Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

4.6546647059 4.7 stars from 5 (287)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 70
  • Length: 6292 yards
  • Slope: 132
  • Rating: 71.0
  • Layout

  • 905 Country Club Rd, Ojai, California 93023, Ventura County
  • (855) 666-7811, (805) 646-1111
  • (805) 640-2192
  • www.ojairesort.com
Write Review

Year built: 1923
Architect(s): George C. Thomas, Jr. (1923), William P. Bell (1923), Jay Morrish (1988)
Type: Resort
Greens: Kikuyu Grass
Fairways: Kikuyu Grass
Golf Season: Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes - included in green fees
Pull-carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Credit cards accepted: VISA, MasterCard, Amex, Discover Welcomed

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Blue 70 6292 yards 71.0 132
White 70 5962 yards 69.4 127
Red (W) 72 5244 yards 70.9 128

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.6 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.5 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 287 Reviews
5 stars:
199
4 stars:
69
3 stars:
14
2 stars:
4
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

276 out of 286 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is at a resort worth the drive convenient to the city   Great for a weekend splurge wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers   Challenges include elevation changes bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Amazing Classic Course"


Pooshdaddy's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 09/13/2016
Previously played

Reviewed on

I love this course. It's not long but it requires strategic and precise shots to accomplish scoring. George Thomas is an all-time great course architect and this course is a testament to that. You start by playing out from the Inn and weave down into the valley and surrounding property in a supremely enjoyable routing. Memorable holes are littered all around the course and kikuyu grass provides a proper challenge from the rough. Strategic short par 4's, both short and long par 3's and tons of elevation change makes this arguably the best public course for the money in Southern California. Highly recommend it for elevated resort style golf.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


Sotestar's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens were in great condition 6 weeks after punched, the course is in great condition and requires player course management on some holes. Overall great place to play. Will definitely return.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Ojai Golf AAA"


Charlie8948149's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Always a fun golf outting and the staff and food make it exceptional.

Love playing Ojai!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



u000007528630's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/27/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



colklinkgolf's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/25/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



colklinkgolf's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Love this course"


Dale9174005's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Still my favorite in Ventura County. Greens were plugged about a month ago and not quite back to perfect conditions. Views, amenities and staff make this a five star track.


Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"ojai valley inn"


BigDeho's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Usually the course is tougher cause the greens can run faster. Up to a 12 stimp. Beautiful location with the mountains surrounding. Very friendly staff. Carts have GPS. Range is pretty good. all the balls you want to hit.Can get very hot at times. Bring sunscreen. There is poison oak if you wander. . Lots of wildlife all over


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Ojai Valley Inn Golf Course"


u377519177's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

5 stars. Staff was courteous, proffesional and attentive. I’m going back again next week.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Excellent course"


uXSCB9020XS's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Some construction on 9 and 18 but does not impact the round . Course is in great condition


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Never disappoints:::"


u536692934's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is spectacular. Views are really beautiful.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



davecarney's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

awesome track. This golf course is so interesting I never get tired of playing it. The course must have hired a new superintendent because it has really improved these past 6 months. This is my all time favorite course to play.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Amazing"


u841637901's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/29/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course was amazing! There are a few holes on the front over wild growth that were a little strange but overall, a great layout with amazing views of the surrounding mountain. The course was in impeccable shape! Our round was a little slow, but that is often the case with resort courses. Overall, it was a great day!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Daveron2's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Ping2018's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/04/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Spectacular visuals in Ojai"


roberttesar's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/28/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wonderful course. 2 very different nines. Greens keep you honest. But great experience.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Bucket list golf course"


hyegolfdog's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/27/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was the first time I have played Ojai, and after hearing so many good things about it and also being a fan of George C.Thomas golf courses I had very high expectations. I was definitely not disappointed. Besides how amazing the scenic backdrop is, the architects use of the natural terrain was perfection. The overall condition of the golf course was excellent, and every staff member I came in contact with from the pro shop to the starters desk were extremely friendly and engaging. This is definitely a "must play" course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



ChipOrPutt's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/20/2018
First time playing Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Best place to play on a windy day!"


u000001416839's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/11/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is always nice to play but on a cold windy day it was really nice! Just enough wind to cool us off, and as usual the staff and the course were all great! Best course in the area for the money!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Worth checking out"


QUOTRON's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Nice old school course. Hilly layout, lots of target shots. Almost Pete Dye like. Not long but a few holes take driver. Greens are fantastic, roll true and very smooth. Holes cut tight so you need to get center cut each putt. Fairways ok, rough not too thick. Tee boxes are nice. Sand traps are immaculate but sand is heavy. Only goofiness is teeing off the first, 10 and 13 holes - they are right next to the hotel restaurant so expect distractions. Always music, noise and kids running around. Def first for me - lots of carts with spa guests rolling around too. Definitely play - well worth it.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed