The Eagles Golf Club - Forest

4.2566117647 4.3 stars from 5 (350)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6604 yards
  • Slope: 134
  • Rating: 72.3
  • Layout

  • 11601 9 Eagles Dr, Odessa, FL 33556, Hillsborough County
  • (813) 920-6681, (813) 920-3351
  • (813) 852-1323
  • www.eaglesgolf.com
Write Review

Year built: 1995
Architect(s): Gary Koch (1995), Ron Garl
Type: Public
Greens: Champion Dwarf Bermuda
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: No
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: No
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: No
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper Dress Required
Credit cards accepted: Visa, MC, Discover

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 6604 yards 72.3 134
Blue 72 6159 yards 70.2 129
White 72 5606 yards 67.8 117
Gold (W) 72 5112 yards 69.9 123
Gold 72 5112 yards 65.3 112
Red (W) 72 4762 yards 67.8 121

Designed by Ron Garl and Gary Koch, the Forest Course at The Eagles Golf Club features the signature island-green sixth hole which rivals the famous 17th hole at the TPC at Sawgrass. The two outstanding championship courses at The Eagles Golf Club are kept in "tournament condition" year-round. As its name implies, much of Forest course winds through an impressive pine forest.

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.3 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.9 stars from 5
Value: 4.3 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.4 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.1 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 350 Reviews
5 stars:
145
4 stars:
169
3 stars:
25
2 stars:
8
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

327 out of 349 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for wildlife/ scenic views locals advanced golfers   Challenges include water hazards bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks watching the game brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Nice layout"


GallsDeep's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The layout of the forest course was good. Conditions of the course were average and the greens were ok.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 04/10/2018:

Thank you for the four-star review! We're glad that you enjoyed the layout and we hope you'll be back for another round soon.

"Good track"


Pinringer's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Booked this course based on other reviews. Clubhouse was fully stocked and nice. Food/alcohol available in bar/restaurant although we didn’t use that area, it was nice. Was a little disappointed to find out 3rd green was a temporary. It had been redone. Rest of greens were in awesome shape so not sure what happened there but we didn’t find out until after we booked, paid, and were at the course. Starter just signed our receipt and we took ourselves to first tee. He told us nothing. Not hello, nothing about the course, not where to go, absolutely nothing. Course was in great shape. Tees were just ok but fairways and greens were high quality. Would recommend keeping driver in your bag a lot of holes if you are a long hitter or not very straight. Would recommend it and would play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/19/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a very helpful review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your first round here. But we're sorry to hear that our check-in staff didn't make you feel welcome, as we're known for our excellent staff. We'll absolutely look into this further. We hope you'll return again for another round.

"Great Course, challeging dog legs"


Francis2975474's avatar
Top 100 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

As usual the Summer rain have some effect on the green speed and a few areas but the course is very playable. The many doglegs (and more water than the Lakes Course) require a good bit of course management. The middle of the fairway is very important to getting birdie or even reasonable par putts.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/18/2018:

Thank you for leaving four stars and great analysis! Please come and see us again soon.

"Course was a little"


ambimas's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/14/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Lots of Dog legs! Green a little slow but enjoyable challenge. Will be back!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/18/2018:

Thank you for the great four-star review! We look forward to your next round with us!


Shayne4390614's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tight layout makes you think what to hit on each tee shot.very nice course, will definitely play again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/21/2018:

Thank you for the very nice four-star review, Shayne! We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our layout and we look forward to your next round with us.


PSAUER67's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was in good shape,Temporary green on hole #3 we were notified at check in. Greens rolled true and a little slow could be aggressive on puts taking the break out of the putt .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/18/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us four stars! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your round with us despite the temporary green. Please come and see us again soon!


uARBD1123AR's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/02/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/18/2018:

That's terrific to hear! Thank you for the great feedback. We look forward to your next round with us.

"Eagles Forest an old favorite for a good round in Tampa"


ejpenvose's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/01/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Eagles is an old favorite and always offers a good round of golf with nice greens usually at a decent value.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/18/2018:

We're so pleased that we can consistently provide a great experience. We look forward to your next round here.

"Eagles"


Pmconstruction's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course it was a little wet but still played vet nice Forrest course can’t wait for Lakes cours very they were aireatin the greens and fairways


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/18/2018:

Thank you for leaving us five stars! We look forward to your next visit with us.

"Excellent course at a good price"


u589858790's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2018
Previously played Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Well maintained course: excellent tee boxes, fairways, and greens. Additionally, considering all the recent rain, it drains very well. Course contains a number of challenging holes, but overall - high handicappers as myself can score a few pars.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/18/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a five-star review! We're so pleased that you enjoyed our conditions and felt challenged but not overwhelmed. Please come and see us again soon.

"Great course for great price"


charliegp1's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played this gem for the first time and its beautiful, greens are in mint condition.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/18/2018:

We're so pleased that you enjoyed your first round at The Eagles. We hope it will be the first of many!

"Great course, very wet."


jt12020's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played the Forest course. The greens were recently punched, so very bumpy for a while. Course is very wet, but thats Florida golf. Cart path only, so hit by the paths or expect to walk a bit with a couple clubs. One temporary green under repair. Very nice course with grass in the fairways, will play again in a few months.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/18/2018:

Thank you for the excellent feedback! We're glad that you enjoyed your round despite the recent aeration and previous rain. Please come and see us again soon.


RG62497024CE0B596663's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2018
First time playing Used cart Wet weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/18/2018:

Thank you for leaving us four stars!

"Great course"


Strickj4's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Allways in great condition. U r missing a treat if u don't play this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 06/18/2018:

Thank you for the wonderful compliment and five-stars! Come and see us again soon!

"This course is always enjoyable to play."


EtGolf19's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The fairways were great shape. The greens were aerated, but still enjoyed my round. Owners and staff have done a great job with the two courses at the Eagles. They are always in great shape and a pleasure to play.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 05/22/2018:

Thank you for the terrific five-star review! We're thrilled that we can always provide you with a great golfing experience. Please come and see us again soon!

"Narrow but fun to play"


Francis2975474's avatar
Top 100 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

As usual the greens and fairways are in great shape. Being watered heavily during the Spring drought. This course requires straight controlled shots to avoid water, trees and forest. However it is fair and good scores can be found. Toughest when windy but always playable. Some holes tend to be like an animal preserve especially during slow times as the deer population is abundant and alligators sometimes wish to get a good look at your tee shot.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 05/18/2018:

Thank you for the great four-star review! You provide some great analysis here and we hope you'll be back for another round soon!

"The Eagles"


joecurtis1's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The staff was really nice, carts and GPS were very nice, pace of play was slowl, tee boxes and fairways were in bad shape. Some holes were a bit unfair with having to carry the water. My wife played from the men's white tees, but she could not input her score because it is not rated for women. Best of luck.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Poor

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 05/11/2018:

Thank you for leaving us great feedback. We apologize for the slower play. We understand that can be frustrating. We're also working hard to improve our conditions after a long, dry season. Please come and see us again in the future.

"Course conditions"


7469's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I have played this course in the past. This time was the worse I have ever seen the conditions as bad as they were. #3 green was a temp. No advance notice of such. Fairways were a little sparse and the tee boxes were mud. Greens were in good shape. I will wait to see if it has improved before I would play it again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 05/11/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a very helpful review. We're working very hard to improve conditions and we hope you'll return in the future for a far better experience.


u691548842's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Tee boxes were rough . However I love golf and I’m not a pro so tee it up and get after it boys


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 05/11/2018:

Thank you for leaving us great feedback! It's always great to hear from a golf lover!

"Great Day on the Forest at The Eagles"


rsnedd's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a great afternoon the course was in good condition, they were working one of the greens. I really enjoy playing this course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 05/11/2018:

Thank you for the terrific five-star review! We're thrilled that you had a great time with us and we hope you'll be back again soon.


u000007950632's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from The Eagles Golf Club on 04/30/2018:

Thank you for the five-star rating!


    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed