The Classic Club

4.7076058824 4.7 stars from 5 (354)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7322 yards
  • Slope: 144
  • Rating: 75.8
  • Layout

  • 75200 Classic Club Blvd., Palm Desert, CA 92211
  • (760) 601-3601, (760) 601-3600
  • (760) 601-3682
  • www.classicclubgolf.com
Write Review

Year built: 2006
Architect(s): Arnold Palmer (2006)
Type: Public
Greens: Bermuda grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirts are required. Shorts must be 'bermuda'-length. Inappropriate Attire: Tank tops, T-shirts, Denim Jeans, Cargo shorts and Cut-offs.
Credit cards accepted: Visa, Master Card, American Express

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7322 yards 75.8 144
Blue 72 6711 yards 72.9 135
White (W) 72 6229 yards 77.0 142
White 72 6229 yards 71.0 129
Gold 72 5782 yards 68.7 125
Gold (W) 72 5782 yards 74.6 138
Purple 72 5279 yards 66.2 118
Purple (W) 72 5279 yards 71.9 132
Orange 72 4219 yards 60.7 105
Orange (W) 72 4219 yards 65.7 116

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 354 Reviews
5 stars:
247
4 stars:
77
3 stars:
17
2 stars:
8
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

326 out of 351 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive near local attractions   Great for advanced golfers a bucket list/top 100 pick a weekend splurge   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"A great course!"


Leland2367830's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/30/2016
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The Classic Club is a beautiful course and demands good course management. If the wind blows, the course is much tougher to play. We played in calm winds on a beautiful day. The course was just beautiful. The greens are mostly large and aren't too fast (yet). There are plenty of traps around the greens and water throughout the course. It's a very good test of one's skills and a joy to play. Well worth the green fees and humility.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Place"


u951031166's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We had an 8 AM time and played in four hours and 10 minutes This is a well-designed course in excellent condition with very friendly staff it is certainly among the best horses in the palm desert /Palm Springs area. Really good greens


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u00000718208's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"Good but not great"


u410852511's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/11/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Was expecting this course course to be on par with top courses in the area, however I would have to say this course fell slightly short. While the green speed was nice and fast and the course conditions were solid, certain parts of the course were not well maintained. The bunkers had a complete lack of sand and were not pleasant to hit out of, this was a major detractor for us given that this is advertised as a top course. The rough in certain areas were quite burnt out. However, course design was pretty solid with strategically placed water, bunkers, doglegs and thought this was a pretty fun course. Further, there were a couple add ons we to our round including a food gift card and free towel that added to the value of the course. If the course re-sanded their bunkers I would be likely to give this course a more positive review.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u000005619543's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A beautiful course with gorgeous views. Great staff and excellent practice facilities.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



dahayden21's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/02/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Classic Club"


u000005365082's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/29/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course layout. The club house was beautiful. Fiarways were in pretty good,. Wheb we checked in we recieved a course towel and a $15 food and beverage coupon. The price we recieved from Golf now was $109. So getting a towel and tbe coupon made this a very reasonable price for golf in Palm Springs.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great golf for winter get away"


Gmanpg's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great challenge. Fantastic staff. Great food at the turn. We will be back in the future. Driving range was great to find a swing from winter rust. Green speed was fast for our group. But very consistent and we learned to adjust.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Slow"


u975607183's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/26/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course but the play was so slow. The ranger just drove around and did nothing to speed up play. Too bad because it ruined the experience


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great Course and Great Conditions"


stoneytrail67's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/11/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great Golf Course and Great Conditions. We are looking forward to playing it again.

Unfortunately though, we were paired up with a nice twosome who could have played a little faster. We had to let a group go through on 10th hole and it seemed until then and for most of the back nine we felt rushed. We finished in 4 hours and 30 minutes and are not sure if that was good or not at Classic Club, but the rushing by the friendly Marshals did put a damper on the round.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



jkauld's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u975607183's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/04/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Good Track"


Ryan5667550's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Palmer design with pretty tight fairways and water near greens that would make this course a bear in the wind. Unlike other courses in the valley not a palm tree on this one. Greens are perfect. Overall good course although I prefer others in the area for the money.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course


"Gem"


n8doggttu's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/09/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Immaculate course. Greens, fairways, views, pace of play - all 5 stars. Lots of water, practically every hole, bring your A game.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great Course, Beautiful Layout"


marbert's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/07/2017
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was a terrific course and was in immaculate condition.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Classic"


uANSN1135AN's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/30/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nicely landscaped course and great layout

Fair to all level of payers as long as you okay from the right tees

Greens were average speed and the pace of play was well spaded out


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Amazing course"


Kelly3343284's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is one of the nicest courses around and the layout is great. If you enjoy golf you will enjoy this course greens are a little slow right after reseeding but they have great potential to be fast and fun to putt on.

Look forward to playing this course again soon.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Marshals need a little training, but otherwise a great experience."


Joe5575010's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/04/2017
Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course, just recently reopened after reseeding is in great condition. First class staff and amenities. The pace of play while fivehours with a couple of marshals that were completely ineffective and unresponsive. The group in front of us was three or four holes behind. One of the carts in that group repeated drove up to the edges of the green when clear signage was ignored. At the 18th hole they drove up from the Greenside between two bunkers. A marshal was at the top of the green with his head down in his paperwork.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Wonderful track"


Gord3386823's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/06/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Managed to get an almost windless round of golf, which takes some of the teeth out of the course, but it is such a pleasure to play here, windy or not. Played the tips which make you work for it. The ball sits up beautifully in the fairway and the layout and visuals are excellent.

Highly recommended.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Beautiful Course"


Masse88's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/03/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My favorite course in the valley, although not a true desert course, the layout and condition is A+. Can't wait to play it again. Greens were fast and smooth.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Gem worth crossing the 10"


oblongfungus's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/26/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This bad boy is a treat. Every hole has its own personality.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed