Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.6
394
5 Stars
274
4 Stars
85
3 Stars
21
2 Stars
9
1 Stars
5
Staff Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.6
Conditions
4.5
Value
4.2
Layout
4.8
92.9%
Recommend this course
361 out of 394 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.6
394
5 Stars
27
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.5
Amenities
4.7
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.0
Layout
4.8
87.5%
Recommend this course
35 out of 40 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.6
394
5 Stars
46
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.7
Pace
4.4
Amenities
4.7
Conditions
4.4
Value
4.1
Layout
4.8
91.3%
Recommend this course
63 out of 69 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 7322
Slope 144
Rating 75.8
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Classic Club Golf
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7322 yards 75.8 144
Blue 72 6711 yards 72.9 135
White (W) 72 6229 yards 77.0 142
White 72 6229 yards 71.0 129
Gold 72 5782 yards 68.7 125
Gold (W) 72 5782 yards 74.6 138
Purple 72 5279 yards 66.2 118
Purple (W) 72 5279 yards 71.9 132
Orange 72 4219 yards 60.7 105
Orange (W) 72 4219 yards 65.7 116
Scorecard for Classic Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Black M: 75.8/144 408 180 443 568 419 220 477 433 595 3743 474 459 162 399 560 349 436 176 564 3579 7322
Blue M: 72.9/135 358 173 408 525 402 208 414 413 540 3441 432 394 160 351 511 337 398 161 526 3270 6711
White M: 71.0/129 W: 77.0/142 346 160 377 477 366 193 405 357 529 3210 407 351 142 309 501 310 365 151 483 3019 6229
Gold M: 68.7/125 W: 74.6/138 316 152 365 432 331 183 375 329 485 2968 375 338 118 299 475 300 340 130 439 2814 5782
Purple M: 66.2/118 W: 71.9/132 305 126 334 404 325 136 351 288 457 2726 344 296 93 270 419 273 330 112 416 2553 5279
Orange M: 60.7/105 W: 65.7/116 252 44 269 347 256 66 253 240 418 2145 300 266 68 232 355 203 249 58 343 2074 4219
Handicap 15 17 9 1 3 13 7 11 5 4 6 16 12 8 14 10 18 2
Par 4 3 4 5 4 3 4 4 5 36 4 4 3 4 5 4 4 3 5 36 72
Handicap (W) 15 17 9 1 3 13 7 11 5 8 2 12 14 6 16 10 18 4

Course Details

Year Built 2006
Greens Bermuda grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Arnold Palmer (2006)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Caddies Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted Visa, Master Card, American Express
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Fivesomes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Collared shirts are required. Shorts must be 'bermuda'-length. Inappropriate Attire: Tank tops, T-shirts, Denim Jeans, Cargo shorts and Cut-offs.

Best of Lists

  • Golf Advisor: Top Courses in California (2017 #5) (2016 #4) (2015 #12) (2014 #11)
  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Courses for Pace of Play in the U.S. (2016 #18)
  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Courses for Layout in the U.S. (2016 #21)
  • Golf Advisor: Best of Golf Advisor (2017 #13) (2016 #19)
  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Course Conditions in the U.S. (2017 #14)
  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Off-course amenities in the U.S. (2017 #25)

Reviews

4.6
394

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 41
19th Hole Scenic Views 31
Patio Dining 31
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 73
Bunkers 69
Forced Carries 36
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 56
A Bucket list/Top 100 Pick 38
A Weekend Splurge 28
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 56
Worth the Drive 34
Near Local Attractions 14
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Beautiful course, Fairways in rough conditions

All The Greens and some of the fairways and tee boxes were aerated. Very disappointed in the conditions of the fairways overall. Even though the greens were punched last week, they were in perty good shape.
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Poor communication

The course conditions were terrible. Greens had just been top dressed, tee boxes as well. The gentleman at the desk didn't say a word about it. One would think that a Troon facility would have professional and more competent people working the desk. This was not the case on this day. I played 4 holes, could not continue to play. Went to the pro shop after, voiced my displeasure. The man behind the desk just said "oh, sorry".... nothing more. I felt as if they had my money and could really care less. If you're going to play here, better ask questions.....because in my experience, they don't offer any information.
Staff Friendliness Fair
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Good Time

One of the prettier courses in Palm Desert. The layout does not feel as much as a desert course, with less wash areas than most. The tee boxes, fairways, and f fringe areas manicured and lush. Very nice. The greens themselves are somewhat spotty, but rolled pretty true. Pace of play a little slow, but the marshall was doing his best. Nice facilities. Overall, a very enjoyable day. I would play it again.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 1 Contributor
California Advisor
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Palmer gem in the desert

Rode the Blues (6711/72.9/135) in 3H as a single. The weather was clear, breezy and well north of 100. The Bermuda tees were level, lush and very nicely maintained. The Bermuda fairways were lush, mowed close and firm. Excellent to play from even though there are a few brown areas. The Bermuda rough was mostly lush. The ball usually sat up, not that penal even though it is thick. Several traps had sprinkler runoff puddles or large mud areas. The fairway traps were playable, firm is preferable there. However, the green side traps are a completely different story. They were mostly raked but still in poor shape. Trying to hit off thin or hardpan lies to rock hard greens? I putted out of the last 2 green side traps I was in over a lip. That was by FAR my best chance of getting a ball on or near the green out of these things. The Bermuda greens are very grainy, making putts bumpy and very uneven in speed. Hard, not firm, you may make a dent with a high iron approach. Mediocre. Nice GPS on the carts, complementary bottled water provided and range balls on a 1st class grass practice facility are all a ++. The customer service was excellent from everyone encountered. Tee to green the course is in excellent condition. Everything about this place was top notch, except for the greens and especially the sand traps. I always look forward to using my accumulated Troon Reward points to play here as many times as possible during the off season.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 1 Contributor
California Advisor
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Classic Club

Rode the Blues (6711/72.9/135) in less than 3H as a single using Troon Rewards. The weather was 105, fairly calm and clear. I saw almost no other golfers on the entire course this afternoon. Classic Club is a long, demanding and challenging course. Love this Palmer layout. Many holes have trees &/or a ravine on one side and a large lake down the other side. While most fairways are not tight, most holes also have a half dozen or so large fairway traps to avoid. This is a desert course, but it also has a mountain feel with all the pine trees. A unique feature of this course is that two different par 3's have completely different tee boxes on either side of a canyon so they could radically vary the look and angle of those holes. The Bermuda tees were level, lush and very nicely maintained. The Bermuda fairways were lush, mowed close and firm. A few brownish areas but still excellent overall. The Bermuda rough was lush. Nice to chip from as the ball usually set up. The sand traps were shockingly bad for a course of this caliber. Numerous traps had sprinkler runoff puddles or mud holes. Most of the other ones I was in were thin and crusty. These greens are difficult to putt because of the many undulations producing subtle breaks. The greens are in full transition back to Bermuda. Most of the remaining over seeded areas are brownish (dead?), and there are patches where you are putting on that, which makes for fast putts. The Bermuda is grainy, and there are patches you are putting on that, which makes for slow putts. Overall, they were bumpy, hard and putted medium speed. Overall, very mediocre. The customer service was excellent from everyone encountered. Complementary water and range balls on a 1st class grass practice facility. Everything about this place was top notch. With the currently mediocre greens, it is not worth the $99 rack, but still recommended if you can get a discount.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Great Course and Staff

I really enjoyed playing the Classic Club. Staff was best I’ve seen from club drop off guys, the starter Jimmy and the Pro shop. The only negative is when it’s windy this course is difficult. We had a calm perfect day. We received a $15 food voucher and a monogramed towel. The restaurant food and drinks were refreshing. Thanks keep up the good work!!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played

Great service.

Booked through golfnow as a single. Paired me up with a threesome from Temecula. Good group of guys to hang with. Course was in fine shape. Greens were a bit hard but putted true. When I checked in they threw in a Classic Club waffle golf towel and a $15 food and beverage voucher which paid for my lunch. Beverage cart came around 4 times during the round. Plenty of complimentary range bells and very nice range with a large short game area as well. Tough course though. Definitely need to play it a few times to familiarize yourself with the intricacies. Worth the price for sure.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Course layout fairways and greens excellent. Stay away from sand traps.

Third time playing this course always in excellent shape and layout is good for 70+ golfer. Sand traps were not as good shape as usual. Wondering if weather caused this condition as the other course we played this week had similar conditions.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent

Stay & Play Offers

$449 Starting price
Valid dates: Sep 03, 2018 - Oct 21, 2018
Book this Stay and Play package to enjoy your stay at the Stowe Mountain Lodge which includes 1 round at the exclusive Mountain Course at Spruce Peak (Formerly known as the Stowe Mountain Course) and unlimited rounds at the Stowe Country Club!
Nearby Courses
Palm Desert, California
0.0
0
Palm Desert, California
4.6379941176
234
Thousand Palms, California
3.72
50
Palm Desert, California
0.0
0
Palm Desert, California
4.1130294118
292
Thousand Palms, California
0.0
0
Palm Desert, California
0.0
0
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE