The Legacy Golf Club

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.4
993
5 Stars
536
4 Stars
364
3 Stars
64
2 Stars
19
1 Stars
10
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.4
Layout
4.5
Friendliness
4.5
Pace
3.9
Amenities
4.3
93.7%
Recommend this course
927 out of 987 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.5
117
5 Stars
72
4 Stars
36
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
2
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.6
Layout
4.6
Pace
4.1
Amenities
4.3
StaffFriendliness
4.6
95.8%
Recommend this course
113 out of 117 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.4
264
5 Stars
147
4 Stars
95
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
5
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.4
Layout
4.5
Pace
3.9
Amenities
4.3
StaffFriendliness
4.5
93.9%
Recommend this course
248 out of 264 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 71
Length 6946
Slope 127
Rating 72.0
Type Public/Resort
Legacy Golf Club sits on 28 acres of Dwight B. Heard's turn-of-the-20th-century ranch, home to 1902 silos that decorate the 18th fairway - once the tallest manmade things in Maricopa County. More history is on the first tee, in the Sierra Vista House which counts among its early-1900s visitors Theodore Roosevelt and Pancho Villa. Gary Panks designed the golf course at the Legacy Golf Club, giving it lush fairways, strategic hazards and manicured greens to test all golfers. Native flora grows from the landscape, and the club's elevation offers a vista of Camelback Mountain, Squaw Peak and the skyline of Phoenix.
Book a Tee Time at
The Legacy Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 71 6946 yards 72.0 127
Black 71 6378 yards 69.5 121
White 71 5958 yards 67.1 114
Purple (W) 71 5471 yards 70.4 117
Scorecard for Legacy
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Copper M: 72.0/127 399 441 376 216 368 571 150 585 442 3548 405 178 459 441 580 185 389 203 558 3398 6946
Black M: 69.5/121 379 427 352 167 349 548 136 528 418 3304 384 159 431 392 533 133 363 189 490 3074 6378
White M: 67.1/116 364 410 332 145 329 517 112 502 395 3106 358 137 391 370 493 120 337 177 469 2852 5958
Purple W: 70.6/117 321 387 312 119 308 490 83 471 369 2860 331 116 336 345 462 108 300 157 456 2611 5471
Handicap 10 6 16 12 14 2 18 8 4 9 11 3 15 1 13 17 5 7
Par 4 4 4 3 4 5 3 5 4 36 4 3 4 4 5 3 4 3 5 35 71
Handicap (W) 10 6 14 12 16 2 18 4 8 7 17 9 5 1 13 15 11 3

Course Details

Year Built 1999
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens TiffEagle Grass
Golf Season Year round, closed 10/15-11/1
Architect Gary Panks (1999) Wadsworth Golf Construction (1999)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
GPS No
Pull-carts No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Caddies No
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Collared Shirt required

Best of Lists

Reviews

4.4
993

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 96
Patio Dining 85
Brunch 49
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 172
Undulating Greens 99
Elevation Changes 50
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 104
Locals 95
Entertaining Clients 67
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 138
Near the Airport 133
At a Resort 107
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Unplayable that day

Have played the course before and it is a nice layout. My problem this time was that either the course or golfnow should have notified us beforehand that due to the heavy rains the day before that there were large pools of water on the fairways and in the bunkers. We were not even told before we teed off. We may have decided not to play. I lost three good balls in the traps/fairways because of how deep the water was. Not impressed. My other minor complaint is that they don't have GPS in the carts or prisms on the flags, which makes it more difficult to use a range finder. They should at least provide one or the other.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 10/17/2018:
Thank you for your review! We're glad that you enjoyed our layout but we apologize for the lack of communication regarding the water on the course. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you will give us another try in the future!
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 10/17/2018:
Excellent! Come back soon!
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Very playable

Played this course last year and loved it. Same feelings this year.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 10/12/2018:
Wonderful! We're glad that you enjoyed our course as much as you did last year. We look forward to having you back again soon for your next round!
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Had a nice experience here. Got paired up with some locals, 2 who were pleasant, the third had some anger issues with his game which was distracting at times.

I liked the layout and found some holes to be quite interesting. Very nice clubhouse and decent staff.

The course was average to good based on the time of year. They were coming into their overseed season. The greens were somewhat slow and at times inconsistent. The bunkers were also inconsistent in terms of sand fill. .

Based on the price I paid I felt I got a good experience. I would like to return when they are out of the overseed transition and in more lush conditions.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 10/23/2018:
Great! We're glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and the locals that you were paired with. We're also pleased that our staff left a great impression on you and that you found us to be a good value. We look forward to having you back again soon for your next round!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

gts5

Nice course, nice people, nice restaurant, great value

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 10/09/2018:
Outstanding! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our course and that our staff left a great impression on you. We're also glad that you found us to be a good value. We can't wait to have you back again soon at The Legacy!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Wet weather
Used cart

Nice course

Played cart path only for 14 holes due to rain. The course had dried out pretty well and so water did not really impact play.

Waited a short time on nearly ever shot due to 2 some in front of us (they must have had others in front of them) . We had a early tee time and it still took over 4 hours. No rangers.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 10/09/2018:
Fantastic! We're glad that you enjoyed your round with us despite the rain, but we apologize that the pace of play was a little slow. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to having you back again soon!
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Legacy Lovely!

Course in great condition overall though recent heavy rains left a lot of temporary ‘ponds’ everywhere today. Look beyond this though and you have a lovely golf course to enjoy!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 10/04/2018:
Awesome! We're pleased that our course conditions met your expectations despite all the rain. We appreciate your review and we hope to have you back again soon for your next round!
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Top 100 Contributor
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Outstanding!

The course was in GREAT pre-overseed shape! Gotta love those resorts that take extra care to make sure the primary attraction (golf) is up to snuff! Fairway & greens were in excellent shape! Sunday pins were exactly that! Nefarious! Gotta get back there before overseed!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 10/01/2018:
Terrific! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our course and that our conditions met your expectations. We appreciate your review and we can't wait to have you back again soon at The Legacy!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Hour Pace midweek at 105F !

The course is always in great shape. The management is so greedy that they ignore thier own tee time intervals and put as many people out as possible. I have had this experience at the Legacy many times, this is the last .Adios Legacy !!!

Conditions Good
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 09/28/2018:
Thank you for your review! We're pleased that our course conditions met your expectations, but we apologize that the pace of play was slow. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you will give us another try in the future!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 10/01/2018:
Excellent! Glad you enjoyed your time with us!
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great Course!

Caught the course right before they are going to overseed. Fantastic shape! great course. The only thing that marred our experience was an "accidental" cancelling of our golf now tee time 45 mins before. We were already in route. Fortunately, the proshop found away to get us back on our original tee time. Thank you for saving the day! Wish I could remember the name of the guy who helped us!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 09/28/2018:
Wonderful! We're glad that our course conditions met your expectations and that we were able to help you get your original tee time back. We appreciate your review and we look forward to having you back again soon for your next round!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Best course played all summer

This is an excellentl course. All aspects of the course were we'll maintained and in excellent condition including the driving range , tee boxes, fairways and greens. This is the best course in AZ I've played all summer. Great round!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 09/20/2018:
Outstanding! We're thrilled that our course conditions met your expectations and we're honored that you consider us the best course that you've played in Arizona . We can't wait to have you back again soon for your next round!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 09/18/2018:
Terrific! Come back soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 09/18/2018:
Excellent! We're glad that you enjoyed your round with us and that you consider us a must play. We can't wait to have you back again soon at The Legacy!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Wait, wait and wait

Got off 1st tee about 15 minutes late, but not a big problem for us. By the 3rd tee box, we began to wait, apparently they allowed someone 2 groups ahead to walk. Not a problem if they don't hold up play or allow you through. Not the case, we waited on every tee box the rest of the day. Course was great, everything else nice, but disappointing to have to wait.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 09/11/2018:
Wonderful! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our course but we apologize that the pace of play was slow. Our staff strives to keep everyone moving at a good pace, so we appreciate your feedback. We can't wait to have you back again soon at The Legacy!
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Sunday afternoon round in the heat

After playing 18 holes of tournament golf at TPC, my buddy & I got in another 18 from the tips at Legacy for just $25 thanks to GolfNow. Really nice layout & the greens rolled well. Hardly anyone on the course for our 3:30 teetime in 105 deg heat so played it in just over 3hrs.

We were greeted at the bag drop and the guy, Nick, inside was really nice with giving us information about the course.

The par 3s varied in length and the par 5s were a stern test from the back tees.

Must play this course when in the area.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 09/11/2018:
Great! We're glad that you enjoyed our course and that you found us to be a a good value. We're also pleased that out staff left a great impression on you. We look forward to having you back again soon for your next round!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 09/10/2018:
Outstanding! We're glad that our course conditions met your expectations and that you enjoyed the challenge of our layout. We look forward to having you back again soon for your next round with us!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser

Excellent course but slow round

TWO FIVESOMES WERE PLAYING AHEAD OF US (THREESOME AND TWO SOME COMBINED) WITH 2 CARTS REALLY SLOWED UP PACE OF PLAY

NO MARSHALLS SEEN

COURSE IN EXCELLENT SHAPE AND STAFF WERE VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 09/10/2018:
Great! We're glad that you enjoyed our course and that our staff left a great impression on you. We apologize that the pace of play was slow and we appreciate your feedback. Our staff strives to keep everyone moving at a good pace and we will use your review to help us improve. We hope to have you back again soon for your next round with us!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Awesome experience.

First time playing here and was really impressed overall. Staff was very courteous and let me play by myself in the afternoon. Ended up paying only about $25 with the summer rate. This place has amazing (unbeatable?) value. They keep it in amazing shape too. Most of the holes were absolutely immaculate. Unfortunately the grounds crew was out there on several holes and it can get distracting when they drive so close. They didn't have much awareness but sure are doing a great job haha. Greens were rolling super fast. Had quite a few memorable holes. Clubhouse is also very visually impressive and the history of the location is interesting. The course doesn't have mindblowing panoramas but it does have a bunch of holes with mountain vistas. The real charm comes from the prestine condition, interesting holes, and classic desert ranch feel. It kind of feels like a "Grayhawk South". Will definitely return here and check out Raven as well.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 09/06/2018:
Fantastic! We're thrilled that you enjoyed your first time playing with us at The Legacy. We're also glad that our staff left a great impression on you and that you found us to be a good value. We appreciate your review and we can't wait to have you back again soon for your next round with us!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Bargain

Course was very nice. In great shape. Fast , readable greens, lush fairways and great tee boxes. The only issue I had was that most of the financially well off golfers that frequent the nice courses believe they are above fixing ball marks and fairway divots. I fixed at least 5 on each green and filled any divots around my fairway shots. Not the courses fault just entitled nobodys being nobodys

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from The Legacy Golf Club on 09/04/2018:
Terrific! We're thrilled that our course conditions met your expectations and that you enjoyed the challenge of our course. We appreciate your review and we can't wait to have you back again soon at The Legacy!
Nearby Courses
Phoenix, Arizona
4.3688
573
Phoenix, Arizona
3.7399058824
901
Phoenix, Arizona
0.0
0
Phoenix, Arizona
3.5058
342
Phoenix, Arizona
2.1231
65
Phoenix, Arizona
3.0171235294
618
Tempe, Arizona
3.8223529412
561
Tempe, Arizona
3.9457941176
388
Phoenix, Arizona
3.7452529412
893
Phoenix, Arizona
4.0029705882
319
Tempe, Arizona
3.3735529412
339

Stay & Play Offers

$199 Starting price
Valid dates: Oct 19, 2018 - Dec 20, 2018
The package includes overnight accommodations, unlimited rounds of golf for two players, daily American breakfast for two at CORE Kitchen & Wine Bar and 10% savings offered at the Golf Shop.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE