Golf Advisor Icon
Rating Index Rating
Tooltip Information Icon
3.7
722 Reviews (722)
5 Stars
119
4 Stars
298
3 Stars
153
2 Stars
69
1 Stars
83
Conditions
3.6
Value
3.7
Layout
3.9
Friendliness
4.3
Pace
3.8
Amenities
3.7
79.8%
Recommend this course
506 out of 722 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.2
18 Reviews (18)
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Stars
3
Conditions
2.9
Value
3.4
Layout
3.6
Pace
4.5
Amenities
3.4
StaffFriendliness
4.4
61.1%
Recommend this course
11 out of 18 reviews
Read Reviews
Average Rating
Avg Rating
3.9
176 Reviews (176)
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
89
3 Stars
34
2 Stars
9
1 Stars
3
Conditions
3.9
Value
3.8
Layout
4.0
Pace
3.9
Amenities
3.8
StaffFriendliness
4.4
84.7%
Recommend this course
149 out of 176 reviews
Read Reviews

About

Holes 18
Type Private
Par 72
Length 6654 yards
Slope 138
Rating 73.4
Book a Tee Time at
Spanish Wells Country Club
Powered by GolfNow.com

Course Details

Year Built 1979
Golf Season Year round

Rentals/Services

Carts Yes
Clubs Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving Range Yes
Bunker Yes
Golf School Academy Yes
Teaching Pro Yes
Pitching/Chipping Area Yes
Putting Green Yes

Policies

Metal Spikes Allowed No
Dress code Appropriate golf attire.

Best of Lists

  • Golf Advisor: Top 25 Most Improved U.S. Golf Courses (2017 #1)

Reviews

3.7
722 Reviews (722)

What Golfers Are Saying

The 19th Hole is Great For:
Drinks 21
Brunch 9
19th Hole Scenic Views 8
Course Challenges Include:
Water Hazards 79
Bunkers 44
Narrow Fairways 44
This course/club is great for:
Locals 47
Seniors 37
Playing Multiple Courses 35
This Course's Location is:
Convenient to the City 85
Worth the Drive 20
Near Local Attractions 15

Numbers based on reviews tagged with attribute.

Advanced Filters
Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender
Played On
Handicap 10-14
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Spanish wells

Course was better than it has been. As long as you dont have to play the north course

Conditions Good
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Fair
Played On
Handicap 20-24
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart
Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Good
Friendliness Average
Pace Good
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Most enjoyable experience

Played South then the East courses. Both were very enjoyable - course was in great condition - greens were excellent. There were interesting and challenging holes on both courses.
All staff - from the chap at the bag drop thru to the green staff and the pro were most pleasant and courteous.
Could not fault this course and it’s staff in any way.
In the area for two weeks- most certainly plan to return.
On another note - lots of interesting wildlife too.

Conditions Excellent
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 0-4
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Top 100 Contributor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Ok course for the money

The greens on the back nine (East) had been aerated recently which caused them to be a bit slower than the front (South) nine. The course had some weeds in the fairways and bare spots. The all over condition of the course was just ok for the money. The design was good and it had some very nice par 3's.

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Played On
Handicap 25+
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played
Perfect weather
Used cart

We will come back

Great golf outing in Sunny Florida
The course just opened its Tee boxes after having them reseeded. You can tell that this club is reinvesting back into their golf course.
The course played well for myself (who hits about 95 from the reds) but still had its challenges from the longer tees (which is good for my husband who is a good golfer and golfs often).
The course itself was in very good shape and was well manicured.
The people were fantastic. They were friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had a good day. We will be back next week.
This is now at the top of my play list.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 10/15/2019

Thanks for your honest review. We take guest feedback seriously and appreciate your patience as our tee boxes recover from reseeding. We have a wonderful staff and are so glad you think so too. Looking forward to having you back again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Top 1000 Contributor
First Time Playing
Perfect weather
Used cart

Temporary tee boxes

Do not waste your money,
wait until tee boxes are reopened

Conditions Fair
Value Poor
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Difficulty Extremely Easy
Default User Image
Commented on 10/15/2019

Thanks for your honest feedback about your experience with us. We appreciate your patience as we recently reopened the tee boxes and they are on the mend from reseeding. We hope that you come back and play again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
First Time Playing

Beautiful Course!

Course has a great layout with some very challenging holes. Greens and fairways were both in great condition and the staff were very friendly. They are still using temporary tees for.now, but the normal tees boxes looked very close to being ready. Can’t wait to go back and play it again!

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 10/15/2019

Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We are glad you had a great time at the facility despite some of the course improvement we are making. We appreciate your patience and have reopened our tee boxes. Can't wait to have you back to try them out!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
4.0
First Time Playing

Friendly staff and and enjoyable round albeit much shorter than typical distance due to tee box work, will definitely return to play again

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Played On
Handicap 5-9
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
1.0
Previously Played
Hot weather
Used cart

Not a good Idea to play here

It makes no sense to play here. All the tee boxes were ripped up so where they placed the temporary tee boxes made the course a pitch and putt. Par 3’s were 30ish yards long, par 5’s 250ish yards. Was a waste of 25$ to play. They constantly ran the sprinklers thru prime playing time so going to each hole required getting soaked with recycled pond water. Some of the temporary tee boxes were completely under water. They owe all recent players a refund. It really does not make sense to play here. When the place is renovated, it looks different. This will not be until November or December.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Excellent
Amenities Good
Difficulty Moderate
Default User Image
Commented on 08/20/2019

Thanks for your review and honest feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience as we installed new tee boxes, but appreciate your patience with it. If you have any other concerns, please reach out to us at info@spanishwellscountryclub.com.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
1.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Course I’m in playable condition

Played on Sunday, we were told by everyone who worked for the club the course was in great condition, it was just the opposite. All the tee boxes were ripped up so where they placed the temporary tee boxes made the course a pitch and putt. Par 3’s were 30ish yards long, par 5’s 250ish yards. Was a waste of 25$ to play. They constantly ran the sprinklers thru prime playing time so going to each hole required getting soaked with recycled pond water. Some of the temporary tee boxes were completely under water. They owe all recent players a refund.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Poor
Friendliness Average
Pace Poor
Amenities Poor
Default User Image
Commented on 08/20/2019

Thanks for your review and honest feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience as we installed new tee boxes, but appreciate your patience with it. If you have any other concerns, please reach out to us at info@spanishwellscountryclub.com.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
2.0
Verified Purchaser
Previously Played

Disappointing Golf Course

All of the tee boxes were temporary because the course was installing new boxes.
The grass on the fairways and roughs was not in good shape.
The feees should have been adjusted to compensate for the temporary tees and the condition of the course.

Conditions Poor
Value Poor
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thanks for your review and honest feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience as we installed new tee boxes, but appreciate your patience with it. If you have any other concerns, please reach out to us at info@spanishwellscountryclub.com.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thanks for your feedback. We appreciate the rating. Hope to see you back again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Beginner
Plays Once a month
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Previously Played

Great Value

Although I played on temporary tee boxes, the course and greens played firm and true.
The staff is excellent and friendly, and even cut me a break when I accidentally booked on saturday instead of friday. Nice course within a nice community.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

We have a wonderful team and are so glad that you think so too. Thanks for your patience as we fix our tee boxes. Hope to see you back again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Tee boxes were beat up. Appears to be renovations in the down season.... fairways clean and maintained as well as the greens . I would go back again and recommend it.

Conditions Fair
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Friendliness Good
Pace Good
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thanks for your honest feedback and review. We appreciate your patience as we are renovating our tee boxes. Hope to see you back again soon.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Advanced
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Where’s the green?

Didn’t have an issue with them redoing the tee boxes. Hitting off a tee anyway. But, standing at the 150 marker on a par 5 and can’t see the green is problematic. Looking back from green side, I was 15 left of the green before I could see the 150 marker. Cut some brush down!!!

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Fair
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thanks for your feedback and honest reviews. We work hard to present the course in ideal conditions for our golfers. We take your feedback seriously and hope to see you back again soon. If you have any other comments, please feel free to reach out to us at info@spanishwellscountryclub.com

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
I Recommend This Course
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Back 9 needs a makeover

Front 9 was really good but back 9 was not as good. Found a few hits were blind hits as there were no yardage books available in clubhouse

Conditions Average
Value Good
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

We appreciate your honest feedback and the review. We take this seriously and would like to continue this conversation about course conditions with you. Please email us at info@spanishwellscountryclub.com.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays A few times a week
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Great greens on south and east 9s but fairways were very spotty

I would not play this course again unless there was a gps my phones gps didn’t work

Conditions Average
Value Average
Layout Average
Friendliness Good
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 07/10/2019

Thanks for your review. We appreciate the time you took to leave this and take your feedback seriously.

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
I Recommend This Course
4.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing
Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Good
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Good
Amenities Good
Default User Image
Commented on 07/25/2019

Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
Skill Intermediate
Plays Once a week
I Recommend This Course
5.0
Verified Purchaser

Excellent

We had a great time.
People were friendly, course was excellent. Tee times spaced so we had a great pace of play and price was also excellent for the level of course.
We will absolutely play here again.

Conditions Good
Value Excellent
Layout Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Excellent
Default User Image
Commented on 07/25/2019

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience and we are looking foward to seeing you again soon!

Was this comment useful to you?
Played On
3.0
Verified Purchaser
First Time Playing

Overpriced for condition of course

Course has good variety but the conditions of the tee boxes and fairways are really bad. Definitely over priced in comparison to other better maintained courses in the area.

Conditions Poor
Value Fair
Layout Average
Friendliness Excellent
Pace Excellent
Amenities Average
Default User Image
Commented on 07/25/2019

Thanks for your review. We are working hard everyday to improve the customer experience and value your feedback.

Was this comment useful to you?

Stay & Play Offers

From $200
Valid dates: Nov 01, 2019 - Feb 29, 2020
Back at Kiawah Island Golf Resort for a limited time, the Golf or Gourmet Escape is a perfect opportunity to pursue your passion for the game and experience this premier resort's pristine championship courses.
Now Reading
New Cookie Policy
WE AND OUR PARTNERS USE COOKIES ON THIS SITE TO IMPROVE OUR SERVICE, PERFORM ANALYTICS, PERSONALIZE ADVERTISING, MEASURE ADVERTISING PERFORMANCE, AND REMEMBER WEBSITE PREFERENCES. BY USING THE SITE, YOU CONSENT TO THESE COOKIES. FOR MORE INFORMATION ON COOKIES INCLUDING HOW TO MANAGE YOUR CONSENT VISIT OUR COOKIE POLICY.
CONTINUE