Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.4
44 Reviews (44)
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.7
Layout
4.4
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.0
95.1%
Recommend this course
41 out of 44 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.3
3 Reviews (3)
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.7
Layout
4.3
Pace
4.7
Amenities
3.5
StaffFriendliness
4.0
100.0%
Recommend this course
3 out of 3 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.6
5 Reviews (5)
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.2
Value
4.8
Layout
4.6
Pace
4.8
Amenities
4.0
StaffFriendliness
4.4
100.0%
Recommend this course
5 out of 5 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private
Style Parkland
Par 70
Length 5993 yards
Slope N/A
Rating N/A

Burntisland Golf House Club in Fife, Scotland, is an 18-hole golf course designed by architect Willie Park Jun. It's best described as having a parkland nature, although some holes have a links-type turf to hit off. The course is just under 6,000 yards and has a diversity of terrain.

The fun starts with three par 3s in the first six holes, but birdie opportunities abound. There's only one par 4 over 400 yards, for instance, so good length off the tee and control of mid-irons can lead to that elusive below-par score. The two par 5s are also tamable: No. 2 has a tricky two-tier green that's narrow from front to back, but 12 is much less challenging for the low-handicap golfer.

Throughout the golf course, however, control is key. Out of bounds lies to the left of the first four holes and the 18th, and to the right of nine and 10. You face a pond to the right on five, and you have to maneuver past a quarry on 12. Beyond that, the course throws up its share of trees, gorse and rough all over.

When you finish the course, check out the clubhouse, which offers a bar/lounge/dining area. The bar's open from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m. in the summer.

Book a Tee Time at
Burntisland Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.co.uk

Course Details

Year Built 1797
Architect James Braid (1922) Willie Park, Jr. (1896)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed Metal and soft spikes may be worn
Walking Allowed Yes
Dress code Smart/Casual on the course and in the clubhouse.

Food & Beverage

Snacks

Available Facilities

Clubhouse

Reviews

4.4
44 Reviews (44)
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Walked

Good Day - even in the rain

Visited Burntisland on a somewhat wet day but still playable. Course was in a very good condition. Will definitely visit again - hopefully on a drier day. Covid restriction still in force so Clubhouse not open. Golf shop well stocked.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

The course in great condition

In great condition for this time of year, no fair way mats but tee mats in use but they won’t be long til there off in sure. Due to the covid we couldn’t get into the club house but it looks like a good offering so I hope to return when covid is doing to use it.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Nice course with lovely views

Played on a sunday lunchtime. Course in good condition. Greens true and good speed. I will defintely play again. Only negative is the lack of hole map on card or on tee. A couple of blind holes make it difficult to play second shots.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Windy weather
Walked
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Reviews 7
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Great views

In excellent condition and great views of the Forth and beyond. A bit hilly and NOT a seaside links but well worth the money.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

great days golf

Brilliant course with some great holes and views. Will play again

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 10
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Tidy little course but the layout is just simply Crazy!

My 2 sons & I ventured up from Norfolk for a golfing week & decided to try this little course north of the Forth.
One of the oldest courses with all the views, we were really looking forward to this.
I am an 18 & my sons are 22 & 24 hcps & are weekly golfers.

The course layout is just mad (unless your a single figure hcp, starting on the first tee (with no warning of target zone)you have a blind entry into the green, once able to see there are 2 tees & another green tight to this target area!
Anything just blindly slightly overshot (from a visitor) & you have a hospital trip or an insurance claim......
Both my sons were apologising to the locals profusely on this occasion....

The 1st, 2nd & third holes have tight left hand out of bounds almost right on a busy road with no safety fencing or mesh!

My youngest occasionally has a slight pull to his game & on the second was worried that he might have gone through onto the road.

These problems persisted round the course with several more blind entries!

The 17th is just a joke hole isn’t it?
Par 3 blind dip on 118 yds where the flag had blown off & was lying by the side of the green so from the tee we had no idea where the flag was just 2 marker poles!!

I could not believe how many tees & greens were so close together neither wonder other folk have mentioned slow pace of play.....

But the greens and some of the other approaches were just perfect!

Before you think oh moaning English, I am from Edinburgh originally & we venture up every year for a golf tour of Fife & surroundings.

We will not be returning to The Burned Island pitch & Putt.....

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Poor
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Seaside town Burntisland

A challenging course some tight fareways
and well kept greens some cracking views of the Forth estuary and beound

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Excellent course

First time playing burntisland and would highly recommend it.awesome views. Few tricky holes. Didn't play as well as I can but still really enjoyed my round. Especially liked 10th hole and 17th

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 49
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
First Time Playing

Very nice Course with a friendly, helpful staff.

I really enjoyed playing BurntIsland. The course was in good condition and with the "medalist" tees only 6000 yards, this is a course you can score on. If you are in Edinburgh, it's a short drive to play. There are some beautiful views of Edinburgh along the way.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 13
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

On this clear day, the views over the Firth of Forth were spectacular!

Pretty challenging course for this high handicapper. However, it was a beautiful day with a lovely views of the new Queensferry Crossing Bridge. This was my second time to play here, and the reason I would recommend it to a friend is because people were friendly and helpful, and its a beautiful course. But the two-some in front of me was waiting on the three-some in front of them who was waiting on the group in front of them. And there are just so many golf courses in Fife to play. I’ve played Thornton, Scoonie, Kirkcaldy, Kinghorn, Lochgelly, and pace of play has not been an issue. FYI.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Played On
Reviews 4
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Lovey greens

Last played the course over autumn period and course was in ok condition for time of year.

Glad we came back in summer as course is in fantastic condition now. Greens are pristine. Course very well maintained in general.

Not the longest of courses but plenty tight tee shots and changes in elevation to keep things interesting.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Reviews 10
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Not too long a course but tests you all the way round. Greens were in fantastic condition. Good test of golf. Fantastic views too.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 7
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Potential disasters abound

Great course to play with extremely varied layout. Definately not a boring up and down type course. However lots of holes that could lead to high numbers ic you are at all wayward. Most enjoyable and in excellent condition considering the winter wd have just had. Views hard to beat on any course.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 2
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Over booked

We’ve played Burntisland quite a few & it’s normally really enjoyable. This round; however, was spoiled by the course being too busy. We took almost 4 hours, with two of the groups in front of us walking off. The greens were also really furry, with poor quality grass.

Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 06/13/2018

Hi there. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your game. There have been a few days we've been very busy so I'm guessing you were along one of those times. I hope you come back at a quieter time and enjoy it once more.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

The course has great views

Great course and great staff - if I lived closer I would definitely become a member!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 06/13/2018

Thanks for your comments. Country memberships available !!!

Nearby Courses
Kinghorn, Fife
4.4649176471
35
Kirkcaldy, Fife
4.1148411765
19
Aberdour, Fife
4.8739529412
20
Cowdenbeath, Fife
4.1960588235
5
Kirkcaldy, Fife
4.4117882353
10
Lochgelly, Fife
4.5382352941
15
Cardenden, Fife
Public
0.0
0
Cluny, Fife
Semi-Private
0.0
0
Edinburgh, Edinburgh City
Private
3.9166666667
5
Edinburgh, Edinburgh City
Private
3.75
3
Thornton, Fife
4.1274411765
28

Stay & Play Offers

From $79
Valid dates: Aug 01, 2019 - Aug 31, 2020
Getaway and play the most golf possible at the lowest price around. Play unlimited Scottsdale, AZ golf from $79 per golfer/night (including golf & lodging!).
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE