The Classic Club

4.7630588235 4.8 stars from 5 (341)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7322 yards
  • Slope: 144
  • Rating: 75.8
  • Layout

  • 75200 Classic Club Blvd., Palm Desert, CA 92211
  • (760) 601-3601, (760) 601-3600
  • (760) 601-3682
  • www.classicclubgolf.com
Write a review

Year built: 2006
Architect(s): Arnold Palmer (2006)
Type: Public
Greens: Bermuda grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirts are required. Shorts must be 'bermuda'-length. Inappropriate Attire: Tank tops, T-shirts, Denim Jeans, Cargo shorts and Cut-offs.
Credit cards accepted: Visa, Master Card, American Express

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7322 yards 75.8 144
Blue 72 6711 yards 72.9 135
White (W) 72 6229 yards 77.0 142
White 72 6229 yards 71.0 129
Gold 72 5782 yards 68.7 125
Gold (W) 72 5782 yards 74.6 138
Purple 72 5279 yards 66.2 118
Purple (W) 72 5279 yards 71.9 132
Orange 72 4219 yards 60.7 105
Orange (W) 72 4219 yards 65.7 116

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.8 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 341 Reviews
5 stars:
241
4 stars:
72
3 stars:
15
2 stars:
8
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

314 out of 338 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive near local attractions   Great for advanced golfers a bucket list/top 100 pick a weekend splurge   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"A great course!"


Leland2367830's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/30/2016
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The Classic Club is a beautiful course and demands good course management. If the wind blows, the course is much tougher to play. We played in calm winds on a beautiful day. The course was just beautiful. The greens are mostly large and aren't too fast (yet). There are plenty of traps around the greens and water throughout the course. It's a very good test of one's skills and a joy to play. Well worth the green fees and humility.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Course, Beautiful Layout"


marbert's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/07/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was a terrific course and was in immaculate condition.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Classic"


uANSN1135AN's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/30/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nicely landscaped course and great layout

Fair to all level of payers as long as you okay from the right tees

Greens were average speed and the pace of play was well spaded out


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Amazing course"


Kelly3343284's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is one of the nicest courses around and the layout is great. If you enjoy golf you will enjoy this course greens are a little slow right after reseeding but they have great potential to be fast and fun to putt on.

Look forward to playing this course again soon.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Marshals need a little training, but otherwise a great experience."


Joe5575010's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/04/2017
Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course, just recently reopened after reseeding is in great condition. First class staff and amenities. The pace of play while fivehours with a couple of marshals that were completely ineffective and unresponsive. The group in front of us was three or four holes behind. One of the carts in that group repeated drove up to the edges of the green when clear signage was ignored. At the 18th hole they drove up from the Greenside between two bunkers. A marshal was at the top of the green with his head down in his paperwork.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Wonderful track"


Gord3386823's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/06/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Managed to get an almost windless round of golf, which takes some of the teeth out of the course, but it is such a pleasure to play here, windy or not. Played the tips which make you work for it. The ball sits up beautifully in the fairway and the layout and visuals are excellent.

Highly recommended.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Beautiful Course"


Masse88's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/03/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My favorite course in the valley, although not a true desert course, the layout and condition is A+. Can't wait to play it again. Greens were fast and smooth.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Gem worth crossing the 10"


oblongfungus's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/26/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This bad boy is a treat. Every hole has its own personality.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"classic "classic""


sport1942's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/16/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

As usual the Classic Club had excellent conditions, only 95 degree day; plenty of water on the course and challenges throughout the round.

I try to play here every time I come to Palm Desert; no better course unless you can score a round at one of the private clubs


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Top Notch All The Way"


vestxpress's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

An absolutely phenomenal course. The most immaculate conditions of any course I have ever played. It was very windy, very windy which is common from what I was told. With that being said it was still worth every penny. Must play for anyone visiting Coachella Valley. Better than all the PGA West courses, Indian Wells or Palm Desert courses. Truly impressed. Well done!!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Unbelievable Course!"


A3333bates's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/10/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

An unbelievable course that lived up to its reviews! Passing through Palm Desert and played based on the reviews below. Tee'd off at 1pm and was done by 3:40 as I didn't see anyone else on the course.....conditions were great and I really enjoyed the overall layout....staff couldn't have been more welcoming and an overall wonderful experience. A definite must play!!!!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Classy place"


barmac18's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/05/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very friendly staff course was as advertised excellent condition played in 3 1/2 hrs would definitely play again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Classic Club"


lawagapa's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/04/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

They make you feel like you are at a country club for A DAY. The staff was quite accommodating.

Course conditions were perfect even for summer in the desert.

The course does have some length, but our group of eight played the white tees and found it to be perfect for the low teen handicapper.

The practice area is also in good condition and allowed us to practice all facets of our game.

All eight of us agreed that this course will be annual stop on our golf trip to Palm Springs every year.

This course was enjoyed by all.


I recommend this course


"Classic Club"


nickesquire's avatar
Top 1 Contributor
California Advisor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/31/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Played the Blues (6711/72.9/135) in 4H with guru's Sixpex, KG1791 & Sbarajasjr. Thanks to Keith, Kevin and Sal for a fun round. Considering that I woke up to a thunderstorm nearby, the weather was surprisingly good although it was nearing 110 when we finished at 11am.

Late minute fill-in for Kevbig. Got there in a U-Haul, played in tennis shoes and used my wife's clubs since I was not planning on playing this weekend and left my clubs in Simi. Still a no brainer to get out on one of my favorite courses, because everything about this place is top notch.

The Bermuda tees were nicely maintained, with only the par 3's needing divot attention.

The Bermuda fairways were lush, mowed close and mostly firm. However, you could also hit patches that were soft where your drive would stop like a well struck iron on a green.

The Bermuda rough was lush. Nice to chip from as the ball usually sat up, but long enough to grab your club.

Most of the sand traps were nicely maintained. However, numerous traps had standing water from sprinkler runoff/overflow.

The greens were much smoother than when I played here a week ago. They had a light top dressing and the vericutt from earlier is almost gone. They were fairly smooth for Bermuda, firm and putted medium speed. There are lots of undulations producing subtle breaks, tougher than average to read IMO.

Love this Palmer layout. Many holes have a large lake down 1 side and trees &/or a ravine on the other. While most fairways are not tight, most holes also have a half dozen or so large fairway traps to avoid. The customer service was excellent from everyone encountered. Saw the cart gal numerous times. Complementary water and range balls on a 1st class grass practice facility. Definitely recommended.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Classic from designer to the finished product!"


nickesquire's avatar
Top 1 Contributor
California Advisor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/25/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Played the Blues (6711/72.9/135) in 2.5H as a single. The weather was breezy, clear and 115.

This is a long, demanding and challenging course that hosted the PGA Tour several years a decade ago. Even with the heat, it's a treat to play here.

The Bermuda tees were nicely maintained, with only the par 3's needing divot attention.

The Bermuda fairways were lush, mowed close and firm. A few brownish areas but still excellent overall.

The Bermuda rough was lush. Nice to chip from as the ball usually sat up, but long enough to grab your club.

Other than some sprinkler runoff challenges, the sand traps were decently maintained.

The greens were recently vericutted. They were bumpy, firm and putted medium slow. While there are no huge tiers or large mounds, there are lots of undulations producing subtle breaks.

Everything about this place was top notch. Love this Palmer layout. Many holes have a large lake down 1 side and trees &/or a ravine on the other. While most fairways are not tight, most holes also have a half dozen or so large fairway traps to avoid. The customer service was excellent from everyone encountered. Complementary water and range balls on a 1st class grass practice facility. With the currently poor greens, it is not worth the $99 rack, but still recommended if you can get a discount.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Classic Club"


nickesquire's avatar
Top 1 Contributor
California Advisor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/25/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Played the Blues (6711/72.9/135) in less than 3H as a single using Troon Rewards. Breezy, clear and 108 is why I played as a single, rarely within a hole of any other players.

This is a long, demanding and challenging course. A unique feature of this course is that several par 3's had completely different tee boxes on either side of a canyon so you could completely change the look and angle of a couple holes.

Love this layout. Many holes have a large lake down 1 side and trees &/or a ravine on the other. While most fairways are not tight, most holes also have a half dozen or so large fairway traps to avoid. While this is definitely a desert course, it also has a mountain feel with all the pine trees.

C.C currently is in near excellent condition from tee to green. However, this is the 2nd straight year I played right after they vericutt the greens. The greens were bumpy, hard and putted medium slow. These greens were difficult to putt because of the vericutt, but I strongly suspect they would be difficult period. While there are no huge tiers or large mounds, there are lots of undulations producing subtle breaks.

The Bermuda tees were nicely maintained, with only the par 3's needing divot attention.

The Bermuda fairways were lush, mowed close and firm. A few brownish areas but still excellent overall.

The Bermuda rough was lush. Nice to chip from as the ball usually set up like it was on a tee.

The sand traps were decently maintained. A few had sprinkler runoff challenges.

The customer service was excellent from everyone encountered. Complementary water and range balls on a 1st class grass practice facility. Everything about this place was top notch. With the currently poor greens, it is not worth the $99 rack, but still recommended if you can get a discount.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Classic Club is a "Classic Experience""


rlasorsa's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/20/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Classic Club has been in tremendous shape this Summer. Greens are fast and so has the pace of play. Make sure you "move forward" to the tee box that fits your game. Lots of water and bunkers. Keep the ball in play and don't try to be a "hero."


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/30/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"What a treat"


watney's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/15/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Great condition. Awesome staff. Some challenging holes. Would play there again an again. Lots of fun.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Troon is the best"


alec1989508's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/12/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Anytime I have a chance to play a Troon managed course, I take it. Troon courses are players courses. I wish more courses were run by Troon or run like a Troon course. Excellent service, conditions, amenities, you name it. I will try to come back to play Classic Club and score better.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


u000003981010's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/02/2017
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Certainly one of the best courses in Palm Desert. Course in great condition, many challenging holes, but a very pleasant round.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed