Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.9
35 Reviews (35)
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
3
1 Stars
3
Conditions
3.5
Value
4.2
Layout
3.9
Friendliness
4.8
Pace
4.2
Amenities
3.6
85.5%
Recommend this course
27 out of 35 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.3
3 Reviews (3)
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
3.7
Value
4.7
Layout
4.3
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.5
StaffFriendliness
5.0
100.0%
Recommend this course
3 out of 3 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.3
4 Reviews (4)
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.0
Value
4.5
Layout
4.3
Pace
4.3
Amenities
4.3
StaffFriendliness
5.0
100.0%
Recommend this course
4 out of 4 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Public
Style Executive
Par 68
Length 4692 yards
Slope 0
Rating 0.0
Book a Tee Time at
Lyndon Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1920
Fairways Rye Grass
Greens Rye Grass
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Reviews

3.9
35 Reviews (35)
Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Learned to Play 44 Years Ago at Lyndon

I learned to play golf 44 years ago on Lyndon Golf Course as a young teenager. I've returned as part of a Veterans golf league 2 years ago. Over the past 2 years, under the supervision of the PGA Pro Ric Pettit, the conditions of the course have substantially improved and continues to improve. Recently I decided to become a member and enjoying golfing again.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Community golf

Since the new management team took over a few years ago golf has steadily improved.
The staff is friendly and makes an effort to get to know you asa person.
The course conditions have improved to the point where the greens are excellent and fairways good and if you stray into the first cut the hole becomes more challenging.
The front is an easy walk and fun with all the holes reachable in one or two. However you still have to keep it on the postage stamp size greens.
The back is longer and more challenging. It is a great place to work on your longer game while surrounded by beautiful scenery.
I love the course because I can get in a quick nine before work and after.
I is a pleasure to see whole families enjoying the game.
Because I like to walk to get some exercise , I would enjoy benches on every hole
Thanks guys for always making me feel welcome.
Mike

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Nice Course

This is a great course to practice on. The greens are fast and tricky. I would definitely play here again.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Fair
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Poor
Response from on 07/06/2018:
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are always looking to improve and would welcome any feedback.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Great Course with Challenging Greens

We found this course to be delightful. It was in beautiful condition and the weather was great. At first glance, the course seemed to be easy but it certainly was not. Putting was very difficult (for us anyway) as the greens seemed to have subtle variations that we weren't able to see. We learned a little about reading greens that day.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Meh

I was excited about playing this course because looking at it from the road and being new to the area it looked like a nice short course for a quick walk of 18. It was quick (no one in front of me until hole 11 ... then I had 3-4 holes before the threesome let me play through so that slowed me down a bit).

Unfortunately, about half the course was not yet mowed even in the fairways (for a holiday weekend none the less). There were a TON of dandelions which made it difficult to find balls in the unmowed fairways or rough. They were in the process of mowing some holes (again ... holiday weekend) so you had to contend with mowers on holes ... and I am not kidding, I had to actually wait for a mower to finish mowing a green because he didn't see me standing over my ball in the fairway so he started mowing the green about 20 yards right in front of me and I had to wait until he was done.

Maybe I will give this course another chance ... but it will probably be after I try out the other courses in the area because it was not an enjoyable round because of the condition of the course.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Response from on 05/30/2018:
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Lyndon Golf Course, in the Fayetteville, NY area. We are sorry to see that you may have had a poor customer experience with us and that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played. Any additional feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve your experience with us in the future. Thank you for choosing to golf with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Default User Image
Commented on 06/07/2018

Mr. Myers,

Thank you for visiting Lyndon and we are sorry you got caught up in the dandelion explosion brought on by the warm weather, we are currently spraying to control the dandelion growth going forward. Hopefully when you come back we will show great improvement. We will also speak with our new staff mowing greens about good etiquette and keeping out of the way!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Poor
Friendliness Fair
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 09/27/2017

Mr. Roman,

Sorry you did not enjoy your visit to Lyndon. Unfortunately you did play on the heels of our aeration process and the greens are recovering but that does take some time. Once heeled we have some of the best greens in the area and certainly the best in our price range. Hope you will try us again and upgrade your review! - Lyndon GC

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Beginner
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played

Great for a tune up

Course is in great condition. Greens are smooth and pretty fast. Fairways could be mowed a little shorter, but not bad overall. This is a great course to work on your game and super value for the money. Staff are always friendly. Never very crowded so the pace of play is great. I'll be back again to practice more.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Poor
Played On
Skill Beginner
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Nice

Very nice course. Well maintained and very friendly staff. Wasn't overly difficult, but plenty enough for beginners, which some in my group were. Was on vacation, and would definitely play here again.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played

Always a good round of golf

You can't go wrong by playing at Lyndon. Open layout allows even the worst slicers, hackers or drawers to have some fun.
The greens are really nice and fairways are good. The tee boxes could use a little attention.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Fair
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Fairly Easy
Response from on 08/22/2017:
Hello Steve, thank you for taking the time to review our course, Lyndon Golf Course, and for the 3-stars. We are sorry to see that the course may not have been in the best shape when you played and your feedback is appreciated. It looks like you had a smooth round and that you had a friendly experience with our staff, so we are glad to see that. Thank you for golfing our course, in the Western New York area, and we hope to see you again soon.
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 500 Contributor
Previously Played

Great place to work on your game

Fairways and greens are in great condition. Course is not very long but it is a great place to work on your game. Excellent value for the money. Wife and I have played it 4 times already this season and we will come back again.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Great course for a fun round of golf

This course isn't Augusta but is a great value and fun for all. Improvements of the greens gives a great true roll. Fairway are mowed well defining when your ball is in the fairway or rough. Tee boxes need some love and care added, put are useable.
Great for beginner golfers. Wide fairways.
I was able to call ahead on the 8th hole and order a couple hotdogs which were cook PERFECTLY!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Average

For the right price it can be a nice time, but anything $15 or more is pushing it. Traveling from hole 10-11 is a death trap so be careful as some of the carts do not react well to the gas being on the floor (they stall out often).

Conditions Fair
Value Fair
Layout Poor
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from on 05/02/2017:
Hi, Brian. Thanks for the review of our course and we're sorry to hear it wasn't a great experience. We hope that as we approach season course conditions will improve and you'll consider playing our course again in the future. We appreciate the 4 out of 4-star rating for staff friendliness!
Played On
Handicap Don't know
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Walked

Great layout

I really enjoy Lyndon. Great prices for senior golfers. You can get a tee time just about anytime you like. It is flat, so you can work your game very well. The course is in great condition, since they get many golfers are coming through. One minor drawback, crossing a very busy road. They traffic is relentless. Be careful. A real gem for a local public course.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Difficulty Moderate
Nearby Courses
Fayetteville, New York
5.0
1
East Syracuse, New York
4.4141166667
14
Manlius, New York
5.0
1
Syracuse, New York
4.7777833333
4
Syracuse, New York
2.3333333333
2
Syracuse, New York
2.3333333333
2
Fayetteville, New York
4.94445
8
Kirkville, New York
4.0
1
Syracuse, New York
0.0
0
East Syracuse, New York
3.0
1
Kirkville, New York
0.0
0

Stay & Play Offers

From $190
Valid dates: Dec 01, 2019 - Mar 01, 2020
Includes 3 rounds of golf - one each at Legacy Golf Links, 7 Lakes and Southern Pines Golf Club - and lodging for two nights in a 2 Bedroom / 2 Bath Golf Front Condo located on the Pinehurst Resort Golf Courses.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE