Rams Hill Golf Club

4.8892235294 4.9 stars from 5 (173)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7247 yards
  • Slope: 141
  • Rating: 75.1
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7247 yards 75.1 141
Gold 72 6856 yards 73.3 137
Blue 72 6394 yards 71.0 131
White (W) 72 5842 yards 73.9 130
White 72 5842 yards 68.3 125
Red 72 5064 yards 69.5 119

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.9 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.7 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.6 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.9 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.9 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 173 Reviews
5 stars:
160
4 stars:
9
3 stars:
2
2 stars:
2
1 stars:
0

recommend this course

170 out of 173 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive at a resort   Great for wildlife/ scenic views a bucket list/top 100 pick a weekend splurge   Challenges include bunkers undulating greens water hazards   Great for drinks patio dining 19th hole scenic views  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Hidden Gem"


golfetteputter's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/16/2016
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Absolutely beautiful hidden gem only 1 1/2 drive away from Rancho Mirage. The course is in empeccable condition from t to green. The greens are hard, fast with many unseen undulations. The greens are surrounded with sand traps, water etc which makes for challenging approach shots. The fairways allow ample landing, but be careful of all the fairway bunkers that are strategically placed. The course is very challenging but yet very friendly if you play off the proper tees. The best part of the course was the beauty, peacefulness, and the scenery that allowed for an enjoyable game. Will definitely be back to challenge Rams Hill or visa versa.

Must play!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great course layout"


steves2099's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/16/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

One of the best courses in southern Ca., if not the best, considering their green fees.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Awesome"


u000001057316's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/11/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great layout. Great conditions. Fast greens 11.5 on the stimp. Don't be above the hole! This course is as good as it gets. You won't be disappointed. We booked for 11am on golfnow but the course called and changed us to 11:40. When we checked in, the guys behind the counter in the pro shop didn't make us feel welcomed. We wondered if it was because we booked through golfnow? The only part of the experience that could have been better.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/14/2017

Thank you u000001057316 for the five star review and feedback regarding your course experience! We hope to see you again at Rams Hill again this season!


"Perfect"


Ryan1280996's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/10/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

amazing look just like the pictures would definitely recommend anyone I'm trying to go once a month from San Diego


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A must play for any golfer"


mjbeck72's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/10/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

One of the best and most fun courses to play in Southern California. There's not a bad hole on this golf course and it has something for everyone. Conditions are superb and staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We come to Rams Hill once a year with a group of 12 players and play for 2 days and always have such a blast. We rented two homes on the golf course which worked out perfectly for our group. Looking forward to doing it again next year and many more to come.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/14/2017

Thank you mjbeck72 for making the drive from San Diego to tee off at Rams Hill! We appreciate the five star review and feedback from your course experience. Hope to see you and your group again soon this season.


"Great Experience"


Carol238's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/08/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

We really enjoy Fazio courses and this one did not diassapoint! The course was in excellent shape. The views phenomenal. The staff very friendly.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Best course in So Cal"


Samtheman852's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/05/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Not a single complaint about this course. Everything was top notch staff was amazing. Jasper and Mike in the pro shop were very helpful and knowledgeable. I will be recommending this course to a lot of San Diego golfers. You'd have to go to Palm springs to find a course in this good of condition usually so save yourself 2 hours of driving and go to Rams Hill.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/12/2017

Thank you Samtheman852 for the wonderful five star review! We hope to see you again this season at Rams Hill!


"Extremely Windy....."


varadarajansriram's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/03/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

The course is in immaculate shape, hats off to the greenskeeper for taking such good care, every course in San Diego could benefit from the skill possessed by these guys.

Suggestion, do not play this course in the afternoon, the wind makes it practically impossible to play. Pay the extra few dollars and play early morning, do not be fooled by the $80 afternoon rate. overall, like many have said there isn't a course in San Diego that can match the condition/stunning views this course has.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/06/2017

Thank you varadarajansriram for the review and feedback from your recent visit at Rams Hill. We hope the wind doesn't keep you away from playing the course this season. Hope to see you hit the greens with us again!


"GREAT COURSE!!"


mmcneill's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/01/2017
First time playing Used cart

Reviewed on

Staff extremely friendly - course is in fabulous condition. No. 18 is one of the prettiest holes I have ever played. This course is a treat - wouldn't hesitate to make the 1 hr+ drive again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/05/2017

Thank you mmcneill for the five star review! We are happy to hear you had a great time at the course! See you again this season.


"Great course"


Schoneberg's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Rams Hill is an absolute treat to play. The greens are fabulous, the course layout is interesting and is in awesome condition. The staff could not be more helpful and pleasant.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/05/2017

Thank you Schoneberg for the five star review! We are happy to hear your course experience with the greens and staff met your expectations.Hope to see you again this season.


"Rams Hill Golf Course"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/27/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very good design. Outstanding course conditions. Wind blew up to 45 mph but it didn’t take away from the day. 18 into the wind is a big boy hole, pull your pants up and buckle up. Would play again without reservation.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/05/2017

Thank you u000005783106 for the five star review. We are happy to hear the windy conditions didn't take away from your course experience. Hope to see you again soon!


"Great course"


alanforgolfing's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/26/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Worth the drive - we stayed for a few nights at the Casa del Zorro Hotel: the best way to enjoy the golf courses in Borrego Springs. It's just a pity that these great new courses are designed by architects that are NOT INTERESTED in creating a course that is walkable - too far green to tee.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 12/05/2017

Thank you alanforgolfing for the five star review and feedback. We hope to see you again soon at Rams Hill this season.


"Well worth the drive"


hacksalot03's avatar
Top 50 Contributor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/25/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Course has come out of the summer in great shape. Was able to pick up a Hot Deal which made it a good value. Pace of play was good in the front, little slow on back, but finished in 4:10. Well worth the drive and would absolutely play again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/27/2017

Thank you hacksalot03 for the five star review! We are glad you enjoyed your holiday weekend at Rams Hill! Come back and tee off with us again this season.


"Beautiful Course"


bubba727's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/24/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Loved the course. Pretty and fair. Just too slow. 5 hours. The staff was wonderful but it was really slow. If you are a resort golfer you will love it. I've played them all and it clearly is NOT the third best course in California. K


Pace of Play: Poor

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/27/2017

Thank you bubba727 for the feedback regarding your recent visit. We hope to see you again soon and tee off at Rams Hill with a fresh perspective.




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/22/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/27/2017

Thank you coolm365 for the five star rating!


"Absolutely Stunning"


Michaelmatranga's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/21/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

When you drive though the gates of the facility the beauty starts right away! Everything about Rams Hill is stunning, the view, the clubhouse, and especially the course. Most definitely is a course I’d Play again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/27/2017

Thank you Michaelmatranga for the five star rating and review from your recent visit with us! See you again soon this season!


"Always an experience"


LifeofStylin's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/21/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Rams Hill is worth the drive no matter where you’re coming from! This course is always in spectacular condition and yesterday was just another day! I love this layout, it brings every club out of your bag and you have the confidence to hit every shot because no matter where you are, the lie is going to be pristine. I love how you can be creative with the greens, no matter where the pin is you can work the ball in and use the slopes and really play some cool golf shots! I would play this course everyday and almost feel like I’m plahing a different course because of the slopes and different ways to play it off the tee! Thanks again Rams Hill for an amazing day of golf!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/27/2017

Thank you LifeofStylin for the five star review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at the course and hope to see you on the greens again this season.


"Great course, great ammenities, great staff!!"


teambiggreen's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/19/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

What a beautiful, picturesque course. Was in fantastic shape. I had played this course several years prior and it was everything I remembered it to be. Pace of play was good, lunch afterwards was great and the staff were so friendly and helpful.

Oh and I left my phone in the cart and they sent it to me the next day. (Thank you again for that).

Will definitely be back next year. Play this course, you won't regret or forget it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Rams Hill Never Disappoints!"


DanChelius's avatar
Age:  Under 25
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/19/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Back for a second time and I almost forgot how much of a treat this golfing experience is. Absolutely gorgeous landscape with the desert mountains as a continuous backdrop. Completely lush and green from the rough to the fairways and greens. Not a single burnout spot to be found. Greens very rolling pure and smooth at about 11 on the stimp. There was some waiting on a few tee boxes but the pace of play was still kept to under 4:30. Jasper was very nice and friendly at the pro shop check-in. Driving range was in just as good shape as the course, stocked with ProV1's. Definitely worth the short 2 hour drive from San Diego. Hope to be back again soon!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Commented on 11/27/2017

Thank you DanChelius for the five star review and sharing the great pictures with us. We are pleased to see you had an awesome time at Rams Hill. Come back and tee off again this season.


"Simply Amazing!!!!!"


tcroom's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/18/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I played this 72 holes this past weekend here at Rams Hill for a friends 40th birthday (18 Friday, 36 Saturday and another 18 on Sunday) and couldn't be any happier.

First off the staff is extremely inviting, friendly, and accommodating to all your needs. Secondly, the practice facilities are the best in Southern California with multiple chipping greens, ProV1 range balls, and large putting greens to help anyone warm-up and practice properly. Lastly, there aren't enough words to describe the immaculent conditions that this course was in. There wasn't a blade of grass out of place, and the Fazio design allows for a very fun day. The pace of play was exactly 4 hours each day too! We played 72 holes and with varying winds and changing up tee boxes throughout the weekend, it allowed for a rewarding trip and I'll come back to this place in a heart beat.

If you are in San Diego County and want to play the best course around, then make the trip out to Rams Hill! P.S. Way better than Torrey Pines and cheaper if you're not a resident. Thanks Mike and Renee for a great weekend!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/21/2017

Thank you tcroom for the five star review! We are pleased to hear that our staff was welcoming and the course conditions met your expectations. Come back and tee off with us again soon!


"Fun but slow"


u803389743's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/17/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is unbelievable but pace of play was really slow. We teed off at 12 and finished at 515 or so. The last two holes we struggled to see the ball. We also got unlucky with insane wind conditions. At least 30-40 mph winds made the play insane. The director compensated the slow play with drink vouchers which was nice. Overall love this course would come back definitely.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


Commented on 11/21/2017

Thank you u803389743 for the five star review! We are pleased hear your time at Rams Hill was great even though weather conditions got in the way. Come back and tee off with us again soon!



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed