This golf course is closed for business. Not true? Let us know.
Looking for other options nearby?

Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.5
473 Reviews (473)
5 Stars
78
4 Stars
237
3 Stars
81
2 Stars
45
1 Stars
32
Conditions
3.2
Value
3.8
Layout
4.0
Friendliness
4.0
Pace
3.5
Amenities
3.4
79.7%
Recommend this course
382 out of 473 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
0
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
0
Value
0
Layout
0
Friendliness
0
Pace
0
Amenities
0
0%
Recommend this course
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Par 72
Length 6855 yards
Slope 132
Rating 73.4

Editor's Note: Course closed for business in 2018.

Course Details

Year Built 2001
Fairways Poa Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy No
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted Visa, MC, AMEX, Discover
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code No denim, collared shirt and bermuda shorts required

Reviews

3.5
473 Reviews (473)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 35
19th Hole Scenic Views 16
Patio Dining 16
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 73
Bunkers 49
Undulating Greens 42
This course/club is great for:
Locals 59
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 56
Advanced Golfers 47
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 50
In the 'Burbs 37
Convenient to the City 29

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

First time rain

It rained the whole day, but the layout is great. I believe the course is changing hands. Playing again Monday, looking forward to it.
Fast greens, but open layout with a great bunker and thought provoking strategy.
I play from whites, as I am 50(I can do that) - but I played from silverbecause of the weather. I enjoyed the elevation changes and the “next shot” necessities required.
I will play from the gold on Monday and am really looking forward to the challenge.
I wish I had played here before now. A definite recommendation.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Used cart

sad to c it close

it played a little slow....but this is a tough but fair course...i am so sorry to see this place close...

sadly ...it is in a location that is remote and difficult
to get to...the course was in pretty good condition...

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Fair
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Course Closes in 10 Days

Played it one time before it closes. Could tell that watering was extremely limited. Fairways were starting to turn brown and greens were very fast and did not hold shots very well.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

It's closing....

I've played this course twice since the announcement it was shutting down for good on March 18th. The first time I played it was a couple days after the announcement and the course was in decent shape. The starter promptly started us at our 7:36 tee time and we finished in little more than 4 hours. Most bunkers do not have sand in the them minus a few holes. The fairways and greens were in acceptable shape and the beverage cart worker came by a few times.

I played this course again one week later, but this time at 12:37. There was no starter and there were between 2-3 groups waiting on each tee. We finished in the dark 5.25 hrs later. Carts are failing as many people left them and begun walking on various holes. They appeared to stopped watering the course as the fairways and tee boxes are turning yellow and brown.

It's closing in 3 weeks so I can only imagine the conditions getting a bit worse.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Response from Salt Creek Management on 02/28/2018:
Thank you for playing Salt Creek and sharing your feedback!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Course needs some work

Course was good, and the people I played with were great. The course has had many owners over the last 10 years and you could tell that maintenance of the facilities and to a lesser extent the course had not kept up.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Response from Salt Creek Management on 02/21/2018:
Thank you for sharing feedback on course conditions!
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Salt Creek Management on 02/21/2018:
Thank you for the 5-star review!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Slow , slow, slow

We were sent out behind a tournament of old (poor) golfers. At one point there were 8 golf carts lined up waiting behind them at one hole. It took 3 and 1/2 hours to play 9 holes. Several people, like us, just quit because we didn't have time for a 7 hour round of golf.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Poor
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Response from Salt Creek Management on 02/21/2018:
We're sorry to hear about your experience with the pace of play. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Good

The course was in good shape, A little jammed up at the start but it picked up. I love this course except for the par 4 9th hole. Uphill all the way! I also like watching the planes come in to land into San Diego. Very Cool! Will go back.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Salt Creek Management on 02/15/2018:
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your day at Salt Creek. See you soon!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Challenging course, Good value

Greens are fast, but well maintained. Decent amount of ground under repair, but normal for San Diego courses when there is no rain. Fairways are pretty much all sloping towards one side or the other, so tee shots are tough. Pace is slower than usual due to space between many greens and tee boxes. Offers multiple tee boxes for different handicaps. Overall, I'd happily play here again in the near future.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Extremely Challenging
Response from Salt Creek Management on 02/15/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review and recommendation! The tee shots can be tough, but it sounds like you are up to the challenge! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Visiting from Scotland

Had a very enjoyable midweek round. Out alone at 8.37 and back in the 19th by noon. I found the fairways to be in fine condition, all things considered, and there was an obvious presence of greenkeepers/maintenance staff working throughout the course.
The greens are in superb condition and are very reminiscent of the fast links greens at Carnoustie and at St Andrews, where a good read is always usually generously rewarded. Do them a favour though and remember to repair those pitch marks.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Salt Creek Management on 02/15/2018:
We're thrilled to hear you decided to visit our course during your stay in the states! Thank you for sharing feedback on course conditions. See you soon!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

challengable

courses are very different due to slope, but very fun.
very cost effective.

I want to play again with my colleagues.

Golf courses are very challengeable.
Our friends are satisfied with course and staff kindness.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Salt Creek Management on 02/07/2018:
We look forward to seeing you again when you bring colleagues to golf with you! Thank you for recommending Salt Creek. See you soon!
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played

Marshal should Marshal

Nothing is more annoying than a very slow round of golf. The management was aware of the problem but did nothing to correct the problem . The marshal stopped by to make excuses but did nothing to make the pace pick up. . Why isn’t something being done to correct this issue, it isn’t rocket science.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Response from Salt Creek Management on 02/07/2018:
Thank you for playing Salt Creek and sharing your 4-star review! Our staff is aware managing the pace of play is very important to our golfers. We appreciate your feedback.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Salt Creek Management on 02/01/2018:
Thank you for sharing your recommendation!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Response from Salt Creek Management on 02/01/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Very Fast

The greens are very fast here. It is hard to stick a landing on them as well. You must adjust your play to these conditions.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Salt Creek Management on 01/22/2018:
Thank you for playing Salt Creek and sharing your recommendation!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Challenging course but slow pace

A good game plan challenge. Lots of sloping fairways, strategically positioned sand traps and water hazards. Slow play though due to several 2&3 somes, and one single. We joined with the single and still took us 5 hrs. No course Marshall to assist speed up the slow pokes.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Good
Response from Salt Creek Management on 01/18/2018:
Thank you for golfing with us and sharing your feedback. See you soon!
Played On
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

It took over three hours to play nine holes. When I courteously complained to staff they could have cared less. Too bad as this could be an interesting place to play.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Response from Salt Creek Management on 01/18/2018:
Thank you for golfing with us! We're sorry to hear about the pace of play, but our staff works hard to accommodate all golfers. We hope you can come back and try us again.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played

This is a great layout.

First of all the rate was $19 and with my rewards it was free (incredible value). A great layout, fairways need a little work, green were quick and fabulous. I would recommend this course to anyone.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Salt Creek Management on 01/18/2018:
Thank you for the 4-star review and recommendation! We're happy to provide incredible value for our golfers. See you soon!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Previously Played
Used cart

pick another course

I haven't played this course since it was called the Auld Course.Fairways were very dry & desperately need watering...the only plus with this condition is that your ball will roll a little further. Greens were also in rough shape as several ball marks were not repaired (c'mon peeps take the time to repair while waiting to putt). I landed in 4 bunkers that day & the sand was rock hard!!! Lastly the pace was so slow on the Saturday afternoon....seemed like 2 groups ahead were some beginners playing super slow. Didn't seem like there was a players asst or marshal around to assist.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Response from Salt Creek Management on 01/18/2018:
Thank you for sharing your feedback! This will help us improve course conditions and offer a better round of golf for you next time.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

This is your warning

Alert!!! 6 1/2 hour round Alert!!!

Our tee time was 1130, and we did not finish 18 holes. Yes, that is correct, an 1130 tee time unable to finish 18 holes. Unacceptable! the pace of play, and zero marshalls to monitor.

First, I knew going to the course that it would be in bad shape, and i was fine with that. To make sure its very clear, the course is like concrete. You might as well be playing on the street. If my buddy did not get a Groupon from Santa, then i would never pay this dump.

By the 4th hole, we found out why it was so slow. Two groups of buddies had joined together, and we had to call the clubhouse to break up their party. Sadly the pace of play never recovered, since they were not that good anyway.

After the horrible round, and not being able to finish; we figured lets just have a beer. Part 2 of the horrible customer service. The girl sold us the beer, and then proceeded to tell us that she was closing, and we had to sit outside. All while one of the NFL games was on. We were not the only ones in the bar either. Come on, its a bar on a golf course, you don't close till the last person leaves. Especially if they are buying from you. She must have had better plans.

Finally, and the worst part of all this is, i emailed the course general manager to let him know about this, 48 hours later not a response. Not to worry you got my $35 dollars, but you will never see another penny form myself, or the 30+ people in my golf group. Your course has been blacklisted by my group. Great decision to not respond to me,

Please do not give this course any of your hard-earned money. You can play so many other courses in that area for the same price.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Moderate
Response from Salt Creek Management on 01/18/2018:
We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy our round with us. Thank you for sharing your feedback.
Nearby Courses

Stay & Play Offers

From $530
Valid dates: Sep 16, 2019 - Mar 31, 2020
Located between Charlotte, NC and Columbia, SC along I-77, the Olde English District includes seven counties in the Piedmont (upstate) area of South Carolina.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE