Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

4.6464411765 4.6 stars from 5 (269)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6292 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 71.0
  • Layout

  • 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, California 93023
  • (805) 646-1111, 1 (888) 697-8780
  • (805) 640-2192
  • www.ojairesort.com

Year built: 1923
Type: Resort
Greens: Kikuyu grass
Fairways: Kikuyu grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 70 6292 yards 71.0 132
White 70 5962 yards 69.4 127
Red (W) 72 5244 yards 70.9 128

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.7 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 269 Reviews
5 stars:
185
4 stars:
65
3 stars:
14
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

258 out of 268 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort worth the drive convenient to the city   Great for a weekend splurge wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers   Challenges include elevation changes bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Amazing Classic Course"


Pooshdaddy's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/13/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

I love this course. It's not long but it requires strategic and precise shots to accomplish scoring. George Thomas is an all-time great course architect and this course is a testament to that. You start by playing out from the Inn and weave down into the valley and surrounding property in a supremely enjoyable routing. Memorable holes are littered all around the course and kikuyu grass provides a proper challenge from the rough. Strategic short par 4's, both short and long par 3's and tons of elevation change makes this arguably the best public course for the money in Southern California. Highly recommend it for elevated resort style golf.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Best place to play on a windy day!"


u000001416839's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/11/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is always nice to play but on a cold windy day it was really nice! Just enough wind to cool us off, and as usual the staff and the course were all great! Best course in the area for the money!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Worth checking out"


QUOTRON's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice old school course. Hilly layout, lots of target shots. Almost Pete Dye like. Not long but a few holes take driver. Greens are fantastic, roll true and very smooth. Holes cut tight so you need to get center cut each putt. Fairways ok, rough not too thick. Tee boxes are nice. Sand traps are immaculate but sand is heavy. Only goofiness is teeing off the first, 10 and 13 holes - they are right next to the hotel restaurant so expect distractions. Always music, noise and kids running around. Def first for me - lots of carts with spa guests rolling around too. Definitely play - well worth it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Golfing in Shangri-la"


Mark8944135's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/05/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I will continue to rave about the golf, the beauty and the customer service at this idyllic place. The breathtaking views from so many golf holes and the exceptional condition of play makes this one of my favorite golf courses in the tri-counties. Roland was so accommodating and everyone else was so friendly and actually smiling. You should really take a long weekend and spend some time here in Ojai, play some golf, partake in some delicious locally grown gourmet food and take in the wonder of this paradise nestled at the foot of the Topatopa Mountains. Personally, I am planning on making this a monthly trek.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course"


nando1's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/30/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

My son and I had the best of time playing in such a great course


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



sabedra3's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Best getaway ever."


JuleneAustin's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played 3 days at beautiful Ojai Valley Inn and Spa. Love the course and everyone working there is so friendly and helpful. The starters, pro shop employees etc. should all get 10 stars! Can’t wait to go back.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course, fun & challenging"


t1pagan's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once every three months

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Love playing here! Beautiful, Fun & Challenging!

Work being done at property facilities! No Bar/pub


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Fair


I recommend this course


"Awesome!!!"


bari4's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/16/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Had a 950 tee time. Golf shop staff were super friendly . Starter was also great and very informative. Hardly anybody on the course , I think we saw a total of maybe 10 golfers all day. Course itself was awesome, everything was green and lush. Greens were super, probably rolling at a 9.5-10. Well worth the GolfNow rate. The best semi private golf course in Ventura county!!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



brianpyt's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/15/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Wildfire"


journaljim's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We have played this course many times and were looking forward to another good outing. However, there are wildfires raging in this part of the world and not only could we not get to the golf course but we also could not get through via telephone. The course, it turns out, was closed, as were roads to Ojai.

I have no doubt Ojai Valley Golf Course personnel will honor our prepaid threesome's green fees at a future date that is convenient.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Louis5541536's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"First time i wasn't happy"


jim6418982's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/24/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

The course is fun, short but challenging and always in very good shape.. We played 18 starting at around noon and finished in 4 hours.(we were a threesome)

We go up and play it 2-3 times a year.

For the first time ever we did not feel welcome. The starter seemed overwhelmed and was not so friendly. Our initial greeting was being sternly told there is no where to park and we have to go back out to the front of the resort to park, and then shuttle back to the course. That process did not go well. Even though we arrived at the course 40 minutes before our T time, we barely made it out on time because of the parking hassle.

The beverage cart was on the course but not very interested in selling us a beverage. We had to actively flag it down to get it to stop for us (twice) and we were instantly told it was out of stock on a number of options. How does a fine resort like the Ojai Valley Inn allow its cart to be out of popular products ? The beverage cart attendant just didn't seem to care....

At the end of our round we parked our cart in designated spot, were told we had to walk up to the nearest shuttle spot, and we then waited for 30 minutes to get a ride back out to our cars.

As usual the course is in great shape, its fun and the entire setting in the ojai valley is beautiful. We have played there many times, this was the first time that the service was not commensurate with the course.. bummer


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



mjwelch10's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course, beautiful day!"


blink1037's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/19/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We had a great day at Ojai Valley Inn. The pace of play was excellent on the front 9, the back 9 got a little slow. Otherwise, the service was great - friendly people, course was in good shape, will definitely come back. We do think that Ojai Valley Inn is becoming a little too crowded for our taste, but hoping it doesn't ruin this little gem outside of LA.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"Great golf course in nearly perfect condition."


u000005312066's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Only negative is that a corporation had "purchased " the place for the week and no reastaurants or bars were open.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


"Ojai valley inn is a bonus"


Kevin4552878's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The golf staff & its support team every aspect of curtious &pleasent service is second to none !.really have the best golf crew ive ever expierenced.good track as well


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Under Construction"


craiglaker's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/05/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Players should be pre-warned about the construction.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"All the shots"


Kevin4552878's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/24/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Best putting surface ive experienced in this area .absolutely the best staff of any venue ive played.plays longer than its yardage .you will hit every club in your bag.hitting target line a must!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great history. Fun course"



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/02/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Fun course in good condition. Variety of challenging holes. Great setting, with a lot of history. A walk back in time with Hogan, Demaret, Crosby etc. Will visit again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Chillin' at Ojai Valley Inn"


IrvineRich's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a Beautiful place, Excellent Course, Exceptional Staff so all adds up to a Fantastic Day at Ojai

We truly enjoy coming to this destination resort...everything that you want is here

Enjoy yourself!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed