Arrowhead Pointe At Lake Richard B. Russell

4.7473000000 4.7 stars from 5 (108)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6788 yards
  • Slope: 134
  • Rating: 72.5
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: No walking on Friday, Saturday, Sunday/Holidays until after 1:00 p.m.
Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 6788 yards 72.5 134
Blue 72 6458 yards 70.7 129
White 72 5971 yards 68.9 119
Red 72 5220 yards 70.4 122

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.6 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 108 Reviews
5 stars:
83
4 stars:
22
3 stars:
3
2 stars:
0
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

108 out of 108 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include undulating greens bunkers water hazards   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great Course"


u000001432801's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/07/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course! You won't find one nicer. Beautiful lake views, greens, and moderate elevation changes, peaceful,only surrounded by woods and lake, great staff,pro shop,and food to order, make this course a very worthwhile destination.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Challenging but fair"


bulldog1960's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/26/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

First visit but can’t wait to play again! Staff is great and service orientated! Can’t wait to introduce this to my out of state golfing friends!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



72cutlass's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/21/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Beautiful and a little challenging"


cutailgater's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/13/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather

Reviewed on

Great layout, big greens, beautiful and challenging.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Russjbruce82's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/22/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Scootergolf1520's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/11/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Arrowhead Pointe is one of the best values ever. I have played the course for the past 15 years or so. This course is as good as Pinehurst and the green fee is under 40 dollars. Beautiful and large greens. It is totally bermuda including the beautiful fairways and well manicured greens. The course has beautiful views of Lake Russell and is in play on numerous holes. The staff is outstanding. This is my favorite course of all time. Once you play it you will be addicted


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u922067291's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u922067291's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Beautiful scenery and conditions"


u682492925's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Due to traffic we arrived 3 minutes past our tee time. When we walked up The starter on duty was very rude a unprofessional he said “1100 doesn’t mean 1103, you will have to see if she can work you in.” We were aware that we may have to wait and made no comments about trying to rush to get started. The starter was just very rude, his comments and attitude were terrible. When we went into the pro shop to check on the next available tee time there was no one else scheduled for 30 minutes after the lady said we could tee off immediately. I just don’t understand why this employee felt it necessary to be so rude and unprofessional when there was no one else scheduled to play for 30 minutes after we were scheduled.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Arrowhead State Park"


u349289812's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/13/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Friendly staff, great food, great layout, challenging course. Everone should play it..


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u922067291's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u018390076's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/03/2017
Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Must play course in Northeast Georgia"


Twoputtbob's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Second time playing this course and it is best state owned course that I have played. Great challenge for any handicap and very well maintained. Thanks GolfNow for making this one available.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Never miss playing here!!!!"


wselness's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The conditions here are exceeded only by the beauty of the course. Beauty everywhere!! Did I mention that the design is terrific? DO NOT MISS THIS ONE. !!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Arrowhead Pointe Golf Club – Much More Than You’d Expect."


TheGolfinGuy's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/03/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Few private or resort courses have the geographical characteristics golf course designer Bob Walker was given when he designed Arrowhead Pointe. In fact, Walker has said that basically the state handed him 400-acres of land within the Richard B. Russell State Park in Elberton, GA and said, “put the course wherever you need to.” And Walker did just that.

This 6,861-yard masterpiece sits on a peninsula on Richard B. Russell Lake and offers some of the best water views and scenic vistas anywhere in the South. Better yet, there are no lakefront homes or even private docks to spoil the view as you make your way around the course.

Arrowhead Pointe Golf Club is not without its share of accolades, having been named the 2nd Best New Affordable Public Course in America by Golf Digest in 2005. It has also been ranked #10 on Golf Advisor’s list of Top 25 courses under $50 and TravelGolf.com placed Arrowhead Pointe on its list of the Top 10 courses in the state of Georgia.

From the back tees, Arrowhead Pointe plays 6,861 yards with a course rating of 72.5 and a slope of 134. Most men will find that the white tees at 5,971 (68.9/119) will give them a challenge and let them enjoy the scenery. If they need more, there’s a fourth set of tees that play 6,458 (70.7/129). Ladies typically play from 5,221 yards (70.4/122). The bottom line is that there is a yardage that is suitable for everyone; just be sure to pick the one that best suits your game and you’re sure to have a good time.

The course was designed back in 2001, but for budgetary reasons, did not open until July 2004. The Georgia State Park system boasts eight high quality golf courses, and while Arrowhead Pointe may not be the most difficult, it has by far the most breathtaking views. Water does come into play on at least 8 holes and thankfully most of what you see does not come into play. When it does, there are no overly long carries over it; hit your ball in the water and odds are that it’s your fault.

In addition to the water hazards, you’ll find some significant elevation changes, tree-lined fairways, a myriad of doglegs – both left and right – and strategically place bunkers, primarily on the peripheries of the fairways. Well-groomed fairways lead to TifEagle Bermuda greens with subtle undulations and very few straight putts. This is one course that seems to have it all.

In creating Arrowhead Pointe, Walker wanted to make the course playable for golfers of all levels of ability. Each hole tends to have a safe route for less experienced players and a more challenging route that provides certain risk/reward opportunities for seasoned golfers. During your round, you may find it necessary to play both routes. Not only will it benefit your scorecard, it will greatly enhance your enjoyment.

The front nine has several interesting holes, most notably the par 5’s. Number 1 is a fairly straightforward hole that plays uphill and considerably longer than the stated yardage. Only the longest of hitters will get on in two; for the rest of us, the landing area is very generous off the tee. A layup down the right side will take the fairway bunker on the left out of play and set up an easy approach. Three good shots and you can tame this hole.

Even Head Golf Professional Barry Johnston says that the par 5, 5th hole is best played as a three-shot par 5. The best way to make birdie is to hit your approach shot close. There’s bunkers in play on both your tee shot and layup shot and the green complex is fronted and flanked by sand as well. The green slopes gently from back to front. Played correctly, this hole can let you put up a low number.

Both par 3’s on the outward nine play uphill and require an extra club or two to compensate. Another similarity: both feature green complexes that are well guarded by bunkers. The toughest hole on the front side is the par 4 6th, a 412 yarder that plays slightly uphill. Favoring the left side off the tee gives the best angle into a long, multi-tiered green. Number 6 provides the first view of the lake and gives you a taste of what’s to come.

The back nine features not only a number of challenging holes, it has some of the most incredible views in all of the state. It all starts on Number 12, a 368-yard par 4 (White Tees) which offers a great view of Lake Richard B. Russell and continues on Number 13, where a finger of the lake juts out and must be carried on this medium length par 3. The lake really steals the show on number 14 (361 yards from the White Tees), where it frames both sides of the fairway, giving the illusion that the hole plays a lot narrower than it really is. Carry the fairway bunker on the left and you’ll have a clear shot uphill to a long, narrow multi-tiered green well protected by bunkers. A front/back pin placement can be a 3 or 4 club difference.

After your round, be sure to visit Arrowhead Pointe’s café, where you’ll find a good selection of traditional clubhouse grub as well as all of your favorite libations. The pro shop is stocked with great looking logoed apparel from a lot of the industry’s top names including Titleist, Antigua and Adidas. There’s also a full-length driving range where you can hit every club in the bag and trust me, you’ll use every one of them during your round. The practice putting green will give you a pretty good idea of what you will face over the next few hours.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course



"Great game"


u2775501's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/23/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoyed my round of golf. Great course and greens and fairway were in great condition


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Hcm"


u922067291's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Enjoy playing Russell. Ranks up there with more expensive courses very friendly staff


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Angeldog90's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/18/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u000005035367's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"This course is the bomb!"


GolfUllr's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/06/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

I drove up from Atlanta to play here after having it on my list for too long. What a gem! Course was beautiful, and I love the design of the course, played 27 holes and the course was fairly empty. All the holes were pretty open and nothing would keep you from scoring but yourself. Didn't take much to figure out the greens once you dial in speed. Clubhouse staff was really helpful and friendly. Range was nice. Can't say enough good things about the course and value, totally worth the drive from Atlanta, will play again soon.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Arrowhead Point"


tman92336's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/28/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

WOW, I just played this course for the first time, this is truly what a golf course should be like. Beautiful scenery, rolling green fairways, and green that are GREEN and open to receiving a good shot! I really can’t say enough good things about this course without sounding like I work there. The price we received on the Golf Now Hot DEAL was an unbelievable, $12.00!!!!!!!! Upon our arrival the staff was open and warm, and very welcoming, even the practice area was very nice and well groomed. The course is challenging and more of a placement type of course, but still very friendly when you hit a stray shot, long hitters be wear getting off the fairway is tuff here!!!! Some of the hole over look a beautiful lake and there are ponds all around the course. Over all a great day of play on a challenging course that I will surely play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed