Arrowhead Pointe At Lake Richard B. Russell

4.7039647059 4.7 stars from 5 (144)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 6788 yards
  • Slope: 134
  • Rating: 72.5
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: No walking on Friday, Saturday, Sunday/Holidays until after 1:00 p.m.
Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Gold 72 6788 yards 72.5 134
Blue 72 6458 yards 70.7 129
White 72 5971 yards 68.9 119
Red 72 5220 yards 70.4 122

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 144 Reviews
5 stars:
109
4 stars:
30
3 stars:
4
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

143 out of 144 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include undulating greens bunkers water hazards   Great for drinks  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Great Course"


u000001432801's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/07/2016
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course! You won't find one nicer. Beautiful lake views, greens, and moderate elevation changes, peaceful,only surrounded by woods and lake, great staff,pro shop,and food to order, make this course a very worthwhile destination.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Staff"


Bill5632168's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/20/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

The lady that checked me in was Laura. I have to tell you, she is one of the nicest people you will ever meet. Very competent and always smiling. Makes you to definitely come back to Arrowhead. Her husband works there too, and he’s a super nice person also.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"One of the best courses in Georgia"


u000001789920's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I love to play this course. It is a distance to drive to it, but more than worth the drive. Rates are very reasonable. Fairways in great condition. Greens were punched about a week earlier and were growing back in very well. They were very soft and slow, but held ball very well. Played on Father's Day at noon. Saw some other player's as I started. Saw almost no one while I played. My wife went along to drive the cart and enjoy the scenic views. We had lunch in the clubhouse, nicest of any course I play including UGA course. Great peace, quite and enjoyable.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A hidden Gem in Georgia"


David9876258's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/16/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was great. Wide fairways but don’t let that fool you into thinking this course is easy. It’s very well designed and maintained. Super friendly staff. Greens are pretty good size and roll very well. Beautiful lake views on a lot of holes. Plenty of shade and water cooler on the course for those hot summer days. I will play this course again even though it’s an hour away from my house.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course and challenging layout"


RettJ's avatar
Top 50 Contributor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/16/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Arrowhead Pointe at Lake Richard B. Russell State Park is a beautiful course with many courses playing right on the shores of lake Richard B. Russell. The course layout is great. This course rivals many semi-private courses in the Atlanta area with VERY reasonable greens fees.

The people in the pro shop are always friendly and helpful. Great practice facilities (range, putting green, practice bunkers, etc.).

The greens had just been aerated a week or so ago so the greens were a little bumpy and quite slow as the grass on the greens was longer than usual.

The fairways were lush and thick as was the rough. The bunkers were well maintained. Several of the bunkers had not been raked due to rain the prior couple days.

Great course. Great price. I try to play the course as often as I can because I really like the course. It is well worth the drive to Elberton in order to play the course.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u725583737's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/09/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Well maintained state course"


timtryan's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/06/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course rivals many semiprivate courses that I have played. It is a wonderful course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



bigbob1949's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Awesome layout"


savannahlakes's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a must play golf course based on the layout and views with where it is located. Staff is always excellent and the greens always smooth and excellent condition. The only problem with this course is the greens speed. Always so slow and roll about 7.5 to 8. There has been a lot of rain and the ground PH seems to be off as there were a lot of brownish areas which is not normal for this course. I hate slow greens and stay away from courses that maintain them that way but to show you how much I think of this course I play it every chance I can get. I even drive 50 minutes to play it. Great place for a guys trip with two bed room cabins on the lake.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"An extraordinary golf venue"


cdog1949's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Richard B. Russell State Park is so beautiful (typical of an Army Corps of Engineer development). The golf course layout was spectacular. Lots of holes close to the lake. Fairways not too wide (helpful when cart-path only).

Well stocked pro shop; great concessions. Apparently, they have cottages for rent that are also part of a golf package. Saw several groups of guys who said they were staying there.

Grass in the fairways was quite thin. I have no idea what type of grass they have. However, the greens were perfect!

Gorgeous course; great price. If I'm ever in the area again, I will definitely play it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"little known but a great course!"


7of10's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I've played here before and it is always an enjoyable place to play. The course is always well kept and the greens are consistently wonderful. There isn't a poor hole or bald fairway anywhere! I wish I lived closer than the 50 miles I drive to get there. Try it, you'll like it!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Poa Annua"


None's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

It was basicly a poa annua farm, fairways were totally covered and greens suffered from poa also.

tee markers were not moved either day we played and pretty much were playing off dirt on every tee box

f&b staff was awesome

pro shop staff was not friendly or welcoming at all

i am sure this course has seen better days, the views on the back nine are fantastic. They are just not good enough views for me to return and give them my money.


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Poor

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course



u141091679's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/05/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great day of golf and great value"


wpoulson's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Best greens I've putted on this year. Loved the layout and course conditions. Only issue was fairways had a lot of clumps of weeds (Poe annua?) mixed in with the bermuda. We just rolled it in the fairway, so no issue.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Hot Deal Special- Arrowhead Point"


daddydawg23's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  Don't know

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is always a great place to play!!!! For a State Park course, I will always encourage anyone to play this course. Only problems with my round was some of the tee boxes needs more sod on them. Also because of the beautiful weather, the pace of play was extremely SLOW. The beauty of the course/course design rivals some of the high $$$ course around Atlanta. One of my favorite course to play!!!(always worth the 1 /1.5 hr drive)


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



richard2clint's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



richard2clint's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



bigbob1949's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great views but too slow"


tonywilding's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

5 hour round, waiting on almost every shot. It is a great layout, but fairways were not in as good shape as they were when I played there a few years ago.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great oourse, great rates, super staff."


u000003544936's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Typing this on my iPhone, so will keep it short. Challenging layout! Beautiful course as well, with several holes playing alongside Lake Russell. Can’t beat the views. Course has been ingreat shape every time I’ve played it. The course staff goes out of their way to welcome you and make you feel at home. Pro shop is well equipped. Restaurant has good food (try the chicken salad!). Locals stop at the restaurant for lunch, if that tells you anything all around great experience.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed