Whirlwind Golf Club - The Devil's Claw Course

4.6340176471 4.6 stars from 5 (372)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7029 yards
  • Slope: 127
  • Rating: 72.7
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes - $60
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Dress code: No Denim, Collared Shirt and Bermuda Shorts Required
Credit cards accepted: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7029 yards 72.7 127
Gold 72 6487 yards 70.4 123
Silver 72 6034 yards 68.2 118
Silver (W) 72 6034 yards 74.7 130
Copper (W) 72 5540 yards 71.6 126

Devil's Claw is one of two golf courses at Whirlwind G.C., part of the Wild Horse Pass Resort and Casino on the Gila River Indian Reservation near Chandler. In addition to its views of four mountain ranges -- South Mountain, the Estrella Mountains, the San Tan Mountains and the Superstitions -- Devil's Claw overflows with Native American culture.

A round on the Devil's Claw at Whirlwind Golf Club begins on Greasy Mountain, a par-4 424-yarder that faces Muh-wah Ha-dahk - the Gila River Indian Community's name for South Mountain. Things get long on the fifth, Maricopa Journey, a par-5 593-yarder designed to memorialize the travels of the Pee-Posh (or Maricopa tribe) from the Colorado River to where the Gila and Salt rivers meet. Go home via Going Home, the 18th hole, a par 4 that measures 442 yards from the Black tees. As the Gila River Indian Community sings it, "Our songs are ending as you go your separate ways, take along with you the good songs that were sung here today, as within your hearts."

Don't go straight home: You can still fit in another song after golfing the Devil's Claw golf course at the Whirlwind Golf Club in the clubhouse, which features a fully stocked bar and plenty of plasma televisions for relaxing and catching up on other sports.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 372 Reviews
5 stars:
232
4 stars:
115
3 stars:
14
2 stars:
10
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

354 out of 370 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort convenient to the city worth the drive   Great for advanced golfers a weekend splurge wildlife/ scenic views   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens forced carries   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"What you'd expect from a Troon Golf course"


georud's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/23/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played Devils Claw on a 4 day trip to Scottsdale from home in N. Myrtle Beach. Conditions were really good, from tee boxes to fairways to greens and rough. Very playable, some challenge but also good wide open fairways. Loved the service.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Absolutely beautiful"


zachbahl's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/15/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is in amazing condition. The pace of play was perfect. Some very beautiful holes. Devil's Claw is forgiving to the four times a year player. What a great value for the price. I highly recommend getting out this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great course at a great value"


Larry7069784's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I’m a big fan of this course. Terrific condition for this time of year. Green in great shape and roll true.

Very accommodating staffs and nice selection in pro shop

Only complaint is pace of place. Two member groups in front of us a 5 hour round this time of year not acceptable - especially from members that should know better.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great condition and pretty"


debsand4's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've played here a half dozen times and always in great condition. Staff is nice and restaurant good for after golf. Fairly close to my house in ahwatukee too. A little pricey in the winter but great value in summer.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Excellent troon course"


u000003226474's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played in June on very warm day. Cost in excellent shape for this time of year.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Troon course"


u000006355792's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course and facility are always well kept, this day was no exception. There were 2 fairways that were a little beat up - small sections that may have been sun burnt, but did not effect play .

A bit slow pace, typical for Sunday, but marshal was out to keep things moving . Great summer rates on Golf now .


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Amazing"


u762491259's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is so beautiful and fun but challenging at the same time! I will return frequently as it is just 15 mins from my house!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"All was great......but"


jmkelsey's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/08/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I was in a 4 some, with one player a local and other 2 were here on a golf vacation from San Francisco. One of the gentlemen had a double lung transplant about 2-3 months ago. We played as fast as we could and yet the marshal circled us continuously from hole 6-18. At one time told us to pick up pace or he would move us.... We were about 3/4 to a hole slow.... but never really pushed by group behind us. His constant watching to see If we were playing faster was an itch you cannot scratch and was annoying to say the least. May be a while before I return, although I love playing both courses.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Beautiful Course"


twitucky's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/07/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice course to play. Greens are true and easy to hold, but that leads to many ball marks that are left unrepaired or half assed. Overall one of the best courses in the Valley.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Hot Deal"


bargaumpire54's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/05/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love the course. Even at 106’ outside it was still a fun course. Nothing better than a course actually giving a reasonable rate for a mid week mid day round in 100+ weather. Great online rate.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Condition of course and pace of play"


Doug9492751's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in excellent shape and the pace of play was about 4 hours.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course"


u000005878666's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Lovely well kept course. Awesome grass. Tee boxes a little bumpy from aeration but overall good


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"One of the best in the valley in Late May"


Smstewart's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/29/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

With the exception of a couple damaged fairway spots it was in great condition. No traffic..played in 3:10


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great resort layout."


u138726176's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens were true but a little bumpy. Overall a great golf course. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I will be returning for sure.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Love THese Courses"


dhume419's avatar
Top 25 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have reviewed these courses previously. They continue to impress.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"GolfNow messed up"


u1603387's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Our tee time from golfnow didn’t get processed. The coarse was awesome and we were able to re-book for a later tee time.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great layout and extremely helpful staff"


u3770174's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed immensely the experience early morning with reduced summer rates. Course in great shape with plenty of challenging holes. Greens a bit quicker than what I’m used to but rolled true. Marshall gave me a wet towel to wrap around my neck around 12th hole and it was so appreciated. What a nice gesture in the heat. Will make a point of returning with my wife in the Fall. Thanks for a most enjoyable day


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Promotion Rate"


GThompson's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A Troon Course that offered a great rate. Thanks will play it again. One fairway was under repair other than that it was a good set up. Plays pretty tough but fair.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Always a great track"


Barry2937054's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/18/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A beautiful course void of any houses or structure to distract. Fairways were cut short this time out and the greens were running slow and were bumpier than I’ve seen them , still a good value as we head into summer rates


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



Doug9492751's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/15/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Troon course"


MilesShugg's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course. Deep soft bunkers. Pace played a little slow.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed