Bear's Best Atlanta

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.2
366
5 Stars
158
4 Stars
128
3 Stars
46
2 Stars
18
1 Stars
16
Conditions
4.0
Value
3.8
Layout
4.6
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
3.9
Amenities
4.1
84.4%
Recommend this course
302 out of 366 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
3.9
22
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.8
Value
3.3
Layout
4.3
Pace
3.5
Amenities
3.7
StaffFriendliness
4.0
72.7%
Recommend this course
16 out of 22 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.2
61
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
1
Conditions
4.0
Value
3.8
Layout
4.5
Pace
4.0
Amenities
4.2
StaffFriendliness
4.4
83.6%
Recommend this course
51 out of 61 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 6824 yards
Slope 143
Rating 73.3
Book a Tee Time at
Bear's Best Atlanta
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 6824 yards 73.3 143
Nicklaus 72 6513 yards 71.9 140
Blue 72 6138 yards 70.1 137
White 72 5624 yards 68.0 126
White (W) 72 5624 yards 73.7 135
Red (W) 72 4725 yards 68.7 121
Scorecard for Bears Best Atlanta Golf Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Gold M: 73.3/143 429 369 148 355 414 154 579 409 554 3411 339 180 521 417 559 348 167 415 467 3413 6824
Nicklaus M: 71.9/140 405 337 145 353 399 151 519 379 529 3217 331 177 518 413 556 342 163 375 421 3296 6513
Blue M: 70.1/137 390 314 134 316 360 147 489 370 509 3029 323 163 475 381 532 316 151 355 413 3109 6138
Blue/White M: 69.3/130 387 314 134 316 338 147 481 370 474 2961 323 163 414 352 506 316 151 301 356 2882 5843
White M: 68.0/126 W: 73.7/135 387 296 110 292 338 121 481 306 474 2805 315 155 414 352 506 279 141 301 356 2819 5624
Red W: 68.7/121 342 172 78 182 270 99 428 254 427 2252 282 80 386 308 432 275 128 277 305 2473 4725
Handicap 3 13 15 17 1 9 11 5 7 12 4 16 6 8 18 14 10 2
Par 4 4 3 4 4 3 5 4 5 36 4 3 5 4 5 4 3 4 4 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 2002
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Jack Nicklaus (2002)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted Yes
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code No denim, collared shirt and bermuda shorts required

Reviews

4.2
366

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 32
Dinner 18
Brunch 17
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 51
Water Hazards 42
Elevation Changes 33
This course/club is great for:
Entertaining Clients 42
Advanced Golfers 40
A Weekend Splurge 37
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 47
In the 'Burbs 46
Convenient to the City 10

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Bear's Best Atlanta
Commented On 2019-02-04T18:45:05.000+00:00

Wonderful! Come back soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Awesome layout

Great weather day provided a fun golf afternoon. The course was full of golfers but moved at a good pace. Course layout was awesome and in spite of extremely rainy Winter in pretty good shape for early February in Georgia. I would like to play it again in Spring or Fall when fairways are not dormant and bent grass greens can be cut and rolled.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Bear's Best Atlanta
Commented On 2019-02-04T18:44:57.000+00:00

Awesome! We're pleased that you enjoyed our course and the challenge it presented. We're also glad that you were able to play at a good pace. We appreciate you review and we look forward to having you back again soon for your next round!

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Cold weather
Used cart

staff friendly

Course was in good shape despite heavy rain earlier week. Pro shop Marty Topper was very friendly.

I'll definitely play again

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Bear's Best Atlanta
Commented On 2019-02-04T18:42:26.000+00:00

Outstanding! We're thrilled that our course conditions met your expectations and we're glad that Marty left a great impression on you. We can't wait to have you back again soon for your next round at Bear's Best Atlanta!

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Nice round, great day

First off, after some miscommunication, Marty was accommodating to that fact and revised our tee time for the error. Thanks for taking care of us buddy, see you soon.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Bear's Best Atlanta
Commented On 2019-01-24T22:01:13.000+00:00

Awesome! We're pleased that we were able to get everything squared away for your tee time and that Marty was helpful. We look forward to having you back again soon for your next round!

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Slow pace but fun. Cart path only and wetness killed the old men in front of us but greens were fast and challenging.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Bear's Best Atlanta
Commented On 2019-01-22T21:40:58.000+00:00

Great! We're glad that you enjoyed our course and the challenge it presented. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to having you back again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Lazy

This was a special pre-Christmas fire start event. The event was understaffed. Marshall's did not take care of pace of play. We were not told in advance that no food or drink would be available after tee off. Truly ill-mannered. We had to skip holes and go around others in order to get out of there in 5 hours!

Conditions Good
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Bear's Best Atlanta
Commented On 2018-12-27T16:26:28.000+00:00

Thank you for your review! We apologize that you didn't enjoy your time with us. We strive to provide a great experience for all of our guests. We would love the chance to speak to you more about your time with us. Please reach out to our General Manager, Ian Grimwade, at Ian.Grimwade@clubcorp.com. Thank you again and we look forward to speaking with you!

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Used cart

Bear's Best Suwanee

Staff very friendly and helpful. Good facilities. Cart path only when played so a slower pace - may be wrong but would guess fairways hold water longer causing more cart path only situations. Good course and will consider playing again; however, a bit pricey.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Default User Image
Bear's Best Atlanta
Commented On 2018-12-21T15:03:54.000+00:00

Great! We're glad that you enjoyed our course and that our staff left a great impression on you. We apologize that the pace was a little slow and we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to having you back again soon for your next round!

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Bear's Best Atlanta
Commented On 2018-12-21T15:02:44.000+00:00

Outstanding! Come back soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Disappointed

This is the first time I have played the course in for or five years and was very disappointed with the direction the course has gone.

It started off with having to now pay $10 for range balls, next I totally understand it was a holiday weekend and the course was going to be crowded but did expect to have a course regular hit into our group four times (our group was staying in pace the the groups in front), next the course was in bad condition as I had played the Georgia Club two days prior and that course was less expensive and in great condition.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Bear's Best Atlanta
Commented On 2018-11-27T15:58:42.000+00:00

Thank you for your review! We apologize that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. We strive to provide all of our guests with a great experience and we'd love to learn more about your time with us. Please reach out to our General Manager, Ian Grimwade, at Ian.Grimwade@clubcorp.com. Thank you again and we look forward to speaking with you!

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Rude Staff

Employees at this course are never friendly . Customer service has always been low priority. Not sure if u r allowed to smile if u work at Bears. Worst GPS screens of all time. They wasted their money.

Conditions Average
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Bear's Best Atlanta
Commented On 2018-11-06T20:29:58.000+00:00

Thank your for your review! We apologize that you didn't enjoy your time with us and that our staff didn't leave a great impression on you. We strive to provide our guests with the best experience possible. We would love the chance to speak to you more about your experience with us. Please reach out to us at bearsbestatl@gmail.com your earliest convenience. Thank you again and we look forward to speaking with you!

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played

Poor staff

As with a number of reviews of Bears Best, the staff acts as if they don't want you there. The last time I played there I had a 8 AM tee time on a weekday as a single. When I showed up at about 730, I was told that I was pushed back until 820 because 2 foursomes of members wanted to be the first groups off. Obviously, so did I as I made the tee time to be the first one off! I was paired with another guy who had a similar experience. Then we were then told that even though we were a two-some, we would not be allowed to play through the 2 groups of foursomes because we would run into the mowers. I play at a number of courses in Atlanta as a single and early in the morning. Most courses just ask you to be curious to the mowers and if you run into them, let them do their thing before you play the hole. There is never a problem doing that, but not at Bears Best. In addition, if you don't get a special, Bears Best is way over priced versus other courses around Atlanta. While I do like the course itself, the way the staff acts, they obviously don't want "non-members" there, so I won't go back.

Conditions Good
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Poor
Pace Fair
Default User Image
Bear's Best Atlanta
Commented On 2018-11-09T20:21:22.000+00:00

Thank you for your review! We apologize that you didn't enjoy your experience with us and that our staff didn't leave a great impression on you. We strive to provide our guests with the best experience possible and we're disappointed that you didn't. We would love the chance to speak to you more about your time with us. Please reach out to our General Manager, Ian Grimwade, at 678.714.2582 x7 or via email at ian.grimwade@clubcorp.com. Thank you again and we look forward to speaking with you!

Was this comment useful to you?
Your feedback could not be sent at this time
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Hot weather
Used cart

Bear's Best

The name of the course refers to the individual holes, as each are replicas of some of Nicklaus' best holes from around the world. It is a very enjoyable concept, as there is a great variety of fun and interesting holes throughout the course. The course itself is fun and in great shape.

Our only issue was the guy that checked us in mentioned casually that they had squeezed some extra tee-times in throughout the afternoon, causing a significant back up. Our 3:00pm tee-time that should have not been an issue was cut short by about 3-4 holes due to darkness. Had we finished out the round we would have easily topped 5 hours.

If you're going to squeeze extra golfers (well after we had booked our time) a slight discount would have been appreciated, or at least a heads up more than 5 minutes before our scheduled tee time. This is not a course we frequent, so we were looking forward to enjoying it and weren't able to fully. We were either waiting to take many of our shots, or rushing to try and beat the sunset.

I will probably try this course again sometime and hope that the pace issue is better.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Response from Bear's Best Atlanta on 10/08/2018:
Awesome! We're pleased that you enjoyed our course and the challenge of our layout. We do apologize that you weren't able to play at a good pace and we appreciate your feedback. We will make sure to use your review to help us improve moving forward. We hope to have you back again soon for your next round with us!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

A bit underwhleming

Wanted to play for this curse for some time, grabbed a hot deal for ~50% off retail. Course layout is supposed to be a compilation of Jack Nicklaus best 18 holes from courses around the world. I've played a couple of these courses and the holes are do not resemble those courses very closely. Due to this feature, the course lack's it's own character. The greens were for the most part flat, except one hole. Staff was friendly. Glad I played it finally, likey not coming back. There are better local options at better prices.

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Response from Bear's Best Atlanta on 10/03/2018:
Thank you for your review! We're glad that our staff left a great impression on you but we apologize that you didn't enjoy our layout. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you will give us another try in the future!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great round on a Saturday morning

Bear's Best is a great course and it is very challenging.

Course conditions were excellent.

Play moved at a great pace.

Course is very well managed.

Looking forward to playing there again soon.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Bear's Best Atlanta on 10/01/2018:
Outstanding! We're thrilled that our course conditions met your expectations and that you enjoyed the challenge it presented. We're also glad that you were able to play at a good pace. We can't wait to have you back again soon at Bear' Best Atlanta!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Fair
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Bear's Best Atlanta on 09/24/2018:
Great! Come back soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser

This course was great!

I had a great time playing this course. Everything from the staff to the course was on point! Will definitely be playing here again soon.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Bear's Best Atlanta on 09/24/2018:
Fantastic! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our course and that our staff left a great impression on you. We can't wait to have you back again soon at Bear's Best Atlanta!
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Solid course, great value for what I paid

Overall, a very solid course in great condition. My overall rating for this course would be a B+. I thought there would be more famous holes than there were but the course was challenging, in great shape and anything under $75 with cart, would be a great value. Definitely will play again in the $50-$75 rate range.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Response from Bear's Best Atlanta on 09/17/2018:
Awesome! We're pleased that our course conditions met your expectations and that you enjoyed the challenge of our layout. We're also glad that you found us to be a good value. We look forward to having you back again soon for your next round with us!
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Solid Golf Course

First off, I played early on a Monday morning so the pace of play was fantastic. I think I finished in just under 4 hours.

The course condition is excellent. They did aerate the greens a few weeks ago but they are healing nicely and did not effect the roll at all. The greens were a touch slow but that was most likely do to the recovery of them. The tee boxes and fairways were in great shape. MX was working on the bunkers after much rain the day before. The ones that had been attended to were in great shape.

The layout is top notch. The first 6 holes are awesome. I’m a huge fan of each of those holes, highlighted by the 6th which is the replica of murfields par 3. Such a stunning and tough hole. The back 9 was very challenging as well but was not quite as memerable as the front. #11 is another tough but awesome par 3.

Overall, I’d highly recommend but find a deal. I don’t think this course is worth the $80 bucks it is prime time. I do think that it’s worth every dollar at the price tag of $50 or less. Enjoy!

Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Response from Bear's Best Atlanta on 09/11/2018:
Awesome! We're pleased that our course conditions met your expectations and that you were able to play at a good pace. We're also glad that you enjoyed the challenge our course presented. We look forward to having you back again soon for your next round with us!
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Good but expensive for a normal round

Look for cheap deals, course is great, well kept, tough. Very nice

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Bear's Best Atlanta on 09/04/2018:
Great! We're glad that you enjoyed our course and that you found us to be a good value. We look forward to having you back again soon for your next round with us!
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
1.0
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Worst round of golf

Worst golf experience ever. We had a 8:33am tea time reserved from teeoff.com and paid $65 per person. Got to the golf course and everything was fine until I got to the pro shop. Turns out they checked in the wrong person under our reservation so had to clear that up. 2 people working at the desk were a joke throwing inappropriate jokes to each other while ringing me up. Tee'd off and got to the first green to see that it was aerated and full of sand. (Which was not mentioned while I booked the course) It was like putting out of the sand trap for 18 holes and they still charged $65!!! Around the 5th fairway the marshall comes to us and asks us to play faster to catch up to the front team while we didn't see a group behind us for the last 5 holes. After the 11th hole marshall waiting for us after the green and tells us that we are playing too slow and his going to have to make us skip a hole. Mind you we were under 3 hours after the 11th hole and asked him why we have to skip a hole. The guy slams on his break, my boss' cart runs into his cart, jumps out of the cart and start yelling at us about playing time and how we are allowed 4 hours 20 mins to finish the 18. We pointed out the notice they have in our cart that says we have 3 hours to hit the 10th tree and 5 hours to finish 18 and he argues that there is no way and that the posting was an error. Took us into the middle of the fairway in the 12th and told us we have to play from there?! Why not just have us skip the 11th hole which was a par 3? Rookie marshall with his power trip. Will never go back to this place in my lifetime.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from Bear's Best Atlanta on 09/04/2018:
Thank you for your review! We are deeply sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience with us at Bear's Best. We are aware that we moved your group due to your pace and because of complaints from the groups behind you. This is something we hardly ever do and we would very much like to discuss the reasons for this with you and to understand the other issues you raise. Please reach out to our General Manager, Ian Grimwade, at 678.714.2582 x7 or via email at ian.grimwade@clubcorp.com. Thank you again and we look forward to speaking with you!
Nearby Courses
Suwanee, Georgia
2.9411764706
4
Duluth, Georgia
3.9660352941
310
Sugar Hill, Georgia
3.9626411765
431
Suwanee, Georgia
3.6428571429
5
Cumming, Georgia
4.6078470588
9
Duluth, Georgia
4.125
5
Duluth, Georgia
3.5108352941
53
Duluth, Georgia
3.7361411765
274
Cumming, Georgia
3.2711764706
360
Duluth, Georgia
4.0
1

Stay & Play Offers

$145 Starting price
Valid dates: Feb 11, 2019 - Mar 31, 2019
4 days/ 3 nights with unlimited golf, starting at $145 pp/pn
Featured Content
Load More
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE