Lost Marsh Golf Course

Golf Advisor Icon
Ratings Index
Tooltip Information Icon
4.3
183
5 Stars
74
4 Stars
82
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
6
1 Stars
3
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.2
Layout
4.4
Friendliness
4.5
Pace
3.8
Amenities
4.4
94.4%
Recommend this course
163 out of 183 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.4
29
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.2
Layout
4.5
Pace
3.9
Amenities
4.4
StaffFriendliness
4.6
100.0%
Recommend this course
29 out of 29 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
4.4
33
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.3
Value
4.2
Layout
4.5
Pace
3.8
Amenities
4.4
StaffFriendliness
4.5
100.0%
Recommend this course
33 out of 33 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Par 72
Length 6803
Slope 132
Rating 73.6
Type Public
Book a Tee Time at
Lost Marsh Golf Course
Powered by GolfNow.com
Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Tournament 72 6803 yards 73.6 132
Championship 72 6370 yards 71.6 127
Player 72 5859 yards 69.2 122
Player (W) 72 5859 yards 74.2 127
Regular (W) 72 4972 yards 69.3 117
Scorecard for Lost Marsh Golf Course
Metrics:
Hole 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 In Total
Tournament M: 73.6/132 340 189 474 510 266 402 497 180 445 3303 554 171 386 393 507 404 404 212 469 3500 6803
Championship M: 71.6/127 330 177 430 476 266 397 460 150 420 3106 527 161 369 383 445 398 330 202 449 3264 6370
Player M: 69.2/122 312 150 430 454 240 295 437 127 400 2845 498 150 357 365 417 357 325 138 407 3014 5859
Regular W: 69.3/117 245 125 292 345 200 275 420 108 380 2390 467 134 331 277 360 311 269 111 322 2582 4972
Handicap 13 15 1 3 11 7 9 17 5 2 18 12 10 8 6 16 14 4
Par 4 3 4 5 4 4 5 3 4 36 5 3 4 4 5 4 4 3 4 36 72

Course Details

Year Built 2004
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs No

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Teaching Pro Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed No walkers on weekends until 1pm.
Dress code Proper golf attire is required at all times. No tee shirts, tank tops, jerseys or denim.

Reviews

4.3
183

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
19th Hole Scenic Views 14
Drinks 14
Patio Dining 11
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 35
Forced Carries 21
Thick Rough 19
This course/club is great for:
Advanced Golfers 24
Locals 19
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 15
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 29
Worth the Drive 26

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Lost Marsh Golf Course on 11/01/2018:
Hi griffins18, thanks for the great review! Book another round with us soon.
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser

Excellent, very friendly staff. Challenging but fai r course.

Only knock is Mother Nature and the crazy wind gusts today.

Felt like playing in the British Open!!!!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Lost Marsh Golf Course on 10/08/2018:
Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon, hopefully on a better weather day! Thanks for playing #LostMarshGolfCourse.
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Lost Marsh Golf Course on 10/05/2018:
Hello, thanks for the 5-star review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Lost Marsh Golf Course!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Lost Marsh Golf Course on 10/01/2018:
Hi Eric, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate the kind comments about your round and hope to see you again for another one soon. Thanks for playing Lost Marsh Golf Course!
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Fair
Pace Average
Amenities Good
Response from Lost Marsh Golf Course on 09/24/2018:
Hello, thanks for the great review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Lost Marsh Golf Course!
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Average
Value Fair
Layout Fair
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Fair
Response from Lost Marsh Golf Course on 09/19/2018:
Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to to hear your round with us was anything short of 5-stars. We hope this doesn't deter you from returning for another round soon. Thanks for playing!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Difficult Course

wish the course was flipped so the water holes were on the back nine...

Fairways were wet so drives would plug....

Very windy day made some holes long...

Pin placements on many holes were on slopes or mounds...

Prior knowledge of where you should land your shots is very helpful.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Lost Marsh Golf Course on 09/04/2018:
Hello, we appreciate the 5-star review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round with us and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Lost Marsh Golf Course!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Lost Ball not Lost Marsh

Course was wet, very windy.....tough conditions....

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Lost Marsh Golf Course on 09/04/2018:
Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear the conditions of the course weren't up to par during your round. We hope this doesn't deter you from returning for another round soon. Thanks for playing Lost Marsh Golf Course.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Great Course, Horrible Pace

2nd time playing this course in the last month. First time out we got caught up in slow play on the back 9 and ended up leaving.

Hoping it was just a coincidence, we decided to give it another shot. We started with no groups in front of us for 2 holes and no group teeing off behind for another time slot. We caught up to the group in front and waited 10 minutes on every single shot for the rest of the round. There were 6 groups on top of each other for the entire back 9. We only saw the ranger once the entire day who didn’t seem to do anything to speed up the slow groups in front, only said “Saturday’s and Sunday’s are busy”

It was not nearly busy enough for the pace to be as poorly as it was. It’s a terrific course with a fun, challenging layout but the pace is unbearable. Unfortunately won’t be back

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Good
Response from Lost Marsh Golf Course on 08/20/2018:
Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback about your round and are sorry to hear the pace of play wasn't up par during your round. We hope you consider returning for another round at a time when the course isn't so busy. Thanks for playing!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Lost Marsh Golf Course on 08/20/2018:
Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing #LostMarshGolfCourse!
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Lost Marsh Golf Course on 08/14/2018:
Hello, thanks for the great review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round with us and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Lost Marsh!
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great layout good condition

Great combination of long and short holes offering challenging shots

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Average
Amenities Average
Response from Lost Marsh Golf Course on 08/07/2018:
Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback about your round and hope to see you again for another round soon! Thanks for playing #LostMarshGolfCourse.
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

SLOW CITY

Great layout and pretty good conditions. The struggle was pace, we were a 2some in-between 4,3 and behind them was a 2some. Their new gps system said 35 MINUTES BEHIND PACE!!!! Rarley saw a player assistant try and move people.

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Poor
Amenities Average
Response from Lost Marsh Golf Course on 08/07/2018:
Hi Kyle, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear the pace of play wasn't up to par during your round. We hope this doesn't deter you from returning for another round with us soon. Thanks for playing!
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Challenging course with poorly maintained greens

Lost Marsh starts with 6 difficult holes requiring very accurate shot making over water and marsh hazards. The remaining 12 holes are a bit easier, but many require drives or second shots over hazards. The fairways are in very good shape, but the greens are covered with ball marks and other imperfections that change the roll of good putts. Pace of play was fine at 4-1/4 hours. The GPS systems on the carts are very nice.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Lost Marsh Golf Course on 08/07/2018:
Hello, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us another review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round with us and hope to see you again for another one soon. Thanks for playing #LostMarshGolfCourse!
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Lost Marsh Golf Course on 08/01/2018:
Hello, thanks for the 5-star review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing #LostMarshGolfCourse.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Challenging course that is fun to play

The first 5 holes at Lost Marsh require accurate shots. Unless you are a really big hitter you’ll have to play target golf with layups to each section of the course between hazards. The water plays a dominant role in your strategy in playing these holes. The rest of the course has fewer water hazards, but there are many carries required over marshland grasses. The fairways are in good shape, but the greens have many ball marks and rough spots.In some cases the ball marks affect playability. We enjoyed seeing three deer grazing on the course.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Lost Marsh Golf Course on 08/06/2018:
Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback about your round and are happy to hear you enjoyed the layout! We hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing #LostMarshGolfCourse!
Played On
Handicap 15-19
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Wet weather
Used cart

wet/wild - great course

We played lost marsh on a golf trip in mid July - it was 65deg, pouring rain and 25MPH winds for the first 10-12 holes. I would recommend this course for anyone playing - the weather made the signature first 4-5 holes, extremely challenging and would kill to play them again in perfect weather but that doesn't take away from the course itself. The course was in perfect shape given the circumstances. Front desk staff wasn't too helpful in any details about our round but the 2-3 rangers we ran into during the round made the staff elite - great guys! Wish I could return to this golf when it's 80 and sunny and not lose 4 balls on first 5 holes - but I still think any level golfer in the area needs to give it a try!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Response from Lost Marsh Golf Course on 07/30/2018:
Hello, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback about your round and hope to see you again for another one soon! Thanks for playing #LostMarshGolfCourse!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Perfect weather
Used cart
Conditions Excellent
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Response from Lost Marsh Golf Course on 07/17/2018:
Hi williamse, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your round with us and hope to see you again for another round soon. Thanks for playing Lost Marsh Golf Course!
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Illinois Advisor
Top 10 Contributor
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

HORRIBLE PACE ON WEEKEND MORNING

Lost Marsh is in nice shape and well maintained. Driving Range, locker room showers and restaurant on the 2nd floor of the clubhouse. Proper nurse service and water jugs on course. Greens had good speed were holding but had to repair a lot of ball marks. Traps surprisingly were maintained to some decency.

Paying top dollar to tee off at 9am on Sunday morning you'd anticipate to complete your round in well under 5 hours. Wasn't the case. Waited on virtually every tee and every shot. A completely unacceptable 5 plus hour round. Downgrading by 1 1/2 stars....pace of play has always been an issue every time I've played here and regardless of when I've played it. I've experienced afternoon rounds here just short of SIX HOURS. Lots of water and trouble everywhere on the 1st 5 holes if you're not a decent player. I really like and enjoy the design of this track but I'm sick and tired of not being able to just play the course - easy to lose interest standing around watching others spray balls into the water/woods and marshes. Reluctantly recommend.....try playing early on a weekday or not at all. Cost also can be an issue. $40 value at most...3.5 stars all due to pace of play.

Conditions Good
Value Fair
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Poor
Amenities Excellent
Response from Lost Marsh Golf Course on 07/13/2018:
Hello. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars. We hope you'll give us another try in the near future.
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Greens need work

I play here at least 8-10 rounds a year and the greens are starting to look bad here. Too many golfers playing here are not being mindful of fixing their own ball marks or any at all. As a rule of thumb, I am always mindful and fix any ball marks within a 5ft radius of where my mark is. I wish more golfers at Lost Marsh would practice this. Course is very challenging nonetheless and in overall pretty good shape. Was disappointed to pay $63 given the green conditions.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Response from Lost Marsh Golf Course on 07/11/2018:
Hello, John. We appreciate your 4-star rating and review. We are sorry to see that your overall experience was anything short of 5 stars, but we hope you join us for another round soon.
Nearby Courses
Hammond, Indiana
4.3162352941
183
Riverdale, Illinois
2.8776941176
49
Blue Island, Illinois
3.5956941176
153
Alsip, Illinois
3.7464705882
22

Stay & Play Offers

$339 Starting price
Valid dates: Nov 08, 2018 - Dec 20, 2018
Enjoy four rounds of golf at either of Ka’anapali’s championship courses and a beautiful Ocean View room with a five (5) or more night stay at the Royal Lahaina Resort.
Course Layout
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE