put in the same category as The Duke - this was the worst conditioned course we have played in the Phoenix area. Could hardly find any grass to hit off of at the driving range. The dormant grass off the fairways was dry, hard and very thin. The fairways were short, hard in most places and patchy/sparse - we had to bump most balls to find decent grass to hit off. Most bunkers were decent but several where hard and not much sand. Most greens were just ok, with several being bumpy and full of ball marks. We got a good deal through teeoff, and that was still almost too much to pay for a course in this shape. Until conditions get much much better I wouldn't think of paying full price to play it.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Duke At Rancho El Dorado on 02/21/2018:

Thanks bbclarke for your review and feedback. We appreciate you taking the time and our staff is working hard on getting the course back up to par. Book another round with us soon once the conditions have had some time to heal.

"Personal Bests"


Handrahan's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/14/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Wife and I both shot our best rounds for 18 holes. Enjoyed the course despite the cooler overcast day, but only complaint would be that some of the holes were still very wet from the watering.....this was prior to the rain.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Duke At Rancho El Dorado on 02/16/2018:

Thanks Handrahan for your 4-star review and feedback. We love seeing that you had an enjoyable round on the course and we hope to see you back again very soon!

"No cart girl on Sunday"


Ronald9644677's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in great shape and for once the pace of play was pretty good.

The course could use a cart person out on the course, especially on the weekends.

The sand traps could use more sand

The attendants at the bag drop are very nice and friendly.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Duke At Rancho El Dorado on 02/16/2018:

Thanks Ronald for your 4-star review and feedback. We love seeing that you had an enjoyable round on the course and we hope to see you back again very soon!


dennyyard's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Pace of play was rather slow late in the afternoon.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Duke At Rancho El Dorado on 02/16/2018:

Thanks dennyyard for your 4-star review and feedback. We love seeing that you had an enjoyable round on the course and we hope to see you back again very soon for a much faster round next time!

"Improving"


u000005574141's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/06/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is hard and fast as are the greens. The staff is attempting to overcome this through watering, but above average temps are not working in their favor. Quality and depth of sand in the majority of the bunkers is substandard making bunkers shots more difficult and inconsistent. The ground staff has been working hard over the past few months to improve the overall condition of the course and it shows.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Duke At Rancho El Dorado on 02/08/2018:

Thanks for your 4-star review and feedback on our golf course. We appreciate you taking the time and we hope to see you back again very soon.

"Needs some work"


tomlaine's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

I was told that The Duke was a great course but while it looked good from afar the fairways and greens were marginal to poor. The rough was dormant but it seemed like the fairways were too and very firm. Greens were okay but spotty. Until the fairways are improved, I wouldn't pay the $79 they charged. I'm a decent golfer and expect decent course conditioning.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Duke At Rancho El Dorado on 02/07/2018:

Thanks tomlaine for your review and feedback on our golf course. We apologize for the conditions as our staff is working hard on getting everything back up to par. Please come back and see us again as I am sure you will be pleasantly surprised.

"Waste of perfect weather"


Michael5704215's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/04/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Played this course several years ago, and remember it being nice. What I experienced this time was completely different. The tee boxes looked like elk had tap danced on them, fairways were dried out, and the greens were beat up. Pace of play on the front was average. But the back-9 came to a halt. Both par-3s had TWO groups on the box when we pulled up. We had a 1:16 tee time and barely finished. We were the last group to finish 18. Whoever runs this course needs to put a ranger out on the course. And while they’re at it, go take a look at some other courses in the Valley. It’s February! Your course looks like a Phoenix municipal course in August. The golf management company taking care (if they can call it that) of this facility has a great sense of humor. Disappointing.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Duke At Rancho El Dorado on 02/12/2018:

Thanks Michael for your review of The Duke at Rancho El Dorado. We appreciate you taking the time and we hope you will give us another try in the near future.

"Enjoy this course"


francoatcgolf's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I love this course...the layout...wide fairways, good greens...overall the condition is drier but I will definitely return.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Not in good shape"


u000003252917's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course was not in good shape. The tee boxes were chewed up, some greens punched and not rolled and other greens punched and over sanded. The sand boxes had rocks in them with a low grade sand. They should have at least discounted the round. Will not play again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Duke At Rancho El Dorado on 02/06/2018:

Thanks for your review. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future as our staff works to improve the conditions.


golftommo's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/02/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from The Duke At Rancho El Dorado on 02/08/2018:

Thanks golftommo for your review and feedback on our golf course. We appreciate you taking the time and we hope to see you back again very soon.


Handrahan's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/31/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Duke At Rancho El Dorado on 02/08/2018:

Thanks Handrahan for your 3-star review and feedback on our golf course. We appreciate you taking the time and we hope to see you back again very soon.

"worth the drive"


u000006388052's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/31/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

had a great time really good greens ,starter was a great guy with some good course knowledge


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Duke At Rancho El Dorado on 02/02/2018:

Thanks for your great 5-star review and feedback on our golf course. We are thrilled to see you had a good time on the course and we look forward to seeing you back again very soon.


nam66's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/28/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Duke At Rancho El Dorado on 02/02/2018:

Thank you nam66 for your review. We apologize for your experience and we work hard to make sure everyone feels welcome at our golf course. Please send us an email at dukeatranchoeldoradomanagement@gmail.com so we can discuss further and invite you back for another round. Thanks for your time and we hope to hear from you soon.

"Could have been better"


ferdm's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a 1:16 tee time. Didn't, know the had frost delay. Got off late, pace slow, no ranger to speed up play. Only finished 15 holes and had to quit due to slow play. Recommend THEDUKE put a ranger on in these instances due to slow play, so everyone can enjoy a FULL round of golf.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from The Duke At Rancho El Dorado on 01/30/2018:

Thanks for your review. We apologize for the late start and pace of play, but we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Please let us know if you ever need anything while you are here and come back and see us again very soon!

"Not Happy"


u00001300062's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/25/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

arrived a 7am for 7:24am tee time and told delay until at least 9am due to frost. One person at check in and he seemed like I was bothering him and would not take my name to check in. Members started showing up and I went back to check in at 8am and told at least another hour. ordered breakfast and sat to eat when starter came in at 8:18 and said we were to be statring at 8:15 and said to get out to go immediately and we left food on table along with money. No warm-up and off we went. course was in good shape and weather wound up being very good. Had to wait until 9:15 before taking carts on to the fairways.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Duke At Rancho El Dorado on 01/30/2018:

Thanks for your review. We apologize for the late start and customer service in the pro-shop, but we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will address these issues immediately and we hope you come back and see us again very soon!

"shoulder to shoulder people"


Hawgwild67's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/24/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

5+ hour round. Frost delay blamed, but a marshall was sorely needed. Traps are horribly maintained. The rest of the course was fairly maintained. Track layout is fantastic, so this course has the potential to be a real gem. I'll try back in a couple of years.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Duke At Rancho El Dorado on 01/26/2018:

Thanks Hawgwild67 for your 4-star review and feedback. We apologize for you having to wait during the frost delay and we will look into how we can make this a better experience for you and we hope to see you back again very soon!

"Mitigating factors"


Tcona95's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Booked a time early enough to complete the round before sundown. Frost delay pushed that back leaving just under 4 hours to finish. Played the last 2 in the dark.

Fairway grass thin, greens pockmarked. Was in much better condition last time 2 years ago. Not easy having every fairway shot from a tight lie.

Layout superb. Would be better with more grass.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Duke At Rancho El Dorado on 01/26/2018:

Thanks Tcona95 for your review and feedback. We apologize for you having to wait during the frost delay and we will look into how we can make this a better experience for you and your guests. Please let us know if you ever need anything while you are here and we hope to see you back again very soon!

"The course is a great track with issues."


u090497707's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/23/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

This is a great track but the course has many issues. It is obvious that whoever owns or runs the course is trying to do it on a show string and that makes no sense. There were multiple employees near the check-in area but that is the only place I saw any employees. The driving range could be awesome with a few inexpensive improvements. First metal club holders so you can put your clubs there. The practice trap could be raked smooth. It had craters in it so how can anyone possible take a practice shot. There is plenty of practice area but the best I can say about it is that is was totally lacking care. There was no starter at the first tee so when we got there we were not sure who we were playing with as there was a back-up because of an earlier frost delay, again chaos. The course itself lacked maintenance and I did not see a single person doing any work on the course. There were no rangers on the course so the pace of play went unchecked. The round took 5 hours and there were multiple holes that we had at least one group waiting to hit. A ranger could have easily solved that issue. The bunkers were poorly maintained and there were many, many rocks in them. Now for the positive. I have to say the layout of this course is wonderful, there is plenty of challenge and with a little effort and maybe so labor and expenditures on seeding, bunker improvement and waste bunker maintenance, this course could literally be spectacular. The par 5's have the distance ans do the par 3's. Plenty of distance and room for great play. The owner's and operator's of this course could spend some money and it would easily come back to them in increased fees which people would be glad to pay for the improvements.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Duke At Rancho El Dorado on 01/26/2018:

Thanks for your review and feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know where we can improve the facility for you and your guests. Please let us know if you ever need anything while you are here and we hope to see you back again once we've had a chance to implement some of these changes.

"Divot tool"


Ronald9644677's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

As usually the course is slow on Sunday.

They either need to move tee times or get a marshals out there for pace of play

The greens are full of divot holes. It seems none of the golfers know how to repair a divot mark.

This is not the course fault, but maybe putting signs up to repair the greens might help.

Sunday full course and no snack cart.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


Response from The Duke At Rancho El Dorado on 01/26/2018:

Thanks Ronald for your 4-star review and feedback of our golf course. We love seeing you had an enjoyable round and we look forward to seeing you back again very soon!

"Need to plan"


tallbob's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/18/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

We had a 3.15 tee time but shotgun going off before us there was 25 min to 30 min when we got there and they played we could have been long gone buy the time they started other then that fyn place to play


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Duke at Rancho El Dorado on 01/22/2018:

Thanks so much talbob for your 4-star review and feedback on The Duke. We apologize for the late start but are glad to see that pace of play was to your liking. Please come back and see us again very soon for more of the best golf in the desert.


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed