The Ranch Golf Club

4.5888941176 4.6 stars from 5 (171)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7174 yards
  • Slope: 139
  • Rating: 75.0
  • Layout

  • 65 Sunnyside Rd, Southwick, MA 01077
  • (866) 790-9333, (413) 569-9333
  • (413) 569-9330
  • theranchgolfclub.com

Year built: 2001
Architect(s): Damian Pascuzzo (2001)
Type: Public
Greens: L-93, G-2, and A-4 Bentgrass
Fairways: Providence, Putter, Imperial and Southshore Bentgrass

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
GPS: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes - 20 grass stations
Pitching/chipping area: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Practice bunker: Yes
Practice hole: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Bathing attire, cut off shorts, halter-tops, tube tops, tank tops, and similar types of recreational wear are not considered proper dress on the golf course.
Credit cards accepted: Visa, Mastercard, Discover, Amex

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Black 72 7174 yards 75.0 139
Blue 72 6588 yards 71.8 133
White 72 6103 yards 69.6 130
White (W) 72 6103 yards 75.9 138
Gold (W) 72 4983 yards 69.7 125
Gold 72 4983 yards 64.5 122

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.4 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.1 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.5 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.5 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 171 Reviews
5 stars:
108
4 stars:
42
3 stars:
13
2 stars:
3
1 stars:
5

recommend this course

162 out of 170 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs near the airport   Great for wildlife/ scenic views advanced golfers a weekend splurge   Challenges include elevation changes bunkers forced carries   Great for drinks patio dining dinner  

loading...
loading...

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"A Must play"


u000005597379's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/18/2016
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

This is a fantastic layout and a great day fee facility.

Conditions were "private course" or better. The layout has a combination feel of a links course on early and finishing holes and a Mountain course on the interior. Wide open fairways early followed by elevation changes and tree lined level fairways on the top of the rise. I turly think this is one of the very best layouts in Western Mass including Taconic and by far the best day fee course. This is a must play for any serious golfer and worth a trip as a destination course.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


Response from The Ranch Golf Club on 02/14/2017:

Hey "u000005597379" thank you so much for the endorsement! We sincerely appreciate all of the kind words about the course and we hope to see you again soon!

"Best overall course in western mass"


u4934578's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/20/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

I’ve played everywhere in mass and lots of great courses across the country. The landscape is gorgeous and in very good condition. You have to make sure you follow your ball off the tee if you want any hope of finding it on some holes. A lot of fescue and difficult lies due to the hilly landscape but a lot of fun. Iron players will enjoy


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Perfect"


Rj651977's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 06/16/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Best course in western Mass that the public can get onto. Great layout. Immaculate condition. Will be back to play again


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"One of the better layouts in the state"


BostonGolfTraveler's avatar
Top 25 Contributor
Boston Advisor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/26/2018
Previously played

Reviewed on

This is the second time I have played this course in the last three or four years and in a good way nothing is changed in a bad way nothing is changed. The good part is the layout, with several elevation changes, fairly tight fairways and interesting routing makes for a fun round of golf. Condition wise, the course was in great shape on the tee boxes us to the fairways to the greens. The only real negative on the chorus is it they still haven’t made the bunkers any better. As with the first time I played this course there are several rocks and pebbles in every bunker which really takes away from it being one of the best courses in the state which it really should be. In the end, it’s worth the drive from Eastern Massachusetts to play this course


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



u000001018129's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/25/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

You will not be disappointed at the Ranch. The course was in the excellent shape. Greens were great. A few too many blind shots slows down pace of play, but still got through in a respectable 4.5 hours on a busy Friday afternoon.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"nice course"


u146211695's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/20/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played Sunday after a week of rain. Course was wet, but otherwise in great shape. It was cart path only but it was needed. I loved the course , just wish I had played better. Super wide fairways, that if you miss , you deserve the punishment you get, the rough was unforgiving. If you stay on the fairway and play well , it is a course where you can score well. I plan to return.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Same as all other reviews"


John4576224's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/13/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is awesome and layout is nice. Some water, some hills some trees. Overall excellent course would play again 100%. I shot a 93 from the blues and I’m a 13-14 Handicap. Course is enjoyable but wouldn’t say “difficult”. Come play.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



ADAM2863248's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/09/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course



Owilliams's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/03/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"The Ranch"


BPBuyer's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/02/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

As always The Ranch met expectations. It is my favorite course within 45 minutes and rarely disappoints. It is early in the season, but the course is in great shape and the greens were rolling very well. It felt like we had the course to ourselves (which we did) because there was an evening outing of some 100+ golfers coming. The upgrades to the bar were great improvement and should make getting s beer a little easier.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



robertstjohn's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great day of golf!"


hosoh's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/24/2018
First time playing Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Everything was top shelf! Great day of golf. Scenic and challenging. Staff was great.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Best course in Western Massachusetts"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/24/2018
Previously played Used cart Windy weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is a treat to play. A very fair challenge and excellent greens. Two very fun downhill par 5's where a not so big hitter can hit a 300 yard drive if they catch the downslope. Some of the best greens I have ever played.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Very Nice Course. Some Stuff Needs Some Work."


dgsmith09's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/23/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

1. Course is great when the course conditions are on, most of the year they are. The bunkers have way too many rocks. And please let folks know when you sand the greens. Maybe even offer a small break on the price - not even a mention of it in the clubhouse. That's no good service.

2. My mistake... I left my range finder in a cart. So yes, I'm left to someone else's good will to turn it in to the shop. If a golfer took it... pox on them. If the course's staff is putting in their pocket... This place has another issue with management.

3. The place is a great course. A little work and it's top notch. You can find some excellent deals online, and I've had some real fun playing, having a beer after the round, and met some real great folks. Go check it out.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Fair

Staff Friendliness: Fair

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



u000005029037's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Average


I recommend this course



John3604598's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/13/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 11/09/2017
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Extremely Nice course and layout, 5h pace of play too long"


Zack3588845's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/21/2017
Previously played

Reviewed on

We had a foursome at 12:52 Saturday and enjoyed the course, each hole very unique and nice. However the pace of play was unnecessarily slow. Groups should be encouraged to play more quickly as one or two foursomes can really impact the day for everyone by being so slow.


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course




5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/14/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Fantastic course"


u3170941's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/11/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Playing at The Ranch is always a first-class experience from the parking lot to the 19th hole. The staff is very friendly, and the golf course is in immaculate condition. My only complaint would be players who do not fix ball marks on the greens. I was surprised by the amount of damage at such a beautiful venue. Players caught leaving damage should be warned then banned.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great day for fall golf"


uXPCN8935XP's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 10/02/2017
Previously played Used cart Windy weather

Reviewed on

Was matched up with 3 other golfers, the weather was 70 degrees clear with a 10-15 mph breeze. The course was in perfect shape, fairways cut short and pristine, the rough had been cut but was still high. The greens lighting fast, shots would hold on the green but it was quick.

Precision shot making is a must on some holes or you will pay a price, good shots great scoring opportunities.

One of guys we played with was -1 on the front nine, the rest of us finished 38, 41, & 44. on the front nine. The back nine we hit a roadblock and play was slowed down quite a bit, and it took the edge off everyone's game, As scores went up,

If you play this course for the first time it would help to use GPS and a local who has played there before, The staff was great, Bonnie the beverage cart server is great. A must play if you like private country club conditions at a good price.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed