Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.9
362 Reviews (362)
5 Stars
326
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.9
Value
4.6
Layout
4.9
Friendliness
4.9
Pace
4.7
Amenities
4.6
98.3%
Recommend this course
356 out of 362 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.8
12 Reviews (12)
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.8
Value
4.3
Layout
4.8
Pace
4.6
Amenities
3.9
StaffFriendliness
4.8
100.0%
Recommend this course
12 out of 12 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.9
49 Reviews (49)
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.8
Value
4.6
Layout
4.9
Pace
4.6
Amenities
4.6
StaffFriendliness
4.9
98.0%
Recommend this course
48 out of 49 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private/Resort
Par 72
Length 7232 yards
Slope 141
Rating 75.4
Book a Tee Time at
Rams Hill Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1983
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Ted Robinson, Sr. (1983) Tom Fazio (2007) Dennis Wise (2007) Jackson Kahn Design (2013)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf Simulator Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Indoor Practice Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Food & Beverage

Beverage Carts

Available Facilities

Clubhouse, Banquet Facilities

Accolades

Reviews

4.9
362 Reviews (362)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 40
Patio Dining 39
19th Hole Scenic Views 35
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 49
Undulating Greens 42
Water Hazards 36
This course/club is great for:
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 43
A Bucket list/Top 100 Pick 36
A Weekend Splurge 33
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 51
At a Resort 11

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Reviewer Photos

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 8
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

If You Love Golf, This Is Your Heaven

I've had this course on my bucket list for a few years, and when the opportunity came to play it, I was excited. My expectations were through the roof, so my biggest fear is that those expectations would not be met.
Well, I should have not worried about that. It EXCEEDED my lofty expectations.
From the professionalism and friendliness at the bag drop, to the ProV1's at the driving range, to the perfectly maintained course, and to no holes feeling like I had already played it, this place was amazing.
If you are looking for a place to take your buddies to for a trip, this would be a great place to go.

Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 02/25/2020

Thanks for the nice review. We are very proud of Rams Hill. We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Walked

AMAZING COURSE!!!

My name is Brad Newell, Owner of Kings Links by the Sea golf course in Vancouver, British Columbia. I recently had the opportunity to visit Rams Hill Golf Course where I played 6 rounds and have to say I was immensely impressed! I have played at some of the top courses around the world and I would rate this course as one of the best I’ve experienced. The layout of Rams Hill is truly amazing with 4 sets of tees (and I played from all of them). The greens are eleven on the stimp meter and one of the best things is that anyone can play there and won’t lose many balls. The staff is all very welcoming and friendly – top notch! Bob, the head pro, along with Rene and Jasper are some of the nicest guys you will ever meet. We dined at their restaurant which is really well priced and the food is excellent. Ashley served us multiple times; she has a great sense of humor and had a way of making you feel at home. I would strongly recommend that you don’t hesitate on visiting this gem!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 02/25/2020

Brad, thanks for the nice review. We are very proud of Rams Hill. I appreciate your kind words about the course and staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Beautiful Scenery and Course

We love to golf here. Its a nice course with friendly staff.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 02/25/2020

Thanks for the nice review. We are very proud of Rams Hill. We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Awesome day

The starter let us out early. The front desk person was happy and friendly.. The restaurant staff were extremely friendly. The course was in excellent shape and the greens were fast as lightning..I will be back.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 02/25/2020

Thanks for the nice review. We are very proud of Rams Hill. We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Awesome Course and Club

A couple friends and I drove out from the OC for my birthday. We found a great deal. We were one of maybe 7 groups on the course! We had no one ahead or behind! The staff was friendly and helpful! The course was in great condition, and it was appealing to the eyes. You felt like you could just unload on the ball the whole time. I highly recommend this course if you are in the area or near San Diego. I left my 60 degree on the 18th, and they are going to mail it to me!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 02/25/2020

Thanks for the nice review. We are very proud of Rams Hill. We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Great condition!

The course is in good condition, challenging! especially putting . Staffs were friendly from the bag drop to restaurant.
We played around 4 hours with a lot of waiting, this course not for beginner and high handicaps.
It was a long drive from palm spring but overall it a great course!

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 02/25/2020

Thanks for the nice review. We are very proud of Rams Hill. We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
4.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Nice course Bad business

Booked 4some online. Morning of round one player cancelled for illness. Told pro shop we were a 3some,on arrival and was told "no problem". Nine days later a charge for $105 appears on my credit card for Golfnow. I was concerned someone stole my credit card info, so cancelled card. Later discovered that Rams Hill billed me for a "no show", nine days after the fact. Called pro shop and was told sorry, that's our policy. Course was empty the day we played, now I see why. I won't be back.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Worth the Drive

It is a 1:10 drive from my house in La Quinta. What a beautiful course. The fairways are wide and lush. The bent grass greens are in fabulous shape. The staff were all amazing. I had lunch after my round and the food was really good. I highly recommend taking a drive out there and playing this course..

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 02/25/2020

Thanks for the nice review. We are very proud of Rams Hill. We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 3
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Bucket List Course

This was a top 5 course for me for sure. Perfect conditions, fun layout, and amazing views. Doesn’t get much better. Too bad they’ll be closed for the summer.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 18
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 05/12/2020

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, Lijunbj! We're delighted that you enjoyed your round with us. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Rams Hill Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 05/04/2020

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Rams Hill Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 11
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Phenomenal

I played right after course opened up from Covid shut down. Aside from having to walk the lengthy course on a very hot day (no carts for safety), the round was phenomenal. The staff could not have been more friendly or accommodating, regularly driving around to deliver cold water bottles to players. The course itself is FUN and conditioned to excellence. Perfect grass, great greens, beautiful setting.

I’ll be back. Thanks for the great round Rams Hill.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 05/04/2020

Wow, we are so happy you enjoyed your round with us Chase! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Place is immaculate!!

Place is plushhhhh!!! Greens rolling pure, fairways in great shape, everything was great! Beautiful track, will definitely be back!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 03/23/2020

We appreciate you leaving a review and rating us 5 stars. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the pristine course conditions. We work hard to provide an exceptional experience, and it's very satisfying to hear from golfers like you who appreciate our efforts. We will inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back Rams Hill Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 13
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Worth the trip!

I'm currently on a bucket list tour for the next 10 years. I've hit Whistling Straits Erin Hills, Bandon Dunes and have played Pebble Beach and am looking forward to St Andrews in June. Having said that, playing Rams Hill was spectacular . This course makes my top 10. It may not be on the Golf Digest top 10 but it is a gem. If they add another nine or 18 plus cottages, I wouldn't leave. Championship layout. Plush conditions. Greens are 11 on the meter. Par threes are too tough. Although nine is awesome. Golf shop pro is great as well as Rene and Jose. Don't fret the journey in as the grounds will prove to be beautiful. Thanks for the bag tag. Big Swede.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Hidden gem

Spectacular & fun course in perfect condition in the middle of the desert, not close to any other towns. Bunker shaping is Instagram worthy. Met a member catching trout on a fly rod on #18. Great deck/ patio & food too. Very uncrowned in January. A perfect definition of hidden gem.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 33
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Just go and golf it!

There are not fitting words for how happy this place makes me, every detail, service, practice, sand, fairways, greens and carts has been so perfectly thought out. I do not like golfing the same place all the time but this place could be the one. Just go and golf it, you will want to go back!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Best course in Borrego

This course is incredible, no matter where you are on the course you get a million dollar view. Greens are the best in town. Course is very challenging but a lot of fun. If you’re in southern California I highly recommend taking a drive out here to see this beauty!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 73
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
California Advisor
Top 250 Contributor
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart

Christmas Eve Miracle

My Dad and I ventured over from La Quinta on Xmas Eve and pretty much had the course to ourselves. What a great Day

- Accommodating and friendly proshop, restaurant and outside services staff
- Felt like a private club
- Titleist ProV1s on the driving range
- Course was in awesome shape despite being quite wet from an overnight storm.
- Really, really fun layout with a variety of strategic options to explore.

It will be interesting to see how they decide to develop lodging in the area. I will be back!

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

My favorite course in SoCal

Took an impromptu boys trip to Borrego Springs to play 36 holes at Rams Hill and it was a great time. It was very windy both days but the course was in terrific shape so it's hard to complain. On almost every hole the sights are gorgeous and unique. We played 18 on Saturday and 18 on Sunday. Bob and Jasper in the pro-shop were very friendly and helped us out with everything we needed. Larry (I think the starter) was incredible too. We arrived a little late to the course so he told us to order food and then tee off. Larry brought our food out to us on the 1st hole, first class service. Can't wait to go back.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Nearby Courses
Borrego Springs, California
Semi-Private
0.0
0
Borrego Springs, California
Public
4.1666666667
2
Borrego Springs, California
Private
4.3333
21
Warner Springs, California
Resort
3.0104705882
97

Stay & Play Offers

From $325
Valid dates: Feb 28, 2020 - Oct 31, 2020
UNLIMITED rounds of golf over three days, and two nights lodging in one of our 4-bedroom Stay & Play luxury townhomes, including access to fine dining for dinner at Champs and Rockers.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE