Coldwater Golf Club

3.9568882353 4.0 stars from 5 (625)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6758 yards
  • Slope: 120
  • Rating: 71.5
  • Layout

  • 100 N Clubhouse Dr, Avondale, Arizona 85323, Maricopa County
  • (623) 932-9000
  • (623) 932-9004
  • coldwatergolfclub.com
Write Review

Year built: 2000
Architect(s): Forrest Richardson
Type: Public
Style: Desert/Traditional
Greens: TiffEagle Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: No

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirt required

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Deep End 72 6758 yards 71.5 120
Coldwater 72 6305 yards 69.7 113
Vintage 72 5798 yards 67.0 108
Vintage (W) 72 5798 yards 72.8 118
Upstream 72 5147 yards 68.6 111

Located in the West Valley, the championship-length course at the Coldwater Golf Club boasts several different challenges for an interesting round of golf. There are elevated tees as well as several dry washes. There are two lakes providing water hazards on the golf course as well. There are also dramatic elevation changes caused by the mountainous terrain. Aside from the challenging game, the course also offers beautiful mountain vistas. The course has not only one signature course but two. The first is the modest eighth hole. Although it is short at 100 yards, it features an elevated tee and a triple-tiered green. Coldwater Golf Club also finishes with a signature hole. The beginning tee shot plays to an open fairway over water with a dry wash to the left, while the approach shot is closed-in by another wash to the left and a lake to the right.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.0 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.8 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 3.8 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.1 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.0 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 625 Reviews
5 stars:
135
4 stars:
311
3 stars:
114
2 stars:
48
1 stars:
17

recommend this course

541 out of 622 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive in the 'burbs   Great for locals seniors advanced golfers   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens elevation changes   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole specials  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

KipBoetel's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/26/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



Blake5002458's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/17/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Nice"


u394713302's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Put this one on your list. Nice course, well maintained, helpful staff. Only problem we had was the cart. Kept kicking out of forward, so could use a little maintenance. I'll be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Day on the links"


skyjoc12's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Excellant day playing the toughest game I have ever attempted. Loved the experience, it had been a few years since I last played Coldwater. I will be back soon. It was a pleasure. Thanks golfing staff. Mike H.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000003502706's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Sand blast open"


u098589509's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

High winds; concrete hard greens; unfair pin placements. Good guys to play with. Terrible practice area.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


"If you want to play a fast, cheap round, this is your course"


leekaya's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The staff seem unaware. They checked in two people for my single reservation and it took them 5 minutes to rectify the problem. There was no starter, so I played solo behind another single player. I never saw anyone else on the course except for the lawn maintenance staff. Only good thing about playing this course is I finished in 3 hours and 10 minutes.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I don't recommend this course



HotPinkGolfBall's avatar
Top 25 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Value & fun"


bths1969's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great layout course was in good shape. Played at

Noon course to ourselves! Glad there’s availability! I will return!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



golfinsunJT's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



HotPinkGolfBall's avatar
Top 25 Contributor
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



grbarros's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course"


kengrossman1's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2018
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First time to this course and was very pleasantly surprised. The staff was helpful and friendly and the course was in nice shape. The greens certainly offered some challenging putts and were in pretty good shape. I'll definitely be returning!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



Justen1141207's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Like the course very much"


scotland123's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We enjoy playing this course very much and have played it twice in the last week.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Try this golf"


u9257591's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/26/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a nice golf. The last hole is the most bueatifull.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course




3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Enjoyable Day"


u000008007670's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/21/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course in nice condition with a good variety of hole layouts. Play from the ‘vintage’ tees was appropriate. Glad we were able to play there!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Excellent track"


johndar98's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/20/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Golfed this course 5 times now. Weekend pace is slow. Weekday very good flow. Course is in very nice shape! Going again next week! Recommended!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great play on a great day"


pastorleigh's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice course with wide fairways and mid size greens. A good mixture of hills and valleys with enough change to keep you guessing. 5 pars were set up as easier to play but quite enjoyable. Greens were mixed with some burn but overall pretty good. For the price..dynamite. This course is one of the best in the area for a mid handicapper.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Sunday drive !"


JohnFran's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/18/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was nice and plenty of grass around the greens. Would golf it again, if we didn't live in Mesa (50 min) away ! It was a nice sunday drive, and nice day of golfing especially golfing with 2 nice polite young gentleman we met, wish there where more around !


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed