Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.2
65
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
3.8
Pace
3.1
Amenities
4.1
Conditions
3.2
Value
2.2
Layout
3.4
33.0%
Recommend this course
57 out of 65 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.2
65
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
2.5
Pace
2.5
Amenities
3.5
Conditions
2.5
Value
1.0
Layout
1.5
0%
Recommend this course
2 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.2
65
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
3.0
Pace
2.7
Amenities
3.7
Conditions
2.7
Value
1.3
Layout
2.0
0%
Recommend this course
3 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6782
Slope 138
Rating 73.1
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Bay Club Stonetree Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Championship 72 6782 yards 73.1 138
Black 72 6354 yards 70.9 135
Blue 72 5873 yards 68.6 123
Blue (W) 72 5873 yards 74.6 135
White (W) 72 5083 yards 70.2 125
White 72 5083 yards 65.2 115
Scorecard for StoneTree Golf Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Championship M: 73.7/141 401 310 192 429 426 549 358 169 430 3264 162 385 573 309 488 453 511 185 452 3518 6782
Champion/Black M: 72.2/139 368 310 175 393 371 549 358 169 408 3101 162 385 530 309 488 429 511 157 417 3388 6489
Black M: 71.4/137 368 308 175 393 371 533 331 148 408 3035 136 366 530 296 472 429 487 157 417 3290 6325
Black/Blue M: 70.2/130 344 308 154 347 333 533 331 148 390 2888 136 366 474 296 472 410 487 154 404 3199 6087
Blue M: 69.4/128 W: 75.0/143 344 265 154 347 333 504 308 144 390 2789 92 334 474 267 436 410 451 154 404 3022 5811
White M: 65.5/121 W: 70.8/126 317 265 121 326 260 449 247 144 330 2459 76 292 439 261 405 316 414 102 315 2620 5079
Handicap 15 11 17 5 3 9 7 13 1 18 14 8 12 10 2 6 16 4
Par 4 4 3 4 4 5 4 3 4 35 3 4 5 4 5 4 5 3 4 37 72
Handicap (W) 3 11 17 7 13 15 9 5 1 18 14 12 2 8 6 4 16 10

Course Details

Year Built 2000
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes - lighted
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area No
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted Visa, MC, AMEX, Discover
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Proper golf attire, no denim. Collared shirts for men. Shorts must be bermuda length.

Best of Lists

  • Golf Advisor: Top Courses in California (2014 #10)

Reviews

3.2
65

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 9
19th Hole Scenic Views 6
Watching the Game 4
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 13
Undulating Greens 13
Narrow Fairways 12
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 14
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 10
A Weekend Splurge 9
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 11
Convenient to the City 6
In the 'Burbs 4
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Much Better Options Available

I play Stonetree quite a bit, only since one of my good friends is a Bay Club member and uses points so we can play for free. I'm not complaining at all about free Golf, especially at a course in as good a shape as this one...but if you have to PAY I would 100% go elsewhere. Coming from SF, Presidio or Harding are WAYYYY better options. From the North Bay, I would hands down go to Silverado or Chardonnay over this place. The course gets in your head but isn't overly difficult...with the exception of a 3-4 hole stretch on the back side that can just blow your whole day up. The driving range gets a lot of touting, and it's a decent range...but you HAVE to take their shuttle to get out to it. The ball machine is by the club house, as are the chipping and practice greens, and then you have to wait for their shuttle to take you to the hitting area. For some reason they won't let people take their carts out there, and actually don't even give you your cart key until like the MOMENT you tee off...which is odd to me. If you can play here for less thn $100, or using points for you Bay Club members, than absolutely go for it. PLEASE DON"T pay the normal green fees - horrible value with SO MANY better options.
Staff Friendliness Fair
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Fair
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Over priced and needs work.

I wanted to love this course so so much. The course plays like a $20 -$30 course. The greens have huge chunks of mud and some of the bunkers have grass growing in them. There was no marshal on the day that I played, which was surprising given how slow the pace of play was. The club house is very nice, but the course does nothing to match this. This course has the potential to be so great, I just wish they'd spend some of the green fees on making it better. I wouldn't play here again for anywhere near the $150 fee.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Fair
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Poor
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Poor
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Not a great course

Played here as a non Bay Club member. Had played many times before the Bay Club purchased the course about 3 years ago. The good — nice new range (though hitting off mats) with lots of distance markets built in what was a cow field beyond the second hole; staff very friendly; nice clubhouse. The not so good — for $150, this should be in great condition (it is not); the pace of play was very slow for the first 7 or 8 holes; the tee times available to non members are ;“squeeze in” times (they put you between two groups with normal 10 minute differences so you are already backed up when you start. Course itself is challenging but largely due to tricky layout, greens are very fast and difficult to read. Would definitely not play here again at that rate (Harding and Presidio cheaper and much better courses), but the property is nice and for half the price might be worth it.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Average
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
2.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Johny Miller has bad Mojo

I have played golf for over forty years. Thousands of rounds. Played in HS and College. I know courses, designers, and players. Still personal position so, take what it worth. Staff excellent. Very professional and top tier. Course maintenance world class. Greens perfect and razor fast. Fairways beautiful condition. Ball was plugging in on every tee shot including my irons. No rolls but course is short so not needed. Design was the worst design courses I have every played. I heard from solid single digit courses from a few close buddies in Bay Area they would never play this course again. I agree. The worst design of any course. Cart only on the path but that is ok keeps course in great condition but you have to haul across the fairways. Fit Bit 6.8 miles of walking and I hit fairways. I prefer to walk but this course was dreadful in design. The fairways on some of the par 5's coming in were around 18 paces from fairway to rough and massive trouble. Example, 16 tee off with a 5 iron and perfect center of fairway 210. Approach shot 7 Iron perfect 152 yards. I had 89 yards to center of green with a wedge and the fairway was only 10 yards wide. You cannot go long on this course or your doomed for trouble. You play it safe and your shots even when in the center of the fairway you have a shot coming in that does not reward you if your are 110 yards our or 150 yards out. The greens are beautiful but insane and I played Augusta but you can at least understand where to hit those greens. You get on the wrong side here and impossible to two putt. You can be in the center of the green and still have an impossible putt. The course was referred as Mickey Mouse. Johnny Miller did a horrible job and does not understand the difference between a US Open Champion and us weekend warriors. I play in single digits and ended up going irons off the tee because a driver was crazy and a 3 wood did not reward you. The fairways were beautiful but insanely wet so the divots were world class. I'm not a digger or scooper but play very little divot and I had some 14 inches coming in with wedges that had the ball going sideways. The course yardage is short but honestly I have played the SR Fairgrounds and enjoyed the layout more. A beautiful course for sure and great staff and people but honestly, I will never play this course again and this is the first time in my life stating that. I played with good players today and on the 12th hole they called it Mickey Mouse Golf. Hazards coming in the fairway and through the fairway on shots that for most seniors could hit but must lay up. I play long and found that I had to lay up on par four's because the layout has no harmony, rhythm, or understanding. I read about the course and sold sod to golf courses and I know drainage and layouts and this was the worst. A stated not here to complain. It is beautiful but we had two groups in front of us come off the 18th and tell us they were sorry for a 5:45 hour round and had a hard time. I told them we struggled as well. I would tell Johnny Miller that he took perfect land and destroyed it and my thoughts are far from being alone.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Fair
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Poor
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Stone tree initiation

The course has a nice layout. I was disappointed in how much moisture there was throughout the course. Every tee shot was covered with mud or plugged. The greens were also not very true and were a little bumpy. Maybe it is just that time of year. Not worth the money for the conditions. Not worth the price in these conditions. Have played better for much less.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Cold weather

Great Winter Conditions

Best drainage of any course in the area. Greens and fairways were immaculate for mid-winter. Bit of a frost delay but pro called to let us know - nice touch. Can't say enough about how good this course is. Usually ride when I play but chose to walk and it was fine despite a couple of climbs. Good deals available on membership that includes their fitness clubs so might be signing up soon! Heard they're opening a new driving range this spring too.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Excellent weather
Used cart

Excellent all around course

Stone tree is a wonderful course in novato. It plays a bit on the tougher side, and the greens are unforgiving, but it's a beautifully, well maintained course that's always a joy to play.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Excellent weather
Used cart

Solid Track

This is the best golf course in the North Bay hands down - easily in the top 5 in the Bay Area. Johnny Miller design. Tough but fair, beautiful, and in great shape. New pace of play program is cool and seems to be working. Good value. So glad to see this course available on the site again. If you haven;t played here get this track on your must play list.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Excellent weather
Used cart

Fantastic Golf Experience!

I had a great day of golf at Stone Tree Golf Club. Upon arrival, my foursome was greeted at the bag drop and by the time we parked, checked in, and grabbed a drink, our cart was loaded and ready to go. The course is definitely challenging, but fair. One of the nicest (if not the nicest) conditioned golf courses North of The City and, in my opinion, worth the price! The professional staff and membership base gives the course an upscale, private club feel.
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Good weather
Used cart

Good course but the pace is slow.

This is a nice course with a good layout in good condition. It's pretty tough but very enjoyable. The pace of play is slow but I would definitely recommend it if you're an advanced player.
Staff Friendliness Good
Quality of food & beverage Good
Pace of Play Fair
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good

Stay & Play Offers

$449 Starting price
Valid dates: Sep 03, 2018 - Oct 21, 2018
Book this Stay and Play package to enjoy your stay at the Stowe Mountain Lodge which includes 1 round at the exclusive Mountain Course at Spruce Peak (Formerly known as the Stowe Mountain Course) and unlimited rounds at the Stowe Country Club!
Nearby Courses
Novato, California
0.0
0
San Rafael, California
2.0
1
Novato, California
4.2962588235
167
San Rafael, California
3.7873647059
162
Petaluma, California
0.0
0
San Geronimo, California
3.7239529412
199
Sonoma, California
0.0
0
Petaluma, California
3.7280142857
148
Fairfax, California
5.0
2
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE