Coldwater Golf Club

3.9784647059 4.0 stars from 5 (589)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6758 yards
  • Slope: 120
  • Rating: 71.5
  • Layout

  • 100 N Clubhouse Dr, Avondale, Arizona 85323, Maricopa County
  • (623) 932-9000
  • (623) 932-9004
  • coldwatergolfclub.com
Write Review

Year built: 2000
Architect(s): Forrest Richardson
Type: Public
Style: Desert/Traditional
Greens: TiffEagle Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirt required

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Deep End 72 6758 yards 71.5 120
Coldwater 72 6305 yards 69.7 113
Vintage 72 5798 yards 67.0 108
Vintage (W) 72 5798 yards 72.8 118
Upstream 72 5147 yards 68.6 111

Located in the West Valley, the championship-length course at the Coldwater Golf Club boasts several different challenges for an interesting round of golf. There are elevated tees as well as several dry washes. There are two lakes providing water hazards on the golf course as well. There are also dramatic elevation changes caused by the mountainous terrain. Aside from the challenging game, the course also offers beautiful mountain vistas. The course has not only one signature course but two. The first is the modest eighth hole. Although it is short at 100 yards, it features an elevated tee and a triple-tiered green. Coldwater Golf Club also finishes with a signature hole. The beginning tee shot plays to an open fairway over water with a dry wash to the left, while the approach shot is closed-in by another wash to the left and a lake to the right.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.2 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.9 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 589 Reviews
5 stars:
126
4 stars:
294
3 stars:
110
2 stars:
42
1 stars:
17

recommend this course

512 out of 586 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for locals seniors advanced golfers   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens elevation changes   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole specials  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great Round"


Flyer86man's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/12/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great round of golf

Course in good contion and pace of play was great at 3hrs 10 minutes for a twosome for 18 holes

Great value on Last Minute Golf


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Still No Carts??????"


Brian1591640's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played this course quite a few times over the past 12 months and every single time there is a delay because they do not have carts available. It seems that management should finally get a hint and lease/purchase some carts. In the long run it frustrates people and is not worth the poor customer experience. They stated they were behind for a frost delay. There was no frost that morning.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course


"No Carts and 4 Groups Per Hole"


golfiggy's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/18/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

First time playing the course and was excited because it looked like it was in pretty good shape. With a 12:22 tee time was not worried about not getting 18 holes in but that soon became an issue. We got there and they had no carts available. We had to wait until people finished golfing. One twosome came off 18 so we had one cart for our foursome but then had to wait until the next group came in and they were two holes behind. We ended up teeing off 15 minutes late and caught the group in front of us by the 2nd hole. By hole 4 we had 4 groups on the hole. Called the club house and asked if they had a marshal and they said yes and they would take care of it. We called again on 9 because there were still 4 groups per hole. They told us there were no gaps and the course was just full. This is very poor course management if that is the case. If they have no gaps and 3 to 4 groups per hole, they obviously overbooked their course. It took us 5 hours to complete our round and waiting 15 minutes on each tee box made for a very aggravating round.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Average Course, Decent Rates"


AZnative's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/18/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Coldwater is a average course with reasonable rates in the winter. Fairways and greens were in good/great shape although the tee boxes needed some work (re-seeding in process on quite a few tee boxes). Holes 1, 9, and 18 are in great shape (rough has winter grass), it's too bad the other holes aren't in that good of shape.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"Nice course."


u7355717's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/17/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in good condition and had a nice layout. Only issues were the tee time was delayed around 20 minutes because of a poorly run morning tournament/ outing. This also made for slow play causing our round to be close to 5 hours.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Slow play"


u474037593's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/17/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed the course but you need more golf carts and longer times between tee times.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Nice layout"


KNAB's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tees are bad shape compared to courses like Palm Valley. Tell players to replace divots!!!!!!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course



bths1969's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Well maintained course in a fairly average neighbourhood."


Dayle6385400's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The condition and maintenance of the course was above average for courses in this price range but the setting around the course is fairly boring - average neighbourhood with quite a few large power poles and power lines. I would recommend this course if the price point is about $35 to $40.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Not a 4 Star Course!"


edward12's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/10/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was not a 4 star course as rated by Golfnow! I would give it a 3 star probably! The entire lay-out of the course was not good! The greens were not good for a course rated as a 4 star course. The green fees should have been about $15-20!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


"Great for the money"


u000001646949's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

The course was fun to play, fairways were in good shape. The price was great I will play again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Great price, great course, great golf"


Kin7455290's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Course was well maintained fairways were green n greens rolled true. I highly recommend this course for all levels of golfers.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



aztom01's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



parforme2's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



Thomas8133048's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If you're out for some fun,Coldwater is the place to go!! Exellent all around... as usual!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



rossandnancy's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/07/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice course"


u000006669771's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We enjoyed the course. Numerous challenging holes, good shape, fun. Great staff


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



dchadley's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great westside course"


u834325537's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It was a little bit of a drive for me but worth it. Good course. Fairways, greens, and tee boxes were all in good shape. This is a course where it really pays off to stay in play. Rough is very rough and then it is unmaintained desert. To some degree, target golf.

Staff is friendly.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



agvince's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/02/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed