Twisted Dune Golf Club

4.2949705882 4.3 stars from 5 (395)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7248 yards
  • Slope: 130
  • Rating: 74.9
  • Layout

  • 2101 Ocean Heights Ave, Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234
  • (609) 653-8019
  • (609) 653-8357
  • twisteddune.com
Write Review

Year built: 2001
Type: Public
Style: Links
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - Mc's Golf Academy

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: Soft spikes only
Dress code: Proper golf attire both on the course and the practice facility

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7248 yards 74.9 130
Blue 72 6759 yards 72.1 126
White 72 6332 yards 70.0 122
Yellow 72 5777 yards 67.7 119
Red 72 4930 yards 67.8 118

The golf course at the Twisted Dune Golf Club is a public, 18-hole course that is reminiscent of traditional Scottish courses. Located right on the Jersey Shore, Twisted Dune Golf Club is popular for it's beautiful views and challenging game. The deep ravines and grassy hills provide picturesque scenery and they also create interesting hazards for a good game.

Twisted Dune Golf Club lives up to his name with its twisting links-style layout, elevation changes, and rolling fairways. The golf course has par-5 holes that stretch over 500 yards as well as several par-4's and par-3's. The course also has wide fairways and large greens of bent grass.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.0 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.1 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 395 Reviews
5 stars:
187
4 stars:
150
3 stars:
33
2 stars:
16
1 stars:
9

recommend this course

361 out of 394 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city near local attractions   Great for a weekend splurge advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens elevation changes   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

stumpy8831's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"First time playing TD"


u278763875's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/19/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have been vacationing in the area for the past few years and have played several local courses. This year we chose to play here. The staff was great from the bag drop, to the pro shop, the starter, and even the ranger. We had a 7:30 tee time for 3 of us. There were 6 groups ahead of us and we never had to wait. We finished our round under 4 hours. The course has definitely been played this year and the fairways/tee boxes could use some TLC. The greens were lightning fast but in great shape. The bunkers could use from raking to remove larger stones.

Overall, we had a great time and will definitely play this course again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"twisted dune"


u000005444211's avatar
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/19/2018
Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

tee boxes in poor condition , greens very fast , some fairways were in poor shape


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"Don’t Expect Lush"


Tjswit's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is fun to play but expect a challenge. Don’t beat yourself up for a bad hole. If you don’t get into at least one bunker during the round your inhuman. The course condition was good, the fairways are tight. The tees and bunkers could use TLC as the tees are scuffed up and the bunkers are filled with rocks. Move the rocks, don’t ruin your clubs. The greens are fine, nothing memorable.

Overall, I would recommend the course for its uniqueness and challenge. Don’t expect a pristine course. Maybe that’s the look they are going for as it is similar to a links course. But, the pictures on their website don’t reflect that look as they show deep green and lush fairways.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Challenging but Fair"


bgbadcoach's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/16/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've played Twisted Dune every year for past 6 years. Course is long and you don't get too many flat lies in the subtly sloping fairways. Good landing areas for tee shots, you don't have to be precise in your length. Every hole is surrounded by berms and a lot of prickly vegetation. All the holes have their own character and are beautiful and challenging. Greens were in great shape. Played with my daughters and single handicapped brother in law. 5 sets of tees allowed all of us to take on different but fair challenges every hole. Hot Deal for $55. Very fair price for a great course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Would have been great..."


Cameron3349240's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/16/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

First off, no complaints about the course itself. Very fair, very challenging. First let down was that we came her because of a golf digest article about 5 courses most similar to Scotland. The website also advertises this. This course wasn’t anything like Scotland. The other reason this course gets a bad review is due to the pace. I booked the tee time the previous night and checked again the morning of the round. There was a twosome an hour ahead and a foursome half an hour ahead. By the 5th hole we were all stacked up and this led to a 4 1/2 hour round. We were a twosome trying to get around fast. Ranger drove by us 3 times on the back nine, never said anything. You can’t enjoy a round when your sitting behind hacks and the ranger wouldn’t help accomadate you. Won’t be coming back, not worth $70 on a Monday morning


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


"Overrated!"


Justin7373855's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

This course gets a lot of buzz and play. They do a great job marketing this track, but for 105 bucks on a Saturday morning comes with certain levels of expectations which were hardly met. The tee boxes were awful. Not level. Ripped apart. The bunkers are unplayable. I like sand bunkers not rock bunkers. The greens rolled true. The fescue is very penalizing as expected. The layout was decent but it gets old after a few holes. A quirky track and definitely not a traditional links style course. If you’re in that area there are far superior courses in same price range with perfection conditions tee to green.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/15/2018

When you say better courses in the area for the price, what would you recommend? Planning a golf trip there late September.


"Great day.."


Jack2312513's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Overall had a great day. Course itself was in good shape. Greens rolled true. Only negative comment would be about the bunkers. Sand was not good and there were a lot of stones.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great links course"


Smoss0226's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is one of the finest courses in south jersey. Challenging & interesting layout. I always enjoy playing here.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Sand traps"


deod285's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is challenging with all the bunkers strategically located however they made it extremely tough to play from them. Large eroded lips, lots of stoned and NO sand. If the bunkers were maintained this would be an excellent course.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"First Timer"


Ricardo7103164's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/10/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Lived the course overall, was in great shape. Course is very score able and fair, fast greens.

Only complaint was not enough water stations for size if course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"It is a challenge"


u000004941428's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We have played this course many times and will continue. We certainly would recommend this course


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice course and reasonable"


sscott125's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/29/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played early afternoon. I play this course about 4-x per year. PROS: Nice wide open landing areas, however, errant shots are punished. Nice speed of play. Great and friendly staff. Awesome practice facility. Matt Callahan’s golf instruction is top notch. CONS: Greens are sandy and some are bumpy but, all in all, they run true. Sand traps need work. Small rocks and pebbles EVERYWHERE. Very disappointing. No cart girl on the back nine. With temp in the upper 90’s at a high end course, this was unforgivable. A ‘last call’ warning would have been nice. 19th hole has nothing to keep you there. Take a right out of the course and eat at Julianos. Can’t go wrong there.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Twisted, sums it up."


u3222537's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/28/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Have played from both white and blue tees. Found it to be two different courses in with which both demand respect.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Always a treat"


Lwaldman's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A great course with friendly staff

Fairways still a little rough and ladies tee boxes need some TLC

Still a great course to play


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



patmcaneny001's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/27/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Twisted Dunes"


Bradley8802454's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Awesome track the name says it all . Plenty of room for the straighter hitters, not to forgiving if you spray left or right . Greens are in great shape


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course, long round 5 hours"


woodsie70's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good course slow play, foursome in ftont of us playing blue tees, were not blue tee players


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Thoroughly impressed"


u9448398's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If the bunkers weren't full of rocks easily 5 stars. Staff was very helpful, it had just rained over night, almost 2 inches. Needless to say the was a Lil casual water. Not nearly as bad as is had imagined. Layout is phenomenal, tough course. Loved it. I'd play here every week, twice on Sunday, if it wasn't for the bunkers.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u953866461's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/07/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Phil9623748's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed