Mosholu Golf Course

3.7490235294 3.7 stars from 5 (62)
  • Holes: 9
  • Par: 32
  • Length: 2312 yards
  • Slope: 101
  • Rating: 31.2
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Proper golf attire required.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 32 2312 yards 31.2 101
Blue (W) 32 2312 yards 32.9 109
White 32 2178 yards 30.8 98
White (W) 32 2178 yards 32.6 108
Red 32 1894 yards 30.8 107
Junior 32 1650 yards N/A N/A

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 3.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 3.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.1 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.2 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 3.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 3.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 62 Reviews
5 stars:
16
4 stars:
28
3 stars:
12
2 stars:
3
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

54 out of 62 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is convenient to the city   Great for 9-hole rounds locals beginners   Challenges include elevation changes bunkers narrow fairways  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Autumn Saturday"


u000001880062's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/28/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course - in good shape - pace was good - overall a great day..


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Response from Mosholu Golf Course on 11/01/2017:

Hello, thank you for giving our course a five-star review! We are glad to hear that you found our course to be in great shape and that the pace of play was satisfactory. We value your feedback, and we'll see you again soon.

"This course is beautiful and gives a great challenge"


Melrob25's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/15/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great lay out and nice staff. All players played at an efficient pace and I never had to wait at holes. Course is well kept and looking forward to going back soon. The course gives a challenge. You have to hit ball straight to stay on fairway which helps your game improve.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Response from Mosholu Golf Course on 10/19/2017:

Hi, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Mosholu Golf Course, and for the excellent rating. We love to hear about the great time you had during your round with us! Thank you for recommending our course in the Bronx, NY area and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

"Scenic, fairly easy course"


HeinzBronnimann's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/11/2017
Previously played Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Monday morning, no waiting, walk 9 holes in 2 hours.

Perfect weather. Friendly staff.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course



Paulinony's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/05/2017
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Mosholu Golf Course on 08/03/2017:

Persio, thank you for the review of our course, Mosholu Golf Course. We appreciate the 4 star rating and hope to see you again soon!

"A nice surprise"


u000004252767's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I wasn't expecting much due to the good price -- it's a nice little nine hole course that gives you a bit of good exercise if you walk -- not a very long course more like an executive course for good practice on your short game and accuracy Definitely would play it again. Only downside was the pace of play due to it being a Saturday morning-- probably better during the week


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Mosholu Golf Course on 06/06/2017:

We regret to hear that the pace of play wasn't ideal for your round. We are, however, excited to hear that the rest of your round was enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon for another round.


50Guialdo's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/31/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Mosholu Golf Course on 06/05/2017:

We are happy to see that the pace of play, staff friendliness, and course layout were all great for your round. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon for another round!

"Fun executive track with great laid back atmosphere"


Luckyshank's avatar
Top 10 Contributor
New York Advisor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Super friendly staff. Bob, Dave, and Ralph really take care of people and always looking out for their regulars. Course is kept in great shape and it's always been a fantastic place to practice.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Response from Mosholu Tee Times on 05/17/2017:

"Luckyshank" thank you for your feedback. We love hearing that you enjoy our friendly staff, well kept course, and find our course as a fantastic place to play! We appreciate your positive words and look forward to seeing you for another round soon.

Commented on 09/01/2017

Played again on 8/31/17. Everything mentioned in my earlier review was duplicated for this date. Just a great place to work on your accuracy and short game. Staff is always courteous as well.


"Enjoyable Experience"


u6078814's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is the first east coast golf course I've played and the first since moving from West Coast to East Coast 3 1/2 years ago. I'm glad it was the first course I chose to get back into the game. Very enjoyable experience. Staff was excellent. I would play here again. Only thing i would have a complaint about would be this is the 1st time ever I had to pay additional for parking. Every course I've play always provides free parking for those who use their facilities.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Mosholu Tee Times on 05/15/2017:

We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced with parking during your round at Mosholu Golf Course. However, we are excited to hear that, overall, you had a very enjoyable experience with our course and staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon for another round!

"Fun track, great for practice"


Luckyshank's avatar
Top 10 Contributor
New York Advisor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/02/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Great laid back atmosphere here really makes beginners or people who just want to practice feel comfortable. Super friendly staff is awesome as usual and course conditions were great despite recent aerations. The short game area in this facility makes this place a practice haven for golfers in the NYC area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Response from Mosholu Tee Times on 05/08/2017:

We are excited to hear that you enjoy the atmosphere at Mosholu and feel that we make everyone comfortable no matter the level of experience. We hope to see you again soon for another round!

"Nice city course"


brian1409022's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/02/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staff is very friendly, course is in good shape but the greens are still recovering from aeration. It's a nice course to get in a quick 9 during the week, and the hot deal price makes up for any shortcomings. I'll be coming back here often.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Response from Mosholu Tee Times on 05/05/2017:

We are excited to hear that you think our staff is friendly and the course is in great shape. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Response from Mosholu Tee Times on 05/05/2017:

We are excited to hear that you think our staff is friendly and the course is in great shape. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.


Ernie2897305's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I don't recommend this course


Response from Mosholu Tee Times on 04/03/2017:

"Ernie2897305" we regret to see you had a poor experience with our course conditions, value, and off-course amenities. However, we are glad to see you enjoyed our pace of play, staff friendliness, and course layout! Please come again soon to make up for your experience!

"Shot makers course, thinking required"


Luckyshank's avatar
Top 10 Contributor
New York Advisor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/13/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

Great short course especially for beginners and conditions were great as usual. Dave the superintendant actually knows what he is doing and teaches young kids on course condition management as well. Played here many times for practice in the past and decided to play a quick 9 as a warm up before heading off somewhere nearby. Today they put on a free clinic for veterans that were interested in learning the game. With the First tee this place offers a friendly family atmosphere. The pro shop guy Dave, Superintendent Dave, and starter Ralph are all gentleman and actually talked to you with respect every time you shown up there. Great place to commute to if you don't drive as well.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/26/2016

Luckyshank - Thank you very much for the 4 star rating! We hope to see you again soon!


"Great for kids learning the game"



1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/26/2016
First time playing Used cart Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is essentially an executive 9 hole with a par 4 or 2 thrown in. Used to have a nice par 5, gone, all the long par 3's, gone. Driving range has cheap plastic balls, ok chipping area. Good for kids 5-10 learning the game.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Poor

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Easy


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 09/01/2016

We are sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. We would like to speak with you further - pleas email us at MosholuGolf@outlook.com.

We look forward to hearing from you.


"Good for short game practice"


Chefdroz's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/25/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course to practice your short game or play with your junior golfer. Short course, but there are some challenges out there.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 09/01/2016

Thank you for the 4 star rating! We hope to see you back again soon!


"Short course but play moved quickly"


stevenwilliams's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/09/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Friendly staff. Easy to get to. Limited parking. Good course for beginners w little wooded area, no water to hit into.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/16/2016

stevenwilliams - Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. We hope to see you back soon!


"Disappointed"


Anderson6174039's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/07/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I decided to give it a try since reviews were very good. To my disappointment, the greens were very slow and full of divots...as a matter of fact, the whole green on the 5th hole should have 'ground under repair' signs. It was unplayable!

It was a 90 degree day and the two water stations on the course were empty.

Even though The staff was extremely friendly, I will not be coming back.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 08/16/2016

Anderson6174039 - We are sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations. We would like to speak with you further regarding your experience. Please email us at MosholuGolf@outlook.com.


"mosholu"


bobbyred's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/23/2016
Previously played Walked Played 9 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

very nice clean course, could be a little more challenging.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 08/03/2016

We're glad you enjoyed our course, Bobby. Thank you for your review and feedback. We hope you join us again soon for another round.


"Da best 9 hole golf course in NEW YORK"


rayhil6136's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For a nine hole course it's a must play golf course some of the holes are pretty deceiving and pretty challenging go play trust me u won't be let down


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 05/03/2016

Thank you very much for the 5 star rating! We look forward to seeing you again out on the course!


"Surprising Gem in the middle of the Bronx"


llaski's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/19/2016
First time playing Walked Played 9 holes Good weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Was not expecting much for a cheap 9 hole course in the Bronx but surprisingly felt like it was a nice setup. Range is so-so with ok balls, but there were 2 green to practice on and overall the course was in good shape. Greens were super bumpy and not rolled/mown, but understandable as it's still March. Hoping they will get better as we get into the season. Just wish the course had 1 par 5!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


Commented on 03/24/2016

Thank you very much for the 4 star review! We hope we will see you back at the course soon!


"No Water, No Food, No Care"


rpodolsky's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/22/2015
Previously played Played as a single Used cart Played 9 holes Good weather

Reviewed on

For the third straight time I played this course there no water to be found anywhere on it--which is against the law. Each time I was given an excuse. With the course filled with seniors on a fairly hot day, problems can arise....There also wasn't a single ball-wager on the course. Not one place to clean a dirty golf ball. When asked an executive said, "We're getting ready for the off-season (Nov.1)," as if no one plays in 50-degree November weather either....Oh, and bring your own lunch because their snack bar was closed.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Fair

Quality of food & beverage: Poor

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I don't recommend this course


Commented on 10/28/2015

We’d like to apologize for your poor experience with us and we value the feedback you have provided. The lack of drinking water is unacceptable, we will make every effort to be sure adequate drinking water is available when the golf course is open for play. With colder temperatures moving in, the ball washers on the course could become frozen and therefore unusable and easily breakable, that is why we started to remove them. This is the reason you will not find any out there at this time, and we apologize for that. We do care about our golfers and we would like for you to reach out to us at mosholugolf@outlook.com so we can discuss in further detail about your experience. We would like to continue to improve and we want to ensure your next experience with Mosholu Golf Course is an enjoyable one. Thank you!



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed