Twisted Dune Golf Club

4.3046764706 4.3 stars from 5 (390)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7248 yards
  • Slope: 130
  • Rating: 74.9
  • Layout

  • 2101 Ocean Heights Ave, Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234
  • (609) 653-8019
  • (609) 653-8357
  • twisteddune.com
Write Review

Year built: 2001
Type: Public
Style: Links
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes - Mc's Golf Academy

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: Soft spikes only
Dress code: Proper golf attire both on the course and the practice facility

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7248 yards 74.9 130
Blue 72 6759 yards 72.1 126
White 72 6332 yards 70.0 122
Yellow 72 5777 yards 67.7 119
Red 72 4930 yards 67.8 118

The golf course at the Twisted Dune Golf Club is a public, 18-hole course that is reminiscent of traditional Scottish courses. Located right on the Jersey Shore, Twisted Dune Golf Club is popular for it's beautiful views and challenging game. The deep ravines and grassy hills provide picturesque scenery and they also create interesting hazards for a good game.

Twisted Dune Golf Club lives up to his name with its twisting links-style layout, elevation changes, and rolling fairways. The golf course has par-5 holes that stretch over 500 yards as well as several par-4's and par-3's. The course also has wide fairways and large greens of bent grass.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.0 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.1 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 390 Reviews
5 stars:
185
4 stars:
148
3 stars:
33
2 stars:
15
1 stars:
9

recommend this course

358 out of 389 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city near local attractions   Great for a weekend splurge advanced golfers wildlife/ scenic views   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens elevation changes   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Overrated!"


Justin7373855's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/14/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

This course gets a lot of buzz and play. They do a great job marketing this track, but for 105 bucks on a Saturday morning comes with certain levels of expectations which were hardly met. The tee boxes were awful. Not level. Ripped apart. The bunkers are unplayable. I like sand bunkers not rock bunkers. The greens rolled true. The fescue is very penalizing as expected. The layout was decent but it gets old after a few holes. A quirky track and definitely not a traditional links style course. If you’re in that area there are far superior courses in same price range with perfection conditions tee to green.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 07/15/2018

When you say better courses in the area for the price, what would you recommend? Planning a golf trip there late September.


"Great day.."


Jack2312513's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Overall had a great day. Course itself was in good shape. Greens rolled true. Only negative comment would be about the bunkers. Sand was not good and there were a lot of stones.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Great links course"


Smoss0226's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is one of the finest courses in south jersey. Challenging & interesting layout. I always enjoy playing here.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Sand traps"


deod285's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course is challenging with all the bunkers strategically located however they made it extremely tough to play from them. Large eroded lips, lots of stoned and NO sand. If the bunkers were maintained this would be an excellent course.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"First Timer"


Ricardo7103164's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/10/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Lived the course overall, was in great shape. Course is very score able and fair, fast greens.

Only complaint was not enough water stations for size if course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"It is a challenge"


u000004941428's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We have played this course many times and will continue. We certainly would recommend this course


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Nice course and reasonable"


sscott125's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/29/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played early afternoon. I play this course about 4-x per year. PROS: Nice wide open landing areas, however, errant shots are punished. Nice speed of play. Great and friendly staff. Awesome practice facility. Matt Callahan’s golf instruction is top notch. CONS: Greens are sandy and some are bumpy but, all in all, they run true. Sand traps need work. Small rocks and pebbles EVERYWHERE. Very disappointing. No cart girl on the back nine. With temp in the upper 90’s at a high end course, this was unforgivable. A ‘last call’ warning would have been nice. 19th hole has nothing to keep you there. Take a right out of the course and eat at Julianos. Can’t go wrong there.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Twisted, sums it up."


u3222537's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/28/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

Have played from both white and blue tees. Found it to be two different courses in with which both demand respect.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Always a treat"


Lwaldman's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A great course with friendly staff

Fairways still a little rough and ladies tee boxes need some TLC

Still a great course to play


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



patmcaneny001's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/27/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Twisted Dunes"


Bradley8802454's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Awesome track the name says it all . Plenty of room for the straighter hitters, not to forgiving if you spray left or right . Greens are in great shape


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course, long round 5 hours"


woodsie70's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good course slow play, foursome in ftont of us playing blue tees, were not blue tee players


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Thoroughly impressed"


u9448398's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If the bunkers weren't full of rocks easily 5 stars. Staff was very helpful, it had just rained over night, almost 2 inches. Needless to say the was a Lil casual water. Not nearly as bad as is had imagined. Layout is phenomenal, tough course. Loved it. I'd play here every week, twice on Sunday, if it wasn't for the bunkers.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u953866461's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/07/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Phil9623748's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u000004346596's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Beautiful Course"


IBJPJM's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great golf course in great shape with a great staff. Everyone you will be in contact with are extremely helpful with great attitudes.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"The Geese Were Gone!"


NJDiver's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This has always been one of my favorite public courses in NJ. The links style layout cut into the pine barrens create a great experience and atmosphere. The staff is as friendly and focused on service as you can get. The course condition was very good despite the rough weather. Too bad many golfers do not do their part to fill divots and fix ball marks. Cant blame that on the course staff. BUT THE BIG NEWS....and my only complaint in the past...the geese were gone!!! There were a couple holes on this course historically covered with geese and their many presents! The course installed these geese sirens/lights and they are gone. (In a humane fashion for you geese huggers). The course looks great. You don't have to step through mind fields of excrement to get to your ball. The water is cleaner. Amazing!!! Awesome job Twisted Dune!!!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Enjoy the Challenge"


Mary2675362's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/23/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

We always enjoy playing this course as it presents different challenges along the way and gives you a chance to experiment with different clubs. We played as a twosome and after nine were joined by a single player and had a wonderful experience, as the individual plays the course on a regular basis. We especially appreciated the friendliness of the staff. After arriving early, we were allowed to start our round before our scheduled tee time, which was a nice way to start the day!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Twisted Dunes lives up to hype"


u5139903's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a truly unique course that’s earned its place in the top 10 of places to play in NJ. The bunkers are intimidating but in good condition. If you spray the ball all over the course - bring extra because once the ball passes over the cart path it’s gone. Keep it in play and you can score here.

Looking forward to playing it again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed