Ak-Chin Southern Dunes Golf Club

4.6213823529 4.6 stars from 5 (515)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7546 yards
  • Slope: 142
  • Rating: 76.4
  • Layout

Write Review

Year built: 2002
Architect(s): Brian Curley
Type: Public
Style: Traditional/Links
Greens: Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round. Closed on Mondays from June 1 - August 31st

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Tips 72 7546 yards 76.4 142
Black 72 7330 yards 75.1 138
Gold 72 6902 yards 72.4 129
Blue 72 6493 yards 70.6 124
White 72 5981 yards 68.2 118
Red (W) 72 5055 yards 71.7 124

Stretching over 320 acres in the southwest area, Ak-Chin Southern Dunes Golf Club (previously known as Royal Dunes) transforms mostly flat terrain into a challenging course that uses practically twice the amount of land a standard course. The course incorporates superb landscaping featuring towering mounds and hollow valleys for an interesting and scenic game. This desert golf course has wide fairways and generous landing areas. The dunes-style layout requires precision from tee to green. The difficulty of the golf course lies within the deep, strategically placed sand bunkers, multi-tiered greens, and native grass roughs. Ak-Chin Southern Dunes Golf Club provides adequate challenge for players of any skill level.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.6 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.4 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.6 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 515 Reviews
5 stars:
344
4 stars:
123
3 stars:
33
2 stars:
12
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

477 out of 512 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs convenient to the city   Great for advanced golfers a bucket list/top 100 pick a weekend splurge   Challenges include bunkers forced carries undulating greens   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Amazing"



5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/27/2016
First time playing Used cart Played 9 holes Excellent weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Hands down the nicest course I have ever played!!! Extremely friendly staff, amazing practice facility and the overall grounds are INSANE!!!

The course was in perfect condition. From tee to green, absolutely perfect. Pace of play was fantastic, sand traps were impeccable.

Fees were understated for what the course should of cost.

Cant wait to play this course again. Would gladly travel to AZ just to play this course again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Always great"


vrussea's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/24/2018
Previously played Used cart Hot weather

Reviewed on

Played a foursome, wives and hubby's.

My wife loves this course as the forward tee's are set up so that a shorter playing golfer can still have a great and challenging time of it without having to struggle with unreasonable tee shots. She and her girlfriend shot very well, but were still challenged with creative shot making on every hole.

We 2 males of the group play to 12 and 18 handicaps, played from the Blue tees, score 89 and 93. Every aspect of this course bring me back again and again. The Fred Couples design in my opinion is brilliant whether you are and old gheezer like me (I still average about 250 on my drives), or a single digit handicap.

Greens putting to a 13, fast but very fair. Excellent fairways and tee boxes. The only sub par aspect were some of the sand traps which were hard and crusty. Perhaps that is due to the time of the year, but they could use some attention.

Great course, will be back again and again.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Worth the drive"


ewentzel's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/22/2018
First time playing Used cart Hot weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Very nice course. Lots of bunkers but many of these are there to get in your head and can easily be avoided. Fairways are very wide. Greens are large with modest undulation.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Course has versatile playability."


eltigre132's avatar
Age:  65+
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/12/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

..although the day I played it, it waa bombarded by wind and sand! Also I was a single in a full field.

Though day, mostly in conflict with mother nature.

Please, please, PLEASE chand the club wash water at rhe driving range! Toxic!!!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Lots of Sand"


u259004184's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This course is a bit of a target golf course. It was on reasonably good shape with a lot of waste areas beyond the fairways. One very night ce feature is complementary bottled water every 3 holes! The staff were incredibly kind and helpful. There are over 100 bunkers on the course with many protecting the greens. The greens were moderately fast but true. We were teamed up with a couple who had played before so they gave us some tips on where to go. Very helpful.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Enjoy this course"


Barbaemmert's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  20-24

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/11/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

It is hard but enjoyable Lots of sand but I love it


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Hole In One"


Balloo68's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/10/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Well what can I say wrong about this course when you walk off the back nine with a hole in One. Hole 14 - par 4 - 283 yards. Amazing drive and landed in the cup, double eagle or Albatross. Course is in great shape and super friendly staff. Only disappointment was that I had to pay $75 for my hole in One plaque.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"great experience"


u528020198's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/05/2018
First time playing Walked Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

they allow walking and the course was easy to walk. course was in excellent shape, greens rolled nicely and all fairways had plenty of grass. practice area was excellent, too. all around great day of golf. lots of sand traps but the sand was consistent. think we played in 4:35


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Fun course"


DSN's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 04/04/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

This course is great. Tons of bunkers, sandy areas and desert. Course was in excellent condition. Well worth the drive to get there. Low price green fee and my son played for free. The bag drop/cart guy was very friendly and helpful. The girl in the pro shop seemed annoyed that I was there when I went in to pay. Liked the free, cold water bottles provided by the course. Will be back to play.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



rjkrimmel's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/23/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Fair

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I don't recommend this course



u277342947's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Hidden Gem"


gdavisda's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/22/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

This course is well worth the 30 minute drive from Phoenix. Conditions of fairways and greens were near perfect. Lots of sand, but the fairways are generous and good shots are rewarded. Starter was very friendly and informative. Great pace of play as we finished in 4 hours. I will definitely return and recommend that you give this course a try if you want an alternative to the more traditional desert courses in the area.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Worth the drive"


BuckeyeLefty's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/20/2018
First time playing

Reviewed on

First time playing and enjoyed it a lot. Probably would have enjoyed it even more if I had moved up to the whites. As a senior who still plays regular tees I found this course plays longer than the yardage because of the carries into greens over bunkers.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



u000003990816's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/17/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"going to the beach"


u280056150's avatar
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/12/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

more sand than grass, but in good condition. if you like a lot of sand, then you will have a blast. This course took a tole on me, but staff, practice area...all good. play the the short tees and leave your driver at home.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Fair

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I don't recommend this course


"I can see why it was previously rated higher, but..."


Mike9231038's avatar
Age:  25-34
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/12/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The course has potential to be an excellent track, but I have a couple major complaints. Overall it's in excellent condition and has a fun layout. However, there was a lot of inconsistency with the bunkers. There are just so many on the course, the manpower required to properly maintain them would be outrageous. So you are left with many bunkers that have at most an inch of good sand on top of rock hard sand, which works out fine for fairway bunkers, but not so much for around the green. My second complaint the inability of the greens to hold approach shots. I hit the ball higher than most and watched a 9 iron hit in front of the flag and end up 30 yards past the green! For the price you pay at this course, one of those problems would be acceptable, but not both. I wished I could have played the course a couple years ago when it was rated higher.


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I don't recommend this course


"great coarse"


uTUPS7517TU's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/12/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

best greens i have ever played on,23 putts. a great day with new friend and my buddette .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Firm & Fast"


Lawrence1989's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

This course is always a treat, we had a lil problem with the ranger out there but the head pro came out and resolved the matter like a true professional. I wish the greens were a bit softer and receptive but I guess they keep them firm to protect the greens from ball marks, etc.. Always worth the drive, trully a top 10 course in the valley. A MUST PLAY.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Magnificent desert course"


CTTarHeel's avatar
Age:  55-64
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/11/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Ak-Chin lived up to every great review and rating. The design was highly challenging with all of the bunkers and waste areas, yet the course is quite playable for a low-to-mid handicap player. (Course knowledge and the ability to play a second time would be helpful). The greens and fairways were lush and flawless. Only minor complaint was that the greens would not hold a wedge or short iron, making it difficult to put anything near the pin.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course




4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 03/10/2018
Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Average

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed