The Georgia Club - Chancellors Red/Black Course

4.5514941176 4.6 stars from 5 (270)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7283 yards
  • Slope: 129
  • Rating: 74.2
  • Layout

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7283 yards 74.2 129
Silver 72 6669 yards 72.3 126
White 72 6204 yards 70.2 121
White (W) 72 6204 yards 76.1 129
Green (W) 72 5882 yards 73.5 125
Green 72 5882 yards 68.5 116
Red (W) 72 5152 yards 69.3 116

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.6 stars from 5
Value: 4.2 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.3 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.6 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 270 Reviews
5 stars:
193
4 stars:
65
3 stars:
6
2 stars:
5
1 stars:
1

recommend this course

262 out of 270 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive convenient to the city in the 'burbs   Great for advanced golfers a weekend splurge entertaining clients   Challenges include bunkers water hazards elevation changes   Great for drinks patio dining amazing food  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Perfect mix of challenge, fair, and excitement!"


zbuechner4's avatar
Top 50 Contributor
Atlanta Advisor
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/26/2016
Previously played Used cart Played 18 holes Excellent weather

Reviewed on

There is a reason the Georgia Club is consistently rated the number one golf course in the Atlanta/Athens area on golf advisor. The staff was welcoming and accommodating before I even walked into the clubhouse to check-in. The practice area and range were top notch with lots of space to prepare for your round. The course is challenging with some significant elevation changes. There is forgiveness throughout the course that allows errant shots to be played which helps the mid to high handicappers. There are several doglegs both left and right that have considerable rewards for cutting off corners and having shorter second shots. The greens were rolling quite fast, at least double digits on the stimp meter.

Prices to play are on the higher end but that seems to help keep the number of golfers lower on most days, so pace of play typically isn't an issue.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Georgia Club on 11/02/2016:

Thanks so much! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our course as well as the practice facilities. We hope to see you again soon!



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great course"


moondawg73's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I really like the layout and the conditions are great considering the time of year. The greens roll great, but don’t break very much. They also take the ball very good, making my terrible shots into the green look good. Great resort style with some challenging holes along the way. The staff is courteous and very professional. It’s a bit on the pricey side, but if you want to treat yourself in the Athens area, this is a great spot. The gps on the carts is very nice, and the beverage carts were very frequent. The only thing that I didn’t like and is the usual around Athens, is that the course was very busy, and everyone was nose to tail, and there were pushy golfers behind us, when we finished on 17, the gps showed it playing behind 5 minutes. I enjoy being outside and will never understand why people go to the golf course if they’re in a hurry.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"It Was A Bit Of A Drive From Home, But, It Was Worth It!"


ECrockett1964's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

One of the guys that I play with regularly, invited me to join him and his group at The Georgia Club this past weekend. It was quite a bit of a drive from Stone Mountain, and that doggoned Hwy 318 area is a total mess, but, in spite of that, I am glad that I went.

The staff at this place was head and shoulders above any that I have ever encountered in terms of professionalism, courtesy and kindness; from the front gate, to the cart barn, pro shop, restaurant, cart ladies; everything was top notch!

As for the course, it was in great shape and we have not even hit the heart of the season yet; kudos to the staff for the way the course looked at the tee boxes, fairways, and greens. Oh, and lest I forget; that was some of the finest sand that I have ever had the pleasure of playing out of....LOL.

The pace of our round was good; we waited on no one all day, nor did we hold anyone up; perfect.

It is a bit pricey for an average hacker like me, but, I have paid more for less many times before.

If you ever find yourself in the area, or, if you are looking for something different but really nice, by all means, consider The Georgia Club!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u324586146's avatar
Skill:  Beginner
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/21/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Amazing course"


Parraj4's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Absolutely amazing course , great amenities and layout. Gorgeous greens and grass, highly recommend


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Another good day at GA Club"


wbtrussell's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/14/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course and conditions are really starting to look good for early March. One of the best designs in the Atlanta area. If I lived a bit closer, I'd join this club.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Fun Track"


hacksalot03's avatar
Top 50 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/07/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Course conditions were a little rough given the winter Georgia had. But expect them to improve over the coming weeks. Fun course with water coming into play on several holes. Local knowledge is helpful on a number of holes. Think the course is a little overpriced but if you can get a hot deal, is worth the play


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



tomonakao's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/31/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Very Nice Course"


Vincerizzi's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/17/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course and challenging layout. Recent rain made fairways pretty wet, but that can’t be helped. Greens ran fast, but true. A good test of golf!


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Ok"


u9052670's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

2 2.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The greens were not good just been sanded! There were several different courses the price was much higher than what I usually play and the course was not much nicer!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


"Classic Course"


clcurry's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/05/2018
First time playing Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Each hole was framed beautifully enjoyed the overall layout. No blind shots. If you play conservatively you have excellent opportunities to score. Aggressive play requires length off the tee to cut around the doglegs and well maintained bunkers. Definitely worth the commute from the ATL. Looking forward to our return.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/04/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Course conditions"


giovanni2665's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/24/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was recently aeriated, and I had no knowledge of it.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"One of my favorite courses"


VanBreezy's avatar
Top 25 Contributor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/08/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course was in great shape despite being Carr path only fast greens bunkers were in great shape even though it rained heavily the day before


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice place"


mark5221's avatar
Age:  45-54
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/21/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Course was very nice. Very confusing at times trying to get around. Needs better and more sons on were you are going.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"A jerk in the proshop"


junghs2019's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

1 1.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/16/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

Don't forget to rake after bunker shots. A jerk in the proshop will be watching you and you will get yelled at. The staff is very rude to non members (from Golfnow).

Not a fun experience at all.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"best greens in 50 miles"


u271776932's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a month

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/04/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great practice area

27 holes

Frendly staff

The best greens within 50 miles


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"GREENS MISSED THE MARK"


GolfTechsan89's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/18/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course, layout, fairways, bunkers, carts, staff, pro shop, and restaurant were all absolutely brilliant. What missed the mark for us was the tremendous amount of damage on the greens from players not repairing their divots or doing it incorrectly. A little care or reminder to golfers of the importance of repairing your divot marks and doing it correctly would have kept these greens in perfect condition and topped off play to “the tee”. This wouldn’t stop me from returning but sure would complete the round with an improved experience.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Excellent golf course and will play again"


u000007995126's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/15/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It was my first time playing in the golf course. It's bit far from where I live but it was worthy. The course was in a good condition and staffs were very friendly.

As other mentioned, there were so many unfixed ball marks and also many improperly fixed ones. These significantly diminish the appearance of the greens. It is shame that people don't fix their ball marks in such a great golf course. This is a common problem in any public golf courses. Actually all carts have a GPS device installed and it displays how to fix ball marks. Players! Please fix your ball marks.

I will definately play again in the course.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Nice course"


cmarshl7's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/01/2017
First time playing

Reviewed on

This golf course is really nice the layout excellent it is one of the best course I have play this year.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed