Ak-Chin Southern Dunes Golf Club

4.6098705882 4.6 stars from 5 (526)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7546 yards
  • Slope: 142
  • Rating: 76.4
  • Layout

Write Review

Year built: 2002
Architect(s): Brian Curley (2002), Fred Couples (2002), Lee E. Schmidt (2002), Wadsworth Golf Construction (2002)
Type: Public
Style: Traditional/Links
Greens: Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round. Closed on Mondays from June 1 - August 31st

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes
Caddies: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No
Dress code: Appropriate golf attire.

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Tips 72 7546 yards 76.4 142
Black 72 7330 yards 75.1 138
Gold 72 6902 yards 72.4 129
Blue 72 6493 yards 70.6 124
White 72 5981 yards 68.2 118
Red (W) 72 5055 yards 71.7 124

Stretching over 320 acres in the southwest area, Ak-Chin Southern Dunes Golf Club (previously known as Royal Dunes) transforms mostly flat terrain into a challenging course that uses practically twice the amount of land a standard course. The course incorporates superb landscaping featuring towering mounds and hollow valleys for an interesting and scenic game. This desert golf course has wide fairways and generous landing areas. The dunes-style layout requires precision from tee to green. The difficulty of the golf course lies within the deep, strategically placed sand bunkers, multi-tiered greens, and native grass roughs. Ak-Chin Southern Dunes Golf Club provides adequate challenge for players of any skill level.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 526 Reviews
5 stars:
353
4 stars:
125
3 stars:
33
2 stars:
12
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

488 out of 523 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs convenient to the city   Great for advanced golfers a bucket list/top 100 pick a weekend splurge   Challenges include bunkers forced carries undulating greens   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Amazing"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 9 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Hands down the nicest course I have ever played!!! Extremely friendly staff, amazing practice facility and the overall grounds are INSANE!!!

The course was in perfect condition. From tee to green, absolutely perfect. Pace of play was fantastic, sand traps were impeccable.

Fees were understated for what the course should of cost.

Cant wait to play this course again. Would gladly travel to AZ just to play this course again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Rock hard greens that don’t hold but roll true"


u616055550's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Good overall course, unfortunately due to the recent US open qualifier there they had the greens rock hard and made it difficult to hold however the greens were running true and rolled around 11.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Challenging yet fun course"


ChrisW5226's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/16/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

Drove an hour to play this course and I was not disappointed. Conditions were excellent. Very green everywhere. Greens were perfect. If you spray the ball you will have a LONG day with the surrounding desert and many bunkers. Fun layout requiring you to hit all your clubs.

Beautiful clubhouse and patio area to seat and look at the course.

Bag drop and golf shop personnel had zero personality. The starter was very polite and helpful.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



raisshoot67's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great layout. Challenging (undulating) greens. Good condition for this time of year. Fairways excellent, greens good. Exceptional staff all around. They made me feel welcome and appreciated. I look forward to playing again. Check out their "summer six pack".


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Should have expected it!"


98azelda's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/14/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

If I had paid more attention to the name (Southern Dunes) I might have guessed I was going to be subjected to more bunkers than the Faldo Course.

Can't complain though, the sand in them was the best I have been in all year. Having never played it, our foursome spent significant time trying to figure our angles off the tees to find some nice short green grass. Thoroughly enjoyed the course and the day. Course was in good shape and very challenging for us. Staff was great, craft beer was expensive.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course"


kenlafayette41's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/12/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course was laid out beautifully and in great shape. I guess you are getting ready for the US Open qualifying next week so the course played great. Would definitely play the course again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great setting"


Christophe1860294's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/06/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The amenities are wonderful here. Excellent range, bunker practice area and putting green.

Course we in great shape. Greens were very true.

Will play again.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Get What You Pay For"


djcat57's avatar
Top 1000 Contributor
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  0-4

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 05/02/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

I play courses all around for about $20.. I used my GN rewards to play here for free, still the price would've been $65-$70 and worth every penny. The staff very professional.I played the Gold Tees 6900 yards. But if you the next ones back or what the score card calls "THE TIPS" good luck.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



u243507218's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/29/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



dfmcclendon's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/28/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Southern Dunes Denver group"


TimT12's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/25/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in excellent shape! Tough course with lots of bunkers protecting the greens. Best value in Phoenix


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Always great"


vrussea's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/24/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Played a foursome, wives and hubby's.

My wife loves this course as the forward tee's are set up so that a shorter playing golfer can still have a great and challenging time of it without having to struggle with unreasonable tee shots. She and her girlfriend shot very well, but were still challenged with creative shot making on every hole.

We 2 males of the group play to 12 and 18 handicaps, played from the Blue tees, score 89 and 93. Every aspect of this course bring me back again and again. The Fred Couples design in my opinion is brilliant whether you are and old gheezer like me (I still average about 250 on my drives), or a single digit handicap.

Greens putting to a 13, fast but very fair. Excellent fairways and tee boxes. The only sub par aspect were some of the sand traps which were hard and crusty. Perhaps that is due to the time of the year, but they could use some attention.

Great course, will be back again and again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Worth the drive"


ewentzel's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice course. Lots of bunkers but many of these are there to get in your head and can easily be avoided. Fairways are very wide. Greens are large with modest undulation.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course



U00001928883's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/20/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Course has versatile playability."


eltigre132's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

..although the day I played it, it waa bombarded by wind and sand! Also I was a single in a full field.

Though day, mostly in conflict with mother nature.

Please, please, PLEASE chand the club wash water at rhe driving range! Toxic!!!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Lots of Sand"


u259004184's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is a bit of a target golf course. It was on reasonably good shape with a lot of waste areas beyond the fairways. One very night ce feature is complementary bottled water every 3 holes! The staff were incredibly kind and helpful. There are over 100 bunkers on the course with many protecting the greens. The greens were moderately fast but true. We were teamed up with a couple who had played before so they gave us some tips on where to go. Very helpful.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Enjoy this course"


Barbaemmert's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It is hard but enjoyable Lots of sand but I love it


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Hole In One"


Balloo68's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Well what can I say wrong about this course when you walk off the back nine with a hole in One. Hole 14 - par 4 - 283 yards. Amazing drive and landed in the cup, double eagle or Albatross. Course is in great shape and super friendly staff. Only disappointment was that I had to pay $75 for my hole in One plaque.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"great experience"


u528020198's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2018
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

they allow walking and the course was easy to walk. course was in excellent shape, greens rolled nicely and all fairways had plenty of grass. practice area was excellent, too. all around great day of golf. lots of sand traps but the sand was consistent. think we played in 4:35


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Fun course"


DSN's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

This course is great. Tons of bunkers, sandy areas and desert. Course was in excellent condition. Well worth the drive to get there. Low price green fee and my son played for free. The bag drop/cart guy was very friendly and helpful. The girl in the pro shop seemed annoyed that I was there when I went in to pay. Liked the free, cold water bottles provided by the course. Will be back to play.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed