Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

4.6412882353 4.6 stars from 5 (260)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6292 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 71.0
  • Layout

  • 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, California 93023
  • (805) 646-1111, 1 (888) 697-8780
  • (805) 640-2192
  • www.ojairesort.com

Year built: 1923
Type: Resort
Greens: Kikuyu grass
Fairways: Kikuyu grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Walking allowed: Yes
Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 70 6292 yards 71.0 132
White 70 5962 yards 69.4 127
Red (W) 72 5244 yards 70.9 128

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.7 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 260 Reviews
5 stars:
178
4 stars:
63
3 stars:
14
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

249 out of 259 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort worth the drive convenient to the city   Great for a weekend splurge wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers   Challenges include elevation changes bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Amazing Classic Course"


Pooshdaddy's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/13/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

I love this course. It's not long but it requires strategic and precise shots to accomplish scoring. George Thomas is an all-time great course architect and this course is a testament to that. You start by playing out from the Inn and weave down into the valley and surrounding property in a supremely enjoyable routing. Memorable holes are littered all around the course and kikuyu grass provides a proper challenge from the rough. Strategic short par 4's, both short and long par 3's and tons of elevation change makes this arguably the best public course for the money in Southern California. Highly recommend it for elevated resort style golf.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Wildfire"


journaljim's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/06/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We have played this course many times and were looking forward to another good outing. However, there are wildfires raging in this part of the world and not only could we not get to the golf course but we also could not get through via telephone. The course, it turns out, was closed, as were roads to Ojai.

I have no doubt Ojai Valley Golf Course personnel will honor our prepaid threesome's green fees at a future date that is convenient.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Louis5541536's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"First time i wasn't happy"


jim6418982's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/24/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

The course is fun, short but challenging and always in very good shape.. We played 18 starting at around noon and finished in 4 hours.(we were a threesome)

We go up and play it 2-3 times a year.

For the first time ever we did not feel welcome. The starter seemed overwhelmed and was not so friendly. Our initial greeting was being sternly told there is no where to park and we have to go back out to the front of the resort to park, and then shuttle back to the course. That process did not go well. Even though we arrived at the course 40 minutes before our T time, we barely made it out on time because of the parking hassle.

The beverage cart was on the course but not very interested in selling us a beverage. We had to actively flag it down to get it to stop for us (twice) and we were instantly told it was out of stock on a number of options. How does a fine resort like the Ojai Valley Inn allow its cart to be out of popular products ? The beverage cart attendant just didn't seem to care....

At the end of our round we parked our cart in designated spot, were told we had to walk up to the nearest shuttle spot, and we then waited for 30 minutes to get a ride back out to our cars.

As usual the course is in great shape, its fun and the entire setting in the ojai valley is beautiful. We have played there many times, this was the first time that the service was not commensurate with the course.. bummer


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



mjwelch10's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Beautiful course, beautiful day!"


blink1037's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/19/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

We had a great day at Ojai Valley Inn. The pace of play was excellent on the front 9, the back 9 got a little slow. Otherwise, the service was great - friendly people, course was in good shape, will definitely come back. We do think that Ojai Valley Inn is becoming a little too crowded for our taste, but hoping it doesn't ruin this little gem outside of LA.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Fairly Easy


I recommend this course


"Great golf course in nearly perfect condition."


u000005312066's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Only negative is that a corporation had "purchased " the place for the week and no reastaurants or bars were open.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Poor


I recommend this course


"Ojai valley inn is a bonus"


Kevin4552878's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The golf staff & its support team every aspect of curtious &pleasent service is second to none !.really have the best golf crew ive ever expierenced.good track as well


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Under Construction"


craiglaker's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/05/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Players should be pre-warned about the construction.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"All the shots"


Kevin4552878's avatar
Age:  55-64
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/24/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Best putting surface ive experienced in this area .absolutely the best staff of any venue ive played.plays longer than its yardage .you will hit every club in your bag.hitting target line a must!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great history. Fun course"



4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/02/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

Fun course in good condition. Variety of challenging holes. Great setting, with a lot of history. A walk back in time with Hogan, Demaret, Crosby etc. Will visit again.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Chillin' at Ojai Valley Inn"


IrvineRich's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/25/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is a Beautiful place, Excellent Course, Exceptional Staff so all adds up to a Fantastic Day at Ojai

We truly enjoy coming to this destination resort...everything that you want is here

Enjoy yourself!!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Short but lots of fun"


hugofolli's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great layout where driver is often not needed. Greens are small well guarded and in excellent shape to take good shots at the flag. Last 3 holes worth the price of admission. Played 2 days in a row between 12:30-2 - very very very slow pace. First day ended up playing front twice since front 9 took over 2:30. No Marshall in sight. Would not judge based on that since course is fun. Just check tee sheet!!!!


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Course, Great Staff."


tonysiv's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/09/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

As usual everything was great and customer service was off the chart. This is an old school golf course that knows how to treat players. I got caught behind an accident on my way to the course and was running a little late. I called the pro shop and they made sure I got out.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great afternoon, as usual"


tamaroff's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/07/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course at Ojai Valley Inn & Spa is my midweek regular. First, the Inn is a rambling resort that is visually enticing. The staff is outstanding, professional but friendly, and very accommodating. The front nine are situated mostly through the hills, holes 10 through 15 spread out in front of the restaurants on the plain, then the two lost holes, 16 & 17 back in the foothills. The Tips on 18 are elevated, down the hill for more forward tees. This course is beautiful to play and look at. It's relaxing golf at it's best.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Beautifully Challenging Course"


u593320747's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/02/2017
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Even though it was a scorcher outside I really enjoyed myself. The fairways were well manicured and the greens weren't too fast or slow. It has enough blind holes to keep you on your toes the entire round. With my hot deal you couldn't beat the price, but I'm sure I only got that price because of how hot it was supposed to be. Some of the holes will challenge your drive to get over the canyons so bring an extra sleeve or two for the high handicappers.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



Charlie8948149's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/26/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u7290888's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


"Great deal great round of golf"


eckolsson's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/13/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Took my best friend for a round of golf at Oja Valley Inn for his birthday . It was a great experience for both of us. The staff was helpful and extremely Friendly. The course was in good condition but the greens were surprisingly slow. Great layout and a good pace of play. We finished in 3 1/2 hours on a Sunday. Drinks at the bar are far to expensive but that comes with a resort. Will definitely return.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



mikelavery's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"OJai golf fun"


johnsgolf1's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 08/05/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

An excellent day of golf here; the course is not that long but offers some design challenges and great aesthetics. It was our first time here, but we will come back soon as we can. greens were in very good condition and had consistent speed. Lots of sand traps, especially on the par 3 # 16


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed