Ak-Chin Southern Dunes Golf Club

4.6747294118 4.7 stars from 5 (482)
  • Holes: 18
  • Par: 72
  • Length: 7546 yards
  • Slope: 142
  • Rating: 76.4
  • Layout

Write Review

Year built: 2002
Architect(s): Brian Curley
Type: Public
Style: Traditional/Links
Greens: Bermuda Grass
Fairways: Bermuda Grass
Golf Season: Year round. Closed on Mondays from June 1 - August 31st

Rentals/Services

Carts: Yes
Clubs: Yes

Practice/Instruction

Driving range: Yes
Putting green: Yes
Teaching pro: Yes
Golf school / academy: Yes

Policies

Metal spikes allowed: No

Tees | Layout | Full Scorecard

Tee Par Length Rating Slope
Tips 72 7546 yards 76.4 142
Black 72 7330 yards 75.1 138
Gold 72 6902 yards 72.4 129
Blue 72 6493 yards 70.6 124
White 72 5981 yards 68.2 118
Red (W) 72 5055 yards 71.7 124

Stretching over 320 acres in the southwest area, Ak-Chin Southern Dunes Golf Club (previously known as Royal Dunes) transforms mostly flat terrain into a challenging course that uses practically twice the amount of land a standard course. The course incorporates superb landscaping featuring towering mounds and hollow valleys for an interesting and scenic game. This desert golf course has wide fairways and generous landing areas. The dunes-style layout requires precision from tee to green. The difficulty of the golf course lies within the deep, strategically placed sand bunkers, multi-tiered greens, and native grass roughs. Ak-Chin Southern Dunes Golf Club provides adequate challenge for players of any skill level.

Accolades

Rating Snapshot

GA Rating Index 4.7 stars from 5
Off-Course Amenities: 4.5 stars from 5
Value: 4.5 stars from 5
Pace of Play: 4.4 stars from 5
Staff Friendliness: 4.7 stars from 5
Course Layout: 4.8 stars from 5
Course Conditions: 4.7 stars from 5
Rating Breakdown 482 Reviews
5 stars:
323
4 stars:
115
3 stars:
29
2 stars:
12
1 stars:
3

recommend this course

448 out of 479 reviews


What Golfers Are Saying

Location is worth the drive in the 'burbs convenient to the city   Great for advanced golfers a bucket list/top 100 pick a weekend splurge   Challenges include bunkers forced carries undulating greens   Great for drinks patio dining brunch  

loading...
loading...

Reviewer Photos

Reviews


Overall Rating
Recommended
Handicap
Age
Type of Golfer
Gender

"Hidden gem track in the Phoenix valley area"


Luckyshank's avatar
Top 10 Contributor
New York Advisor
Age:  35-44
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  Don't know

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/09/2016
First time playing

Reviewed on

Track layout and conditions are as good as they come. Course plays excellent. It's beautifully designed for both avid and recreational players. Definitely a pleasant surprise and different from the other tourist trap courses in the valley. This track is up there with just about any other top course in the Phoenix valley.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Ken from Red Deer Alberta"


Kbhedmonton's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/19/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Dispite the 55 MPH winds we had the course was in excel condition and play was even and on time. The pros shop was very pleasant and friendly

Overall a 5+ experience and well worth the price and a great day of golf was had.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good


I recommend this course



Bhamblin1's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  25+

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/16/2018
Previously played Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Extremely Challenging


I recommend this course


"Southern Dunes is Excellent"


u000002934971's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/15/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course conditions were superb. Played with only my wife. The pace of play was excellent even though we were sandwiched between two foursomes.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Worth the drive from Scottsdale"


btsatsos's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/11/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This was the last course we played on our trip and this course lived up to expectations. Our group was pleasantly surprised by how great the course was. The course was in great shape. I would definitely recommend the course to friends.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course"


davidmadden's avatar
Age:  65+
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 02/09/2018
First time playing Used cart Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

yes, this courese is great. beautiful with country feel.

the best part is the pace of play. the marshall was very active and effective in keepin the slow pokes on task.

Lots of golf in Az, but this course is a winner.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Fair

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course"


u000008194491's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/31/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Well maintained and challenging. I would for certain play this course again. The greens rolled excellent and the pace of play was prompt.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course



Davegiglio's avatar
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/30/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great Course"


greg9909264's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/28/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Wonderful layout with many bunkers. A lot of tee choices. Definitely recommend!


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Average

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course


"Disappointed"


rygabert's avatar
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

3 3.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/23/2018
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Value for money is less than I expected. I've played this course in prior years The conditions were first class. However this time, there were rodent holes along the fairways, bare spots on some of the greens and some sand bunkers not consistent. All this for a price reserved for high-end experiences.

There is better value for money in some medium priced courses in the valley.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Average

Staff Friendliness: Average

Value for the Money: Fair

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I don't recommend this course


"108 sand traps and I hit a good share of them!"


u000003519678's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/22/2018
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Played in January and course was in excellent condition. Had a one hour frost delay but staff was very friendly and accommodating! Highly recommend this course and would definitely play here again!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"All-Chin Southern Dunes"


dfdwf's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/11/2018
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

This is one of the most fun and challenging golf courses one could ever play in the greater Phoenix area. My wife and I were paired with another couple who play here regularly during the Winter, and they think it’s the best place to play in the Southwest U.S.. We just loved every aspect of this place including the staff, Pro Shop, and fabulous restaurant .


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Worth the drive"


JasonDeeganGA's avatar
Golf Advisor
Age:  45-54
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/09/2018
First time playing Walked Windy weather

Reviewed on

I didn't play Ak-Chin before the redesign to remove bunkers and make it more forgiving, but I approve of what I saw during my round. I hadn't played in a month, so I needed the extra playability. There were enough good holes to keep me engaged and yet I always had a route to the green around those ferocious bunkers.

The reward for leaving the metro area of Phoenix/Scottsdale to find the course is escaping the homes that crowd other desert layouts. Ak-Chin also gets bonus points for being very walkable.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course



"Southern Treasure"


ArmyGolfBC's avatar
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Female
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a week
Handicap:  10-14

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/07/2018
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Pros:

1) Fantastic layout. Par 3s have great variety and the par 5s offer some risk/reward. Par 4s give plenty of options of the tee. No gimmicks, just pure golf.

2) Conditions were perfect with the sole exception that the bunkers were a little inconsistent. Greens were a pleasure to putt on without being stupid fast, and reading the greens was straightforward.

3) Staff were pleasant from start to finish.

4) Range was in great shape and provided numerous targets.

5) Practice green was 100% consistent with the rest of the course.

Cons:

None.

We are heading back for another round soon.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Awesome layout, great conditions"


u874147309's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 01/05/2018
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

One of my favorite courses in the area. Worth the trip south of Phoenix. Great layout, perfect conditions, could not ask for more out of a golf course. Hope to play many more times when I am in town.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Great course"


sharkreid's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/30/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Course is in great shape. People are always friendly and starters are great. Love playing this course. Highly recommended.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Excellent

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great fun and challenging course"


u000001519954's avatar
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/29/2017
First time playing Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

Great course. Great range. Great facility. All true.

My annoyance was with staff. I showed up 1.5 before my round ready to go only to realize I forgot my golf shoes. The pro shop guy was not really interested in selling me shoes and was throwin me pairs to get it over with (I was more than willing to own Up to my mistake and spend $200 on shoes). I ended just buying the worst and cheapest pair of shoes the pro shop guy tossed at me.

After I left pro shop with my new $100 shoes I was THEN informed of an 1.5 frost delay. Making my tee time 2.5 hours from now. More than enough time to run back o Scottsdale and get my shoes and come back for my tee time. If only I was informed at some point by bag drop or pro shop of the extended frost delay.

All this kind of wrecked my experience. But the course is as advertised.


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Poor

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent


I recommend this course


"Great PHX Public"


Nash3500578's avatar
Age:  35-44
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  5-9

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/28/2017
First time playing Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

Great design out in the desert playing nice and open thinking man's golf. Knowing which side of the fairway and green to hit it will be your biggest task for the day to score. Out in the sticks a little but for sure worth the drive.


Pace of Play: Excellent

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Excellent

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Good

Course Difficulty:  Somewhat Challenging


I recommend this course


"Fantastic Golf Course!"


kiterunner11's avatar
Top 250 Contributor
Age:  25-34
Gender:  Male
Skill:  Advanced
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  0-4

5 5.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/27/2017
Previously played Used cart Perfect weather

Reviewed on

This is a great course overall and one of my favourites in Arizona. The layout is amazing and there is a great variety of holes. There is quite a bit of room of the tees but plenty of sand traps to find errant shots. The greens were not in as good as shape as previous years so that was the only downside this time. Frost delays cause quite a bit of delay here so make sure to book before 12:00 noon or you may not finish. Would certainly recommend to others and will return. Thanks!


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Excellent

Course Difficulty:  Moderate


I recommend this course


"Nice course"


terber2006's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Few times a week
Handicap:  15-19

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/23/2017
Previously played Used cart Cold weather Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

A little cold the day we played...had a freeze delay of 45 minutes. Fairways are pretty open and greens are fair. Only complaint was the greens were cut too short--dirt spots showing through


Pace of Play: Average

Course Layout: Excellent

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Excellent

Off-Course Amenities: Good


I recommend this course


"Great course"


davefuji's avatar
Skill:  Intermediate
Plays:  Once a month

4 4.0 stars from 5 Played on 12/21/2017
Previously played Verified Purchaser

Reviewed on

The fairways, greens and tee boxes are in great shape, however the sand traps could use work, inconsistent sand.

Not sand trap quality for this quality of a course


Pace of Play: Good

Course Layout: Good

Course Conditions: Good

Staff Friendliness: Good

Value for the Money: Good

Off-Course Amenities: Average


I recommend this course



    Marketing Tools for Golf Course Operators

    • Add a Golf Advisor Rating Badge to Your Website. Get Widget
    • Get a feed with the latest reviews for this course Feed