Looking back from a green at Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa
Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.7
96 Reviews (96)
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
38
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
6
1 Stars
7
Conditions
3.6
Value
3.9
Layout
4.2
Friendliness
4.4
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.4
78.6%
Recommend this course
76 out of 96 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.5
4 Reviews (4)
5 Stars
0
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
3.5
Value
3.5
Layout
3.8
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.3
StaffFriendliness
4.8
100.0%
Recommend this course
4 out of 4 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.0
14 Reviews (14)
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
1
Conditions
3.9
Value
4.3
Layout
4.2
Pace
4.3
Amenities
3.2
StaffFriendliness
4.5
92.9%
Recommend this course
13 out of 14 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Resort
Par 72
Length 6760 yards
Slope 138
Rating 71.6
Book a Tee Time at
Lakeview Golf Resort - Lakeview Course
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1950
Golf Season Year round
Architect James Harrison (1950) Ferdinand Garbin

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes - included in green fees
Clubs Yes
GPS Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range No
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Collared shirt, dress slacks or shorts, no jeans or t-shirts.

Reviews

3.7
96 Reviews (96)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 9
Course Challenges Include:
Elevation Changes 15
Narrow Fairways 11
Plays Long 9
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 8
Group Getaways 8
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 7
This Course's Location is:
At a Resort 13
Worth the Drive 7

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
Incentivized Review
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Nice Course

This course was built in the 50s, and the layout reflects the style of that era, with tee boxes not far from the last green. This was not a problem, but could be if the course was crowded. The course was in good shape, but heavy rains a few days before kept the carts on the path. Greens were somewhat fast and the subtle slopes accentuated their speed. The nice thing was, the greens would hold a week played shot. The layout is challenging, but fair. A lot of grade changes, so you have a lot of up and down hill shots. All in all, a very enjoyable course.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 12/08/2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're happy you enjoyed the layout of the course.

Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Beginner
Plays Once every three months
I Recommend This Course
Incentivized Review
4.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Upgrades on the facility

We loved the course but the restaurant and hotel were shabby.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Poor
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Default User Image
Commented on 12/08/2019

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your time at the golf course. If you'd like to express feedback for the restaurant and hotel be sure to contact them directly.

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

It’s a good course to have close to home

This course is nice to have close to home. Nothing jumps out about this course but I’ve never experienced a round where I’ve flat out said “I’ll never come here again”. The condition of the course has improved this year which is nice to see. I hope the new owners continue to put money into the course and clean up some things cause it has the potential to be great again.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 12/08/2019

We're glad you always have a pleasant time golfing at Lakeview. Be sure to come play again next season!

Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Poor
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Poor
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Great day

Was out early got backed up by a really slow foursome..The course sent someone out to allow the faster players to play through...Staff attention to details like this is why I would go back. Course in great shape for all the bad recent weather.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great Time

Always fun for a Florida boy to play in the mountains. Staff was helpful and friendly. Really enjoyed my round. Course is in fantastic shape. Looking forward to playing here again soon.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/23/2019

Thank you for the great review! We're glad you enjoyed the mountainous scenery and layout. Come play again soon!

Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

used to play this course 30+ years ago, it was close to PGA quality back then. it has gone downhill but is still in decent shape, bit high priced for conditions, but I think they just lost head groundskeeper, maybe with a little more money put in it, it will get back to its old conditions. sandtraps almost unplayable, lots dead spot, but it was july. not bad for the hot deal price, but I would feel cheated if had to pay full price under current conditions

Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Hot weather
Used cart

Great elevation changes!

Greens were fast! Bunkers need a lot of work!
Good layout; great elevation changes; bunkers were just dirt; great staff; great price on GolfNow $26 with cart!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 07/23/2019

We're glad you enjoyed the greens! We're also glad you found value in our golf course.

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Fair
Default User Image
Commented on 07/23/2019

Hello, JustinW065. Thank you for your 4-star rating! Please book another round with us soon at Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa - Lakeview!

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/23/2019

Hi NickMayle. Thank you so much for the great review. We are glad you had an incredible time, and we hope to see you again soon! Thanks for choosing Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa - Lakeview.

Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great day

There is very little to complain about when you consider the course condition,layout & weather we had today.Sure there were some wet spots but that is to be expected with all the rain we have had lately.The grounds keepers are to be complemented for the job they are doing all things considered.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 07/23/2019

Thank you for the wonderful review! We're glad you enjoyed your experience with us.

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great course

From checking in to finishing the round the day was perfect.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/23/2019

We're glad you had a perfect day at Lakeview Resort!

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/23/2019

Thank you for the 5 stars!

Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 07/23/2019

Thank you for visiting us at Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa - Lakeview. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We hope you join us for another round soon.

Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Understaffed, no course management

Not too bad when getting a deal on the price. Very understaffed. Maybe because it was a holiday but traditionally a golf holiday.

On a descriptive note - course is narrow for the average golfer. Lots of short par 4s. Thick rough grabs the irons. Greens are not easy and are very fast when it’s hot and dry. Challenging but fun. Learn how to square up your shoulders on all the hills. Not very many flat lies. Bunkers were in good shape. Beautiful scenery for sure.

You will be taking care of yourself on this course.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Needs Significant Improvement

The condition of the course has continued to decline in recent years - some of this due to a lack of maintenance, some of it due to the lack of shared responsibility for course care by players. Poor drainage has damaged several fairways and many of the greens appear to be suffering from a heavy fungus presence. Although not the case with my most recent round, pace of play is often unbearable. With the current course condition, ownership must consider either reducing fees (to beecome comparable with other courses of similar quality) or begin making the necessary investments in improving and maintaining the quality of the course. Do not pay the full price for this course - seek reduced rates through online third parties and it will take some of the disappointment out of your round.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Fair
Amenities Poor
Response from on 08/07/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, in the West Virginia area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a month
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Slow pace of play. Expected the course to be in better condition. Not worth the hour drive.

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Response from on 07/23/2018:
We thank you for golfing with us, and we appreciate you leaving your feedback. We are sorry that slow play affected your round and that you were disappointed with the conditions. Our staff will continue to work hard on the course, and we hope you will be able to see improvements the next time you are with us. Thank you again for taking the time to review our course.
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from on 07/05/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to our team. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the 5-star experience that you deserve.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 100 Contributor
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Beautiful and Challenging

Got a great deal on golf now. The course was a little wet from 2 inches of rain but played well. The course was in excelente condition from tee box to green. The greens were fast and true. The views were amazing. Can’t wait to go back.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Nearby Courses
Morgantown, West Virginia
4.0
1
Morgantown, West Virginia
5.0
2
Morgantown, West Virginia
0.0
0
Cassville, West Virginia
0.0
0
Morgantown, West Virginia
0.0
0
Fairmont, West Virginia
0.0
0
Farmington, Pennsylvania
0.0
0
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
3.2857142857
66
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
2.0
1
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
3.9791666667
17
Kingwood, West Virginia
4.0
1

Stay & Play Offers

From $219
Valid dates: Apr 01, 2020 - Oct 31, 2020
Bring your game and Make it Grand when you stay on the Stay and Play Golf package. Experience The Brute, a stunning 7,300-yard American classic or The Highlands, a picturesque landscape of scenic hills, trickling creeks and lush foliage.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE