Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
4.9
359 Reviews (359)
5 Stars
323
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.8
Value
4.7
Layout
4.9
Friendliness
4.9
Pace
4.7
Amenities
4.7
98.3%
Recommend this course
353 out of 359 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.9
41 Reviews (41)
5 Stars
37
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.8
Value
4.6
Layout
4.9
Pace
4.6
Amenities
4.7
StaffFriendliness
4.9
97.6%
Recommend this course
40 out of 41 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
4.9
51 Reviews (51)
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Stars
0
Conditions
4.9
Value
4.7
Layout
4.9
Pace
4.7
Amenities
4.7
StaffFriendliness
4.9
98.0%
Recommend this course
50 out of 51 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Semi-Private/Resort
Par 72
Length 7232 yards
Slope 141
Rating 75.4
Book a Tee Time at
Rams Hill Golf Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1983
Fairways Bermuda Grass
Greens Bent Grass
Golf Season Year round
Architect Ted Robinson, Sr. (1983) Tom Fazio (2007) Dennis Wise (2007) Jackson Kahn Design (2013)

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes
Pull-carts Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Golf Simulator Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Indoor Practice Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Credit Cards Accepted VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed
Metal Spikes Allowed No
Walking Allowed Yes

Accolades

Reviews

4.9
359 Reviews (359)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 40
Patio Dining 39
19th Hole Scenic Views 35
Course Challenges Include:
Bunkers 49
Undulating Greens 42
Water Hazards 36
This course/club is great for:
Wildlife/ Scenic Views 43
A Bucket list/Top 100 Pick 36
A Weekend Splurge 33
This Course's Location is:
Worth the Drive 51
At a Resort 11

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Reviewer Photos

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Beautiful Scenery and Course

We love to golf here. Its a nice course with friendly staff.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 02/25/2020

Thanks for the nice review. We are very proud of Rams Hill. We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Awesome day

The starter let us out early. The front desk person was happy and friendly.. The restaurant staff were extremely friendly. The course was in excellent shape and the greens were fast as lightning..I will be back.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 02/25/2020

Thanks for the nice review. We are very proud of Rams Hill. We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Awesome Course and Club

A couple friends and I drove out from the OC for my birthday. We found a great deal. We were one of maybe 7 groups on the course! We had no one ahead or behind! The staff was friendly and helpful! The course was in great condition, and it was appealing to the eyes. You felt like you could just unload on the ball the whole time. I highly recommend this course if you are in the area or near San Diego. I left my 60 degree on the 18th, and they are going to mail it to me!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Default User Image
Commented on 02/25/2020

Thanks for the nice review. We are very proud of Rams Hill. We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Great condition!

The course is in good condition, challenging! especially putting . Staffs were friendly from the bag drop to restaurant.
We played around 4 hours with a lot of waiting, this course not for beginner and high handicaps.
It was a long drive from palm spring but overall it a great course!

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Average
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 02/25/2020

Thanks for the nice review. We are very proud of Rams Hill. We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
4.0
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Nice course Bad business

Booked 4some online. Morning of round one player cancelled for illness. Told pro shop we were a 3some,on arrival and was told "no problem". Nine days later a charge for $105 appears on my credit card for Golfnow. I was concerned someone stole my credit card info, so cancelled card. Later discovered that Rams Hill billed me for a "no show", nine days after the fact. Called pro shop and was told sorry, that's our policy. Course was empty the day we played, now I see why. I won't be back.

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Worth the Drive

It is a 1:10 drive from my house in La Quinta. What a beautiful course. The fairways are wide and lush. The bent grass greens are in fabulous shape. The staff were all amazing. I had lunch after my round and the food was really good. I highly recommend taking a drive out there and playing this course..

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 02/25/2020

Thanks for the nice review. We are very proud of Rams Hill. We hope to see you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 6
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 05/12/2020

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating, Lijunbj! We're delighted that you enjoyed your round with us. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Rams Hill Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 4
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 05/04/2020

Hello and thank you for your 5-star rating! We're delighted you enjoyed your round. Please book another round with us soon, and thanks for choosing Rams Hill Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 11
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Phenomenal

I played right after course opened up from Covid shut down. Aside from having to walk the lengthy course on a very hot day (no carts for safety), the round was phenomenal. The staff could not have been more friendly or accommodating, regularly driving around to deliver cold water bottles to players. The course itself is FUN and conditioned to excellence. Perfect grass, great greens, beautiful setting.

I’ll be back. Thanks for the great round Rams Hill.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 05/04/2020

Wow, we are so happy you enjoyed your round with us Chase! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Place is immaculate!!

Place is plushhhhh!!! Greens rolling pure, fairways in great shape, everything was great! Beautiful track, will definitely be back!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 03/23/2020

We appreciate you leaving a review and rating us 5 stars. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the pristine course conditions. We work hard to provide an exceptional experience, and it's very satisfying to hear from golfers like you who appreciate our efforts. We will inform the entire team, so they know their hard work is paying off. We look forward to having you back Rams Hill Golf Club!

Played On
Reviews 11
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Worth the trip!

I'm currently on a bucket list tour for the next 10 years. I've hit Whistling Straits Erin Hills, Bandon Dunes and have played Pebble Beach and am looking forward to St Andrews in June. Having said that, playing Rams Hill was spectacular . This course makes my top 10. It may not be on the Golf Digest top 10 but it is a gem. If they add another nine or 18 plus cottages, I wouldn't leave. Championship layout. Plush conditions. Greens are 11 on the meter. Par threes are too tough. Although nine is awesome. Golf shop pro is great as well as Rene and Jose. Don't fret the journey in as the grounds will prove to be beautiful. Thanks for the bag tag. Big Swede.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 3
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Hidden gem

Spectacular & fun course in perfect condition in the middle of the desert, not close to any other towns. Bunker shaping is Instagram worthy. Met a member catching trout on a fly rod on #18. Great deck/ patio & food too. Very uncrowned in January. A perfect definition of hidden gem.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 30
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

Just go and golf it!

There are not fitting words for how happy this place makes me, every detail, service, practice, sand, fairways, greens and carts has been so perfectly thought out. I do not like golfing the same place all the time but this place could be the one. Just go and golf it, you will want to go back!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Best course in Borrego

This course is incredible, no matter where you are on the course you get a million dollar view. Greens are the best in town. Course is very challenging but a lot of fun. If you’re in southern California I highly recommend taking a drive out here to see this beauty!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 1
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing
Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Played On
Reviews 73
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
California Advisor
Top 250 Contributor
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart

Christmas Eve Miracle

My Dad and I ventured over from La Quinta on Xmas Eve and pretty much had the course to ourselves. What a great Day

- Accommodating and friendly proshop, restaurant and outside services staff
- Felt like a private club
- Titleist ProV1s on the driving range
- Course was in awesome shape despite being quite wet from an overnight storm.
- Really, really fun layout with a variety of strategic options to explore.

It will be interesting to see how they decide to develop lodging in the area. I will be back!

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

My favorite course in SoCal

Took an impromptu boys trip to Borrego Springs to play 36 holes at Rams Hill and it was a great time. It was very windy both days but the course was in terrific shape so it's hard to complain. On almost every hole the sights are gorgeous and unique. We played 18 on Saturday and 18 on Sunday. Bob and Jasper in the pro-shop were very friendly and helped us out with everything we needed. Larry (I think the starter) was incredible too. We arrived a little late to the course so he told us to order food and then tee off. Larry brought our food out to us on the 1st hole, first class service. Can't wait to go back.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 1
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
Incentivized Review
5.0
First Time Playing
Windy weather
Used cart

Rams Hill is a priceless piece of property. I would pay double what they charge and let my firstborn child frolic on the fairways and my grandmother graze on the greens of this golf course paradise. A slice of heaven even if you hit a hook. Don't waste anymore time and get down to Rams Hill now!

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 735
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
Incentivized Review
5.0
Top 1 Contributor
California Advisor
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Rams Hill

Rode the Blues (6369/70.9/131) with Dave, Greg and Brian in the GK Plays in 4H, 55M. Overcast and very windy in the 50's made for challenging golf weather. Thanks to John and everyone responsible for a well run event. Tom Fazio design, really like the course layout, Many holes have visually intimidating sight lines with 97 well placed traps and a decent amount of water. I understand the high slope rating. They have added combo tees, so plenty of tee options for players of all skill levels. The course is fair, not overly tight and an excellent test of golf. The tees were lush and very well maintained. Large, level with few divots, near immaculate. The fairways were lush with few divots. A couple of discolored areas but still excellent overall. The rough was also very lush. Thick and long enough to make longer clubs a chancy play. Get outside the maintained rough and the native rough is a likely lost ball. The sand traps were nicely maintained with thick, good quality sand. Almost too thick @ times. However, for a public course in a windy area with close to 100 total on this course, hard to see any course allowing daily fee players to do better. The greens were firm, smooth, medium fast and rolled well. Lots of ball marks fellow players! Definitely not as pristine as prior visits, but still very good overall. The customer service has always been excellent here. Little things like the cookie after the round and complementary water are noticed and appreciated. The pro shop staff, Starter, Marshall and Drink cart were all excellent to deal with. Full service restaurant that was doing a brisk business, friendly service. Good GPS on the carts. The setup of the all grass driving range with the complementary Pro-V range balls is top notch. Numerous grass greens set up as targets in 25-30 yard increments so you could hit almost any club and feel like you were hitting into a green. Definitely recomended.

Conditions Good
Value Average
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Played On
Reviews 735
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
Incentivized Review
5.0
Top 1 Contributor
California Advisor
Previously Played
Windy weather
Used cart

Rams Hill

Rode the Blues (6369/70.9/131) with Dave, Greg and Brian in the GK Plays in 4H, 55M. Overcast and very windy in the 50's made for challenging golf weather. Thanks to John and everyone responsible for a well run event. Tom Fazio design, really like the course layout, Many holes have visually intimidating sight lines with 97 well placed traps and a decent amount of water. I understand the high slope rating. They have added combo tees, so plenty of tee options for players of all skill levels. The course is fair, not overly tight and an excellent test of golf. The tees were lush and very well maintained. Large, level with few divots, near immaculate. The fairways were lush with few divots. A couple of discolored areas but still excellent overall. The rough was also very lush. Thick and long enough to make longer clubs a chancy play. Get outside the maintained rough and the native rough is a likely lost ball. The sand traps were nicely maintained with thick, good quality sand. Almost too thick @ times. However, for a public course in a windy area with close to 100 total on this course, hard to see any course allowing daily fee players to do better. The greens were firm, smooth, medium fast and rolled well. Lots of ball marks fellow players! Definitely not as pristine as prior visits, but still very good overall. The customer service has always been excellent here. Little things like the cookie after the round and complementary water are noticed and appreciated. The pro shop staff, Starter, Marshall and Drink cart were all excellent to deal with. Full service restaurant that was doing a brisk business, friendly service. Good GPS on the carts. The setup of the all grass driving range with the complementary Pro-V range balls is top notch. Numerous grass greens set up as targets in 25-30 yard increments so you could hit almost any club and feel like you were hitting into a green. Concerning playing conditions. On all my previous visits everything was in the 9/10 out of 10 range across the board. Today, they were more in the 8/9 out of 10 range. Excellent, but not as prisitne as previous rounds played here. Still definitely recommended.

Conditions Excellent
Value Good
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Fair
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Somewhat Challenging
Nearby Courses
Borrego Springs, California
0.0
0
Borrego Springs, California
4.1666666667
2
Borrego Springs, California
4.3627411765
21
Warner Springs, California
3.0119176471
96

Stay & Play Offers

From $178
Valid dates: May 05, 2020 - Dec 31, 2020
TAKE ADVANTAGE OF OTTER CREEK STAY & PLAY PACKAGES The packages shown below are all special rates and designed for the golfer. Each has its own unique offerings, choose any of them and enjoy your stay and enjoy your golfing!
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE