The Classic Club

4.6614882353 4.7 stars from 5 (392)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7322 yards
  • Slope: 144
  • Rating: 75.8
  • Layout

  • 75200 Classic Club Blvd., Palm Desert, CA 92211
  • (760) 601-3601, (760) 601-3600
  • (760) 601-3682
  • www.classicclubgolf.com
Write Review

Year built: 2006
Architect(s): Arnold Palmer (2006)
Type: Public
Greens: Bermuda grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Collared shirts are required. Shorts must be 'bermuda'-length. Inappropriate Attire: Tank tops, T-shirts, Denim Jeans, Cargo shorts and Cut-offs.
Credit cards accepted: Visa, Master Card, American Express

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7322 yards 75.8 144
Blue 72 6711 yards 72.9 135
White (W) 72 6229 yards 77.0 142
White 72 6229 yards 71.0 129
Gold 72 5782 yards 68.7 125
Gold (W) 72 5782 yards 74.6 138
Purple 72 5279 yards 66.2 118
Purple (W) 72 5279 yards 71.9 132
Orange 72 4219 yards 60.7 105
Orange (W) 72 4219 yards 65.7 116

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 392 Reviews
5 stars:
274
4 stars:
85
3 stars:
20
2 stars:
8
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

360 out of 389 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city worth the drive near local attractions   Great for advanced golfers a bucket list/top 100 pick a weekend splurge   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks 19th hole scenic views patio dining  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"A great course!"


Leland2367830's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/30/2016
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The Classic Club is a beautiful course and demands good course management. If the wind blows, the course is much tougher to play. We played in calm winds on a beautiful day. The course was just beautiful. The greens are mostly large and aren't too fast (yet). There are plenty of traps around the greens and water throughout the course. It's a very good test of one's skills and a joy to play. Well worth the green fees and humility.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Good Time"



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/08/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

One of the prettier courses in Palm Desert. The layout does not feel as much as a desert course, with less wash areas than most. The tee boxes, fairways, and f fringe areas manicured and lush. Very nice. The greens themselves are somewhat spotty, but rolled pretty true. Pace of play a little slow, but the marshall was doing his best. Nice facilities. Overall, a very enjoyable day. I would play it again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Palmer gem in the desert"


nickesquire's avatar
Top 1 Contributor
California Advisor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Rode the Blues (6711/72.9/135) in 3H as a single. The weather was clear, breezy and well north of 100.

The Bermuda tees were level, lush and very nicely maintained.

The Bermuda fairways were lush, mowed close and firm. Excellent to play from even though there are a few brown areas.

The Bermuda rough was mostly lush. The ball usually sat up, not that penal even though it is thick.

Several traps had sprinkler runoff puddles or large mud areas. The fairway traps were playable, firm is preferable there. However, the green side traps are a completely different story. They were mostly raked but still in poor shape. Trying to hit off thin or hardpan lies to rock hard greens? I putted out of the last 2 green side traps I was in over a lip. That was by FAR my best chance of getting a ball on or near the green out of these things.

The Bermuda greens are very grainy, making putts bumpy and very uneven in speed. Hard, not firm, you may make a dent with a high iron approach. Mediocre.

Nice GPS on the carts, complementary bottled water provided and range balls on a 1st class grass practice facility are all a ++. The customer service was excellent from everyone encountered. Tee to green the course is in excellent condition. Everything about this place was top notch, except for the greens and especially the sand traps. I always look forward to using my accumulated Troon Reward points to play here as many times as possible during the off season.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Classic Club"


nickesquire's avatar
Top 1 Contributor
California Advisor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/02/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Rode the Blues (6711/72.9/135) in less than 3H as a single using Troon Rewards. The weather was 105, fairly calm and clear. I saw almost no other golfers on the entire course this afternoon.

Classic Club is a long, demanding and challenging course. Love this Palmer layout. Many holes have trees &/or a ravine on one side and a large lake down the other side. While most fairways are not tight, most holes also have a half dozen or so large fairway traps to avoid. This is a desert course, but it also has a mountain feel with all the pine trees. A unique feature of this course is that two different par 3's have completely different tee boxes on either side of a canyon so they could radically vary the look and angle of those holes.

The Bermuda tees were level, lush and very nicely maintained.

The Bermuda fairways were lush, mowed close and firm. A few brownish areas but still excellent overall.

The Bermuda rough was lush. Nice to chip from as the ball usually set up.

The sand traps were shockingly bad for a course of this caliber. Numerous traps had sprinkler runoff puddles or mud holes. Most of the other ones I was in were thin and crusty.

These greens are difficult to putt because of the many undulations producing subtle breaks. The greens are in full transition back to Bermuda. Most of the remaining over seeded areas are brownish (dead?), and there are patches where you are putting on that, which makes for fast putts. The Bermuda is grainy, and there are patches you are putting on that, which makes for slow putts. Overall, they were bumpy, hard and putted medium speed. Overall, very mediocre.

The customer service was excellent from everyone encountered. Complementary water and range balls on a 1st class grass practice facility. Everything about this place was top notch. With the currently mediocre greens, it is not worth the $99 rack, but still recommended if you can get a discount.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



deanboates's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



kotbbi's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Course and Staff"


ambit1's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

I really enjoyed playing the Classic Club. Staff was best I’ve seen from club drop off guys, the starter Jimmy and the Pro shop. The only negative is when it’s windy this course is difficult. We had a calm perfect day. We received a $15 food voucher and a monogramed towel. The restaurant food and drinks were refreshing. Thanks keep up the good work!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great service."


Keith5326564's avatar
Top 500 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Booked through golfnow as a single. Paired me up with a threesome from Temecula. Good group of guys to hang with. Course was in fine shape. Greens were a bit hard but putted true. When I checked in they threw in a Classic Club waffle golf towel and a $15 food and beverage voucher which paid for my lunch. Beverage cart came around 4 times during the round. Plenty of complimentary range bells and very nice range with a large short game area as well. Tough course though. Definitely need to play it a few times to familiarize yourself with the intricacies. Worth the price for sure.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Course layout fairways and greens excellent. Stay away from sand traps."


u000004138058's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Third time playing this course always in excellent shape and layout is good for 70+ golfer. Sand traps were not as good shape as usual. Wondering if weather caused this condition as the other course we played this week had similar conditions.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Top notch course and facilities"


Golfmanianut's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

First time playing. Top notch course and facilities including a grand clubhouse with restaurant. Conditions were excellent. Green could be slightly faster but that may be personal preference. Loved the layout. No homes on the course. Layout and feel reminded me of Primm Valley Lakes Course. Course has a reputation of wind but windless conditions when played. Service was excellent throughout. Clubhouse restaurant also served a delicious meal, much better than what I expected at a golf course restaurant. Highly recommend a visit to play and dine.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"course maintenance"


teevons's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/02/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

If Arnold was alive he would rip this course to pieces!! The condition of sand traps are worst have ever seen. For what you pay to play this course to let the traps go like they are is just disgusting.

It looks like some have have not been maintained in weeks, Water run off from sprinklers into them is terrible!!

Rest of course is beautiful, nice greens although blotchy looking.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair


I don't recommend this course



u0000086427's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/30/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A Jewel in the Desert"


Heather6312360's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played The Classic Club for the first time after having played a number of other courses in Palm Springs. Found the course to be fair but challenging. The course was generally immaculate, my only comment would be that a number of the bunkers had a lot of water in them, I assume from watering the course, fortunately they weren’t an issue for me as I didn’t go in them. The tee boxes were like carpets and the fairways were lush, the greens were true and a good speed. All the staff we encountered were friendly, courteous and polite. The staff in the restaurant were especially good. What makes this course stand out from the rest is the stunning architecture, we were blown away by just how lovely it was. The Classis Club is definitely on our replay list.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great experience"


robdeb's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/24/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Great experience from check in to the restaraunt facilities. Golf course was in good condition with bunkers needing some attention. Some very scenic holes. Will definitely be back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"I would recommend "The Classic ""


dansnider54's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed the round. Greens were hard and tough to hold, very quick but in good condition. Course layout is excellent


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Was NOT disappointed"


u000005340200's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice layout, design and greens.bunkers were so-so

Good value for a great course.

Nice staff and good food and drink at the grill


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Fantastic Experience"


pkapalko1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2018
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Can't say enough about The Classic Club. Had a 12:30 Tee Time (and a $109 rate). The experience literally starts the moment you arrive with complimentary Valet parking. The Club House looks like something from an exclusive, private club. Upon payment, I receive a complimentary Classic Club towel as well as a $15 voucher for food and drink (including on course refreshments).

The price includes unlimited range balls and access to the chipping (and putting) greens. The starter provides you a pager to help ensure you aren't late for your tee time. The only complaint is the tees time reservation on Golfnow did not indicate range balls were included otherwise I would have come a little earlier.

I selected the course because is it rated as one of the top courses in the Palm Springs area. It lived up to the advanced billing. Every hole was different. There were significant elevation changes on some holes. The back nine was much more difficult as most holes seemed to be a dog leg that brought water into plan. Tons of bunkers (2-3 weren't in the best of shape). Greens were firm and rolled true. Almost every hold was a photo opportunity either due to the mountain background and/or the unique design.

After the round, stopped into the bar for a beer (to use the $15 voucher). Unfortunately, they were closing the patio seating due to high winds so had to sit at the bar. Ordered two beers with the expectation it would consume the $15 voucher. As it was happy hour, the total was $9!

In addition, the staff (from the valet to the starter to the bar staff) were fantastic.

I played two other top 10 Palm Springs courses earlier in the week that were incredible, but The Classic Club was the tops. One of the best golf experiences of my life!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Very Large golf course"


paulgirard's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2018
Previously played Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Every hole just massive with water and plenty of bunkers.. Lots of playable room on each hole !


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Conditions"


David4467515's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/01/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course in very good condition, played White tees and challenging for 14 handicapper. Would of played a couple of holes differently if I knew the layout. Shot mid 80s


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



kenstrati's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/25/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



calgolfbook's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed