Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.4
334
5 Stars
58
4 Stars
125
3 Stars
74
2 Stars
48
1 Stars
29
Staff Friendliness
3.3
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.5
Conditions
3.3
Value
3.2
Layout
0
50.9%
Recommend this course
232 out of 334 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.4
334
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.0
Pace
4.5
Amenities
5.0
Conditions
3.5
Value
4.0
Layout
3.5
50.0%
Recommend this course
1 out of 2 reviews
Read Reviews
Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
3.4
334
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Staff Friendliness
4.0
Pace
4.5
Amenities
5.0
Conditions
3.5
Value
4.0
Layout
3.5
50.0%
Recommend this course
1 out of 2 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 7676
Slope 141
Rating 75.4
Type Public
The golf course at the Colorado National Golf Club is an 18-hole, public course that is situated just 20 minutes north of Denver. Jay Morrish designed the formerly known as Vista Ridge golf course with a traditional links-style layout. The course covers 7.404 yards of golf from its longest tees and plays to a par of 72. Rolling fairways lined with native grasses and large, undulating greens make the golf course interesting, while beautiful views of snow-topped mountains provide pleasant scenery. The course has many bunkers as well as water hazards. Colorado National Golf Club also features five sets of tee boxes for golfers to work on a number of different handicaps.
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Championship 72 7676 yards 75.4 141
Black 72 7404 yards 74.1 139
Gold 72 6897 yards 71.7 132
Copper 72 6230 yards 69.1 122
Cooper (W) 72 6230 yards 74.6 137
Silver (W) 72 5530 yards 71.3 124
Jade (W) 72 4790 yards 67.2 111
Scorecard for Colorado National Golf Club
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Championship M: 75.5/144 413 626 468 419 226 496 576 428 214 3866 426 487 564 390 233 696 198 364 452 3810 7676
Black M: 74.3/140 408 597 442 382 226 467 576 428 214 3740 385 451 539 390 233 652 198 364 452 3664 7404
Gold M: 71.9/132 W: 78.0/146 393 555 415 355 205 439 548 403 181 3494 356 414 489 369 194 633 180 344 424 3403 6897
Gold/Copper M: 70.7/128 393 555 399 355 179 365 502 403 181 3332 356 379 489 369 194 580 173 344 401 3285 6617
Copper M: 68.7/118 W: 74.3/138 350 519 399 303 179 365 502 342 131 3090 327 379 460 343 155 580 173 322 401 3140 6230
Silver W: 70.6/128 328 470 368 260 118 331 451 293 111 2730 296 333 415 309 126 511 148 304 358 2800 5530
Silver/Jade W: 68.1/122 309 470 310 260 118 290 402 293 91 2543 214 293 415 309 126 472 94 279 358 2560 5103
Jade W: 66.7/116 309 430 310 226 91 290 402 257 91 2406 214 293 338 290 104 472 94 279 300 2384 4790
Handicap 13 5 3 15 7 1 9 11 17 12 2 8 14 10 4 16 18 6
Par 4 5 4 4 3 4 5 4 3 36 4 4 5 4 3 5 3 4 4 36 72
Handicap (W) 9 3 5 13 15 7 1 11 17 12 10 4 14 18 2 16 8 6

Course Details

Year Built 2003
Fairways Bent Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Architect Jay Morrish

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes
Practice Hole Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted Visa, MC, AMEX
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code No Denim, Collared Shirt & Slacks or Bermuda Shorts

Reviews

3.4
334

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 34
Patio Dining 29
19th Hole Scenic Views 24
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 65
Water Hazards 56
Elevation Changes 48
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 50
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 47
Locals 42
This Course's Location is:
In the 'Burbs 55
Worth the Drive 42
Convenient to the City 30

Reviewer Photos

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
3.0
Hot weather

Good Track Ruined by Houses and Poor Maintenance

I was very much looking forward to playing this course, given that it has hosted NCAA Regional Championships and the CU golf team. What I found was an unfortunate ode to 1990s golf ... the era when courses were designed around the golf cart, and thus made unwalkable, and weaved through houses for reasons that still baffle me. The houses are too close to the course on many holes, and block any view of the mountains. The course itself is fine - the greens were true, if unimaginative - but the bunkers had not been maintained, and a lack of care for the course was evident. This may once have been a championship course, but it's now a glorified muni.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Good
Course Conditions Fair
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Fair
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Excellent and well maintained course

I held back from playing this course because it is a bit of a drive and because of numerous negative reviews. I can say that waiting to play this course was a mistake based on those negative reviews. This is a well maintained course with excellent staff. This is a links style open course. I and my friend were pleased about how well it was maintained (greens and fairways perfect). Our encounter with staff was pleasant and professional. I have no idea why there are negative reviews. This is a great and somewhat long links style course with excellent facilities. I suggest that you ignore negative reviews and decide for yourself. I was put off by those reviews and it was a mistake. Go enjoy a nice course!
Staff Friendliness Excellent
Pace of Play Excellent
Off-course amenities Excellent
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Excellent
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
First Time Playing
Wet weather

Disappointed.

The layout is good but the setting is terrible. We walked the course and it is not set up for that. Every course should be set up for walkers. No discount for not taking a cart. My biggest complaint is the course was WAY to wet. Almost every drive left a ball mark in the fairway allowing for no role and having to clean your ball due to all the mud on it. No idea how they do not see how wet their course was. I would bypass this course as there are many better at a cheaper price.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Fair
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
2.0
Top 250 Contributor
Previously Played

Not ideal

For the record, I still think this is the best course in the area. BUT, a couple of things really bothered me yesterday. First I bought a bucket of balls in the pro shop before my round to warm up and came to find out after the fact that the course had been providing free range balls that morning...I'm sure the guys in the shop knew about it and just decided to not tell me. BOO. Our group also encountered a very pushy marshall on the 12th hole who told us to play faster when we were not backing anyone up and were waiting on 2 foursomes all day. He clearly didn't know what he was doing. Bottom line: Don't play here on a weekend. Too expensive and too many headaches.
Staff Friendliness Poor
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Fair
Course Layout Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played

Dont Golf Here

I olayed here in Friday at 327 p.m. The course was completely overbooked with up to four groups waiting on a hole at one time. 3.50 hours later we left after 9 holes.Left messages for Gm and Golf pro, nobody returned calls. Horrible golf course never wlll golf there again.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Poor
Off-course amenities Poor
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Poor
Course Layout Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Excellent weather
Used cart

Birthday golf date

I played the course for the fifth time with my son on his birthday. The weather was fantastic for this time of the year and the course was in good plus condition for this time of the year. The greens are difficult and some of the pin placements were really difficult. We had good round.
Staff Friendliness Average
Pace of Play Fair
Off-course amenities Average
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Excellent weather
Used cart

Challenging but forgiving

A fun course with plenty of room for error! Greens are a challenge. Better be on the proper tier for a good putt.
Staff Friendliness Poor
Pace of Play Good
Course Conditions Good
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Good weather
Used cart

Greens

The greens are very sub par. Not in good shape at all.
Staff Friendliness Fair
Pace of Play Good
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Average
Value for the Money Average
Course Layout Excellent
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Good weather
Used cart

Warm but Windy Fall Round

On a 78 degree, windy Fall day, the course was well manicured, greens fast but true and fair. Fairways were fair and well defined. Rough was penal. Challenging to tell which tee markers were at which location. Mitigated by the on-cart GPS which seemed accurate.
Staff Friendliness Good
Pace of Play Average
Off-course amenities Good
Course Conditions Excellent
Value for the Money Good
Course Layout Good

Stay & Play Offers

$110 Starting price
Valid dates: Aug 13, 2018 - Dec 31, 2019
The Penn Ohio Golf Trail consists of courses mainly in Western PA and Northeast Ohio. What sets us apart is that we offer 29 different courses; including 4 private, members-only country clubs, 2 former LPGA courses, and many of the top courses in Ohio and Pennsylvania (including Pennsylvania’s #1 public course – Olde Stonewall). We offer 4 Mansions (for groups of 2 to 36), 10 hotels and customer service beyond any major resort. Our Mansions feature large common areas, pool tables, poker tables, big screen TV’s with the luxury of the entire group together in a large home setting.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE