Largs Golf Club

4.6081666667 4.6 stars from 5 (28)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6150 yards
  • Layout

  • Irvine Road, Largs, KA30 8EU
  • +44 (0) 1475 673594
  • +44 (0) 1475 673594
  • www.largsgolfclub.co.uk

Year built: 1891
Type: Private
Style: Parkland
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
White 70 6150 yards N/A N/A
Yellow 68 5754 yards N/A N/A
Red (W) 73 5440 yards N/A N/A

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.3 stars from 5
Value: 4.8 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 28 Reviews
5 stars:
19
4 stars:
8
3 stars:
0
2 stars:
1
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

28 out of 28 reviews


loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender


4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/17/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Fantastic course"


t472179272's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

1st time playing this course and really enjoyed it cant wait to return every part of the course was spot on couldnt fault anything from start to finish i would highly recommend this course to anyone course condition was great considering the weather for the last couple of months


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



t1266824848's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Another cracker of a course"


u943109671's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/08/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Booked tgrough Golf Now for 3 of us, as course was quiet he professional let us tee off as soon as we were ready .

The weather had been very wet overnight but the course hadnt really suffered so far drier than expected.

You start with a par 3 uphill but apart from that the course tends to run across the hill rather than up and down with many holes levelling out.

The course has some very interesting holes with nicely laid out use of the natural features with a number of dog legs bringing the burn into play.

Thoroughly enjoyable course and would definitely play again in the summer.

Catering and bar service was excellent and all very reasonably priced . The mac'n'cheese portion was so filling some had to be left on the plate

Definite 4 Star experience


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"layout"


garyboy4's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/03/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

the course is not the longest in the world but can be very tricky greens were good considering time of year some very nice holes.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Largs"


t557898682's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/10/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Fantastic day as 8 off us played from low handicappers to high. Course was in great condition and very challenging. Summer tees and greens. Staff were very helpful and can't wait to play again. Highly recommend.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Winter Golf on the West Coast of Scotland"


t351856862's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The summer in this area never started this year with persistent rain resulting in many courses resembling a big. Largs though is in beautiful condition. We played a two ball here on Monday 6 November, big tee's and greens which were in great condition. I only had to take 1 preferred lie during the whole round as the course drains so well and the condition of the fairways being good. Only issue was the pace of play, we tee'd off at 11:27 and I hoped out on the 18th at 15:42 !!!. Great course though and given that it is not a links course, great condition too for this time of year.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Largs GC"


u667095517's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/01/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Friendly welcome in pro shop. Course in great condition. Very flat and would suit players of all abilities.

Unfortunately we did not have time to use clubhouse facilities.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course"


t613338768's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/01/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great looking course. First tee is a little scary when everyone just stops and watches. Hit the green so all good. Hardest greens I have ever putted on. Would play again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Carlsberg Golf shame about the women"


u209258472's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/24/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I played as part of a 3ball and unfortunately we were stuck behind a 4 ball of old women.

After waiting 20 min for them to leave the 1st hole we got started and the pace of the 1st green caught us off guard.

We tried to play slowly however we kept on catching up on the old dears and a one point we were waiting 10 min while the old woman walked to the next tee then dropped off her bag and then went to hit her shot, this became very tedious and I would expect any other 4 ball to let us play through.

The course was immaculate and the greens were hard to read and gauge the pace.

The weather was excellent and I am looking forward to my next round.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Worth a detour"


Davrob9's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 07/11/2017
First time playing Walked Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played in early July and the course was in superb condition. Whilst not long there are some interesting and tricky holes and as a 12 handicap I found it enjoyable and a reasonable challenge due to quickish greens and good bunkering. Reasonably flat and a decent pace of play, overall I would definitely lpay it again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Superb course!"


t1664812687's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/19/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Staring playing golf here when I was 7. Haven't been back for over 20 years. It still had so many features that brought back great memories. However the biggest thing was the course itself. It was immaculate and the greens were exceptional. A real credit. We played a 3 ball and were never held up or pushed from behind. Couldn't recommend a round here enough. Look forward to another visit soon. Ps great value for money too! Well worth the trip down the coast. Pps make sure you get an ice cream from Nardinis after!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Worth a visit"


t275172065's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It was great to return to Kelburn for a game of golf with my Hubble. I have played here many times before and it never fails to delight. Great layout, great condition, fantastic views- my husband is from Millport- golf mixed but we still had a great day. Will definitely be back. Great value for money. A gem of a course 'soon by the water'


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Amazing greens"


t1892026440's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/16/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Well kept corse was wet when I played and the greens were still quick well worth the money I would recommend this corse can't wait to play it in the dry.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000006311395's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/22/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



t1332108068's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/21/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Works Challenge"


Barrypots's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2017
Previously played Walked Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Sunny with a strong breeze. Pace of the greens caught everyone out. Nice easy start but became more difficult across the road. Lots of variation with challenging tee shots if you have a bad fade or slice. Very enjoyable, would play there again. Tired on completion but well satisfied.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Top class greens"


t2077011044's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/02/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had an excellent round in the May sunshine on a terrific course with a tricky layout. Greens, for time of year are superb, slick and very undulating. Would not hesitate to recommend Largs golf club for a great visit.

Denis


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Day"


Alan2007982's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/30/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

For this early in the season the course was in great condition, the staff very friendly and helpful. Thoroughly enjoyed the visit.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed